AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
671
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Flagged AA Van Down!”

Written on: 16/05/2017 by cd2017 (1 review written)

On the way home from holiday in Morecombe with three children in the car I broke down. Over an hour away from home with no breakdown cover and no one to call for help. Upon exiting my car to find someone to help me an AA van came driving down the road! I flagged the van down who stopped and came to check over my car. The man was very helpful, polite and diagnosed the problem within five minutes. He explained I would need to take out a policy there and then in order for me to keep the part he… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Lifesavers ”

Written on: 30/04/2017 by Jacqueline111 (1 review written)

We ran out of diesel on M3 in our Motorhome with 2 children as well. We could not get out on hard shoulder as there was no barrier or anywhere for us to stand so we had to sit in Motorhome and it was rocking from side to side with every car and especially every big vehicle that passed. To say we were nervous was an understatement. Within 15 minutes of phoning the AA a lovely chap turned up and gave us enough diesel to reach the services. Can't praise their service enough… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The AA is not fit for purpose”

Written on: 28/04/2017 by A.McJannet (1 review written)

The AA not fit for purpose. My wife broke down (as was verified by several independent people) one third of a mile from our house. The AA refused to come out because they said the distance was under a quarter of a mile AS THE CROW FLIES! That is utterly absurd & ridiculous. Last time I looked cars don't fly & have to use the roads provided. The AA refuses to address our complaint, simply ignoring us & fobbing us off. I'm escalating the matter to shame them & hopefully persuade as many people as… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to A.McJannet's Review

Written on: 05/05/2017

Hello, we believe our team have picked this up in another forum and are dealing with your complaint. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment

A.mcjannet's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 06/05/2017

After endless pressure & escalation to Head Office someone looked into it. They accepted they were wrong to deny recovery. But concluded by offering compensation of £30. So that's what we're worth to them. They remain not fit for purpose. People looking for breakdown cover should look at other providers. We've cancelled our renewal.

Reply to this comment

The Aa's reply to A.mcjannet's Comment

Written on: 09/05/2017

We're sorry to hear you remain unhappy with the outcome of your complaint and have since cancelled your renewal. We do hope that we can help in the future. Kind regards

Reply to this comment

A.mcjannet's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

One day you might appreciate the difference between just saying sorry, and really being sorry and then doing something about it to show you really care. Consumers & customers are not stupid.

Reply to this comment

A.mcjannet's reply to The Aa's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

One day you might appreciate the difference between just saying sorry, and really being sorry and then doing something about it to show you really care. Consumers & customers are not stupid.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“Super service, fast and extremely helpful. ”

Written on: 24/04/2017 by NGerman (1 review written)

This is the first time that I have used my AA membership and I have to say that the service was excellent. I used the AA App on my phone to report that I had a flat battery, the AA logged the call and my AA man contacted me to say that he was 15 minutes away. As soon as he arrived he was very quick in discovering that I needed a new battery and even contacted Halfords to see if they had one in stock. He then jump started the car for me to head on my way. Thank You for a great service… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Took 6 hours to recover my car”

Written on: 02/04/2017 by esMcCabe51 (1 review written)

I had my car to be recover from Victoria London and they took 6 hours to send AA partner. Non sense customer service… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 07/04/2017

Hello, we are very sorry to learn of the 6 hour wait you had to be recovered. We would very much like to address this for you, it is never our intention to leave members waiting and we do everything we can to get a patrol out as soon as possible. If you haven't already been in touch with our customer services team please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and our team will be happy to investigate this for you. We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“to expensive”

Written on: 07/03/2017 by Ainsleyz55 (1 review written)

way over priced,you can get full cover,thats everything for 28 pounds with start rescue,just stay clear of 2gether breakdown and its sister company 24/7 breakdown… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 08/03/2017

Hi, we price as competitively as we can for the service we provide to our members. We hope we can assist you in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of money”

Written on: 02/03/2017 by Colby263 (1 review written)

Three drivers turned up different times to repeat what l already know l need a recovery truck. drivable car with no spare because the car has been adapted and no wheel nut from previous owner not know by myself until now. And no recovery driver waifed from 1.30pm until 6pm with my low sugar level. Cancelled my policy… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2017

We're sorry to learn that you have cancelled your policy with us due to the service you received. It is never our intention to leave members waiting. We will always send out a patrol in the first instance to check the vehicle over as most are able to fix problems at the roadside rather than having to recover you to a garage. We do hope that you raised your issues with our customer services team at the time for them to address. We do hope that we can help you in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Piller to post”

Written on: 27/02/2017 by ClayWatson (1 review written)

I rang at 8.30am to have my vehicle taken to the nearest AA recommended garage, and I asked specifically for them not to send anyone who wasn't from AA after previous hassle. They said they'd be here between 10am-12pm, fair enough. I revieved a text message at 11.55 saying "our partners will be with you by 13.30pm (the same "partners" I had previous experienced problems with. The AA partners turned up at 14.45pm. When he asked us what we wanted to do with the car, I informed the man his… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 28/02/2017

We would really like to investigate your breakdown experience, if you haven't been in touch with our customer service team already, please get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page and we'll pick this up and arrange for someone to contact you to discuss this further. Thank you

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“refused recovery”

Written on: 24/02/2017 by sidbrook (1 review written)

I was a member of the AA for many years.I called them out last year because my P38 Range Rover developed a gearbox fault while returning from the mot station where it had just passed.I left the mot station and it broke down 6 miles later while on route to my home destination with only 4 miles to go.The vehicle was fully insured,100% legal.An AA mechanic (thats a laugh) turned up within an hour,checked the vehicle through the database,then refused to recover because IT WAS NOT TAXED.I had no… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to sidbrook's Review

Written on: 24/02/2017

Hi Sid, we're sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction last year and do hope you raised any issues at the time.
Unfortunately as the vehicle was not road legal i.e. had no road tax, we are unable to attend to a vehicle or recover it. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Why even pay....”

Written on: 05/02/2017 by Elsaw300 (1 review written)

My mum and I, we're driving a long the m1, the tire went and had to pull over on the hard shoulder. We call my moms boyfriend to help fixed it, he arrive in 20 minutes and said we would need AA OUT. We call and AA were out in 40 minutes, which was good but the nightmare started. A driver was trying to take us for a ride. He wanted us to go the to the service station and then he would come later and keep the keys..... He reason was to talk about our options. He hadn't even asked if we were… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2017

This is concerning and we hope that you have raised your complaint with our customer services team. If you haven't, please get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page and we will be happy to have this investigated for you. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you're both ok.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off company”

Written on: 01/02/2017 by anndoo (1 review written)

I took out membership recently when i broke down made a payment over the phone & would also have a monthly payment to pay as well.. 4 days later car broke down again at home,i rang up & was told didn't have home start & would cost me £163 plus admin fee to add on to what i was already paying.Tried to ring to cancel my membership as allowed to cancel with in 14 days. No one answers the telephone!! written a letter of complaint no response. DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TOTALLY RIPPED OFF!! … Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to anndoo's Review

Written on: 02/02/2017

Hi, sorry to hear you're unhappy and that you are looking to cancel your membership after recently joining. When a member phones us and requires assistance for a service that is not already included in their plan at the time of breakdown, we agree to provide assistance upon payment of the appropriate surcharge. The surcharge was introduced because it was felt that to provide assistance on demand to those who had not already held the service before the breakdown would be unfair to our existing members who had. We hope that you have since manage to speak with our customer service team about this, if not feel free to get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page. We'll be happy to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting”

Written on: 30/01/2017 by Nathanaely230 (1 review written)

My daughter was left tonight for two hours waiting to be 'rescued' you promise a service you do not supply. Happy to take their money but not happy to keep their promises. Piece of advice.....go elsewhere for breakdown cover!!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2017

Hello, we're sorry to learn of the delay your Daughter experienced. It is never our intention to leave members waiting. We provide an estimated arrival time, however due to factors beyond our control the arrival time can change. We're sure our patrol was doing everything he could to get to your daughter as quickly as possible and do hope that everything is ok now.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish service , can't wait for 19/02/2017 to cancel ”

Written on: 24/01/2017 by Ndinishe (1 review written)

Alerted AA of a breakdown at 17:30hrs , instead of letting me know they couldn't attend , they contracted some guy/contracter called FRIENDLY SERVICE CENTRE , numerous misleading calls that he/they were 30 minutes away.. still waiting for them , 3 and half hours later. The AA service desk just rude and not helpful ...giving me the sorry excuse that they were VERY busy in the London area as if it was charity they were doing this for me.... will try RAC this year 6 years of taking… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Ndinishe's Review

Written on: 25/01/2017

We're very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the delay and with the garage that we sent to you. Sometimes we do this to reduce your wait times, you can request an AA patrol in the future if you would prefer this. We would really like to address your concerns and hope that you have since been contacted, if you haven't, please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up and contact you to discuss this. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing customer service”

Written on: 25/12/2016 by yjGarrett378 (1 review written)

Came out within the hour, assessed my puncture which couldn't be repaired so the man took my wheel to nearest garage to collect new tyre and then refitted within hour and half AMAZING !!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish rubbish more rubbish ”

Written on: 21/12/2016 by mauroalessandro (1 review written)

Waited 1 hour and 15 minutes for assistance to arrive . Left the wife with the car as i had a previous engagement ,when they finally arrived they refuse assistance because I wasn't with the car. Do you believe that ? I now stopped all payments and will join the green flag instead . They are a bunch of unprofessional segaioli and inconsiderate irresponsible iDIOTS . I PAID FOR 10 YEARS THROUGH HALIFAX ULTIMATE REWARD ACCOUNT , the time i needed assistance they couldn't be bothered to even… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to mauroalessandro's Review

Written on: 22/12/2016

Hello, we're sorry you were happy with the delay in us getting to you. Our estimated time of arrival is 45 minutes. There are many factors beyond our control that can effect this such as traffic, weather, roadworks, high demand in service.
The terms and conditions of our breakdown cover states the member must be with the vehicle at the time of breakdown (unless you have arranged and agreed this with the breakdown team at the time)
We understand that you may remain unhappy with our response, but hope you understand the reasons behind our business decision. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“RUBBISH! DISGUSTING COMPANY!WORST COMPANY!”

Written on: 13/12/2016 by Tia12567 (1 review written)

I am absolutely disgusted by how this company treats its customers, especially one who has been with for over 10 years! 6HOURS WAIT!!!!!!!!!! The manager did not even bother to call me back as one of his colleagues was speaking to me in such a manner! UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! I am cancelling right now!!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Tia12567's Review

Written on: 14/12/2016

We're really sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the delay and not receiving a call back from the manager Tia. We would really like to address this for you and hope that you have since been contacted, if you haven't, please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up and contact you to discuss this. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“1 star is too good”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by ac1978 (1 review written)

My female driver has been left stranded for 6 hours in central London. No food, no drink, no toilet. Absolutely no communication from AA whatsoever, I have had to do all the running. After 6 hours they sent the wrong size vehicle with a driver who then rubbed it in by saying he was only being paid to tow the vehicle to safety, not back to our depot, AS WE HAD PAID FOR. She's still there, on her own, blocking one lane of a major dual carriageway in London. After phoning again, it's now going… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 02/12/2016

We're very sorry to hear this, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We will always send out a patrol to assess and see if they can fix the vehicle at the first instance. If a recovery is required, the patrol will recover to a place of safety and then request for a recovery truck to tow the vehicle the remaining distance. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope that the member/policy holder has raised this with our customer services team, if not please get in touch with the details on our web site 'contact us' page we'll be happy to pick this up and address it. Kind regards.

Reply to this comment

Charliechap's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 06/12/2016

Not the AAs responsibility to feed and water your female is it! It's a breakdown not the end of the world. Get out of the sodding car and go get something to eat if that desperate.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful! ”

Written on: 24/11/2016 by 3065joyce (1 review written)

We have been members of AA for twenty four years and havnt had to call them out that many times. I broke down today on a busy road and a kind passing motorist stopped and towed me to a safe but isolated car park, I phoned the AA expecting them to be with me as soon as possible ( I told them I was alone ) no such luck! I rang three times asking wher they were, and was assured they would be with me soon, no such luck, I was in that car park for two and a half hours! I am disgusted with the VERY… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to 3065joyce's Review

Written on: 25/11/2016

Hi Joyce, we're really sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. It is never our intention to leave a member waiting. There are many factors that can affect our time of arrival such as bad weather, traffic, roadworks, high demand in service and will prioritise those in a dangerous or vulnerable situation. We do hope everything is ok now and we got you home safely.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent”

Written on: 21/11/2016 by David30ish (1 review written)

Very very let down by the AA when breaking down at 5pm on the M5, (Droitwitch) with my wife, two children and dog in the car. Arrived home (110 miles) at 4am. Driver was very rude and had a lack of knowledge regarding children's booster seats. Which he only understood once I had rang the AA and asked them to ring him and explain the law. my daughter did not need a booster seat and we were able to travel home with the angry driver. Thanks AA Very disappointed also by the lack of communication… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to David30ish's Review

Written on: 22/11/2016

We're really sorry to learn of your experience. We'd like to chase up your complaint for you and have someone contact you to discuss this. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up immediately. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Super friendly”

Written on: 17/11/2016 by Darwinn420 (1 review written)

AA Shrewsbury, really helped a damsel in distress this morning! I was late for work with a flat tyre and no spare. He was Super understanding and helpful! He followed me to the nearest place that had a tyre for me and made sure I was seen too. He kept me calm with polite chat and spoke all the technical terms for me! They were also there with me within 40 mins… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview