Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
39% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“5 days at the Ship & Castle in St Mawes.”

Written on: 07/12/2014 by davetimms (1 review written)

Just got back from a fantastic 5 day break at the Ship & Castle hotel, St Mawes, we thought at a break just before Christmas was just what we needed, because I have mobility we always check via the very helpful team at the customer care help desk, we managed to get room 114 right by the lift, which was very light, and airy, with the added bonus of French windows onto a balcony overlooking the bay, the staff at the hotel were excellent, all very helpful, and always a ready smile to greet you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“dissapointed with the coach”

Written on: 24/11/2014 by pentre123 (1 review written)

We were expecting a 'luxury' coach ideal for sight seeing, what we got was a school bus where you had a stiff neck after returning from a day of travelling. To put salt on the wound, the driver continually compared our bus to the luxury of the other coach which was on the same trip. This made us feel quite done by as we had all paid the same for the holiday. We were expecting better from Shearings as we had been asked which seats we wanted and chosen the ones behind the toilet as they would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Valley of Rocks Hotel ”

Written on: 13/11/2014 by 1949Anne (1 review written)

Our first impression of the hotel was very impressive, a lovely old building with loads of character - our room was ready to book into 20 mins early, the room/bathroom was really clean as was the bedding and towels. The waiting staff in the dining room were happy, friendly and efficient.a credit to thew Hotel. We appreciate it was late in the season - November but the weekend was sold to us as a Gala Weekend.How sad that it dint live up to its name!! Really disappointed with the standard of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Lloret overnight travel”

Written on: 12/10/2014 by Valentina7 (1 review written)

I have recently returned from lloret de mar and the holiday was good value for the price we paid. I wouldn't go again because the overnight travelling on the coach was horrendous. It is too far to go by bus and just wondered if shearings did this holiday with en route stops. The hotel was very basic and the food was ok but would go again in September as it was quiet and no crowded cafes and bars… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The Heart of Italy Tour”

Written on: 25/09/2014 by 42Peacock (1 review written)

This was a first experience of Shearings Coach Holiday for a friend and myself, for the price we paid, and the tour, it was absolute value for money! The Hotel Mizar in Chianciano Terme was 3* basic - but very clean, the food was acceptable, and the staff delightful. The trips were well worth the money and amazing, the only down side was the time limit at each location, but you accept this when you sign up for them. I had been to Rome before, but unfortunately for those who had not, the Trevi… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Good holiday but fly don't go by coach”

Written on: 22/09/2014

On our journey to Stop 24 at Hythe there was a lorry on fire on the M 25 which wasn't the fault of Shearings but never the less we had to wait 3 hours for other coaches getting in. After this unfortunate event we didn't get to our overnight hotel in Belgium until midnight, we then left at 9am next morning to travel to our holiday on the MS Esmeralda for the CITIES OF THE DANUBE CRUISE. Unfortunately this journey turned out to be just as horrendous as the first day with the coach driver not able… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Keukenhof Gardens with Shearings via Ghent hotel ”

Written on: 05/09/2014 by KeylaStafford (1 review written)

In spring traveled with Shearings to visit Keukenhof Gardens in Holland, we selected to stay in the Ghent hotel because it was a 4 star facility. Overall the hotel provided a very comfortable base with nice rooms and and good service. Although it is located on the very outskirts of the city the rail connect into the centre was only a 5 min walk away. The Shearing coach driver was also very professional and kept us amused with stories collated thro a long professional driving career. So why… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“food was terrible ”

Written on: 09/08/2014

The holiday was ok but the food was terrible.only one vegetarian option per night i had 2 in my party who where vegetarian and there where at least one more guest who was as well the portion size was similar to a children's portion i was still hungry after main meal not the first time this has happened… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“ Hythe Interchange Stop 24”

Written on: 03/08/2014 by LeonHollis213 (1 review written)

Had a great holiday at Garda but I must raise the following about Stop 24 Hythe Interchange. During the changeover at Stop 24 on the return journey 31st July, several of your drivers were smoking at the entrance to the coaches which meant that smoke was entering the coach interior. This is totally unacceptable just from a normal health point of view. However I do not expect to have to inhale their smoke on entering the coach after a long trip home back to England. I paid for my trip and I do… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Truly magical but BEWARE”

Written on: 21/07/2014 by Bluenoser (1 review written)

The Hebrides is an area of Scotland I have always wanted to go so this trip was ideal. We spent our first night in Novotel in Newcastle and it was great. The next two nights were in the MacDonald Four Seasons in Aviemore. It wasn't a dump but wasn't great! It was at this point we found out that we were to spend 3-4 hours in Inverness on our way to Ullapool to get the ferry to Stornoway! This was NOT in the brochure nor in any info we got from Shearings. When questioned I was told that we should… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Lake Garda And Venice”

Written on: 15/07/2014 by pamelacouzens (1 review written)

Wow what a happy experience for a first coach trip, BRILLIANT!!!!!!! The only let down was the so called "STAFF" of the hotel Villa della Rose and ALL INCLUSIVE really has a new meaning at this place, the arrival at this awful hotel does not tell you that when you arrive on the Sunday everything in Arco is closed and you will have nothing to eat or drink from 10:00am until 19:00pm in the evening (and I mean absolutely nothing as the hotel staff stands guard at the noon buffet). I have never… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Response to pamelacouzens's Review

Written on: 29/07/2014

And you gave this break 5 Stars in the opener header?
Italians don't do hospitality they think they are doing you a favour, I know my mum and dad are from the boot.
If we treated them over here in england the way they treat us in their homeland, i think they would get the message sooner or later.
I could not find a place anywhere in italy that got me a £6 Toby meal or a Harvester at a £5 er!
By the way i count 12 stars above out of 30! thats no more than a third, your total in the title star-age should have been two!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pamelacouzens's reply to Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

The only reason I rated accommodation 5 star is the fact that the bed was comfy and the room adequate, my dissatisfaction is reflected in the star rating for customer service at the hotel which was truly the worst I have ever been subjected to.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Shearings Celtic Experience - Not Really”

Written on: 08/07/2014 by irisheyes21 (1 review written)

My Husband and I recently had a holiday with Shearings called Celtic Experience which started with a taxi ride to Great Barr and a two hour wait in the cold for our transfer coach to their Stretton Exchange, just glad it wasn't raining. There were no Ceilaghs or Irish Entertainment, the first hotel in Ennis called the Auburn Lodge was like Fawlty Towers 70's Decor and 70's Electrics, a lumpy bed and tatty furniture and musty walls. The evening meals were a mixture of the fruit that had been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“thank you so much”

Written on: 26/06/2014 by DarnellMcGee (1 review written)

Iwood vary much like to thank our two coach drivers man + wife b+k for the wonderfull way they looked after us on our holiday to lake como on the 10 of may 2014 it made a lovely holiday perfect i am disabled and took a three weeled walker with me they helped so much… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Four day self-drive”

Written on: 20/06/2014

Have holidayed with Shearings for many years (mostly self-drive) and have usually been very happy. Recently returned from one of our favourite hotels, The Derwentwater at Portinscale, having been a little dissappointed this time. Hotel is in an idyllic location with lovely scenery and wildlife. They seem to have tried to make their image a bit more "mod"and "up-market" which has led to bland and uncomfortable furniture, plastic materials. eating off slates and odd colour schemes. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“5 stars for the coach driver”

Written on: 14/06/2014 by Landent335 (1 review written)

Just had the first holiday in uk for at least 20 years but will be going abroad for the next hols Hotel was very tired to say the least but the staff were very friendly and helpful food was not to bad But I have to say our driver was great very funny ( but needs a few new jokes) but very knowledgable And very punctuall and also an excellent driver this is why I have given the 5stars not for The hotel but for the driver … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Lake Como great, not Shearings!”

Written on: 07/06/2014 by 61Thorpe (1 review written)

Booked holiday on internet, later had letter saying only two tours included not three. I phoned to be told they were not responsible for what it said on Internet only what was in their brochure. Not a good start! Had to wait an extra 40 minutes at Milan airport for another plane to land. You soon realise that you are part of large operation. Trip on Bernina Express was very good as was trip to Villa Balbianello. However we went on Jewel of the Lake Grand Tourer and we were basically mugged! I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

Some like it, some don't its a marm*te type of holiday and hotel.
You got to remember thousands go on these trips every year and how many articles on this site 221....?
The complaint ratio to Shearings is less than 7% and that is very very low.
Either some sit there grin and bear it and say nothing or who knows?
When these breaks go wrong they do so big time.
But diddly little things like accommodation or a driver trying it on is par for the course.
Being mugged off in Italy is the norm the Italians do see us coming some times it no worse elsewhere.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Battle of the Buldge Tour”

Written on: 24/05/2014 by wolves21 (1 review written)

Excellent coach for such a long journey, plenty of leg room for tall people. Only 20 on the tour so plenty of spare seats enabling customers to move around. Coach driver not realy a talkative person. The roads in Leige were very tight and the driver did hit some bollards and damaged the coach. Food was a set menu not for me and my husband so we went into the restaurant and paid. Had fabulous steaks both nights. Sherrings need to arrange a choice of food i.e. salad or a fruit juice etc... Tours… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Coach delays”

Written on: 06/05/2014 by Tuftsley (1 review written)

Coach an hour late at Scotch corner, driver very unsocial . Hotel very run down but food and waiters excellent. Tour coach driver excellent. On return, coach due at 12 noon at Gretna Green - didn't arrive till 2pm then not enough seats and had to wait another half hour for luggage and passengers to be transferred to another coach. Although Tarbet Is a nice place, it is very isolated and I think this should be made clear in the brochure, as we were bored to tears on the day we didn't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by Agustinv204 (1 review written)

This was the first time Shearings Coach holidays had used the Ibis Hotel, Bercy, Paris, because of its good location. All rooms are very small. There was nowhere to store our suitcases, there was just one small drawer between the two of us, and we had 2 hangers each. There were no tea making facilities in the room. The beds however, were very comfortable. Breakfast was mayhem! There were so many people trying to serve themselves at 2 small "stations" They kept running out of cereal bowls… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Grumpychippy's Comment

Written on: 27/04/2014

We were on the same trip. Agree with comments on hotel. Saving grace was Paris itself and the driver, who was excellent. We would also think long and hard about travelling with Shearings again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anitakeane's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

beacuase shearings ignore all bad reviews esp if you are unlucky enough to suffer an injury customer care and dennis wprmwell are just as bad they dont want to know my only way forward now i have been advised to take civil aciton after two soliciters letters that have been ignored should be renamed customer dont care i now will take my soliciter offer up and expose this company once and for all

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Averyprivategentleman's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

Shea-rings only allow negative comments on some or very rare occasions, there was one time they allowed negatives on the site, most of the time they block them.
They will come on a site like this and refute the claims. Basically they control the flow of propaganda it is a slick outfit when trying to cover for its operations. There are some good holidays with this company but they are generally the 7 to 9 day non stop to location tours. Heart Of Italy non stop is a good one. You can pick it up at a discount site for about £400. Anything more elaborate and you entering unto difficult territory.
There is an investigation by authorities that has been ongoing about these coach holiday firms, hopefully a conclusion and some revelations will be exposed soon in the media.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“mr dennis wormwell does not reply”

Written on: 17/04/2014 by Flanagan227 (1 review written)

utter shambles still no reply from shearing advised to take civil action ,what a company two letters from solicier to customer care third to dennis wormwell I would seriously be worried about travelling with this company the mind boggles they have no morals for passenger safety or care buyer beware… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Averyprivategentleman's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

Yes of course he does reply and i can assure you he does read all the letters. However anything serious and the Customer services team normally take the reins with their legal team. We would all like to know what happened on your tour could you elaborate any further. I would try small claims court with mediation see how that works. Your case sounds very interesting.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anitakeane's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

no he does not reply nor do customer care it is now may this happened at christmas i am now in the process of taking a civil claim against this company and their unsafe veichles which polish police wanted to impound as i speak polish as well i understood fully what was said to the two drivers one polish one english who had to pay out of their own pockets 600 euro disgusting company they havnt even wrote to me or phoned to enquire how i was after suffering a cracked rib all the man in charge when he was phoned and told of the incident was get the coach back to the uk and quick not interested that the gendarmes should have been called thats what he should have advised but no and i know this beacuase i sat there as the driver rang him in the uk on his own mobile beacause shearing take the phones off the coaches so poor drivers have to run up there phone bills

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Averyprivategentleman's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

quite sad really

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anitakeane's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2014

i myself actually phoned customer care and they wernt really interested and dennis wormwell did not reply to soliciter letter one to him one to customer care so yes it is very sad how you can hold a company in such high esteem and take many holidays with them but my god if somthing goes wrong you get no help

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thebrotherhoodofthebell's Comment

Written on: 29/07/2014

Channel 4 Dispatches in Manchester Have a case file and an interest in these holidays and the use of dangerous coaches etc I suggest you contact the editor and contribute to your allegations etc.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 5 Comments
overview