AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2 / 5
623
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Lousy customer service”

Written on: 01/05/2016 by 1968Burns (1 review written)

Absolutely awful customer service, will never use again or recommend to anyone… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 02/05/2016

We're sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction and hope that you raised this at the time to be investigated. If not, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to address this for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent professional breakdown repair - 1st class...”

Written on: 27/04/2016 by Alismith99 (1 review written)

So impressed with the service received from the AA breakdown recovery man who replaced the alternator on our Volvo estate which went on the A30 in Cornwall as we were returning from holiday last Friday. He went out of his way to make the repair, working in miserable weather and showing amazing patience. It took quite a while to get it done but he persevered and we were able to get home that day, late but knowing that the work had been done well. Many thanks for a great job!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling service”

Written on: 27/04/2016

Last week we put the wrong fuel in our car, we called the AA who said someone would be with us within an hour, when the AA arrived they said it wasn't safe to tow the car so would send a tow truck. My husband waited 4 and a half hours for this! A technician from fuel assist arrived at our house but the car was still at the petrol station 30 minutes away, in the meantime my husband had been picked up and was on his way home with the car whilst the man from fuel assist was going to the petrol… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 28/04/2016

Hello, we're very sorry to hear about the service your Husband received. It is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We would like the opportunity to look in to this and hope that you have spoken with our customer services team, if not please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“AA Breakdown - No Attempt To Diagnose Cold Start Failure”

Written on: 27/04/2016 by AdrianEvans (1 review written)

AA engineer is told engine has been firing then repeatedly cutting out on cold starts, for a few days. He listens carefully when ignition key is turned on (before cranking engine) and immediately concludes "can't hear fuel pump priming, that must be the fault"; gets under car, taps fuel tank with hammer, then says he heard something so that confirms fuel pump is the problem. Engineer then takes me to nearby garage (whose staff he knows) and INSTRUCTS them to order me a new fuel pump. Fuel pump… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to AdrianEvans's Review

Written on: 28/04/2016

Hi, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy. If you haven't already raised this with our customer services team please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page we'll be happy to address this. Thank you

Reply to this comment

Adrianevans's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 28/04/2016

I've been in contact with Customer Services team for last 3 months. Special Investigations Executive - total whitewash. The "engineer" was about 20 years old, no experience, and I am £ 120 out of pocket for their incompetence. But I will get my money back eventually through Small Claims Court - and next year I will leave the AA.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Adrianevans's Comment

Written on: 02/05/2016

Thanks for letting us know you've been in touch with the customer service team, we're sorry you remain unhappy. If we can help with anything further, please feel free to contact us. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE SERVICE”

Written on: 16/04/2016 by 428Rodgers (1 review written)

I called the AA when car broke down miles from home and was told as I was a priority (lone parent with a disabled son) that they would be there within the hour. Hours went by and when he finally arrived he was extremely aggressive and kept telling me that he was doing me a huge favour by coming out to us and that he didn't have to - even though I had full cover. He then asked for my AA card to prove that I was actually a member which I gave him and he looked at it and threw it at me saying… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 16/04/2016

Hello, we are sorry to hear you're unhappy and do hope that you have contacted us to address your dissatisfaction. If not, please get in touch via our website at your earliest convenience. Kind Regards, the AA.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“rip off ”

Written on: 09/04/2016 by xenop (1 review written)

I had cover for over three years and never needed to claim. Today I have now been waiting for over two hours with three children with me. Absolutely unless. Would not recommend, Infact a passers-by said to me good luck they will tell you that they will arrive within the hour and then tell there's been a delay and tell another delay. so then I had the app installed and it is exactly what the passers-by told me. Now if that's not confirmation of how bad the AA are what else will. Sum it up in a… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to xenop's Review

Written on: 09/04/2016

Hello, we're very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction, it's never our intention to leave a member waiting. There are many factors that can affect our arrival time such as demand in service, traffic, weather. We hope that you have spoken to our customer service team about this. If not, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish”

Written on: 24/03/2016 by Matthewu1 (1 review written)

The AA left me pretty much stranded for 9 hours despite being a priority (ie lone woman on her own several hours away from home). Whole catalogue of disasters one after the other, including sending the patrol to the wrong destination and sending the pick up truck to the opposite end of the country to where I wanted to be dropped off. I had to spend hours and hours on the phone. I have not received an apology and despite being over a year they still haven't provided an explanation as to how or… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 24/03/2016

This is concerning and we would very much like to help. Please contact us via our website 'Contact us' page and we will be happy to log and investigate this for you as soon as possible.

Thank you,
The AA

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service in my life”

Written on: 11/03/2016 by Schroederxg1976 (1 review written)

Call for aa 10 am to repor wat my car break down in london.i recive txt recovery coming at 2.15pm.recovery take me 16.15 half way from london to leicester than deader recovery reloud my car and we start moving after 30 min he sed he have his break.he stop in service forest east leicester and the driver told me im not alow to be in the car when he have brake so i fit nicely for 45 min on the floor in side service coz is no place where to sit.he finish his break my car drop near home 9.48pm.my… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 15/03/2016

Hello Schroederxg1976, we're extremely sorry to hear about the delay you experienced, it is never our intention to keep a member waiting. We hope that you have raised your dissatisfaction already if not please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to investigate the delay. Many thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No faith in the AA”

Written on: 10/03/2016 by Hannah.34 (1 review written)

Yesterday evening at 9:15pm I was driving with my 3 year old and 7 month old home from a long journey and unfortunately drove through a pothole along the dual carriageway which ripped my tyre to shreds. I pulled over and called the AA who said I was a priority case and said someone would be with me within the hour. I took my baby and 3 year old out of the car as the car was on a slip road and not safe to remain in it. We stood in the cold, dark and drizzle for an hour, both children crying. No… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Hannah.34's Review

Written on: 11/03/2016

Hi, we think it is important to start by offering our apologies on behalf of the AA. It is never our intention to leave a customer waiting.

Our resources are planned to meet and exceed our members demands for service. In most cases we do meet these expectations however when faced with unexpected work-loads, severe weather or factors beyond our control, our call to arrive time can be affected.

We're glad that you have raised this already. If we can help with anything else please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“What a shambles of a company”

Written on: 05/03/2016 by SpackyB (1 review written)

The AA is a total joke. After breaking down at 11.20 this morning and being told I was a priority as I was in a dangerous place, I was recovered by 1 of their sub contractors and taken to the nearest services about 3 miles down the road. I was then told by the driver that even though he was available to take me home, which my policy covered me for, after checking with the AA they wouldn't authorise him to do so. Instead the AA themselves would sort it out from the services. So after speaking… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to SpackyB's Review

Written on: 08/03/2016

Hi, we are very sorry to learn of your experience and do hope that you have raised this with our customer services team. If not please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we will be happy to help address this. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst service ive ever experienced.”

Written on: 05/03/2016

Have now been sat at the side of the road for 4 hours waiting for the AA. Worst service i have ever experienced and they have no worries at all about peoples personal safety. I would never recommend the AA to anyone. Initial call at 5.00. They said they would be here within the hour. Called them at 6 and they said another 30 mins. Called them at 6.30 and they said another hour. Called at 7.30 they said 30 more minutes. Its now 9 and im still sat in the dark in the rain by the side of a field… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2016

This is concerning, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting and we would like to investigate the reasons for the delay. If you haven't already spoken to someone about this please get in touch via our website 'contact us page and we will be happy to address this. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“appalling service”

Written on: 25/02/2016 by shamadaisy (1 review written)

I had call to use the AA when the clutch on my car broke irreparably on the M40. It was night, close to zero degrees, and I nwas travelling with three small children, ages 3,4 and 5. I phoned the AA. I was expecting to be treated as a priority case because of my situation and I expected to be relayed home with my car by the AA as that is the service i pay for. However the following occurred. 1. at 7:38pm the original operator confirmed the car could not be fixed roadside and would require a… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to shamadaisy's Review

Written on: 26/02/2016

Hi shamadaisy, this is concerning and we would very much like to investigate the reasons for the delay and your comments. If you haven't already contacted us to have this addressed, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be more than happy to pick this up.

Reply to this comment

Shamadaisy's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2016

Your comment suggests you didn't take the time to read the full comment. This is characteristic of my experience with AA staff. My final comment addresses how the AA complaints dept view my breakdown experience. I don't feel this is satisfactory and have contacted a range of customer rights organisations to help me take my complaint further. I have also contacted others with similar complaints and together we are working on putting together evidence about our concerns about systemic failings in the AA and forwarding these to the investigative journalists at various national newspapers.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Shamadaisy's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2016

We are very eager to help and would like the opportunity to address this. Please do get in touch via our website and we will have our Executive Chairman's Office investigate this for you. Thank you

Reply to this comment

Shamadaisy's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2016

Your executives chairman office told me if had wanted my vehicle to be secure, I should have waited another 10 hours overnight with my 3 children in a motorway service station cafe...
Again... Appalling customer care

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Shamadaisy's Comment

Written on: 18/03/2016

We understand your frustration and would really like the opportunity to help. We hope that you have since been in touch to resolve the matter. If you haven't please do so via our website. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“Brilliant service”

Written on: 25/02/2016 by Whiteheaduz283 (1 review written)

Broke down in Devon . Relayed to Chesterfield ( two trucks due to tachometer for drivers) friendly staff on the phone and prompt service by two drivers of the recovery trucks . Will recommend to everyone . Well worth the cost , peace of mind . Thanks… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“RAC are better !”

Written on: 24/02/2016 by imnevergoingtousetheaaagain.com (1 review written)

Wasted my whole day not supplying another vehicle which they are contracted to do.All because their breakdown man told me to drive 1 mile to a garage ( didnt want to call out a tow truck).Now im not covered for a replacement vehicle.Very crafty… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to imnevergoingtousetheaaagain.com's Review

Written on: 25/02/2016

Hi, we hope that you have raised this with our customer service team to be investigated. If not we'd like to help. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll address this. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of space”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by CamilleHaynes (1 review written)

Broke down, had to wait over 2 hours for recovery. I knew the problem so it was a case of towing me to a garage. Ended up scrapping car and getting another, sadly I was in a rush so picked the second one I seen and soon needed the aa again, luckily this time it was just a misfire so I suspected the spark plugs and called the aa. After an hour their guy turns up and couldn't be bothered with the job, put the computer on to read the error(despite no error showing and no engine light on) then said… Read Full Review

Stuartpalmer's Comment

Written on: 22/02/2016

The AA just take the money and run

Reply to this comment

Stuartpalmer's Comment

Written on: 22/02/2016

The AA just take the money and run

Reply to this comment

Stuartpalmer's Comment

Written on: 22/02/2016

The AA just take the money and run

Reply to this comment

Stuartpalmer's Comment

Written on: 22/02/2016

The AA just take the money and run

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service following an accident ”

Written on: 21/02/2016 by Georgef79 (1 review written)

My 21 year old daughter had a RTA whilst she was on her own and 3 Hours from home tonight and the AA don't want to know!! They say ''they don't cover for accidents'! So it's ok To leave a young women on the A1 in the middle of nowhere 3 hours from home after being recovered by the police !! Nice one AA!!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/02/2016

The AA class a call for assistance as an RTA when the assistance being requested has not been caused by a mechanical breakdown but by the driver of the vehicle ie colliding with an obstacle. Please can we assure you that our aim is to ensure a prompt and efficient response to our members calls and our prime concern continues to be the wellbeing of those involved in accidents. However, for some years now, free recovery following road traffic accidents has not been a part of the service we offer. The reason for the changes to our Terms and Conditions is that the cost of most accident recoveries is covered by that driver’s insurance. We hope that your Daughter is ok and if you do require any further information please don't hesitate to contact us via our webpage 'contact us' page, we'll be happy to address this.

Reply to this comment

Colchester105's Comment

Written on: 23/02/2016

Surely though even if you couldn't recover her and the car you would at least recover her and take her to her home address as you would if it was a breakdown!
You statement of 'Your prime concern continues to be the wellbeing of those involved in accidents' is a lie! You was NOT the least bit interested that my daughter was 3 hours from home in a strange place on her OWN! It's disgusting service and your statements are untrue.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Breakdown in Shrewsbury”

Written on: 19/02/2016 by AlyssaDevine275 (1 review written)

I had a problem on a main road in Shrewsbury at 5.30pm.A friend towed me to his safe car park for the night. I called the AA made an appointment for 9am next morning to meet your man. he arrived on time quick check on the car, found it needed to go to a garage of my choice for repairs. I was towed to safely to the garage. Very good service. Thank you… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely shocking service by the AA”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by Stuartpalmer (1 review written)

I broke down in Witney Oxfordshire on the A40 slip road at 09:16 Tuesday morning with my 77year old mother and 14year old daughter. Phoned the AA and a van turned up after an hour but couldn't do anything as suspected gearbox problem (which I told the operator when I phoned) In the meantime I sent my mother and my daughter to the bus stop to catch a bus to Oxford and then a train to Cardiff as it was way too cold for them to wait around. Good call actually as, I waited to be loaded onto a truck… Read Full Review

Stuartpalmer's Response to Stuartpalmer's Review

Written on: 22/02/2016

Regarding the above review. I sent an email on the night of breakdown complaining about service and have received no reply (6 days later ) I received a text message the following day asking to rate service I gave the lowest score possible and got another text saying sorry to hear I wasn't happy would I like a customer service rep to call me, I replied yes and was sent a text to say someone would call me within 48 hours - 5 days later and still no call. SHOCKING SERVICE!!!!

Reply to this comment

The Aa's Response to Stuartpalmer's Review

Written on: 22/02/2016

Hi, we're extremely sorry to hear about the delay you experienced, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We're pleased to hear that you have raised this to be investigated. If you haven't heard back from the complaints team please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page, we'll be happy to chase this up for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company please avoid ”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by Derick74 (1 review written)

I got £100 aa cover on the 13th feb midday and I required assistance 0n the 13th Feb in the evening. So I called the a requesting assistance and the aa stated that because I called on the same day as I got the cover out there would be an additional £100 charge. So that make the total of £200 for breakdown cover because I wanted to use the cover from the dy that the policy started. So as you could imagine I thought this was completly unacceptable so I said to the lady that I would like to… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Aa warranty cheapest parts only”

Written on: 17/02/2016 by Dansalt123 (1 review written)

Had a genuine ford alternator fitted and the aa wouldn't pay out as they only use cheap parts and not genuine. As my garage fitted genuine parts the aa knocked me for over £100 as they said they could get the parts a lot cheaper and that was the maximum they would pay on this claim… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Dansalt123's Review

Written on: 18/02/2016

Hi Dansalt123, we hope that you have raised your dissatisfaction regarding the cost of parts with our claims team. If we can help with anything please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be more than happy to address this.

Reply to this comment

Dansalt123's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 18/02/2016

I have done this and been passed pilar to post you sent me a letter saying to Wright back to you with all the proof of my claim. But you have it all the invoice I sent you. Your claims team took it upon thereselfes to tell me they will pay out but only to the cost of a £110 for the alternator.
As this was the most expensive one that can find. So maximum they would pay the highway man told me your better of putting genuine parts on as its a common fault with ford kuga alternators.
I have searched since for pattern parts and I am getting quotes between £130 and £170.
Just another headache and the loyal customer £100 out of pocket.

Reply to this comment

Dansalt123's reply to Dansalt123's Comment

Written on: 20/02/2016

Got my check this morning I paid the garage £391 like you AA patrol man said then to claim it back less my £35 excess. Guess what you sent me a check for£240. Sums just don't work out. All I can do is tweet add on fb get it out there that the AA arnt as good as they make out they are. You can see the pictures of the check from AA and the bill to the garage on fb and Twitter.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Dansalt123's Comment

Written on: 23/02/2016

Hi, our Breakdown Repair Cover claims team will be happy to help address this for you, if you require any further clarification please contact them, they will be happy to help. Alternatively you can contact us via our website 'contact us' page. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
overview