Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
297
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“turkey tinsel”

Written on: 20/11/2016 by Thornton1955 (1 review written)

18 of us have just come back from self drive turkey and tinsel at bay royal in Weymouth. This was the worst turkey and tinsel I have been on. My partner had his own coach company so I have been on many. Hotel was freezing, no disabled room available for a couple who had booked as it was given to somebody else. Entertainment was terrible. Mulled wine we couldnt touch untill the coach people arrived in the evening. No father Christmas. One lady had no working toilet for three days despite… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Single lady travellers”

Written on: 06/11/2016 by Joc200 (1 review written)

Re previous review ... this also happened to me someone should start LISTENING !!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Joycem's Response to Joc200's Review

Written on: 06/11/2016

It also happened to me and Shearings are aware. Something must be done here.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“As driver like singe women.I find out after holiday he...”

Written on: 23/10/2016 by 241Schneider (1 review written)

As driver like singe women.I find out after holiday he mess around with passengers,while he is away from home.He tell women he is singe but he has Partner at home. Bad experience I had. Shearings dont take serious about complain at all.Never trust drivers,put me off to use shearings again. Shearings policy should remind every driver on duty to respect women.Very disappointed my holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nozza61's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2016

Yes. I had the same problem with Tyrers in Adlington, Chorley. They make out it is your fault and even barred me from their coach tours and I did nothing wrong. I wouldn't care, the driver had such a big fat belly I wouldn't have looked twice at him.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“nice short break ”

Written on: 10/10/2016 by Davisqt86 (1 review written)

Nice Hotel in a good location in Folkestone although rooms were clean and checked daily were in need of re-decorating and some repairs to windows Double Glazing blown and in Bathroom need new suits and for disabled/elderly no bath just a walk in shower would be better. Also very cold in dining room large windows Not Double glazed! Staff were very very helpful with everything nothing was too much trouble, All the Shearings Drivers were really helpful but we found leaving at 6.15 am to go to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“worst holiday ever”

Written on: 09/10/2016 by RobertoFrazier239 (1 review written)

Bad from the minute we arrived at Normanton 2.5 hrs wait in the cold no seating place packed all coaches had left but ours then a nightmare of a journey to Oban 14 hrs from leaving home 21.30 eating a meal break down drivers hrs fed up driver unable to get help contact then lift in hotel broke down friend fell down stairs at hospital all day need I go on first and last time using this company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good holiday - bad accomodation”

Written on: 26/09/2016 by TyreeHall491 (1 review written)

We were picked up in Biggleswade late by Tates coaches and finally arrived at Corley services at 12.45. Unfortunately due to problems with toilets we were taken to the wrong side of the services for transfer to our holiday coach. We were told to be ready for boarding by 1.15pm (a stop of just 30 minutes)however, it was nearer 2pm when we finally boarded. Once on board we travelled to Stretton where there was yet another change of driver. We were then taken to Days Inn, Liverpool for our holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Valley of doom and gloom.”

Written on: 22/09/2016

We stayed at the valley of the rocks hotel there is only one thing to do with this hotel lock the door and throw the key in the sea provided you on the outside sorry but it really bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“journey by coach or in this case coaches”

Written on: 20/09/2016 by woBlevins416 (1 review written)

We were picked up outside matalan in Stevenage at 8.15 am on Monday 12th September 2016 by Tates feeder coach, but unfortunately the coach did not arrive at Chorley services until 12.05 pm, and we did not get offered a stop during this time, we think that it far to long to be on the feeder coach. We then waited another 2 hours at Chorley before we eventually got on our tour coach to take us to Blackpool and this journey was horrendous due to hold ups on the M6 we finally reached our destination… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Shearings the best so far”

Written on: 09/09/2016

Great Yarmouth was not our first choice but I am very glad that we went, the hotel Carlton was more than we hoped for, The hotel was very clean, well looked after the room was quite large and plenty of space in the shower room, You had no problem when going for your meals as you had your own table, and meals was served by the most pleasant staff that I have come across.The food was very good and cooked well, The choice was good and if you went hungry it was your own fault. The only small… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Italian riviera package review”

Written on: 08/09/2016 by Joechef51 (1 review written)

First trip with shearing.30Aug to 08Sept 2016.to Diana marina.three trips included.drivers of coach were,Trevor and Gareth.long journey there and back.well looked after by shearing staff.perfect I would say.hotel was sylvano,good clean room,plenty of food well cooked.staff work bloody hard to please us all.packed meals lunch when on trips x3.very good,apples I do not eat,my wife and I will go again.same coach,hotel etc if possible. Book ref was d69937. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Beautiful Oxfordshire”

Written on: 28/08/2016 by dottie2 (1 review written)

Just arrived home from a 5 day tour of the above staying at the Holiday Inn,Slough the hotel it's self was very clean but there was no drawers in the bedroom and only 4 coat hangers not near enough for 5 days. The food was just like school dinners serving up half a portion of fish, half a slice of gammon the dessert was a choice of chocolate cake or jelly both of which I do not like to top it all the food was served almost cold. Now we come to the tours it states in brochure that the tour… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Harrogate 8 Day 6-13 August 2016”

Written on: 16/08/2016 by joycem (1 review written)

Just returned from my second 8 day staying at St George, Harrogate which is very well situated for shops, train and bus station. Have been here so many times and I just love Yorkshire. The staff remembered me too! Friendly staff, good food and comfortable room. The Shearings Driver was so efficient and courteous, telling us bits of history of places as we passed through. Also extra optional trips. Not permitted to mention names, but he will know who he is! I always book the front seat at a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“No complaints ”

Written on: 06/08/2016 by LuciaMyrick177 (1 review written)

I have 0n a number of hollydays with sherings and can honestly say that I have enjoyed every one thanks to all sherings staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“5 day tour to Torquay with Travelstyle 27/6/2016”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by MickWootton (2 reviews written)

After being let down by another coach company it was a "last minute" forage through the "net" to find something suitable and we found our local coach company Travelstyle had a reasonable priced tour to our originally planned destination - Torquay. The Hotel was the "Sherwood Palms", (originally just the "Sherwood") which I have already given a favourable review to, and as myself and my wife have had some good cheap holidays with Travelstyle we knew how they operated. We were suprised when the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Awful Coach experience”

Written on: 14/07/2016 by Wilsonrq159 (1 review written)

Travelled from Brighton to Somerset,Shearings took us to a service point near Watford then a long wait to commence the second stage of our trip,repeat performance on the return trip,both journeys took over 9 hours Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Enchanting Ireland”

Written on: 12/07/2016 by Vancel63 (1 review written)

The tour was not cheap but well wroth the cost. We covered so much of Ireland during the time we were there. We chose to go over by air and felt like royalty at Leeds Bradford Airport when we were met by an escort and escorted to our booking in desk and then to the airport lounge where we waited in comfort until our flight was called. We were met at the Belfast George Best Airport and taken by taxi to our first hotel - Slieve Donard. A five star hotel in Newcastle. Wonderful food,excellent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again”

Written on: 10/07/2016 by HazelKirkland1971 (1 review written)

We went on a 5 day coach trip to the Highlands with Shearings in June 2016 - luckily we travelled up by car - the coach took 10 hours! (we did it in 5 and a half hours) - we were really looking forward to it - till we got to the hotel - looks quite stunning from outside - till you walk inside - its like going back in time to the 1930s - the minute you walk in it looks like a retirement home everything is so old fashioned - we went to Reception - took them 5 minutes to find our booking even with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Debs16's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2016

In 5.5 hours u could do 110mph to the hotel plus you haven't stated where you started your journey.
And plus coaches can only do 60mph plus contending with traffic. Taking legal breaks enroute the drivers cant just drive and drive till we reach a hotel, as most people think, and as most passengers who travel look at the whole picture. I.e location photos of hotel if you googled it and click photos you would see hotel. Plus overall you pay for what you get if don't want to pay for upgrades from the start then it is standard room not 4 poster style room

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Frustrating coach journey ”

Written on: 12/06/2016

Our feedback is mainly regarding the coach trip itself Our outward journey we were sent a taxi to take five customers plus cases as our feeder coach from Stone to Corley which meant that we arrived there two and a half hours early Once there the lady luggage handler said to leave our cases there,One of the ladies in that group was from Canada which meant that security was utmost on her agenda but instead of the luggage handler bearing this in mind she was quite blatant saying… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“free drinks not as they seem at the Beresford hotel...”

Written on: 09/06/2016 by Wilson386 (1 review written)

You can have a lemonade or coke with a spirt you can have A pint of beer or larger for one stamp on your card. But you can only have half of coke and not a pint. WHY ? Is this. As beer and spirits cost more. As far as I am concerned This is cheating. This. Is misrepresentation… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“hotel food not up to standard”

Written on: 27/04/2016

Just returned from a Shearings Holiday to Lake Garda stayed at Hotel Della Rosa Arcor the hotel was very clean rooms were large and roomy some members of staff were quite rude and the food was very disappointing it was continental breakfast nothing hot evening meal was 2 pasta dishes 1 meat and fish dish a vegetarian and fried potatoes one night and roast another there was no vegetables or fresh fruit it was the same choice daily will not be returning to this hotel the holiday itself all the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview