Shearings Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
278
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Accommodation

  • Customer Service

  • Food

  • Facilities

  • Location

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shearings Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“hotel food not up to standard”

Written on: 27/04/2016

Just returned from a Shearings Holiday to Lake Garda stayed at Hotel Della Rosa Arcor the hotel was very clean rooms were large and roomy some members of staff were quite rude and the food was very disappointing it was continental breakfast nothing hot evening meal was 2 pasta dishes 1 meat and fish dish a vegetarian and fried potatoes one night and roast another there was no vegetables or fresh fruit it was the same choice daily will not be returning to this hotel the holiday itself all the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“TIME WASTED”

Written on: 03/04/2016 by SUPERMANFOREVER (1 review written)

We travelled to lloret der mar on 27th feb and stayed at the SAMBA HOTEL.The hotel and food was briliant. HOwever the coach travel was tedious due to stops at service stations every 2 hours,AWFUL! Drivers coasting,saving fuel? Far to many stops, not able to sleep, as you got settled it was time to get off the coach again!!Would think this trip could be done in 4/6 hours less,would not recommend this so called express coach trip,coaches not as luxury as led to believe… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“never use room 134 as its unuseable for single humans .”

Written on: 17/03/2016 by hbPierce50 (1 review written)

when i arrived in the burlington hotel in eastbourn i was given room 134 thats was i can only say was not fit for humans to sleep in the carpet was thred bare and the decor was blue wall paper if you could see through the dirt there was holes in the wall where cables came through the tv must have been 20 yrs old and so big the work top it was sitting on had broken the dresing table was all so broken so you could not use the draws below i wii not start in the so called bathroom i was ready to go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“my gripes”

Written on: 23/02/2016 by michealkearns (1 review written)

My wife and I went to Eastbourne on 19 Feb 2016 we booked the front seats and paid £10 each extra. On joining the feeder coach the driver told every one they could sit in any seat. As the feeder trip was as long as the main trip I feel we were cheated out of the twenty pounds extra we paid the same thing happened on the excursions I think the driver should tell people to sit in any seat except the front seats. We did not get to sit in the front seats for the feeder or the excursions. We think… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unbelievable”

Written on: 17/02/2016 by Valerien (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with Shearings yesterday morning at 11 o'clock. Paid the deposit. E-mail confirming the booking received immediately, pick up point altered and second confirmation email received. Friends who were coming with us tried to make the same reservation at 4.30 only to be told the holiday had been withdrawn!!! I admit that I made a very irate phone call and demanded that someone called me with an explanation. That happened this morning. The person who rang me told me that I was on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Discombobulation's Response to Valerien's Review

Written on: 17/04/2016

This is par for the course with this company and the other banners it operates under. They do what they want and how it suits them obviously within the parameters of their operation. The driver and jump seat is (2) staff Dependant on the tour. (2) Other seats may have been reserved for a Tour Manager & A Gastro Guide. Make no meal about it they deal with thousands of holidays a year and they know how to triangulate complaints, they are used to it ! Personally I do not get how they obtain repeat business and obtain such a large share of the market ? They have their favorites where their customers are concerned. It is interesting to note (2) new companies appearing on the horizon ALFA & DIAMOND holidays should give them a good run for their money. Oh and by the way there is renewed TV reporting media interest in these coach holiday companies and how they operate should make for a very good factual expose' I would watch the space ?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Hotel Britannia Excelsior, Lake Como”

Written on: 11/02/2016 by MissHappyPants (1 review written)

As I am unable to fly at present my partner booked a holiday to Lake Como via Shearings. I cannot fault the travel arrangements, or the hotel but I have reviewed this seperately. Our drivers were brilliant, despite several inconveniences which couldn't have been pleasant, they dealt with them all admirably. The whole experience whilst we found the journey quite tiring, was excellently planned. Everything ran to time, the bus was always clean when we got on it, despite several of our fellow… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing.”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by Malcshirl (1 review written)

Went to the Beresford hotel Newquay 1st February this year for 5 days. The hotel being closed for 4 weeks for refurbishment is very nice. Staff food and entertainment was excellent. As we upgraded our room there was no problem there. On day of departure, as we were boarding the coach the driver informed passengers that the M5 motorway were closed between 2 junctions.when i asked him if he was going to do a detour he said no. 4 coaches set off all going up north. As the traffic started building… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Tor Park Hotel, Torquay. ”

Written on: 09/02/2016 by Blazer. (1 review written)

We went on a 5 day Shearings coach holiday on the 1 st Feb 2016, we arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the very friendly staff, who were fantastic throughout the holiday, food was excellent and hot,choice was great,all the staff were the friendliest we have seen,entertainment was excellent, the room was large with all facilities plus flat screen TV, there was free WiFi, in all a first class holiday ! The hotel is up a hill ,but only 100 yds from the top of the main shopping… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Just couldn't believe what happened !!!!!”

Written on: 09/02/2016 by DaveSp (2 reviews written)

We have just returned from a Shearings Coach trip to Weston Super mare, apart from the weather(obviously outside of anyone's control) we were quite happy with the trip, Hotel was adequate, Itinerary with trips out from Weston fine, and a very accommodating driver. We left the Hotel at 10am whilst storm Imogen was battering the coast for what we imagined would be a very hazardous journey back to Warrington. Our driver made good time despite the conditions and we made two forty five comfort break… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Royal Hotel Whitby”

Written on: 24/01/2016 by Smiffyas (1 review written)

Paid for upgrade room nice and clean problem on the coldest weekend of 2016 heating not working complained and two heaters found but still not enough especially when cleaner turned them of and opened the window, the hot water was just tepid when we wanted to shower this was every evening the only time the hot water was OK was 07.00 in the morning or 15.00 in the afternoon,complained to management who come to the room and tried to convince my wife that the water was warm after she had been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again !!”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by npMacMillan340 (1 review written)

Just been to Weymouth for Christmas with Shearings.It was a nightmare!Firstly they wanted £15.0 per person to change the pickup point, that was £45.00 for the three of us. They finally agreed to just £15.00. They picked us up in Seaford and took us by coach to Gateway transfer station where we waited 1.5 hours for our coach. We eventually arrived after a journey of 9 hours.The hotel was quite nice apart from the price of the drinks.How can they justify 95 pence to add a shot of lime to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again !!”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by npMacMillan340 (1 review written)

Just been to Weymouth for Christmas with Shearings.It was a nightmare!Firstly they wanted £15.0 per person to change the pickup point, that was £45.00 for the three of us. They finally agreed to just £15.00. They picked us up in Seaford and took us by coach to Gateway transfer station where we waited 1.5 hours for our coach. We eventually arrived after a journey of 9 hours.The hotel was quite nice apart from the price of the drinks.How can they justify 95 pence to add a shot of lime to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again !!”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by npMacMillan340 (1 review written)

Just been to Weymouth for Christmas with Shearings.It was a nightmare!Firstly they wanted £15.0 per person to change the pickup point, that was £45.00 for the three of us. They finally agreed to just £15.00. They picked us up in Seaford and took us by coach to Gateway transfer station where we waited 1.5 hours for our coach. We eventually arrived after a journey of 9 hours.The hotel was quite nice apart from the price of the drinks.How can they justify 95 pence to add a shot of lime to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again !!”

Written on: 10/01/2016 by npMacMillan340 (1 review written)

Just been to Weymouth for Christmas with Shearings.It was a nightmare!Firstly they wanted £15.0 per person to change the pickup point, that was £45.00 for the three of us. They finally agreed to just £15.00. They picked us up in Seaford and took us by coach to Gateway transfer station where we waited 1.5 hours for our coach. We eventually arrived after a journey of 9 hours.The hotel was quite nice apart from the price of the drinks.How can they justify 95 pence to add a shot of lime to my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“.not to be repeated”

Written on: 09/01/2016

having spent 24+plus hours travelling in the dark, missing beautiful scenery across Europe, we arrived at lake Como, Italy, Just before we arrived at 8a.m we were asked by the driver to pay extra for breakfast,lunch on that day & a meal on the day of departure. Never having been there before & not knowing the area, we paid. On the going home day the cases were put on the coach at 9am. we then had to sit around the hotel for 12hrs till 8.30pm with our coats on it was that cold. the hotel was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Debs15's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2016

Sorry to say but did you not read the brochure before you booked to see that you was booking a night express so that means you don't see day light from 5pm to 6am
As for that tour its one of the shortest night express tours shearings do that's why it popular done it few times ain't that bad
Think its a case of read before you book or pick a tour that stops in overnight hotel

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“New year on the iow ”

Written on: 08/01/2016

My husband and I travelled with Shearings to the iow whilst the hotel was fine the Broadway park. No complaints there. BUT Shearrings first of all on booking we were charged more than the brochure price on asking why the increase my husband was informed the costs must have gone up. EER fuel has come down it was a ny booking so quite expensive anyway. We did Carry on with the booking as we needed after a very bad year apick me up. Wrong thing to do after a very long jurney spendding… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Christmas Break at schlosshotel Rosenegg.”

Written on: 05/01/2016

Xmas break in Austria, Was very very long journey, had to request entertainment was put on screens as we were all always falling asleep, the window on the coach didn't help as they were so dark it made viewing quite dismal, this was the grand tourer coach. Hotel Schlosshotel Rosenegg Austria was nice but they couldn't cope with amount of people and xmas dinner was a big disappointment due to lack of staff and quality of food, the reps did the right thing they both walked out and left us to moan… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fabulous”

Written on: 21/12/2015 by wpHarper147 (1 review written)

This was our first Shearings coach and cruise holiday. It was fabulous. From the wonderful coach driver to the superb cruise ship on the Rhine. The MPS Rotterdam was beautiful. Cabin was small but very comfortable with all we needed and bathroom was just great. The food was lovely and the staff were just amazing. Entertainment was fun. So relaxing cruising down the Rhine… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Coast and country”

Written on: 12/12/2015 by CarolDobson (1 review written)

Amazing bargain 5 day trip to The George at Chollerford near Newcastle, including trips to Durham, Newcastle & Hexham, plus a £25 spend each! Meals were very good, room was modern and refurbished. Room was serviced daily and hotel was spotlessly clean. All staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful, from receptionists to restaurant staff, maintenance man and bar staff. Only downside was that the leisure centre had been closed but this was due to flooding, caused by the heavy rain. Our driver… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointed ”

Written on: 11/12/2015

We have been on many shearings holidays and always been more than satisfied. We have just returned from the bay majestic at Eastbourne to which was our fourth trip to this hotel.firstly on boarding the coach ot Corley we were told we were going to Northampton to merge with a coach from Yorkshire first time this as ever happened to us is this shearings way of making more money at the customers expense.on arrival at the hotel which was an hour later than normal we went to our room well don't no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview