AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
655
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“1 star is too good”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by ac1978 (1 review written)

My female driver has been left stranded for 6 hours in central London. No food, no drink, no toilet. Absolutely no communication from AA whatsoever, I have had to do all the running. After 6 hours they sent the wrong size vehicle with a driver who then rubbed it in by saying he was only being paid to tow the vehicle to safety, not back to our depot, AS WE HAD PAID FOR. She's still there, on her own, blocking one lane of a major dual carriageway in London. After phoning again, it's now going… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 02/12/2016

We're very sorry to hear this, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We will always send out a patrol to assess and see if they can fix the vehicle at the first instance. If a recovery is required, the patrol will recover to a place of safety and then request for a recovery truck to tow the vehicle the remaining distance. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope that the member/policy holder has raised this with our customer services team, if not please get in touch with the details on our web site 'contact us' page we'll be happy to pick this up and address it. Kind regards.

Reply to this comment

Charliechap's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 06/12/2016

Not the AAs responsibility to feed and water your female is it! It's a breakdown not the end of the world. Get out of the sodding car and go get something to eat if that desperate.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful! ”

Written on: 24/11/2016 by 3065joyce (1 review written)

We have been members of AA for twenty four years and havnt had to call them out that many times. I broke down today on a busy road and a kind passing motorist stopped and towed me to a safe but isolated car park, I phoned the AA expecting them to be with me as soon as possible ( I told them I was alone ) no such luck! I rang three times asking wher they were, and was assured they would be with me soon, no such luck, I was in that car park for two and a half hours! I am disgusted with the VERY… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to 3065joyce's Review

Written on: 25/11/2016

Hi Joyce, we're really sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. It is never our intention to leave a member waiting. There are many factors that can affect our time of arrival such as bad weather, traffic, roadworks, high demand in service and will prioritise those in a dangerous or vulnerable situation. We do hope everything is ok now and we got you home safely.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent”

Written on: 21/11/2016 by David30ish (1 review written)

Very very let down by the AA when breaking down at 5pm on the M5, (Droitwitch) with my wife, two children and dog in the car. Arrived home (110 miles) at 4am. Driver was very rude and had a lack of knowledge regarding children's booster seats. Which he only understood once I had rang the AA and asked them to ring him and explain the law. my daughter did not need a booster seat and we were able to travel home with the angry driver. Thanks AA Very disappointed also by the lack of communication… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to David30ish's Review

Written on: 22/11/2016

We're really sorry to learn of your experience. We'd like to chase up your complaint for you and have someone contact you to discuss this. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up immediately. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Super friendly”

Written on: 17/11/2016 by Darwinn420 (1 review written)

AA Shrewsbury, really helped a damsel in distress this morning! I was late for work with a flat tyre and no spare. He was Super understanding and helpful! He followed me to the nearest place that had a tyre for me and made sure I was seen too. He kept me calm with polite chat and spoke all the technical terms for me! They were also there with me within 40 mins… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 23/10/2016 by Keene252 (1 review written)

My father broke down on A14. With his dog. AA provide excellent service to my disabled father. Even waited till the appropriate flat bed tow truck arrived. Arranged third party recovery snd this was dine by Manchester Autos in Cambridgeshire who provided an excellent service… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“5 hours waiting on Exmoor ”

Written on: 18/10/2016 by MyaDaniel (1 review written)

Broke down with flat battery/alternator issues!called AA and their reply someone there in an hour!2 and a half hours later independent guy turned up and couldn't fix it!its now 8:30 pm and he said to wait for recovery which will be another 1:30 hours at best!Wanted me to wait on Exmoor until 10pm!!!!!said no way will get it recovered next day!rang garage to book in and then AA to give details!they said 9:45 recovery would be there!took £20 taxi to car as I have key!get phone call at 9:45… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2016

We're really sorry to hear about your experience and hope that you have been in touch with our customer services team to address this. If you haven't, feel free to contact us via our web site page 'contact us' and we'll get this picked up and addressed as soon as possible. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 26/09/2016 by Smoothal (1 review written)

Car broke down rang AA operator really professional.Told me someone would be with me in half an hour.Got A text message to confirm phone call. fifteen minutes later got a phone call from the AA mechanic to say he was 2 minutes away.A smashing chap arrived got the problem sorted out in no time at all. Thanks AA… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“FULL DODGY AA EUROPEAN BREACKDOWEN COVER...ABSULITLY...”

Written on: 22/09/2016 by Meyer267 (1 review written)

I HAVE A GOOD ADVISARY FOR EVERY BODY LIVE IN UK AND THAY WILL HAVE A PLANE ACROSS TO EUROPE UNION .... DO NOT WAST YOUR MONEY AND TIMES... ON THE PHONE OFFER TWO OPTION 1 IT IS BASIC COVER AND 2 FULL COVER PART AND LABUR COVER ..... I AM COVERED SECOND FOR 10 DAYS I WAS DAGNOSTIC MY CAR IN EUROPE .... EVERY DAY AA EUROPEN DEPARTMENT IN LEYON - FRANCE BUT THAY DOSNOT SORTOUT MY INQUIRY BE QUIKER DAY BY DAY THAY MAKE DIFFRENT SENARIOUS ... IAM REQUEST HOTEL COVER AS WELL AA STAFF SAY TOO… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 27/09/2016

We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment and do hope that you have since raised this with our customer services team so that they could investigate the service you received. If we can help at all, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. We'll be happy to address this. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing customer service and expert knowledge! ”

Written on: 23/08/2016 by Harrydubai (1 review written)

I had a flat tyre on the way home from work. I called the AA and told me they would be here by a certain time. Without fail a very friendly man rang the door bell and got to work immediately. He fixed the tyre straightaway, without any problems and with complete expert knowledge. - throughout the job he was explaining to me exactly the problem and how he has relived it providing me with extra assurance. Moreover he was such a nice guy, amazing customer service and generally on the whole a top… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“AA Euro Cover”

Written on: 22/08/2016 by andrewbrerwiggleswickens (1 review written)

I couldnt fault them,3 adults and 4 children, a £200 policy, which i am ashamed to say i tryed to get reduced as i stupidly thought was to much. i drove a £700 car through france, it broke down and the sence of panick as i was in the middle of nowhere and i didnt even no what road i was on, and just as i thought my holiday was over. the AA put a smile back on my face. I was offered straight home to UK or carry on with my holiday ? So i carryed on with my holiday. car shipped back to my home… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“2 hours and 20 min and still waiting ”

Written on: 22/08/2016

Do not use staff and mangers rude and not helpful ,broke down over 2 hours ago and still waiting will anybody ever come ,will be cancelling policy and going with a better company didn't realise how bad they were until I have read review avoid this company if u don't want to keep waiting and waiting… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/08/2016

Hi, we're sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. It's never our intention to keep a member waiting. There are many factors that can effect our time of arrival such as traffic, weather, the demand in service. We hope that once the patrol arrived everything got sorted and is ok now. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“My car broke down on the A303 nr Sparkford at 2.30pm....”

Written on: 19/08/2016 by Simpson106 (1 review written)

My car broke down on the A303 nr Sparkford at 2.30pm. They could not repair the car , which was fair enough ,so it had to be recovered. I live 10 miles the Cornwall side of Plymouth ,and the recovery job was not completed until 10.30pm,and I still had to get a lift for the last 5 miles after the car had been dropped off. The recovery distance is 110 miles and this took 8.00 hours plus another half hour for my lift home. Therefore 110 miles at 8.5 hours = 12 miles per hour . Very very… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2016

Hello, we're sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. During a long distance recovery we are obliged to work in accordance with driving time regulations, therefore we will arrange for the recovery to be completed in stages. However, it can on occasions prove to be difficult to arrange for the next resource to be at the meeting point, we do attempt to ensure that the transition runs as smoothly as possible. We hope that you have raised your dissatisfaction with our customer services team for them to address this. If you'd prefer, you can contact us via our website 'contact us' page if there is anything further you'd like us to look in to. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“unacceptable, my advice: DO NOT use the AA”

Written on: 17/08/2016 by roger1361 (5 reviews written)

I phoned the AA for recovery at 4.00pm in the afternoon, all sounded ok until an hour a half had passed and a local garage man turned up, not an AA person I should add, he couldn't fix the problem and promptly left, I was then told I would have to wait until 9.00pm that night. Wait by the roadside !! I vented my anger with them on the phone and eventually at 7.30pm another non AA van turned up and relayed me home. The AA is dysfunctional and badly organised. Oh and this is the second time I've… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to roger1361's Review

Written on: 18/08/2016

Hi, thank you for bringing this to our attention, we would really like to investigate the reasons for the delay and the service that you experienced. We believe our Social Media Team have contacted you requesting further details. Once we have these we'll have your complaint addressed as soon as possible. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Auto renewal of breakdown cover”

Written on: 15/08/2016 by Cowan229 (1 review written)

I took out contents and building insurance with the AA in 2015 unbeknown to me I also got a years free AA breakdown cover for my new renewal of my 2016 insurance policy I received a letter that I've been upgraded to silver member of the AA on the front thet letter no mention was made of any renewal costs fortunately I took letter over and read it thoroughly and realised there was a cost if £75 When I phoned to cancel the man was very rude and said that they wouldn't just take money off me -… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2016

We'd like to look into this further with you and resolve your dissatisfaction where possible. We hope you have already contacted us directly. However, if this has not been approached, please visit our website at TheAA.com and refer to our 'contact us' page for more information on how best to contact us. We hope to hear from you shortly regarding your concerns.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fab”

Written on: 06/08/2016 by Staffordvy107 (1 review written)

The staff were efficient , text when vehicles coming prompt to time so pleased with service… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 02/08/2016 by DAM1 (1 review written)

My wife and kids had a problem with our car whilst on holiday in Norfolk, after an initial inspection of the car they said they couldn't fix it. This meant they had to call a relay car to bring home the family and car. They arrived 4 1/2 hours later, bearing in mind my wife was with 3 young children. They were then told they wouldn't be taken staright home, instead they would be dropped off in Swaftham, about 30 miles away and left there on thie rown until someone else comes. They then don't… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to DAM1's Review

Written on: 05/08/2016

We're sorry to hear about the service your wife and kids received whilst on holiday. If recovery from location A to B is over an excessive amount of mileage, we arrange the journey in stages, in line with EU Driving Time Regulations and the Working Time Directive. These directives place restrictions on the distance or amount of time that certain drivers can operate. This helps to ensure the safety of recovery drivers and passengers but we also accept that regrettably, the impact on our members can sometimes mean that when a long distance recovery is taking place, then delays can occur. We hope that your wife and kids got home safely and that she has since raised this with our customer service team. If we can help at all, feel free to contact us via our website 'contact us' page. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment

Dam1's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 05/08/2016

Thanks for your comment. The distance from a to b in this instance was less than 30 miles and approx 30 min journey. My family then had to wait more than an hour for next pick up. In this case it was nothing to do with eu driving regulations

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to Dam1's Comment

Written on: 09/08/2016

We'd be happy to address this, if you haven't already spoken to the customer service team. Please get in touch via the the website. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Service from contractors not very good ”

Written on: 24/07/2016 by praveshp (1 review written)

I have been member since 2012. 3 breakdowns so far. First one they sent Kavanagh Motors 6 hours and many calls later. Second one: another independent, 2 hours later, who didn't had incorrect problem info and proceeded to slap my wrist for incorrect reporting og fault. This last one, attended by AA, 10 mins response back on the road 20 mins later and very pleasant man too. I think, based on my experience, they need to be careful when taking on subs. In the past (member from 1978 to 90s)… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Home Start”

Written on: 24/07/2016 by JonnyJonnyooh (1 review written)

Truly excellent service from AA Home Start. The technician was able to diagnose a transponder had not been transferred to a new key case. Once to old key case was retrieved from the bin, the technician fixed the problem in minutes, I doubt many mechanics/technicians would have had his knowledge. - truly excellent and the thoroughly nice guy too. 10/10!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Brake down”

Written on: 23/07/2016 by Col55 (1 review written)

Broke down just before the m58 motorway, rang the aa and put me as a priority, they came within in the hour and looked at the.car and found that the cambelt was broke. Tow us to the garage and the mechanic will see to it ASAP. The aa man col was very friendly and was so helpful and made sure we where home safely. I would recommend the aa to any of my friends and family . I cannot thank the aa mechanic enough for helping us today… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“3 hour wait for a mechanic to turn up he was not from...”

Written on: 21/07/2016 by daisy1986 (1 review written)

I have just cancelled my renewal because the only time I called these guys out over the last year, they said they'd be there in just over half an hour. I called about midday. Ok I thought so by 12.30 a nice shiny yellow AA van will come and help me. How wrong I was! I had to keep chasing them, phoning again and again. Each time I got through the operator was clueless about my predicament (stuck in a car park needing to collect kids from school that afternoon) and put the time back. 12.45pm… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to daisy1986's Review

Written on: 22/07/2016

Hi daisy1986,

We're sorry to hear you're unhappy with the service you received. We hope that you raised this with our complaints team but if not, you can get in contact with them via our 'Contact Us' page and they'll be able to look into this for you.

Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview