The AA Driving School, nationwide UK Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
343
61% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The AA Driving School, nationwide UK - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The AA Driving School, nationwide UK

The AA Driving School, nationwide UK
The AA Driving School, nationwide UK
The AA Driving School, nationwide UK
The AA Driving School, nationwide UK

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“I love AA”

Written on: 21/05/2016 by Mation (1 review written)

Very professional. Value for money. If you want to pass I recommend them 100%. I passed first time. My instructor was brilliant. Thank you AA… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Waste of Money & Time”

Written on: 17/05/2016 by trendz (1 review written)

I have been having lessons for 10 months now. I failed my test by one serious. My instructor has given me zero confidence, he doesn't communicate with me, and he is rude. Plus I feel like I am not progressing as much as I should for my money's worth… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Response to trendz's Review

Written on: 19/05/2016

Hi, we're sorry to hear you failed your test and about the problems you are experiencing with your instructor. We hope that you have raised this with them directly or spoken to our customer services team about your concerns. If we can help with anything please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“waste of money ”

Written on: 12/05/2016 by pineapple59 (1 review written)

Sub standard tuition. Poor customer service. They have let my son down and do not provide value for money. the person I dealt with has had 25 lessons during which not all manoeuvres were covered and then he was dumped by his instructor with no notice when he retired. Attempts to discuss this have been met with a dismissive and frankly insulting response by the AA driving school. My sons confidence in his ability to drive is now at rock bottom and we are out of pocket by approx £700 pounds… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Response to pineapple59's Review

Written on: 16/05/2016

We're extremely sorry to learn you remain unhappy with the outcome of your complaint. If there is anything further you'd like for us to address please don't hesitate to contact us via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Very bad poor organisation with very very poor services”

Written on: 11/05/2016 by KhanSheffield (1 review written)

My dad booked a first two hour lesson with AA with a confidence that AA is a best organisation and paid £50/ in advance and sent me message that instructor will contact me before the lesson date. Instructor didn't contact me. I took day off from my job. Lesson was at 11:00 am and I got the message at 10:00 from instructor that all of sudden he knows he got infection so he cannot come today. What a level of service!!!!! Excellent!!!!! Taking money from people account just for this kind of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Response to KhanSheffield's Review

Written on: 16/05/2016

We're sorry to hear this and hope that you were able to rearrange another lesson with the instructor. If we can help any further please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“UNPROFESSIONAL ”

Written on: 25/04/2016 by Barrydg371 (1 review written)

Paid for my automatic lessons and the idiots bring me a manual car!!!... WHAT COMPANY DOES THAT?? and now the staff has the audacity to tell me she has to listen to the recorded tapes. ARE YOU CRAZY?? SHE CANT EVEN FIND ME AN INSTRUCTOR IN MY AREA RIGHT NOW. SO I LEFT WORK EARLY FOR NO FUVKING REASON!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 26/04/2016

Sorry to hear about the error, we hope our customer services team have managed to rectify this. If we can help at all please feel free to contact us via our website 'contact us' page. Thanks

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievable ”

Written on: 04/04/2016 by 268Alexander (1 review written)

Joined with the AA after being with multiple other companies thinking that the AA would be a respectable reliable company. Turns out I was wrong. All was fine until the instructor that I had cancelled all future lessons without informing me and then left the country. Was not even contacted by the instructor or the AA to be informed what was happening. As a result I have been passed on to a new driving instructor having to start again from the beginning and my test is in two weeks. Completely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 09/04/2016

This is concerning and we hope that you have contacted our customer service team to address this. If not please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page we'll be happy to investigate this. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst instructor ever! ”

Written on: 26/03/2016

I had the worst instructor experience with AA, My first lesson was on Monday with an Algerian older man who was very shouty and aggressive even for the the first lesson however I though that this might get better over time so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and did another lesson with him on Friday which was the worst experience ever as he kept shouting at me, wasn't patient with me which confused me to do the wrong things. I couldn't go on with the lesson as he kept telling me to do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 29/03/2016

Hello, we're very sorry to learn of your experience would like the opportunity to address this. If you haven't already spoken to someone regarding this, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page we would be happy to help. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Destroys your confidence ”

Written on: 17/03/2016 by Mira335 (1 review written)

I went with the AA After being recommended by a friend, I had a female instructor who seemed very nice at first, we had a chat and I was comfortable with her but after about 20 hours with her she started telling me that I was no where near ready and that I'd need another 10 hours so j was happy to do so, so after 30 hours she then says to me that I needed double the lessons! I was shocked because I knew I could drive and I did not need any more than at least 15 hours! I carried on with her and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 18/03/2016

We're very sorry to learn of your experience and do hope that you raised this at the time with our customer service team to address. If you haven't please feel free to contact us via our website 'contact us' page we'd be happy to look in to this and feed it back to the instructor. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Thank You”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by Olsonho191 (1 review written)

Would like to say a big thank you to Linden for all the time and patience he gave to our son. Our son passed his test today, and I believe that was all down to the good teaching he had. The reason I have only given two stars is due to the lack of support that was given to us by the AA and had nothing to do with the level of teaching.Thank you again Linden… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The AA will destroy your confidence”

Written on: 05/02/2016

I booked a set of 20 lessons for my daughters 17th birthday. I chose to book the lessons with the AA as I thought that they were a professional, experienced company. I was extremely mistaken. The instructor that my daughter was given- Linden was deaf, couldn't speak good English and was very old. However I and my daughter decided to overlook this as he assured as that he had 16 years’ experience so I thought that he would be a good instructor despite all these features. Before they started… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 08/02/2016

Hello, we do hope that you raised your dissatisfaction with our customer service team at the time. If not please get in touch via our website the 'contact us' page we would very much like to address this. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sjmg's Comment

Written on: 10/02/2016

Not sure you should have been so personal about Linden. How does someone learn to drive it they are not corrected when they make mistakes. Personally Linden was just the right person for our son.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Unable to contact ”

Written on: 30/01/2016 by MaliaTennant (1 review written)

As family wanted to purchase vouchers for my son's driving lessons we decided to try the AA. We identified the only AA ADI in our area and tried to contact both directly and through head office. After several phone calls and use of online chat we are no further forward even though we could pay for lessons and book a time online! I have tried to complain as an AA member but that was a fairly pointless but time consuming exercise so we have now gone elsewhere… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 01/02/2016

This is concerning and we would like to help. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we will get this investigated as soon as possible for you. Thank you

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Lovely experience ”

Written on: 31/12/2015 by csConnolly1988 (1 review written)

I took the 2 hour free motorway session with the AA because I wanted to improve my driving skills so I am comfortable when I officially start driving. The service I was provided was excellent, my instructor was a calm person who did not shout at me, rather he explained my mistakes to me. this had a positive outcome because I did not make them mistakes again. There was nothing I disliked rather I learnt so many new skills in my session. On the other hand my cousin took this same session but her… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Instructors not checked”

Written on: 08/10/2015 by Haleno102 (1 review written)

I've had an extremely poor experience with the AA driving school, I've had two instructors from the AA and both of them have been highly inappropriate and I have often felt uncomfortable in many of my lessons! My first instructor was actually kicked off the AA for unsatisfactory tuition, so after the bad move of going for a second instructor with this company, I found that he was very much the same! I found that both instructors were very inappropriate towards me and I would not recommend to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 09/10/2015

This is very concerning and we'd like the opportunity to investigate your comments. If you haven't already please contact us via our website so that we may help. Kind Regards, The AA

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“AA Driving School”

Written on: 17/09/2015

This is a review of AA Driving School based in London W12 (Sheperds Bush). I started driving initially with Chelsea driving school and found them very impatient... After failing twice with them I decided I needed a change. When I met Jose from AA I found him both very patient and understanding. Although he felt I needed a few lessons to get rid of some bad habits he was totally supportive ( he knew I wanted to pass because my son is autistic) and although I failed again and didn't pass until… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor organisation and lack of communication.”

Written on: 30/08/2015 by RobH85 (1 review written)

While I cannot say that the quality of the instruction I recieved was poor, I felt very dissapointed and let down by the AA driving school. The instructor I was allocated covered a very large area and was often late turning up to lessons as he had to travel long distances from previous lessons. This would have been fine if the time was made up for at the end of the lesson, but it was not and 2 hour lessons I had paid for frequently lasted only about 1 hour 45 minutes. I had enough experience… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very unprofessional ”

Written on: 28/08/2015 by Brendenh124 (1 review written)

My lesson has been canceled without any notice. I was waiting like an idiot. Neither the instructor, nor the company have bothered to let me know. knowing that my my test is next week. apparently,they used to do this. Avoid Avoid Avoid there are many schools out there that treat their students with respect… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2015

Hello, this is concerning and we'd very much like to address this. If you haven't spoke to the customer service team already then please contact us via our website, the 'contact us' page. Kind Regards, The AA

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant driving instructor!”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by Desiree306 (1 review written)

I began learning with the AA and within 3 months I had passed my test first time. My instructor was great; so helpful and clear when giving instructions. If I wasn't sure about a certain element of the lesson he would take the time to fully explain things to me. As lessons progressed, I was able to take control and practice things that I wasn't as confident about which really helped. Also, we did a few mock tests during lessons in order to prepare for the test day, which I felt hugely reduced… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Second to None”

Written on: 10/07/2015 by Ptarmigan2 (2 reviews written)

My son began learning to drive with a local instructor. He was getting nowhere fast. I bought some lessons with the AA in desperation. I cannot recommend them enough. The instructor was honest in his assessment of my son and his driving. He gave a realistic prediction of the number of lessons he would require. He was fair in re-booking when we cancelled a lesson very late in the day, and he has worked hard to keep costs to the minimum. He is patient,calm, competent and understanding… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Fraudulent!”

Written on: 15/06/2015 by tjBradshaw432 (1 review written)

The instructor was very impatient and shouted if I make mistakes! Who on earth would learn to drive if they can drive perfectly??? I decided not to proceed with more driving lessons with her and wanted my deposit back, firstly she says she is busy and she doesn't have online or telephone banking to wire the money. Then she questioned how I can prove that the deposit is not returned back. When I said I have the receipt for the deposit, she said that is not proof. I am exhausted now! Definitely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 17/06/2015

We would very much like to address your dissatisfaction. If you have not already been in touch with Customer Services regarding this matter please contact us via our website, we'd like to help. Kind Regards.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad experience”

Written on: 10/06/2015 by Jhonny10 (1 review written)

I had 5 lessons with AA driving school,my instructor was so rude,very unpolite,his name is matt,he is originally from india,but has been in the uk for quite a long time, i did not punch him on the face because i have manners..........they do not make you feel confident,they discourage you,to cause you booking more lessons .........waste of time and money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

The Aa's Response to Jhonny10's Review

Written on: 17/06/2015

Hello, we are sorry to hear this and do hope that you have contacted us to address your dissatisfaction. If not, please get in touch via our website at your earliest convenience. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview