Park Resorts, Thorness Bay Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
44% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Park Resorts, Thorness Bay - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Better throw your money down the drain”

Written on: 13/06/2013

Arrived fri 7th June 2013 with large party one person disabled. Supposed to have 4 caravans together,3 were together one with disabled person farthest from shop and club. Caravan inside and surrounding area was filthy and absolutely disgusting had paid for bedding and there was none delivered had to go without any sheets first night. Mattress mouldy and blood stained Staff totally not interested, cleaners non existant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“do not visit this holiday park”

Written on: 19/05/2013

caravan was dirty and the mattress had mildew on it.it was not disable friendly as advertised.you could not get a wheelchair down to the beach.the shop closed at 5.45 pm.and not even stocked for things needed. The staff were not friendly and you were not made welcome with a smile or a hello,i complained about the steps up to the receiption and got told there were signs on the board, we did not see the sign as it was not prominent enough it should have been in larger writing.what you are not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“THORNESS BAY PARK RESORTS. Booked a four day break,...”

Written on: 23/10/2010 by M Robbo (1 review written)

THORNESS BAY PARK RESORTS. Booked a four day break, sayed two nights, our caravan was dirty and shank of dogs/cigaretts, black mold all round the bathroom and shower area,also on windows&curtains .Dont think it had been cleaned since start of season.Bar/restaurant floor not cleaned in the three day on site,smell of chlorine in restaurant area not pleasant when eating.
Charged an extra £55.00 for an accessible van told it was silver class,web says its only bronze class!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to M Robbo's Review

Written on: 18/04/2012

very true [- worst if you buy here though] - buyers beware

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

D.hurry46Btinternet.com's Response to M Robbo's Review

Written on: 18/04/2012

v.true, dont buy here

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Please dont waste your money on staying in a caravan...”

Written on: 19/09/2010

Please dont waste your money on staying in a caravan or charlet on Thorness Bay, its the worse holiday in 35 years. Caravan was gorgeous however the whole park experience was awful.
We had stayed in a caravan in Hopton near lowestoft which was 10/10.
Giving this park 1/10 is generous...Dirty...Pool dirty & cold.
Staff indifferent and unhelpful.
Food is expensive & cheap quality & poor service.
Park its self very very shabby. Charlets look like they should be pulled down. Not fit to keep… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Our first visit to the Isle of Wight and a Park...”

Written on: 17/09/2010 by digifool (3 reviews written)

Our first visit to the Isle of Wight and a Park Resorts site. Having read the 2009 reviews I wasn't expecting much when I turned up but we were given a nice caravan, the staff were excellent, site was clean and tidy and although the shop was fairly small it stocked what we needed.

The food at the bar/restaurant was OK, the beach is pretty much just shingle, didn't use the swimming pool but the kids loved the entertainment and they made lots of new friends.

Overall, we had a great holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Having read a few dodgy reviews of Thorness Bay, I...”

Written on: 08/07/2010

Having read a few dodgy reviews of Thorness Bay, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised!

We arrived a little early and found our bronze caravan ready which was a nice start.

We were directed to our acommodation and upon opening the door were waiting for the grim interiors and bad smells other reviewers have complained about. Instead, the caravan smelt nice and fresh and was immaculately clean. The bedlinen was also clean and fresh and the caravan contained everything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Having read the review's about Thorness bay I was very...”

Written on: 23/05/2010

Having read the review's about Thorness bay I was very worried about what the holiday was going to be like. When we arrived the Key was ready and waiting at 2:30pm as quoted on booking form ( YES YOU DO NEED TO READ THE PAPERWORK AS IT DOES STATE WHAT TIME YOU CAN COLLECT YOUR KEY ). Staff are polite and very helpful. Site was very clean and tidy as was the bar/restaurant which we did use and found to be very nice food at comparable prices to other places on the island. Caravan: we booked a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bobbees143's Comment

Written on: 06/07/2010

I found this review very helpful because...it gave an honest, unbiased opinion of the holiday park and reminded visitors to read the small print. It DOES tell you what time you can collect your keys

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I have just returned for a 1 week stay at Thorness Bay...”

Written on: 18/05/2010 by miamay666 (2 reviews written)

I have just returned for a 1 week stay at Thorness Bay on the Isle of Wight. I booked a Platinum 2 bedroom caravan direct with Park Resorts. We arrived at the park at 1pm and our check-in time was 1:30pm but I went straight into reception and I was allowed to have our caravan keys then. Our caravan was situated on the Solent View area of the park, with including Solent Breeze seemed to be the better half of the campsite.

When we got to our caravan it had its own tarmac drive at the side… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“My husband and i looked at buying a static caravan all...”

Written on: 28/02/2010 by caravanlover (1 review written)

My husband and i looked at buying a static caravan all across england,we booked a 2 night break at Thorness Bay on the isle of wight to see what the park was like there and to see what they had to offer us and our family.
When we arrived we were greeted by friendly reception staff, the reception itself was stunning, looked very new and we were told that it had been refurbished only a year and a half ago.Once we got our keys to our accomodation we went in the car to find it, when we drove… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kellyn's Response to caravanlover's Review

Written on: 26/06/2010

I found this review not helpful because...it sounds like it's from Park Resorts PR company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Sadly stayed a Thorness Bay in 09. Holiday was awful....”

Written on: 08/02/2010

Sadly stayed a Thorness Bay in 09. Holiday was awful. Site was a mud bath. The Caravan slab supporting the caravan was cracked so caravan tilted to one side. When reported to staff I was left feeling that it was going in one ear & out the other.
Entertainment area was smelly & shabby, food was poor.
Literally stuck to the floor when u walked.
Spoke to the Manager who was about as must help as a chocloate mug. Was told by the owner of our caravan that we were classed as a premium pitch which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We visited Thorness Bay in May 2009 having been to the...”

Written on: 07/02/2010

We visited Thorness Bay in May 2009 having been to the Isle of wight on many occassions, we were left to find the caravan which was supposed to be a 6 berth, on opening the door the stench that hit you was unbearable. Both our children and my wife suffer from Asthma and could not go in. Having looked round the caravan the wallpaper was ripped from the wall and graffiti was on the bedroom walls, the toilet was not clean. We asked to be moved and they offered us another caravan which was not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Thorness Bay is absoultly auwfull beware... went into...”

Written on: 18/09/2009

Thorness Bay is absoultly auwfull beware... went into a gold caravan for 4 days, was not up to standard, dirty, damp and not the luxury fixtures and fitiing as expected, also the beach is more like a rock pool ans the pool area is smelly, dirty and small to say the least...only eat there once and once was enough !!!!! if the isle of wight wasnt such a beautifull place to visit and the weather was great is would of ruined our break !!!! the brouchure is not what it states beware !!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

D.hurry46Btinternet.com's Comment

Written on: 18/04/2012

true, buyers beware

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Stayed in a tourer at Thorness Bay for week. And...”

Written on: 23/08/2009

Stayed in a tourer at Thorness Bay for week. And overall wouldnt recommend nor consider a return. For a start there was no information pack sent prior to arrival. The site is literally in middle of nowhere so directions would have been nice. Not even recognised on a sat nav. The touring field was nice size not cramped with well mown pitches. However pitches are very hilly and make levelling a caravan very difficult. the nearby bay is pretty buy beach sand non existant as this is the Solent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Review of Thorness Bay Holiday Park. ”

Written on: 28/07/2009

Review of Thorness Bay Holiday Park.

This year I decided to take advantage of the 'Suns' £9.50 holiday offer for a short (4 Day) break with my family. I selected the camp above as we had never visited the Isle of Wight. I booked for eight people but only seven could actually go. The holiday accommodation cost £210.00 for the four day break as we had to pay for entertainment passes and linen use. The ferry cost was a separate item. What had started off as a 'Cheap' break was beginning to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“well a holiday from hell,the park was a total waste of...”

Written on: 18/07/2009

well a holiday from hell,the park was a total waste of time .the food was terrible u complained and u got told thats the best we can do by the 18 year old staff,half the the menu was unavaiable and you waited at least an hour for food which was uneatable.all the sports were never on even though we are in the middle of july what are the kids ment to do?the car got hit by maintence staff moving a static caravan around the park no apology just bad attitude when asking for insurance docs which it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“myself, my husband and my 5 children have just...”

Written on: 04/07/2009 by shelley100 (1 review written)

myself, my husband and my 5 children have just returned from an 8 day holiday at thorness bay, we hired a bronze caravan, it was clean and the bedding was fresh. the site itself is well maintained, grass cut, no rubbish in view etc, the staff are very friendly and the entertainment team for the kids went above and beyond, the little bay that is a nice walk to and is attached to the site, although it has no sand my kids loved it there,
we ate at the bar and the food was nice, basic but well… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Toilets on touring field are kept very clean by...”

Written on: 04/09/2008

Toilets on touring field are kept very clean by friendly wardens.
Wardens very friendly and willing to help with any problems that arose. All in all we enjoyed our holiday for the first 2 weeks of August despite the wind and rain it has not put us off touring with our caravan. Shop was a bit expensive and could have been a bit bigger… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“This site has changed so much, up until last year the...”

Written on: 06/07/2008

This site has changed so much, up until last year the site had been let go and seemed that no one bothered, but this year what a change. Toilets spotless, grass cut and tidy, staff very friendly, wardens that make you welcome and deal with everything with a smile. This site has now changed for the better and we look forward to many more years camping on this site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview