AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
663
26% of users recommend this
  • Speed of response

  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
AA Breakdown Cover - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for AA Breakdown Cover

AA Breakdown Cover
AA Breakdown Cover

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“refused recovery”

Written on: 24/02/2017 by sidbrook (1 review written)

I was a member of the AA for many years.I called them out last year because my P38 Range Rover developed a gearbox fault while returning from the mot station where it had just passed.I left the mot station and it broke down 6 miles later while on route to my home destination with only 4 miles to go.The vehicle was fully insured,100% legal.An AA mechanic (thats a laugh) turned up within an hour,checked the vehicle through the database,then refused to recover because IT WAS NOT TAXED.I had no… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to sidbrook's Review

Written on: 24/02/2017

Hi Sid, we're sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction last year and do hope you raised any issues at the time.
Unfortunately as the vehicle was not road legal i.e. had no road tax, we are unable to attend to a vehicle or recover it. We're sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Why even pay....”

Written on: 05/02/2017 by Elsaw300 (1 review written)

My mum and I, we're driving a long the m1, the tire went and had to pull over on the hard shoulder. We call my moms boyfriend to help fixed it, he arrive in 20 minutes and said we would need AA OUT. We call and AA were out in 40 minutes, which was good but the nightmare started. A driver was trying to take us for a ride. He wanted us to go the to the service station and then he would come later and keep the keys..... He reason was to talk about our options. He hadn't even asked if we were… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2017

This is concerning and we hope that you have raised your complaint with our customer services team. If you haven't, please get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page and we will be happy to have this investigated for you. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you're both ok.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off company”

Written on: 01/02/2017 by anndoo (1 review written)

I took out membership recently when i broke down made a payment over the phone & would also have a monthly payment to pay as well.. 4 days later car broke down again at home,i rang up & was told didn't have home start & would cost me £163 plus admin fee to add on to what i was already paying.Tried to ring to cancel my membership as allowed to cancel with in 14 days. No one answers the telephone!! written a letter of complaint no response. DO NOT USE UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TOTALLY RIPPED OFF!! … Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to anndoo's Review

Written on: 02/02/2017

Hi, sorry to hear you're unhappy and that you are looking to cancel your membership after recently joining. When a member phones us and requires assistance for a service that is not already included in their plan at the time of breakdown, we agree to provide assistance upon payment of the appropriate surcharge. The surcharge was introduced because it was felt that to provide assistance on demand to those who had not already held the service before the breakdown would be unfair to our existing members who had. We hope that you have since manage to speak with our customer service team about this, if not feel free to get in touch via our web site 'contact us' page. We'll be happy to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting”

Written on: 30/01/2017 by Nathanaely230 (1 review written)

My daughter was left tonight for two hours waiting to be 'rescued' you promise a service you do not supply. Happy to take their money but not happy to keep their promises. Piece of advice.....go elsewhere for breakdown cover!!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 30/01/2017

Hello, we're sorry to learn of the delay your Daughter experienced. It is never our intention to leave members waiting. We provide an estimated arrival time, however due to factors beyond our control the arrival time can change. We're sure our patrol was doing everything he could to get to your daughter as quickly as possible and do hope that everything is ok now.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish service , can't wait for 19/02/2017 to cancel ”

Written on: 24/01/2017 by Ndinishe (1 review written)

Alerted AA of a breakdown at 17:30hrs , instead of letting me know they couldn't attend , they contracted some guy/contracter called FRIENDLY SERVICE CENTRE , numerous misleading calls that he/they were 30 minutes away.. still waiting for them , 3 and half hours later. The AA service desk just rude and not helpful ...giving me the sorry excuse that they were VERY busy in the London area as if it was charity they were doing this for me.... will try RAC this year 6 years of taking… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Ndinishe's Review

Written on: 25/01/2017

We're very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the delay and with the garage that we sent to you. Sometimes we do this to reduce your wait times, you can request an AA patrol in the future if you would prefer this. We would really like to address your concerns and hope that you have since been contacted, if you haven't, please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up and contact you to discuss this. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing customer service”

Written on: 25/12/2016 by yjGarrett378 (1 review written)

Came out within the hour, assessed my puncture which couldn't be repaired so the man took my wheel to nearest garage to collect new tyre and then refitted within hour and half AMAZING !!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish rubbish more rubbish ”

Written on: 21/12/2016 by mauroalessandro (1 review written)

Waited 1 hour and 15 minutes for assistance to arrive . Left the wife with the car as i had a previous engagement ,when they finally arrived they refuse assistance because I wasn't with the car. Do you believe that ? I now stopped all payments and will join the green flag instead . They are a bunch of unprofessional segaioli and inconsiderate irresponsible iDIOTS . I PAID FOR 10 YEARS THROUGH HALIFAX ULTIMATE REWARD ACCOUNT , the time i needed assistance they couldn't be bothered to even… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to mauroalessandro's Review

Written on: 22/12/2016

Hello, we're sorry you were happy with the delay in us getting to you. Our estimated time of arrival is 45 minutes. There are many factors beyond our control that can effect this such as traffic, weather, roadworks, high demand in service.
The terms and conditions of our breakdown cover states the member must be with the vehicle at the time of breakdown (unless you have arranged and agreed this with the breakdown team at the time)
We understand that you may remain unhappy with our response, but hope you understand the reasons behind our business decision. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“RUBBISH! DISGUSTING COMPANY!WORST COMPANY!”

Written on: 13/12/2016 by Tia12567 (1 review written)

I am absolutely disgusted by how this company treats its customers, especially one who has been with for over 10 years! 6HOURS WAIT!!!!!!!!!! The manager did not even bother to call me back as one of his colleagues was speaking to me in such a manner! UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! I am cancelling right now!!!!… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to Tia12567's Review

Written on: 14/12/2016

We're really sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the delay and not receiving a call back from the manager Tia. We would really like to address this for you and hope that you have since been contacted, if you haven't, please feel free to get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up and contact you to discuss this. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“1 star is too good”

Written on: 29/11/2016 by ac1978 (1 review written)

My female driver has been left stranded for 6 hours in central London. No food, no drink, no toilet. Absolutely no communication from AA whatsoever, I have had to do all the running. After 6 hours they sent the wrong size vehicle with a driver who then rubbed it in by saying he was only being paid to tow the vehicle to safety, not back to our depot, AS WE HAD PAID FOR. She's still there, on her own, blocking one lane of a major dual carriageway in London. After phoning again, it's now going… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 02/12/2016

We're very sorry to hear this, it is never our intention to leave a member waiting. We will always send out a patrol to assess and see if they can fix the vehicle at the first instance. If a recovery is required, the patrol will recover to a place of safety and then request for a recovery truck to tow the vehicle the remaining distance. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused and hope that the member/policy holder has raised this with our customer services team, if not please get in touch with the details on our web site 'contact us' page we'll be happy to pick this up and address it. Kind regards.

Reply to this comment

Charliechap's Response to ac1978's Review

Written on: 06/12/2016

Not the AAs responsibility to feed and water your female is it! It's a breakdown not the end of the world. Get out of the sodding car and go get something to eat if that desperate.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful! ”

Written on: 24/11/2016 by 3065joyce (1 review written)

We have been members of AA for twenty four years and havnt had to call them out that many times. I broke down today on a busy road and a kind passing motorist stopped and towed me to a safe but isolated car park, I phoned the AA expecting them to be with me as soon as possible ( I told them I was alone ) no such luck! I rang three times asking wher they were, and was assured they would be with me soon, no such luck, I was in that car park for two and a half hours! I am disgusted with the VERY… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to 3065joyce's Review

Written on: 25/11/2016

Hi Joyce, we're really sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. It is never our intention to leave a member waiting. There are many factors that can affect our time of arrival such as bad weather, traffic, roadworks, high demand in service and will prioritise those in a dangerous or vulnerable situation. We do hope everything is ok now and we got you home safely.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent”

Written on: 21/11/2016 by David30ish (1 review written)

Very very let down by the AA when breaking down at 5pm on the M5, (Droitwitch) with my wife, two children and dog in the car. Arrived home (110 miles) at 4am. Driver was very rude and had a lack of knowledge regarding children's booster seats. Which he only understood once I had rang the AA and asked them to ring him and explain the law. my daughter did not need a booster seat and we were able to travel home with the angry driver. Thanks AA Very disappointed also by the lack of communication… Read Full Review

The Aa's Response to David30ish's Review

Written on: 22/11/2016

We're really sorry to learn of your experience. We'd like to chase up your complaint for you and have someone contact you to discuss this. Please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page and we'll be happy to pick this up immediately. Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Super friendly”

Written on: 17/11/2016 by Darwinn420 (1 review written)

AA Shrewsbury, really helped a damsel in distress this morning! I was late for work with a flat tyre and no spare. He was Super understanding and helpful! He followed me to the nearest place that had a tyre for me and made sure I was seen too. He kept me calm with polite chat and spoke all the technical terms for me! They were also there with me within 40 mins… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 23/10/2016 by Keene252 (1 review written)

My father broke down on A14. With his dog. AA provide excellent service to my disabled father. Even waited till the appropriate flat bed tow truck arrived. Arranged third party recovery snd this was dine by Manchester Autos in Cambridgeshire who provided an excellent service… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“5 hours waiting on Exmoor ”

Written on: 18/10/2016 by MyaDaniel (1 review written)

Broke down with flat battery/alternator issues!called AA and their reply someone there in an hour!2 and a half hours later independent guy turned up and couldn't fix it!its now 8:30 pm and he said to wait for recovery which will be another 1:30 hours at best!Wanted me to wait on Exmoor until 10pm!!!!!said no way will get it recovered next day!rang garage to book in and then AA to give details!they said 9:45 recovery would be there!took £20 taxi to car as I have key!get phone call at 9:45… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2016

We're really sorry to hear about your experience and hope that you have been in touch with our customer services team to address this. If you haven't, feel free to contact us via our web site page 'contact us' and we'll get this picked up and addressed as soon as possible. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent”

Written on: 26/09/2016 by Smoothal (1 review written)

Car broke down rang AA operator really professional.Told me someone would be with me in half an hour.Got A text message to confirm phone call. fifteen minutes later got a phone call from the AA mechanic to say he was 2 minutes away.A smashing chap arrived got the problem sorted out in no time at all. Thanks AA… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“FULL DODGY AA EUROPEAN BREACKDOWEN COVER...ABSULITLY...”

Written on: 22/09/2016 by Meyer267 (1 review written)

I HAVE A GOOD ADVISARY FOR EVERY BODY LIVE IN UK AND THAY WILL HAVE A PLANE ACROSS TO EUROPE UNION .... DO NOT WAST YOUR MONEY AND TIMES... ON THE PHONE OFFER TWO OPTION 1 IT IS BASIC COVER AND 2 FULL COVER PART AND LABUR COVER ..... I AM COVERED SECOND FOR 10 DAYS I WAS DAGNOSTIC MY CAR IN EUROPE .... EVERY DAY AA EUROPEN DEPARTMENT IN LEYON - FRANCE BUT THAY DOSNOT SORTOUT MY INQUIRY BE QUIKER DAY BY DAY THAY MAKE DIFFRENT SENARIOUS ... IAM REQUEST HOTEL COVER AS WELL AA STAFF SAY TOO… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 27/09/2016

We're really sorry to hear of your disappointment and do hope that you have since raised this with our customer services team so that they could investigate the service you received. If we can help at all, please get in touch via our website 'contact us' page. We'll be happy to address this. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Amazing customer service and expert knowledge! ”

Written on: 23/08/2016 by Harrydubai (1 review written)

I had a flat tyre on the way home from work. I called the AA and told me they would be here by a certain time. Without fail a very friendly man rang the door bell and got to work immediately. He fixed the tyre straightaway, without any problems and with complete expert knowledge. - throughout the job he was explaining to me exactly the problem and how he has relived it providing me with extra assurance. Moreover he was such a nice guy, amazing customer service and generally on the whole a top… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“AA Euro Cover”

Written on: 22/08/2016 by andrewbrerwiggleswickens (1 review written)

I couldnt fault them,3 adults and 4 children, a £200 policy, which i am ashamed to say i tryed to get reduced as i stupidly thought was to much. i drove a £700 car through france, it broke down and the sence of panick as i was in the middle of nowhere and i didnt even no what road i was on, and just as i thought my holiday was over. the AA put a smile back on my face. I was offered straight home to UK or carry on with my holiday ? So i carryed on with my holiday. car shipped back to my home… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“2 hours and 20 min and still waiting ”

Written on: 22/08/2016

Do not use staff and mangers rude and not helpful ,broke down over 2 hours ago and still waiting will anybody ever come ,will be cancelling policy and going with a better company didn't realise how bad they were until I have read review avoid this company if u don't want to keep waiting and waiting… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 23/08/2016

Hi, we're sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. It's never our intention to keep a member waiting. There are many factors that can effect our time of arrival such as traffic, weather, the demand in service. We hope that once the patrol arrived everything got sorted and is ok now. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“My car broke down on the A303 nr Sparkford at 2.30pm....”

Written on: 19/08/2016 by Simpson106 (1 review written)

My car broke down on the A303 nr Sparkford at 2.30pm. They could not repair the car , which was fair enough ,so it had to be recovered. I live 10 miles the Cornwall side of Plymouth ,and the recovery job was not completed until 10.30pm,and I still had to get a lift for the last 5 miles after the car had been dropped off. The recovery distance is 110 miles and this took 8.00 hours plus another half hour for my lift home. Therefore 110 miles at 8.5 hours = 12 miles per hour . Very very… Read Full Review

The Aa's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2016

Hello, we're sorry to hear about the delay you experienced. During a long distance recovery we are obliged to work in accordance with driving time regulations, therefore we will arrange for the recovery to be completed in stages. However, it can on occasions prove to be difficult to arrange for the next resource to be at the meeting point, we do attempt to ensure that the transition runs as smoothly as possible. We hope that you have raised your dissatisfaction with our customer services team for them to address this. If you'd prefer, you can contact us via our website 'contact us' page if there is anything further you'd like us to look in to. Kind Regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview