Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
240
39% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“WORST HOTEL FOOD ON THE PLANET HOTEL BRITTANIA LAKE COMO”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by maggieandpartner (1 review written)

LOCATION-LOVELY IF YOU JUST WANT TO SIT AND DO NOTHING-OTHERWISE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO-NO NICE WALKS ,NO SHOPS etc etc. Public areas of hotel quite nice but bedroom VERY basic. We decided to pay extra for a balcony and lake view room. Would not take a card payment-had to be cash. Lovely view from 'balcony'. Too small to actually sit on. Door would not close. Air conditioning did not work(engineer came twice but could not fix it).English tv advertised on sheet in room-not available in our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harrington-Hadleigh's Response to maggieandpartner's Review

Written on: 27/05/2015

My heart does really feel for you...The occasional report like this brings back awful memories of what we experienced with this outfit...Admittedly we have experienced one good break with this company but the other one we tried was a disaster from start to finish...The problem here is they rely on two things...1. The pile them high and sell them cheap, philosophy and 2. That very few people complain and just bury their heads in the sand because of the cheap price...If you ever dare to complain or take the to court part of the settlement is they ban you for life, especially if they know you are going to win...You can get lucky and get a reasonable cheap break for about £400 each, however if you buy any of the big ones, you are taking a serious risk...The Italians don't do hospitality I know my dad was one and was in the industry...You might think they are the most friendliest bunch in the world, but at the end of the day, they are out to take your money...I think the lady who runs this place is from Scotland who married an Italian or a second generation Scottish/Italian, if it is the same person, i have heard good things about them on other sites, this would indicate that they have their favorites, or regulars...Shearings is basically what it says and does on the tin...If you can get your head around the foibles then you are lucky, if not then there could be real big problems...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Splendours of Switzerland”

Written on: 12/03/2015

We have just returned from our first holiday with Shearings, and it was fabulous! Coach drivers were excellant drivers and very knowledgeable about the areas covered. Hotel was very good and staff great! We will defiantly book with them again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“lake como”

Written on: 08/03/2015 by nottinghamcouple (1 review written)

just returned from lake como trip. hotel was great couldnt fault it. the places we visited bergamo como bellagio the shops were all closed between 12 30 and 3 30 i e when we were there. bernina railway trip was great but our driver from liverpool told us that the money for the optional trip HAD to be paid in euros 142 which we didnt have as i have been before and paid in sterling which all the other customers could do on the other shearings buses. also boarding the train was complete chaos… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Holiday in Switzerland - Interlarken”

Written on: 23/02/2015 by rushdenbeancounters (1 review written)

Absolutely brilliant. The two drivers/couriers were excellent and extremely knowledgeable; they made the holiday for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they answered any questions we had and ensured we had seats on the trains and the best of everything they could provide; what to see and where to go. The hotels in which we stayed were first class, very clean, excellent food and plenty of it. The facilities were really good. The sight-seeing tours were spectacular (one thing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Great coach holiday, shame about the coach driver! ”

Written on: 18/01/2015

Just returned from a 4 night coach trip to Whitby. For the price we paid, £125 each, the value for money was fantastic! We had a large, warm, comfortable room, with a view overlooking the harbour. Travel booking and arrangements went smoothly as did the journey. The hotel staff, especially waiting staff were great and the food was really good and plentiful. But the holiday was RUINED by the incessant chatter of the driver, in spite of being asked by several travellers to cut it down. He… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“At least a day stolen !!”

Written on: 03/01/2015 by stevethedeep (1 review written)

9hrs.30 to do a 2hr.15min taxi journey! What do they think their customers are? -some kind of parcel freight? It meant two entire days missing from our 5 day holiday. Many of our party chose to abandon the return coach and pay for a taxi home. Don't get caught out by this outrage or you will be journeying in the the wrong direction to sit with 400 other unwitting participants in an M25 cattle shed awaiting redistribution. Save your sanity by checking your Shearings deal out carefully. ***… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“5 days at the Ship & Castle in St Mawes.”

Written on: 07/12/2014 by davetimms (1 review written)

Just got back from a fantastic 5 day break at the Ship & Castle hotel, St Mawes, we thought at a break just before Christmas was just what we needed, because I have mobility we always check via the very helpful team at the customer care help desk, we managed to get room 114 right by the lift, which was very light, and airy, with the added bonus of French windows onto a balcony overlooking the bay, the staff at the hotel were excellent, all very helpful, and always a ready smile to greet you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“dissapointed with the coach”

Written on: 24/11/2014 by pentre123 (1 review written)

We were expecting a 'luxury' coach ideal for sight seeing, what we got was a school bus where you had a stiff neck after returning from a day of travelling. To put salt on the wound, the driver continually compared our bus to the luxury of the other coach which was on the same trip. This made us feel quite done by as we had all paid the same for the holiday. We were expecting better from Shearings as we had been asked which seats we wanted and chosen the ones behind the toilet as they would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Valley of Rocks Hotel ”

Written on: 13/11/2014 by 1949Anne (1 review written)

Our first impression of the hotel was very impressive, a lovely old building with loads of character - our room was ready to book into 20 mins early, the room/bathroom was really clean as was the bedding and towels. The waiting staff in the dining room were happy, friendly and efficient.a credit to thew Hotel. We appreciate it was late in the season - November but the weekend was sold to us as a Gala Weekend.How sad that it dint live up to its name!! Really disappointed with the standard of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Lloret overnight travel”

Written on: 12/10/2014 by Valentina7 (1 review written)

I have recently returned from lloret de mar and the holiday was good value for the price we paid. I wouldn't go again because the overnight travelling on the coach was horrendous. It is too far to go by bus and just wondered if shearings did this holiday with en route stops. The hotel was very basic and the food was ok but would go again in September as it was quiet and no crowded cafes and bars… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The Heart of Italy Tour”

Written on: 25/09/2014 by 42Peacock (1 review written)

This was a first experience of Shearings Coach Holiday for a friend and myself, for the price we paid, and the tour, it was absolute value for money! The Hotel Mizar in Chianciano Terme was 3* basic - but very clean, the food was acceptable, and the staff delightful. The trips were well worth the money and amazing, the only down side was the time limit at each location, but you accept this when you sign up for them. I had been to Rome before, but unfortunately for those who had not, the Trevi… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harrington-Hadleigh's Comment

Written on: 27/05/2015

ITS ONE OF THEIR BEST HOLIDAYS..IF YOU GET LUCKY WITH A GREAT DRIVERS, THE HOTEL MIZAR IS TOPS FOR £375 EACH DISCOUNTED. YOU CANT GO WRONG...IT IS SHEARINGS DEFINING MOMENT IN SHORT TERM BREAKS...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Good holiday but fly don't go by coach”

Written on: 22/09/2014

On our journey to Stop 24 at Hythe there was a lorry on fire on the M 25 which wasn't the fault of Shearings but never the less we had to wait 3 hours for other coaches getting in. After this unfortunate event we didn't get to our overnight hotel in Belgium until midnight, we then left at 9am next morning to travel to our holiday on the MS Esmeralda for the CITIES OF THE DANUBE CRUISE. Unfortunately this journey turned out to be just as horrendous as the first day with the coach driver not able… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Keukenhof Gardens with Shearings via Ghent hotel ”

Written on: 05/09/2014 by KeylaStafford (1 review written)

In spring traveled with Shearings to visit Keukenhof Gardens in Holland, we selected to stay in the Ghent hotel because it was a 4 star facility. Overall the hotel provided a very comfortable base with nice rooms and and good service. Although it is located on the very outskirts of the city the rail connect into the centre was only a 5 min walk away. The Shearing coach driver was also very professional and kept us amused with stories collated thro a long professional driving career. So why… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“food was terrible ”

Written on: 09/08/2014

The holiday was ok but the food was terrible.only one vegetarian option per night i had 2 in my party who where vegetarian and there where at least one more guest who was as well the portion size was similar to a children's portion i was still hungry after main meal not the first time this has happened… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“ Hythe Interchange Stop 24”

Written on: 03/08/2014 by LeonHollis213 (1 review written)

Had a great holiday at Garda but I must raise the following about Stop 24 Hythe Interchange. During the changeover at Stop 24 on the return journey 31st July, several of your drivers were smoking at the entrance to the coaches which meant that smoke was entering the coach interior. This is totally unacceptable just from a normal health point of view. However I do not expect to have to inhale their smoke on entering the coach after a long trip home back to England. I paid for my trip and I do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Truly magical but BEWARE”

Written on: 21/07/2014 by Bluenoser (1 review written)

The Hebrides is an area of Scotland I have always wanted to go so this trip was ideal. We spent our first night in Novotel in Newcastle and it was great. The next two nights were in the MacDonald Four Seasons in Aviemore. It wasn't a dump but wasn't great! It was at this point we found out that we were to spend 3-4 hours in Inverness on our way to Ullapool to get the ferry to Stornoway! This was NOT in the brochure nor in any info we got from Shearings. When questioned I was told that we should… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Lake Garda And Venice”

Written on: 15/07/2014 by pamelacouzens (1 review written)

Wow what a happy experience for a first coach trip, BRILLIANT!!!!!!! The only let down was the so called "STAFF" of the hotel Villa della Rose and ALL INCLUSIVE really has a new meaning at this place, the arrival at this awful hotel does not tell you that when you arrive on the Sunday everything in Arco is closed and you will have nothing to eat or drink from 10:00am until 19:00pm in the evening (and I mean absolutely nothing as the hotel staff stands guard at the noon buffet). I have never… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Response to pamelacouzens's Review

Written on: 29/07/2014

And you gave this break 5 Stars in the opener header?
Italians don't do hospitality they think they are doing you a favour, I know my mum and dad are from the boot.
If we treated them over here in england the way they treat us in their homeland, i think they would get the message sooner or later.
I could not find a place anywhere in italy that got me a £6 Toby meal or a Harvester at a £5 er!
By the way i count 12 stars above out of 30! thats no more than a third, your total in the title star-age should have been two!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pamelacouzens's reply to Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

The only reason I rated accommodation 5 star is the fact that the bed was comfy and the room adequate, my dissatisfaction is reflected in the star rating for customer service at the hotel which was truly the worst I have ever been subjected to.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Shearings Celtic Experience - Not Really”

Written on: 08/07/2014 by irisheyes21 (1 review written)

My Husband and I recently had a holiday with Shearings called Celtic Experience which started with a taxi ride to Great Barr and a two hour wait in the cold for our transfer coach to their Stretton Exchange, just glad it wasn't raining. There were no Ceilaghs or Irish Entertainment, the first hotel in Ennis called the Auburn Lodge was like Fawlty Towers 70's Decor and 70's Electrics, a lumpy bed and tatty furniture and musty walls. The evening meals were a mixture of the fruit that had been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“thank you so much”

Written on: 26/06/2014 by DarnellMcGee (1 review written)

Iwood vary much like to thank our two coach drivers man + wife b+k for the wonderfull way they looked after us on our holiday to lake como on the 10 of may 2014 it made a lovely holiday perfect i am disabled and took a three weeled walker with me they helped so much… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Four day self-drive”

Written on: 20/06/2014

Have holidayed with Shearings for many years (mostly self-drive) and have usually been very happy. Recently returned from one of our favourite hotels, The Derwentwater at Portinscale, having been a little dissappointed this time. Hotel is in an idyllic location with lovely scenery and wildlife. They seem to have tried to make their image a bit more "mod"and "up-market" which has led to bland and uncomfortable furniture, plastic materials. eating off slates and odd colour schemes. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview