Bugibba, Bugibba Holiday Complex Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
16% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bugibba, Bugibba Holiday Complex - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bugibba, Bugibba Holiday Complex

Bugibba, Bugibba Holiday Complex
Bugibba, Bugibba Holiday Complex

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely Dire”

Written on: 11/11/2012 by AlanPS2000 (1 review written)

Stayed there for 2 weeks, first day there was told there had been a flood in the rooms booked but they can upgrade us to a self catering appartment, would have been ok but the fact had gone with my parents and didnt want to share rooms with them. took 3days of complaints before this was rectified, was allocated a room with no balcony at road level so could not have curtains open during the day. Food was awful, breakfast consisted of cold pressed meat and a boiled egg and evening meal was the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“HOTEL OF HORRORS”

Written on: 18/08/2011

THE HOTEL WAS DIRTY AND IN VERY POOR CONDITION. THE LIFT WAS OUT OF ORDER FOR THE WHOLE OF OUR TEN DAY STAY. NO COOKED BREAKFAST WHICH WE PAID FOR. STUDENTS RUNNING AMOK. SWIMMING POOLS FILTHY. FOOD LEFT ON THE STAIRWAY FOR THE DURATION OF OUR STAY. ELECTRIC LIGHT SOCKETS HANGING OUT OF CEILINGS. FOOD SPLATTERED UP THE KITCHEN WINDOW OF OUR APARTMENT. DONT KNOW HOW LONG IT HAD BEEN THERE FOR.NO EVENING ENTERTAINMENT BY THE POOLSIDE AS STATED. NO HOTEL REFURBISHMENT HAD TAKEN PLACE IN 2010 AS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“unclean!!!!!!! thank god for munchies!!!!!”

Written on: 10/10/2009

unclean!!!!!!! thank god for munchies!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Bugibba Holiday Complex Was Great Soo Was The Food The...”

Written on: 21/06/2009

Bugibba Holiday Complex Was Great Soo Was The Food The Rooms Were Quite Big And The Staff Were Friendly..I Would Revist This Hotel Over And Over Again..:D Loveeed It :D… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Wouldn't recommend Bugibba Holiday Complex to anyone! ”

Written on: 06/10/2007 by california (1 review written)

Wouldn't recommend Bugibba Holiday Complex to anyone!

The resort though was quite a nice place especially along the sea front - a lot of cafes, bars and shops - a man made beach. Also very easy to catch a bus to most places of interest.

Recommend Oasis (just down the road) for trips - trips from the hotel very expensive.

Also recommend Paul's Bar for food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“On the whole I read the reviews and feared the worst...”

Written on: 05/09/2007 by PJHOPE1973 (1 review written)

On the whole I read the reviews and feared the worst but it was okay for a short stay, but I cannot say we will be rushing back!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Waste of a holiday.”

Written on: 21/08/2007 by kazzer1 (1 review written)

Waste of a holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We stayed at this complex 15 years ago and it was a...”

Written on: 08/08/2007 by caro7 (1 review written)

We stayed at this complex 15 years ago and it was a beautiful place. We're so disappointed ruined two days of our holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“I booked the week before I went, a single traveller so...”

Written on: 22/05/2007 by bilbo2 (1 review written)

I booked the week before I went, a single traveller so paid excess for occupancy so overall I cant complain about it. It was clean, tidy, food was all right what more can you expect for £200 half board… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We had two rooms at the Buggiba Holiday Complex...”

Written on: 22/02/2007 by angela moss (1 review written)

We had two rooms at the Buggiba Holiday Complex because we were away with our parents, we asked for tea making facilities, beware this only gives you a kettle, two cups and a spoon if you're lucky. Mom's kettle blew the electrics!
We both had ants running around the rooms, they are only small ones.
Loos were leaking on the bathroom floor, we tried to get a man to fix the problems we were having only to find he was very busy with everyone else. The kettle was replaced, the electrics fixed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sharronl1's Response to 279372_angela moss's Review

Written on: 16/05/2007

I went to the Bugibba Holiday Complex with my 2 sons in May 2007. It was not good at all! staff were so friendly but the hotel is very dirty, furniture and fittings falling to bits, most of the lights did not work and one of my sons had a shock from one. If you have a holiday booked here, try and change it, we complained and had three different rooms in 1 week, they are all the same. Beds were so old and lots of people complained that there were fleas in the beds. All of us got bitten. Some air con worked, some didn't and in one room, it was so noisy you could not use it. Lifts felt very unsafe and there was a smell in the bathroom like maggots! The bar man informed me that the BHC closes in October and is to be demolished in January next year, so the chance of them making any improvements to it are zero.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“If you do not attend on the day of the welcome meeting...”

Written on: 08/10/2006 by RobP2001 (1 review written)

If you do not attend on the day of the welcome meeting at the Buggiba Holiday Complex in Malta, you are not going! The reason is, you only get 14 days from sign date to cancel, so if you are at the start of your holiday, you will not have enough time to cancel. It would appear, even if you are in time, they ignore your attempts to cancel and you are told to buy or be sued!

So enjoy the hotel, as it is a great base for a great holiday. Just be wary of reps acting as timeshare touts!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The complex was nothing like advertised in the...”

Written on: 27/09/2006 by rogue10 (1 review written)

The complex was nothing like advertised in the brochure. It looked more like an Eastern Block residential area. The staff, apart from the odd one or two, were quite ignorant towards people in the complex. The only thing to keep kids entertained were the swimming pools, which were laced with chlorine, and this was just thrown in by maintenance staff late in the evening, instead of being mixed in properly. The amenities in the rooms were very basic. I even found the bottom 3 inches of our fridge… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Maybe the food was good, but that wasn't all that...”

Written on: 08/09/2006 by marloes (1 review written)

Maybe the food was good, but that wasn't all that great either. The room was not clean, especially the bathroom. Also the 'everyday' cleaning service means nothing in this hotel. I think all they do is get your dirty towels without replacing them. This is really the worst hotel we ever stayed in and I would advise no one to ever go here.

Nothing more to say about the Buggiba Holiday Complex in Malta. I regret booking this trip… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The air conditioning at the Buggiba Holiday Complex...”

Written on: 19/08/2006 by waddy (1 review written)

The air conditioning at the Buggiba Holiday Complex was totally inadequate and we waited 5 days before they allowed us to have a fan. The pool was overcrowded.
The complex regualarly accommodates hundreds of Italian students who are not supervised and are noisy, rude and threatening. We had many complaints while there eg toilet overflowing, air con, noise and an attempted entry into our room - These complaints were dealt with in a way which showed absolutely no customer service skills from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“The pool area at the Buggiba Holiday Complex is not...”

Written on: 15/08/2006 by TinaMatthews (1 review written)

The pool area at the Buggiba Holiday Complex is not big enough for the size of the hotel. The food was very bland and there was not a lot of choice. I would not go back to this hotel again, and I am also very wary about going to Malta, as apparently, all hotels take in Italian students during July and August… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Buggiba Holiday Complex rooms were small but clean....”

Written on: 01/01/2006 by tad rhino (2 reviews written)

Buggiba Holiday Complex rooms were small but clean. There were 3 in our room and out daughter had only a chipboard type camp bed. The pool was great and it was a decent enough place… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“I can honestly say that this Buggiba Holiday Complex...”

Written on: 24/08/2005 by aneil66 (1 review written)

I can honestly say that this Buggiba Holiday Complex is the worst place we have ever been to. I felt so sorry for the kids as they wanted to go and swim but would you let your kids swim in a pool which is never cleaned. At night you could see the scum floating across the water. The air-con in the room pushed out a gentle waft. The room was smelly and the carpets absolutely abysmal. Bed had a massive crack on the frame, the sofa bed was rotting with bits falling out. Every night there was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Holiday booked in Jan'05 for self,partner and partners...”

Written on: 17/08/2005 by s333ell (1 review written)

Holiday booked in Jan'05 for self,partner and partners son. Buggiba Holiday Complex booked as looked like place where activities would be put on for kids, this was not the case. Never managed to get bed at pool in 2 week stay, towels on beds from daylight! Complex too big for size of pool and surrounding area. Attitude of reception staff to ourselves and many others on our day of departure very poor, we watched one making faces at colleague when dealing with a guests complaint about the state… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Waddy's Response to 206675_s333ell's Review

Written on: 19/08/2006

Totally agree

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“My girlfriend and I booked our week in the Bugibba...”

Written on: 23/07/2005 by sbates81 (1 review written)

My girlfriend and I booked our week in the Bugibba Holiday Complex on the internet 6 months before we were due to depart. The pictures on the website made the hotel look top notch and we decided to take a chance. When we arrived at reception the place looked similar but certainly not to the standard of the photographs we saw. The room, although functional, was in need of renovation. You could see the electrical wiring in the ceiling and the air con wasn't exactly efficient. The shower took… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Malta is a lovely part of the world but the Buggiba...”

Written on: 20/07/2005 by CANTER59 (1 review written)

Malta is a lovely part of the world but the Buggiba Holiday Complex is not the place to stay if you want a relaxing holiday as it is over run with teenagers. Definitely not the place for people with small children.
The hotel is large but has a distinct lack of sun beds - during our 2 week stay we managed to get a sun bed for 1 day. I think that people got up at 6am to put their towels down!!
The food in the hotel is ok but very bland and boring. The staff in the restaurant are very polite… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cel's Response to CANTER59's Review

Written on: 28/07/2005

I saw the bad reviews of this hotel when it was too late to cancel. I hoped it was just people being fussy but unfortunately it was worse than I imagined. I've noticed that there are 2 new reviews since I got back, from people who were probably there the same week as me. I agree with everything they say, language students running up and down the corridors screaming and shouting, the rooms were very poor and the cleanliness was inconsistent - I had fresh towels and sheets everyday but my mother didn't. My mother had booked in Oct 04 and requested a pool view, but instead had a street view with building work going on right next to her. She was offered another room but I can't begin to describe how appalling it was. Pool area was rubbish but you couldn't get a lounger anyway, thankfully we hired a car so we could drive to the NEAREST sandy beach 20 minutes away! The hotel entertainment was Vic Reeves-style club singers and cringe-worthy DJs. The nightlife in Bugibba is great for families but I won't be going back to Malta again - the hotel has put me off for life. I've paid less for far superior hotels in better resorts AND it's expensive over there.

After speaking to a few people at the airport on the way home, I realised a lot of people had been moved, I just wished I’d had the guts to kick up a fuss.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview