Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
247
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Poor set up with certain things being easily fixed. ”

Written on: 14/07/2015 by BarryKirkham (1 review written)

We have just come home from our 2nd hols in shearings hotel.We spent a week there and it was not as nice as our previous stay at the other one.We do the drive down one's and we have to pay extra money to park in the car park they use,why is this, do we not pay enough for our holiday without being penalised by this.The hotel staff were pretty good all told but first thing I found strange was at breakfast when asked what I wanted I asked for porridge and was told I had to fetch it myself,then… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent experience from start to finish.”

Written on: 13/07/2015 by Mandyp1 (1 review written)

Excellent holiday to lake como last week our drivers were wonderful me and my daughter enjoyed every minute fantastic hotel britania excelsior and trips out would highly recommend this company. Thank u … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“marine llandudno self drive”

Written on: 13/07/2015 by thomascoates (1 review written)

just returned from self drive, 3nt break at marine llandudno, my friend is disabled the staff were 1st class, from the waitress upto the manager they made our stay very enjoyable, will be returning very soon thank you all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“SHEARINGS NO GO”

Written on: 04/07/2015 by Kilts (1 review written)

I have been on a few of Shearings Holidays and have had a good time. My brother and his wife were booked for an Ireland holiday with them and was looking forward to it as they had been to Ireland and many more holidays with Shearings in the past, in fact this would have been their tenth holiday with them. I would call them loyal customers. Due to unforseen circumstances my brother and his wife couldn't go to Ireland as she was in hospital and wouldn't be out and well enough to travel. My… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jackedward's Response to Kilts's Review

Written on: 28/07/2015

The cookie crumbles im afraid
BEWARE they now trade under a subsidiary called NATIONAL HOLIDAYS all the cheaper breaks will be trading under this sister company name.
Things wont change much :

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Beautiful Lake Maggiore, Majestic Matterhorn!”

Written on: 23/06/2015 by Hoodpi484 (1 review written)

First holiday with Shearings, and can't wait for the next one. Travelled on 26th May, overnight at a hotel near Rheims and on to the Beau Rivage Hotel in Baveno. Fabulous situation overlooking the lake, with stunning views. Hotel was immaculately clean and tidy, with friendly helpful staff who all had good English - but if you make the effort to try out some Italian words they do appreciate it. Trip included an amazing trip to the mighty Matterhorn - highlight of the holiday for us. Our coach… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Magic”

Written on: 22/06/2015 by Cathowden (2 reviews written)

We recently traveled to Arco Italy with shearings,the holiday was the best holiday we have ever had ,the hotel was spotless. The coach drivers were the best coach drivers I have ever had the were a credit to shearings. The views in Arco were stunning and when we were taken to different locations and towns it was breathtaking. I cannot recommend this trip enough. The hotel Villa Della Rose is a small hotel but friendly and in a beautiful spot with mountains all around. The breakfast is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never book with shearings”

Written on: 04/06/2015 by ccChristian467 (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with shearings got to the hotel room was fine reception ask us to move due to our toilet leaking on another room so we agree move into this room holes in ceiling and leaking water into our bath so we asked to move as it was leaking and was told there was no more rooms and our old 1 had workers in it for rest of our holiday come back emailed shearings with the pictures and have been ignored for over 3 weeks. bad customer care for a big company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jackedward's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2015

NATIONAL HOLIDAYS

IS THERE SISTER COMPANY

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST HOTEL FOOD ON THE PLANET HOTEL BRITTANIA LAKE COMO”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by maggieandpartner (1 review written)

LOCATION-LOVELY IF YOU JUST WANT TO SIT AND DO NOTHING-OTHERWISE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO-NO NICE WALKS ,NO SHOPS etc etc. Public areas of hotel quite nice but bedroom VERY basic. We decided to pay extra for a balcony and lake view room. Would not take a card payment-had to be cash. Lovely view from 'balcony'. Too small to actually sit on. Door would not close. Air conditioning did not work(engineer came twice but could not fix it).English tv advertised on sheet in room-not available in our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harrington-Hadleigh's Response to maggieandpartner's Review

Written on: 27/05/2015

My heart does really feel for you...The occasional report like this brings back awful memories of what we experienced with this outfit...Admittedly we have experienced one good break with this company but the other one we tried was a disaster from start to finish...The problem here is they rely on two things...1. The pile them high and sell them cheap, philosophy and 2. That very few people complain and just bury their heads in the sand because of the cheap price...If you ever dare to complain or take the to court part of the settlement is they ban you for life, especially if they know you are going to win...You can get lucky and get a reasonable cheap break for about £400 each, however if you buy any of the big ones, you are taking a serious risk...The Italians don't do hospitality I know my dad was one and was in the industry...You might think they are the most friendliest bunch in the world, but at the end of the day, they are out to take your money...I think the lady who runs this place is from Scotland who married an Italian or a second generation Scottish/Italian, if it is the same person, i have heard good things about them on other sites, this would indicate that they have their favorites, or regulars...Shearings is basically what it says and does on the tin...If you can get your head around the foibles then you are lucky, if not then there could be real big problems...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jackedward's Response to maggieandpartner's Review

Written on: 28/07/2015

NATIONAL HOLIDAYS IS THEIR SISTER COMPANY

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Splendours of Switzerland”

Written on: 12/03/2015

We have just returned from our first holiday with Shearings, and it was fabulous! Coach drivers were excellant drivers and very knowledgeable about the areas covered. Hotel was very good and staff great! We will defiantly book with them again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“lake como”

Written on: 08/03/2015 by nottinghamcouple (1 review written)

just returned from lake como trip. hotel was great couldnt fault it. the places we visited bergamo como bellagio the shops were all closed between 12 30 and 3 30 i e when we were there. bernina railway trip was great but our driver from liverpool told us that the money for the optional trip HAD to be paid in euros 142 which we didnt have as i have been before and paid in sterling which all the other customers could do on the other shearings buses. also boarding the train was complete chaos… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Holiday in Switzerland - Interlarken”

Written on: 23/02/2015 by rushdenbeancounters (1 review written)

Absolutely brilliant. The two drivers/couriers were excellent and extremely knowledgeable; they made the holiday for us. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they answered any questions we had and ensured we had seats on the trains and the best of everything they could provide; what to see and where to go. The hotels in which we stayed were first class, very clean, excellent food and plenty of it. The facilities were really good. The sight-seeing tours were spectacular (one thing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Great coach holiday, shame about the coach driver! ”

Written on: 18/01/2015

Just returned from a 4 night coach trip to Whitby. For the price we paid, £125 each, the value for money was fantastic! We had a large, warm, comfortable room, with a view overlooking the harbour. Travel booking and arrangements went smoothly as did the journey. The hotel staff, especially waiting staff were great and the food was really good and plentiful. But the holiday was RUINED by the incessant chatter of the driver, in spite of being asked by several travellers to cut it down. He… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“At least a day stolen !!”

Written on: 03/01/2015 by stevethedeep (1 review written)

9hrs.30 to do a 2hr.15min taxi journey! What do they think their customers are? -some kind of parcel freight? It meant two entire days missing from our 5 day holiday. Many of our party chose to abandon the return coach and pay for a taxi home. Don't get caught out by this outrage or you will be journeying in the the wrong direction to sit with 400 other unwitting participants in an M25 cattle shed awaiting redistribution. Save your sanity by checking your Shearings deal out carefully. ***… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“5 days at the Ship & Castle in St Mawes.”

Written on: 07/12/2014 by davetimms (1 review written)

Just got back from a fantastic 5 day break at the Ship & Castle hotel, St Mawes, we thought at a break just before Christmas was just what we needed, because I have mobility we always check via the very helpful team at the customer care help desk, we managed to get room 114 right by the lift, which was very light, and airy, with the added bonus of French windows onto a balcony overlooking the bay, the staff at the hotel were excellent, all very helpful, and always a ready smile to greet you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“dissapointed with the coach”

Written on: 24/11/2014 by pentre123 (1 review written)

We were expecting a 'luxury' coach ideal for sight seeing, what we got was a school bus where you had a stiff neck after returning from a day of travelling. To put salt on the wound, the driver continually compared our bus to the luxury of the other coach which was on the same trip. This made us feel quite done by as we had all paid the same for the holiday. We were expecting better from Shearings as we had been asked which seats we wanted and chosen the ones behind the toilet as they would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Valley of Rocks Hotel ”

Written on: 13/11/2014 by 1949Anne (1 review written)

Our first impression of the hotel was very impressive, a lovely old building with loads of character - our room was ready to book into 20 mins early, the room/bathroom was really clean as was the bedding and towels. The waiting staff in the dining room were happy, friendly and efficient.a credit to thew Hotel. We appreciate it was late in the season - November but the weekend was sold to us as a Gala Weekend.How sad that it dint live up to its name!! Really disappointed with the standard of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Lloret overnight travel”

Written on: 12/10/2014 by Valentina7 (1 review written)

I have recently returned from lloret de mar and the holiday was good value for the price we paid. I wouldn't go again because the overnight travelling on the coach was horrendous. It is too far to go by bus and just wondered if shearings did this holiday with en route stops. The hotel was very basic and the food was ok but would go again in September as it was quiet and no crowded cafes and bars… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The Heart of Italy Tour”

Written on: 25/09/2014 by 42Peacock (1 review written)

This was a first experience of Shearings Coach Holiday for a friend and myself, for the price we paid, and the tour, it was absolute value for money! The Hotel Mizar in Chianciano Terme was 3* basic - but very clean, the food was acceptable, and the staff delightful. The trips were well worth the money and amazing, the only down side was the time limit at each location, but you accept this when you sign up for them. I had been to Rome before, but unfortunately for those who had not, the Trevi… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harrington-Hadleigh's Comment

Written on: 27/05/2015

ITS ONE OF THEIR BEST HOLIDAYS..IF YOU GET LUCKY WITH A GREAT DRIVERS, THE HOTEL MIZAR IS TOPS FOR £375 EACH DISCOUNTED. YOU CANT GO WRONG...IT IS SHEARINGS DEFINING MOMENT IN SHORT TERM BREAKS...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Good holiday but fly don't go by coach”

Written on: 22/09/2014

On our journey to Stop 24 at Hythe there was a lorry on fire on the M 25 which wasn't the fault of Shearings but never the less we had to wait 3 hours for other coaches getting in. After this unfortunate event we didn't get to our overnight hotel in Belgium until midnight, we then left at 9am next morning to travel to our holiday on the MS Esmeralda for the CITIES OF THE DANUBE CRUISE. Unfortunately this journey turned out to be just as horrendous as the first day with the coach driver not able… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Keukenhof Gardens with Shearings via Ghent hotel ”

Written on: 05/09/2014 by KeylaStafford (1 review written)

In spring traveled with Shearings to visit Keukenhof Gardens in Holland, we selected to stay in the Ghent hotel because it was a 4 star facility. Overall the hotel provided a very comfortable base with nice rooms and and good service. Although it is located on the very outskirts of the city the rail connect into the centre was only a 5 min walk away. The Shearing coach driver was also very professional and kept us amused with stories collated thro a long professional driving career. So why… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview