Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
291
41% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Valley of doom and gloom.”

Written on: 22/09/2016

We stayed at the valley of the rocks hotel there is only one thing to do with this hotel lock the door and throw the key in the sea provided you on the outside sorry but it really bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“journey by coach or in this case coaches”

Written on: 20/09/2016 by woBlevins416 (1 review written)

We were picked up outside matalan in Stevenage at 8.15 am on Monday 12th September 2016 by Tates feeder coach, but unfortunately the coach did not arrive at Chorley services until 12.05 pm, and we did not get offered a stop during this time, we think that it far to long to be on the feeder coach. We then waited another 2 hours at Chorley before we eventually got on our tour coach to take us to Blackpool and this journey was horrendous due to hold ups on the M6 we finally reached our destination… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Shearings the best so far”

Written on: 09/09/2016

Great Yarmouth was not our first choice but I am very glad that we went, the hotel Carlton was more than we hoped for, The hotel was very clean, well looked after the room was quite large and plenty of space in the shower room, You had no problem when going for your meals as you had your own table, and meals was served by the most pleasant staff that I have come across.The food was very good and cooked well, The choice was good and if you went hungry it was your own fault. The only small… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Italian riviera package review”

Written on: 08/09/2016 by Joechef51 (1 review written)

First trip with shearing.30Aug to 08Sept 2016.to Diana marina.three trips included.drivers of coach were,Trevor and Gareth.long journey there and back.well looked after by shearing staff.perfect I would say.hotel was sylvano,good clean room,plenty of food well cooked.staff work bloody hard to please us all.packed meals lunch when on trips x3.very good,apples I do not eat,my wife and I will go again.same coach,hotel etc if possible. Book ref was d69937. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Beautiful Oxfordshire”

Written on: 28/08/2016 by dottie2 (1 review written)

Just arrived home from a 5 day tour of the above staying at the Holiday Inn,Slough the hotel it's self was very clean but there was no drawers in the bedroom and only 4 coat hangers not near enough for 5 days. The food was just like school dinners serving up half a portion of fish, half a slice of gammon the dessert was a choice of chocolate cake or jelly both of which I do not like to top it all the food was served almost cold. Now we come to the tours it states in brochure that the tour… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Harrogate 8 Day 6-13 August 2016”

Written on: 16/08/2016 by joycem (1 review written)

Just returned from my second 8 day staying at St George, Harrogate which is very well situated for shops, train and bus station. Have been here so many times and I just love Yorkshire. The staff remembered me too! Friendly staff, good food and comfortable room. The Shearings Driver was so efficient and courteous, telling us bits of history of places as we passed through. Also extra optional trips. Not permitted to mention names, but he will know who he is! I always book the front seat at a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“No complaints ”

Written on: 06/08/2016 by LuciaMyrick177 (1 review written)

I have 0n a number of hollydays with sherings and can honestly say that I have enjoyed every one thanks to all sherings staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“5 day tour to Torquay with Travelstyle 27/6/2016”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by MickWootton (2 reviews written)

After being let down by another coach company it was a "last minute" forage through the "net" to find something suitable and we found our local coach company Travelstyle had a reasonable priced tour to our originally planned destination - Torquay. The Hotel was the "Sherwood Palms", (originally just the "Sherwood") which I have already given a favourable review to, and as myself and my wife have had some good cheap holidays with Travelstyle we knew how they operated. We were suprised when the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Awful Coach experience”

Written on: 14/07/2016 by Wilsonrq159 (1 review written)

Travelled from Brighton to Somerset,Shearings took us to a service point near Watford then a long wait to commence the second stage of our trip,repeat performance on the return trip,both journeys took over 9 hours Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Enchanting Ireland”

Written on: 12/07/2016 by Vancel63 (1 review written)

The tour was not cheap but well wroth the cost. We covered so much of Ireland during the time we were there. We chose to go over by air and felt like royalty at Leeds Bradford Airport when we were met by an escort and escorted to our booking in desk and then to the airport lounge where we waited in comfort until our flight was called. We were met at the Belfast George Best Airport and taken by taxi to our first hotel - Slieve Donard. A five star hotel in Newcastle. Wonderful food,excellent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again”

Written on: 10/07/2016 by HazelKirkland1971 (1 review written)

We went on a 5 day coach trip to the Highlands with Shearings in June 2016 - luckily we travelled up by car - the coach took 10 hours! (we did it in 5 and a half hours) - we were really looking forward to it - till we got to the hotel - looks quite stunning from outside - till you walk inside - its like going back in time to the 1930s - the minute you walk in it looks like a retirement home everything is so old fashioned - we went to Reception - took them 5 minutes to find our booking even with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Debs16's Comment

Written on: 21/07/2016

In 5.5 hours u could do 110mph to the hotel plus you haven't stated where you started your journey.
And plus coaches can only do 60mph plus contending with traffic. Taking legal breaks enroute the drivers cant just drive and drive till we reach a hotel, as most people think, and as most passengers who travel look at the whole picture. I.e location photos of hotel if you googled it and click photos you would see hotel. Plus overall you pay for what you get if don't want to pay for upgrades from the start then it is standard room not 4 poster style room

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Frustrating coach journey ”

Written on: 12/06/2016

Our feedback is mainly regarding the coach trip itself Our outward journey we were sent a taxi to take five customers plus cases as our feeder coach from Stone to Corley which meant that we arrived there two and a half hours early Once there the lady luggage handler said to leave our cases there,One of the ladies in that group was from Canada which meant that security was utmost on her agenda but instead of the luggage handler bearing this in mind she was quite blatant saying… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“free drinks not as they seem at the Beresford hotel...”

Written on: 09/06/2016 by Wilson386 (1 review written)

You can have a lemonade or coke with a spirt you can have A pint of beer or larger for one stamp on your card. But you can only have half of coke and not a pint. WHY ? Is this. As beer and spirits cost more. As far as I am concerned This is cheating. This. Is misrepresentation… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“hotel food not up to standard”

Written on: 27/04/2016

Just returned from a Shearings Holiday to Lake Garda stayed at Hotel Della Rosa Arcor the hotel was very clean rooms were large and roomy some members of staff were quite rude and the food was very disappointing it was continental breakfast nothing hot evening meal was 2 pasta dishes 1 meat and fish dish a vegetarian and fried potatoes one night and roast another there was no vegetables or fresh fruit it was the same choice daily will not be returning to this hotel the holiday itself all the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“TIME WASTED”

Written on: 03/04/2016 by SUPERMANFOREVER (1 review written)

We travelled to lloret der mar on 27th feb and stayed at the SAMBA HOTEL.The hotel and food was briliant. HOwever the coach travel was tedious due to stops at service stations every 2 hours,AWFUL! Drivers coasting,saving fuel? Far to many stops, not able to sleep, as you got settled it was time to get off the coach again!!Would think this trip could be done in 4/6 hours less,would not recommend this so called express coach trip,coaches not as luxury as led to believe… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Deb0's Response to SUPERMANFOREVER's Review

Written on: 21/07/2016

Its a night express for the reason that your not stopping in a hotel and no it won't be in 4-6 hours to for passenger comfort they are coaches that only do 60mph not powered by redbull.and no u won't get luxury grand tourer for night express not the state that they end up in after the journey
Best you would be in lloret is 11am if no problems with ferry or tunnel it's all part of the holiday like every other complaint on here blame the coach side when can't find fault with hotel even that hotel the biggest dive in lloret and food is far from brilliant

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“never use room 134 as its unuseable for single humans .”

Written on: 17/03/2016 by hbPierce50 (1 review written)

when i arrived in the burlington hotel in eastbourn i was given room 134 thats was i can only say was not fit for humans to sleep in the carpet was thred bare and the decor was blue wall paper if you could see through the dirt there was holes in the wall where cables came through the tv must have been 20 yrs old and so big the work top it was sitting on had broken the dresing table was all so broken so you could not use the draws below i wii not start in the so called bathroom i was ready to go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“my gripes”

Written on: 23/02/2016 by michealkearns (1 review written)

My wife and I went to Eastbourne on 19 Feb 2016 we booked the front seats and paid £10 each extra. On joining the feeder coach the driver told every one they could sit in any seat. As the feeder trip was as long as the main trip I feel we were cheated out of the twenty pounds extra we paid the same thing happened on the excursions I think the driver should tell people to sit in any seat except the front seats. We did not get to sit in the front seats for the feeder or the excursions. We think… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievable”

Written on: 17/02/2016 by Valerien (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with Shearings yesterday morning at 11 o'clock. Paid the deposit. E-mail confirming the booking received immediately, pick up point altered and second confirmation email received. Friends who were coming with us tried to make the same reservation at 4.30 only to be told the holiday had been withdrawn!!! I admit that I made a very irate phone call and demanded that someone called me with an explanation. That happened this morning. The person who rang me told me that I was on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Discombobulation's Response to Valerien's Review

Written on: 17/04/2016

This is par for the course with this company and the other banners it operates under. They do what they want and how it suits them obviously within the parameters of their operation. The driver and jump seat is (2) staff Dependant on the tour. (2) Other seats may have been reserved for a Tour Manager & A Gastro Guide. Make no meal about it they deal with thousands of holidays a year and they know how to triangulate complaints, they are used to it ! Personally I do not get how they obtain repeat business and obtain such a large share of the market ? They have their favorites where their customers are concerned. It is interesting to note (2) new companies appearing on the horizon ALFA & DIAMOND holidays should give them a good run for their money. Oh and by the way there is renewed TV reporting media interest in these coach holiday companies and how they operate should make for a very good factual expose' I would watch the space ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Hotel Britannia Excelsior, Lake Como”

Written on: 11/02/2016 by MissHappyPants (1 review written)

As I am unable to fly at present my partner booked a holiday to Lake Como via Shearings. I cannot fault the travel arrangements, or the hotel but I have reviewed this seperately. Our drivers were brilliant, despite several inconveniences which couldn't have been pleasant, they dealt with them all admirably. The whole experience whilst we found the journey quite tiring, was excellently planned. Everything ran to time, the bus was always clean when we got on it, despite several of our fellow… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing.”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by Malcshirl (1 review written)

Went to the Beresford hotel Newquay 1st February this year for 5 days. The hotel being closed for 4 weeks for refurbishment is very nice. Staff food and entertainment was excellent. As we upgraded our room there was no problem there. On day of departure, as we were boarding the coach the driver informed passengers that the M5 motorway were closed between 2 junctions.when i asked him if he was going to do a detour he said no. 4 coaches set off all going up north. As the traffic started building… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview