Saga Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Saga Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Pousadas of Portugal”

Written on: 04/08/2014

We booked this holiday with high expectations, having had a very positive experience with SAGA last year when we did their "Way of St James" trip across northern Spain. We had never been to Portugal before, so were looking forward to exploring the country. We had no complaint about the standard of accommodations in the four historic pousadas, and generally the food at breakfast and for the included evening meal was good. The weather was not that great, but no-one can control that. But what… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Tenerife Grand Canaria”

Written on: 03/07/2014 by 358Douglas (1 review written)

Well I advise people not to rely on excusions as for two years running we have had to do our own site seeing which isn't what we expected and although the food was excellent and the hotel first class this is not the package we want, so we will look elsewhere next year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“down grading hotels all over the world”

Written on: 15/04/2014 by Muhammad221 (1 review written)

once upon a time the Shangri-La chain was used in China.not anymore.. once upon a time the Tiger mountain lodge was used on tours of Nepal....not now (except as an extension) Slowly but surely the standards of hotels is falling..meals taken in the hotels are now outside at very questionable restaurants, cheap and not so good....Saga is no different from any other tour company, cuts corners and save a dollar here and there...paying field staff less than the minimum wage is not acceptable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“jewel of central america”

Written on: 27/03/2014 by isieofwightfeb14 (1 review written)

Good pick up service and flight to San Jose Not impressed with The Gran Hotel San Jose Like staying in a museum Looking beyond the bed and bathroom the room was dirty safe not use able and cold food.Saga Agent blaming Saga for not taking on his many complaints !!Street life starts at 0530hrs just outside your bedroom so no rest and only small terrace to use in the middle of a noisy city center Saga needs to read Trip Advisor on this hotel, which lowers the standard of this amazing holiday… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Limited view of Burma”

Written on: 26/11/2013

I went to Burma with Saga at the end of October, there were 8 people in the group , half of whom were very elderly and complained of the heat, food, length of journeys and ealy starts and hotels. This holiday is described as "active" in the brochure and I think Saga should have questioned the oldest couple as to their suitability for such a holiday as they also needed wheelchair assist at the airports. The inability of the older couples did restrict what the remaining members of the group did… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kathryncarterton's Comment

Written on: 04/08/2014

We had a similar experience with a Saga holiday this year (2014) called "Pousadas of Portugal". We were back at the hotel by 4pm most days (if not before) and our two "full day"option excursions for which we paid extra, terminated at 2.30 and 3.15pm respectively. The evening meal wasn't until 7.30pm so we had 3-4 hours to kill back at the hotel. We couldn't explore alone because they hotels were in remote areas with very little to see around them. For one of our optional trips, we spent more time travelling than actually at the place.

We got the impression that many of the other members of the party had had enough by about 2pm and wanted to go back for a sleep! Everywhere we went we felt rushed, with little free time and an empahsis on getting back on the coach on time. I have taken this up with SAGA and they have said that actually, with these trips out, all you can expect is to see the main highlights and have a lunch and that's it. Well, they don't make that clear when they are taking your money off you, do they?

We are not travelling with SAGA again next year.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WATCH OUT FOR THE 4 FOR 3 TEMPTATION”

Written on: 25/10/2013 by KDCN (1 review written)

Always remember that with SAGA there is a reason for having 4 for the price of 3. It means the Hotel will be empty during the week but will fill up with locals at weekends and it's like a Zoo. The weather is usually untrustworthy. We experienced the mess that SAGA administration can get you into and we have experienced the way in which SAGA wash their hands of the problems and don't help. The SAGA reps in Resort are the best you could get however, their Head Office is disgraceful. SAGA have no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“"Optional" Tour”

Written on: 18/09/2013

My wife and I have recently had a SAGA holiday in the in the Oceania Club & Spa Hotel in Halkidiki, Greece. The hotel was fine but the main reason for this choice was the opportunity to visit the sites of Alexander the Great on an optional excursion. The availability of this was confirmed by SAGA on the phone, in details included in information sent and in information handed out by the rep. However no mention of this trip was made at the welcome meeting and when we enquired of the rep… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sagacustomerrelations's Comment

Written on: 04/10/2013

Hello, Saga Customer Relations here - it’s concerning to read your comments as we’d certainly never want to mislead our passengers regarding the content of any holiday. If you’re able to contact us directly at customer.relations@saga.co.uk with your booking details we’ll happily have a closer look at these issues for you. In the meantime we wish you well for your future travels.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Exsagafan's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2013

I was impressed by SAGA's comment, unfortunately less than impressed by the fact that when I emailed them as suggested eight days ago they did not reply, or even acknowledge this

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sagacustomerrelations's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2013

Hello again, please be assured we respond to every email, letter and telephone call we receive in accordance with ABTA guidelines – I’ve checked and we don’t appear to have received anything pertaining to your holiday – perhaps you could email us again at customer.relations@saga.co.uk or write to us at our postal address: Customer Relations, Saga Holidays, Enbrook Park, Sandgate, Kent CT20 3SE so we can investigate further.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Exsagafan's Comment

Written on: 11/11/2013

SAGA have now acknowledged that: the holiday "was not being monitored" [as it should have been]; that they have "identified some areas of improvement"; and that "sometimes [they] do make a mistake". However they will not agree to any compensation, even a few pounds off another holiday. BUT GUESS WHAT - they are still advertising this optional excursion on their web site

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sagacustomerrelations's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2013

Good morning, Saga Customer Relations here – we’re currently in the process of reviewing all optional excursions and will remove those that struggle to reach minimum numbers, so those we do offer are highly likely to operate - our brochures and website will be updated with this information as soon as possible. In the meantime we wish you well for your future travels.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Exsagafan's Comment

Written on: 14/11/2013

Good - but since this excursion has not run for three seasons I would have thought that the penny would have dropped by now

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 6 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Saga is not for single travellers!”

Written on: 26/07/2013

Having booked a tour of Switzerland with Saga, paying a single supplement AND being told that I would get a standard room, I have just been informed that I will, in fact, be accommodated in a 'compact' room for single occupancy. From previous experience I am well aware what the quality of such rooms, which are invariably in poor positions and very cramped. I am particularly appalled by this as I did specifically check the situation before booking, BUT only received this information AFTER… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Southern Italy/Sicily - dull, dull,dull. May 7 -19 2013”

Written on: 21/05/2013

This tour begins in Naples with an overnight in Caserta forty kilometres north.The hotel was fine but the area is not. The included hotel dinner that night was appallingly bad. Unfortunately there was nowhere else to eat as the area is a veritable industrial wasteland and becomes dangerous after dark with lots of hookers and their customers driving round. It is a mystery why Saga uses this property as it is way off the tour path which is all south of Naples. The Alberobello hotel la Chiusa di… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Land of the Incas (Peru), incl. Machu Picchu - Oct. 2012”

Written on: 17/03/2013

Described as a `fast-paced tour'. Not allowed to put real views, as system won't allow. Please go to Myownaddress@yahoo.co.uk for real views. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awfull Christmas Holiday”

Written on: 29/01/2013 by Santamaria (1 review written)

After booking a Christmas holiday with Saga we were looking forward to a great time.........but o'h dear what a shock we had.The Best Triton Hotel Banelmadena..don't do it. the room we were offered was on the main road through the town,could never have stayed in this room, never. Got offered another room but on the other side of the hotel i.e no sun and overlooking all the crappy tops of adjacent properties. After some discussion we were able to upgrade ourselves a better room, but at a cost to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“holiday on website different to holiday offered after...”

Written on: 31/10/2012 by wagggy (1 review written)

Booked a touring holiday with saga for 4 of us, staying at 3 top class hotels , paid deposit and 3 days later paperwork arrived all hotels had been downgraded from 5* to 4* with low ratings. phoned cust services was told holiday had changed for next year and i should have read terms and conditions. the terms and conditions are on another part of the website and wasnt put on the holiday pages. in the terms and conditions it said they can change any holiday details without notice. so its my fault… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnsmith27's Response to wagggy's Review

Written on: 08/11/2012

Saga booking conditions say that one of the reasons for a major change is a change in accomodation to a lower q rating for more than 3 nights. If they make a major change you should be able to get your money back under saga holiday promise condition.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“With Saga in Sicily my seaside hotel overlooked a car park”

Written on: 19/07/2012 by janishere (1 review written)

My complaint about my trip to Sicily with Saga is specific. I was given a room overlooking a car park with no sun coming into the room. The room itself was nice. But I hadn't paid all that money just to have a view of a car park and low rise blocks of flats for a week. So I asked the hotel reception for a change of room. The hotel explained that I would have to pay about £100 for a room with a view of the pool and the sea. I paid it. But at the same time I asked the rep to fax Saga and ask for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Dneiper Princess in Ukraine”

Written on: 15/07/2012 by Explorer2 (1 review written)

Just back from a rather mediocre holiday in Ukraine on a river cruise aboard the River Dneiper on the Dneiper Princess. We couldn't fault the ship or crew and our tour companions were pleasant people from mainly England with us being the only Scots.We had a lovely local English speaking Ukrainian guide employed by the ship's tour company called Natalia. Everyone got on well and we had a few good laughs. The food on board was fine, nothing fancy but filled a space. The excursions in our opinion… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Saga Sapphire Deficiencies”

Written on: 05/07/2012 by TonyJessop (1 review written)

My Cruise on Saga Sapphire to Baltic Capitals,Booking Reference 941832/96424,starting from Dover on 28 May,was most unsatisfactory.Saga Sapphire is an old ship,previously owned by French and German Companies. Saga claims to have completely refurbished the ship, but this is not so.My cabin 7066 was in poor condition. A complete day of the cruise was lost because the Ship's engine failed, not ,I understand, for the first time, Indeed the inaugural cruise was abandoned ! To be positive the work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Helios hotel Almunecar”

Written on: 08/06/2012

Moses our hotel rep could not have been more helpul Unfortunately the Rep who acted as rep on the transfer to Malaga was not. I am disabled and have great difficulty walking long distances. No attempt was made to get Sin Bajeras help at the airport. Basically struggle! Previous holidays with Saga have never had these problems… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Great Greece !”

Written on: 28/05/2012 by PennyHill (1 review written)

Having just returned from a 3 island holiday ( Santorini , Paros and Naxos )I felt that I must write to say how good the holiday was ; the tour leader Dilys was superb and the the hotels were good . The only criticism that I have is that the hotel on Naxos was a lovely place but with too few staff , sometimes it was like the Marie Celeste as far as staff were concerned but the ones that were there were very good and very helpful and working very hard… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Saga Jewels of Croatia - Tour fantastic UK...”

Written on: 03/05/2012 by Veryhappytripper (1 review written)

We chose the jewels of Croatia tour during the autumn of 2011 having seen a pop up on the internet offering a two weeks three centre tour at a very good price, we telephoned the next day to book one double and one single room, only to be told that that holiday was no longer available.... what a surprise, obviously all parties travelling were 'sold' on the idea of this tour and we ended up travelling a month earlier to get the advertised price and the no additional charge single room. From… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“A super holiday”

Written on: 25/04/2012 by wendyprowse (1 review written)

The car sevice from home was very good up to Heathrow where I met the friend I was going with. As there had been a change of aircraft, the Saga lady gave us new flight details. We were now flying with Qatar. Never used them before, but they were really good, the best economy I have seen . WE went via Doha and then on to Kathmandu, arriving early evening and were met by our Tour Manager. We went to the hotel to freshen up and then itwas out to a Tibetan restaurant for dinner and a show.The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“how can they do this”

Written on: 23/04/2012 by Bilbo29 (2 reviews written)

I have a very old friend and she and her husband enjoyed taking cruises. They had booked two cruises this yesr and her husband sensibly took out travel insurance with saga. Sadly her husband died recently of a sudden heart attack. she has been left alone and is trying to sort out the cancellation with saga. But the website for elderly people is beeing really bad, they are trying to wriggle out of paying for what thay happily took £800 pounds to cover by saying they think it was because of an… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview