Intrepid Travel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Intrepid Travel - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“6D5N Inca trail - Great experience!”

Written on: 26/11/2013

My husband & I just did the Inca trail with Intrepid. The airport pickup was fine, no problems whatsoever. Our guide Bruno met up at 6pm in the hotel lobby as stated in the Trip notes and took an hour to explain the itinerary, what to bring and patiently answered our questions. When we started the Inca trail, Bruno was patient, funny and interesting - the best guide we could ever hope for. He took time not only to explain the Inca ruins but to point out interesting flora and fauna and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Best of Spain 2013”

Written on: 18/11/2013

What a great tour,Jose our tour leader made sure we did experience the very best of this country.We saw a fantastic flamingo dance performance,he made sure we had the best seats for viewing,orientation walks and made life easy for the group by accompanying us to Gibraltar.Our visits to historical sights as Alambra,Alcazar and Cordoba Cathedral just a few of the most interesting landmarks Spain has to offer.The size of the group was important to me and this tour provided the right amount of free… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Wonderful experience”

Written on: 21/10/2013

Everything went like clockwork. We had a delightful mix of people who bonded well. Petra was everything and more. The only down side was Dana. The walk down to the valley was difficult, dangerous and very slippery; the only scenery to be see was the ground because the unstable path. When you arrived at the bottom there was nothing to see and we had to begin the arduous journey back to the top. The home stay dinner was delicious and it was good to interact with a local family… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Booking Mistake by Intrepid agency turns into a nightmare”

Written on: 01/10/2013

i booked with what I thought was Intrepid (that was what was on the Internet ) but it turned out it was an agency working for Intrepid. The agency confirmed they were holding my booking but due to a 'human error' they did not actually hold it for me. I went ahead and independently booked hotels and airfares only to be told that I wasn't actually on the trip. The agency had made a 'human error' . I asked to deal with a manager in Melbourne at Intrepid's main office. I was told that I should have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Turkey Experience 15 days plus 2 days Istanbul & Gallipoli”

Written on: 28/09/2013

Gallipoli is a must for every Australian to experience, very moving and emotional. 15 day Turkey Experience starting in Istanbul was way beyond what my expectations were. the view from my hotel room in Istanbul looked over Aya Sofya I felt as if I could reach out and touch it. A home cooked meal in Goreme and an early morning balloon flight over amazing landscape. A cruse and lunch with swimming in the Mediterranean. A trip to the Archaeological site Ephesus which was mind blowing. A walking… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“best or iran”

Written on: 23/09/2013 by deborahrach (1 review written)

i have just been on an intrepid tour of iran, and cannot speak highly enough of our tour guide and indeed the tour itself. he made the tour better by his attention to detail; fairness to all and general bonhomie: iran is great destination especially in the hands of intrepid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“How to ruin a holiday”

Written on: 12/09/2013 by Pmshacker1939 (1 review written)

My wife and I participated in an Adventure Travel trip for four days through Kakadu Natiional Park. The guide was excellent, the route well chosen, the guides cooking was first rate. The expensive trip was ruined by the clapped out vehicle in which we travelled. The noise in the passenger section was deafening, comparable to the noise in a World War II Dakota (I speak from experience). It was impossible to hear the guide even when his loudspeaker was on, and it was impossible to talk to any of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Not good value for money. Non-existent customer service”

Written on: 10/08/2013

We did the Jakarta to Ubud tour this spring. We have done standard level G Adventures tours before for a comparable price as this one. We therefore did not expect some of the unsavoury hotels we stayed in. Some of the places eg Paragon in Jakarta and Serena in Bandung were well below an acceptable standard. However, Intrepid continues to use them despite very poor Tripadvisor reviews. The overall impression of the trip was that they are a penny-pinching company. There was air-con in the Ubud… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Indifference is never a good thing/before-after Burma”

Written on: 06/08/2013 by ravenridge (1 review written)

I was excited about going to Burma and the small group was appealing. The packing list sent was for ALL of their trips and not Burma-specific. When I called, I was told yes, I needed a filtration system and bottle...$40.00+ later, I was the only one on the trip with one. There was no attempt to not waste plastic. If Intrepid is going to comment on Carbon impact, then they should hire trucks which don't spew exhaust. Yes, there were many there. Riding in a cattle truck, breathing the exhaust… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dogyellow's Response to ravenridge's Review

Written on: 04/09/2013

I think you have missed the fact that Myanmar is just emerging from period great hardship. Its not tourist slick.

I hear the problems you had getting good advice from the tour operators...but having been in Myanmar recently myself I'd say chill a bit. Its all part of travelling in a newly opened and developing country.

Beautiful beautiful Myanmar.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Central Europe Tour 2013 Intrepid's failure.”

Written on: 04/06/2013 by Layritz (1 review written)

My tour with Intrepid (Highlights of Central Europe)from 13 to 21 May 2013 was classified as a comfort tour but unfortunately that was not the case. I had travelled with Intrepid on a comfort tour in India and it was fabulous and worthy of four stars. This tour costing CANADIAN $ 209(about $260 per day per person)was definitely not a comfort trip. We started at the Hotel Wallis (my rating as a 3 star) in Munich and moved to the Hotel Clement (4 star) in Prague where we spent two nights. We… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Intrepid Travel is a Rip Off”

Written on: 25/05/2013 by TravelerfUS (1 review written)

This is my experience with Intrepid Travel's Greek Islands Walking Tour from May 19 - 26, 2013. Since I am in US they'outsourced' me to their UK partner Exodus Tours which is fine but the communication was ver poor. My only contact was Intrepid's US liaison. I was never given the name, email or phone#I of the Exodus' trip leader. Intrepid's original trip description included a half day tour of Athens on the first day. Only after I arrived in Athens did I find out that there was no half day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“be carefull ”

Written on: 24/05/2013 by sezzy1138 (1 review written)

I have not even been on my trip yet with intrepid that i have booked but so far the service has been less than good . in fact its been pretty rubbish after they got my deposit . when i paid the deposit we spoke about final payment which i said i would pay 60 days before departure which it says on there brochure, the bloke on the phone said about may and i said if that was the case i would book elsewhere so we agreed 60 days before departure would be the final full payment amount . in apriil i… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jrichardgott's Response to sezzy1138's Review

Written on: 18/06/2013

I used to work for Intrepid Travel and your story is VERY representative of the culture there. Intrepid are part of 'Flight Centre' so EVERYONE in the company works on commission. It is all about getting the deposit, then after that noone gives a ****.

I left because as a consultant I was sick of upholding business practices that I considered dodgy. Mostly this consisted of making customers pay for the company's disorganisation but also using a retail arm (technically a separate business) to circumvent elements of the Trade Practices Act and violate their own 'responsible travel' policies. If they were poultry farmers, they would sell the free-range eggs up one end and the cage eggs up the other.

It doesnt surprise me that he wanted payment early, with the culture they have a very high staff turnover (my store had more that 100% in one year) and you don't get your commission if you leave before the customer pays.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Kakadu with Intrepid was a serious wow!”

Written on: 23/04/2013 by bgjerusalem (1 review written)

Pick up bang on time, our 3 day trip with overnight camping was fantastically planned from start to finish. Ben(der) , our guide proved to be what guides should aspire to be . He took us to the sites at our pace and displayed all the local knowledge to answer our many questions. He seemed to know lots of unsigned unmarked sites to swim and walk. If a visitor centre was interesting for us, we were given ample time to stay; if they were less captivating, we quickly moved on. Food was excellent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic Intrepid”

Written on: 12/04/2013 by Nickiwi (1 review written)

I've travelled a lot with Intrepid: Asia, Russia, Europe (I've also travelled independently and with other companies). My trips have always been fantastic. Great guides, well organised, value for money. I'm surprised by the negative comments here. Are you sure that backpacker style group travel is for you? You need to be easy going, friendly, and flexible. If all you want is a perfect trip with everything going to plan, perhaps you should just stay at home… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“best of vietnam”

Written on: 08/04/2013 by MickandJoan (1 review written)

A fantastic trip and our guide,who was Thanh Ngnyen,was the best one could wish for.He showed us lots of things not on the schedule and was always very helpful,and happy, and couldn't do enough for us. This trip is made for anyone who wants to see the real Vietnam,and with a maximum of 12 in the group,travelling on the 30 seater bus made life so much easier. Thanh had lived through the Vietnam war as a child,and was able to share his childhood experiences with us,and knew his countries history… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Circle Sri Lanka with Intrepid”

Written on: 28/03/2013

The Sri Lankan tour was the second we have done with Intrepid (the first being the 29 day tour of Indo China). Our guide was Bruno - and if you ever have the good fortune to have Bruno as your guide then you have won the jackpot. This was an outstanding trip in every way. Bruno was knowledgeable, professional and caring the entire 15 days, even organising a surprise birthday celebration for me. The tour was wonderful and we can highly recommend it. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country, and we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Some hotels need health warning”

Written on: 20/03/2013 by Christobel001 (1 review written)

Did the northern India highlights trip, loved everything but the Hotel Hindustani International,nth is need removing from your itinerary, extremely poor cleanliness , overpriced, my husband got quite sick from the food at this hotel, rooms are filthy staff have a bad attitude. If I did this trip again. I would not stay at this hotel it's a health hazard, the heritage hotels were fantastic, and it would be great to tour countries with just the heritage hotels and not the boring modern ones… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Best company to travel with to Mexico and Guatemala!”

Written on: 19/02/2013

we went from guatemala city to cancun through flores, tikal, san ignacio, caye caulker, tulum and playa del carmen and i have to say it was wonderful. we had a wonderful time, the guide was great, hotels were of good quality as was the food in the restaurants our guide took us to! really got an insight into the countries and thoroughly enjoyed trip, especially recomend to older families as well. intrepid is a fantastic company and i would definately go with them again. there wasn't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Universe93's Comment

Written on: 26/02/2013

Hi! Am I allowed to ask the name of the trip you went on and whether it was a basic trip or an original trip? Thank you!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Asia is far better deal than Central America”

Written on: 07/01/2013

Dollar for dollar the Indochina Loop (original) tour (29 days)was infinitely superior to the Central American Tour (basic, 29 days). However, since we enjoyed the Indochina tour immensely and there was no choice of 'original' Central America tour we opted for the 'basic' not expecting this would double the initial tour cost with the added minimum activities and food. We spent at least another $1000 per person after carefully and frugally picking activities. The choice of some hotels and their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kyled's Comment

Written on: 19/03/2013

Hi did you do the Central American Adventure? I am thinking about booking but now am cautious because of what you said.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent European staff”

Written on: 30/11/2012

I have done previous intrepid tours elsewhere, and was met with competent, skilled staff. My trip leader in Europe, on the other hand, was incompetent, had no knowledge or interest in the countries we visited, and acted like a child the entire tour, needing to be told how to get to places and complaining about his parents (even though he was over 40). My feedback was completely ignored by the European branch. Don't waste your money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyjane's Comment

Written on: 19/03/2013

Thanks for that - sure don't need either the attitude of the guide or the company's response to the situation - I have travelled Japan with Gap Adventures and found that experience to be excellent

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview