Scotties Reviews - www.scotties.co.nz

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
53% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Scotties www.scotties.co.nz - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Scotties www.scotties.co.nz

Scotties www.scotties.co.nz

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Worst car rental experience I have ever had”

Written on: 30/07/2014 by Phs989 (1 review written)

I rented a car using Scotties - booked through a travel agent in AU not directly - and the service received was just shocking. Im a very laid back individual so for me to get to the point of writing a review this negative things just had to be diabolical. I will reference i rented back over Christmas and New Year and recently rented a car in AU and had the most pleasant experience so i felt i had to recall the horror of the Scotties experience. The car we were given firstly had a cracked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to Phs989's Review

Written on: 21/08/2014

We are sorry this customer was not able to be satisfied. We are closed Christmas day and so left a car for him at the airport as agreed with a child seat. Many of our staff drive for miles to be with family for one day so it is also a short day.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to move offices on the 24th of December. The busiest day of the year and also busier because we have to process all the cars for christmas as well.

Auckland is booked out of cars at christmas. This car arrived back with a broken windscreen and as everyone is so busy and most businesses close at 12.00 midday it was impossible to get it fixed. We could have just cancelled the rental but I am sure this easy going man would have been very happy for us to do that as he would not have got a car as nobody in Auckland had any.

We always fit the car seats for customers. Somehow this got missed in the business of the day. The instructions for fitting the seat are on the seat and very straight forward.

We are sorry the GPS didn't work. A staff member spent a long time with these people trying to get things right with them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Review of Pajero Rental”

Written on: 26/07/2014 by Les13 (1 review written)

The car we rented was quite good. It drove well on sealed & unsealed roads. I also had confidence driving the car in tricky icy and snowy conditions while in the Wanaka district. A four wheel drive is essential in the wintery conditions. The pick-up and drop-off were smooth and friendly. Local district road maps would have been an advantage. The wiper blades (front and back) needed replacing otherwise everything was good on a vehicle that had 120,000km on the odometer. Only other problem was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to Les13's Review

Written on: 21/08/2014

Thanks so much for your feedback we are glad you had a great trip.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Good value car rental”

Written on: 18/05/2014 by roberton01 (1 review written)

I booked a car for my recent holiday to New Zealand through an online car hire broker called Holiday Autos as the major car hire companies were really expensive. They booked me with Scotties. The car I had was older but spotless on the inside and a really good wee runner. The staff were friendly and overall the whole experience from pickup at Auckland airport at the beginning to airport drop off at the end was excellent. I will use Scotties again on my next trip to New Zealand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to roberton01's Review

Written on: 21/08/2014

Thanks so much for your review we are glad it went well.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst Car Renatal Company”

Written on: 01/03/2014 by Carney378 (1 review written)

This was the most unorganised, unefficient car rental company i have ever used! Not to mention more expensive than other companies. I am disgusted with the service that they provided for us when using them on our new zealand holiday trip, and do not recommend this company to anyone. I suggest to use companies such a Thrifty or Hertz. We were ripped off, and tried to contact Scotties to resolve our unsatisfactory experience with them, and they completely ignored us. Once they have your money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 04/03/2014

Please email us as we take all complaints very seriously and never ignore anyone.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“GREAT FUN CAR”

Written on: 26/02/2014 by greatlifetime (1 review written)

We would like to thank Scotties car rental for looking after us. We hired a Mazda mx5 and had a ball.New Zealand is a great country to drive around with the roof down. Scotties is a great company to deal with .They couldnt do enough for us Scotties picked us up at our Auckland hotel and drove us to their car hire depot. The car was spotless'gave us a free GPS and when we return the car a week later drove us to the nearest petrol station then onto our hotel in Auckland… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to greatlifetime's Review

Written on: 04/03/2014

Thanks for the lovely comment. Glad you enjoyed your holiday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst car rental ever”

Written on: 14/02/2014

I don't recommend this car rental! The service, the car, and the after service was awful! I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 18/02/2014

Please could this person email me as I would really like to know how this went so wrong.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“HIghly recommended”

Written on: 27/01/2014 by endlessfreedom (2 reviews written)

I got a backpacker car for three month for a great rate and good service. The battery went off, I got a new one right away. The car took me more then 4000 km through New Zealand and I recommended to backpacker friends and they got a great deal too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Endlessfreedom's Response to endlessfreedom's Review

Written on: 27/01/2014

sorry, the value for money must have 5 stars

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to endlessfreedom's Review

Written on: 18/02/2014

Thanks for your lovely comment.

Annie

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Not Very Professional”

Written on: 26/01/2014

Had a 10 day car rental with Scotties in New Zealand which I had booked through Holiday Autos, picking up the car from Queenstown Airport. On arrival we rang the number provided to organise the shuttle to pick us up and take us to our car which was not parked at the airport ( we understood this from the booking) . When I rang there seemed to be some confusion over the booking and it took about 10 minutes to sort out that we did indeed have a car. We then waited another probably 20 minutes for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 18/02/2014

2 Things here we have changed our provider and are in the process of changing the older Pajero for two Brand new SUV

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use them - pay more”

Written on: 13/01/2014

Booked a car via Atlas.com and paid in advance. Booking was passed to a company called Letz who passed it on to their sister company called Scotties. The car was due to be picked up close to our hotel in Downtown Auckland. After several phone calls, we had to take a taxi ride to their depot. The car had over 230,000 km on the clock, had two hub cabs missing, no tono cover so our luggage was exposed, windscreen wiper blades worn out, air conditioning barely functioned. The road worthy cert was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2014

We looked after these people when no one else would as every one was booked out.They left it very late to book. We only had our backpacker range left. We give customers a clear drop off sheet and a Toll free number to contact us. Letz is not a sister company to Scotties

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Difficult”

Written on: 03/01/2014

We found Scotties with a web trawleafter and chose an airport presence option. After it was booked we received an email telling us this was not the case. We went through the process of filling in a secure form for an 'after hours' pickup from a local motel, and followed up with phone calls. Unfortunately when we turned up (after midnight) no vehicle had been left for us. We tried the phone number but, as it is only manned from 6am-6pm that did not help. It was only after we started trying to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2014

Every night of the year we leave cars for people after hours as many planes arrive after midnight. We have a after hours number for the rare occasion it goes wrong and as in this case we gave them a car to get to their accommodation for the night

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“how is this company keeping in business?”

Written on: 21/12/2013 by fmhanc (1 review written)

Stay away from this agency. Old, old cars The first one (Yes had to get replacement) was dirty, had a bad CV drive axle and smelled. Not sure what year it was but over 8 years old - Nissan Sentra It was the right class of car (size) but much older than expected and not in good mechanical shape. It took almost 3 hours to get a changeover and they did not offer any discounting. There was one sitting there that they said was already rented out. The one they had been going to supply in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Response to fmhanc's Review

Written on: 21/01/2014

Scotties Rentals do not have any Nissan Sentra on our fleet. All our cars are regularly serviced and all checked before hire. They are regularly safety checked by the NZ Govt. This would have been through a overseas booking agency which all rental car companies use, many which quote in US dollars. We have a wide range of vehicles from the older back packer car to Newer Vehicles. It just depends on what you want.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“no troubles”

Written on: 17/12/2013 by sconsol (1 review written)

We hired a car with this company, it was a good experience, no problems and they was very helpfull at any time, the car was cheap, and runs well as new, and absolutly clean. upgraded and with a navigator The boss help us so much, especially at the time we returned the car, they help us so much, thank you. Of course the price can be low, but as i know, after hiring cars all over the world what means a good advice, and this is one, not a huge company but really a excellent service (included the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Low rates, nice car”

Written on: 27/11/2013 by dunno99 (1 review written)

Our car was a little Daihatsu with 146,000 km on the clock but it was clean and went well -- also very cheap to hire and run. Service was friendly and staff even drove us back to the airport (Christchurch) after we returned the car. The only minor problem was that they forgot to put maps in the car but we got plenty of those from tourist brochures… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Scot-tastic!!”

Written on: 23/10/2013

Great rental! Plenty of room for 2 (or 3) people, excellent on petrol, quick and nifty. Would hire from Scotties again. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“IT JUST HAPPENED”

Written on: 27/09/2013 by mal9752 (1 review written)

Dealing with Scooties was an all round good experience. No surprises - no hiccups. Everything just happened as it should. A pleasant experience and we will definitely use them again when we visit NZ again later this year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Friendly service”

Written on: 25/09/2013 by KLarrett (1 review written)

Easy to find and good service. Pick up from airport was fine, drop off easy. Very pleasant man to greet us. Car was older but clean. An economical way to rent compared to big firms on airport site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very friendly and accommodating, good value rentals”

Written on: 09/09/2013 by cjobim (1 review written)

I found Scotties' service very good, it was a pleasure to deal with them. The truck we hired to move was very good value as well. Thanks for a painless hire, we'll use your services again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Check the tyre pressure's before traveling too far...”

Written on: 06/09/2013

Check the tyre pressure's before traveling too far after pick up, our tyre's were very low in pressure and the car was pulling all over the road. The vehicle we had was a little uncomfortable after traveling too long (Subaru Impreza),and lacking in power around the hills. The company was easy to deal with and reasonable with their prices. We would consider getting another vehicle with this company again, but not the same model we had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT RENT from Scotties near Auckland Airport NZ”

Written on: 30/08/2013

I made a reservation on NU rental website and got a quote which is much cheaper than the other big name rental companies. NU car rental has become Scottie which is located at a Best Western hotel near Auckland Airport in NZ via partnership or something. It was a lapse of judgement on my part to rent from NU/Scotties in an attempt to save a few bucks while on vacation. I was given a Subaru which has 150k km on it. There are dents and scratches all over and the exterior of the mirror on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2013

Hey sorry you were not happy ,we are currently working on getting a system where we charge you in US dollars if quoted in US so we are not relying on extra clips being taken by banks and credit cards after we have charged it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“worst company I have ever dealt with ”

Written on: 29/08/2013

dishonest, I am disabled would not respond to my calls after I rented and paid they admitted to mix up for pickup, delivered me an old old auto (they said by mistake) only delivered another old car the next day give customer run around says "at lunch" says "after hours" says "don't pick up email until later" says "cant talk I am at movies" pretend to have presence at Auckland airport they do NOT … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Anniescott's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2013

Feel really sad you need to lie. We picked her up before she booked as her plane was early,the owner came out and because the car was not ready early spent a lot of time with her at 0630 hours. We replaced the car 3 hours later driving an hour to take it to her.

She rang late in the day to say she had decided to go home 2 weeks early as unwell. We arranged staff to wait for her so they could go to the airport and help with her bags. She rang about 20.30 to say she had left the car an hours drive away as could not face the traffic. her family had taken her. The owner was in the middle of watching a movie but answered the phone, most companies are closed at this time. We went and got the car. I am really confused?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview