Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.5 / 5
68% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront - Ask a question now

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“WATERFRONT CAFE BENSON ”

Written on: 11/05/2011

WATERFRONT CAFE BENSON
We eat at the cafe regularly. It can get amazingly busy - the location is special but the staff cope very well. Breakfasts are exceptional and the sausages (browned as proper sausages cook!!) are very good quality. The menu is not gourmet dining nor has it any pretensions to be - and it caters for everyone - dog walkers, bikers, tourists, locals, postmen, ladies who lunch, my 85 year old mother, couples who come in every week for the bread & butter pudding etc.etc… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Pleased to read last comments on noisy children not...”

Written on: 28/04/2011

Pleased to read last comments on noisy children not being tolerated - we enjoy going there, adore the dogs who go for a treat (and behave immacualtely) and like the fact we can sit outside and admire the view, and generally not be irritated by screaming childern. Glad that the staff are encouraging peaceful behaviour from its clients - will continue to go! Food always good and arrives promptly, the manager makes sure the cars are parked sensibly, and we have always had a good time. Like the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Imogensmart's Comment

Written on: 28/09/2011

We were all children once.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I have just returned from a visit to the Waterfront...”

Written on: 26/10/2010

I have just returned from a visit to the Waterfront cafe in Benson with friends and our respective children aged 2 - 7. Our children were excited about being in a cafe, after a wet and windy visit to Harcourt Arboretum. Although I acknowledge that some of them were becoming noisy after they had finished their hot chocolate and cakes, I was completely unprepared for the Manager's comments directly to them which he intentionally made in full earshot of the other customers. He was extremely rude… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Imogensmart's Comment

Written on: 26/10/2010

I clicked the wrong thing re. Child Friendly. It isn't child friendly at all!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Zulu Tango 4's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2011

A very one sided account of unacceptable behaviour by an extremely noisy and disruptive group.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Zulu Tango 4's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2011

I found this review not helpful because I too was there on the day.
<br/>The behaviour of this crowd of people was terrible, the kids running riot the whole time they were there. The other customers were amazingly tolerant.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Customer2011's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2011

I found this review not helpful because... has it is too easy for people to make comments with out telling the whole picture - i was another customer in the cafe that day and these 4 mothers and about 7 children were spoiling the enjoyment for the other 20 or so customers and we were all very thankfull when the manager said some thing to these people - the 4 !! mums should have been keeping there children in order, they were screaming and shouting, running around nearly knocking hot drinks out of peoples hands the noise was just unbearable, when the manager had to tell the uncontrollable children the mums were very dismissive, I also told the mums that it was unacceptable as did some of the other customers, the manager spoke to every customer in the cafe after the group had left and peace had been restored - Thank you waterfront
<br/>
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★☆

“Pleasent atmosphere, good veiws, good staff, I have a...”

Written on: 27/09/2010

Pleasent atmosphere, good veiws, good staff, I have a food allergy "Gluten" it is so nice to find G.F. pasta on the main menu also G.F. cakes on the counter… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor customer service every time we have been. ”

Written on: 25/08/2010

Poor customer service every time we have been.

Has a very nice location but seems to think this requires no effort and people will return anyway.

Food is average at best… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What a mess! ”

Written on: 03/07/2010 by Joan Lawrence (1 review written)

What a mess!

Ordered Eton Mess last Sunday in June - contained undefrosted frozen strawberries. Owner manager has been to the Fawlty Towers School of Charm and behaved bizarrely when I queried the need for frozen products in high season.
Do go there if you relish outrageous attempts at public humiliation by a guy with serious anger management issues… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I FEEL I HAVE TO MAKE A COMMENT ON SOME OF THE REVIEWS...”

Written on: 27/06/2010

I FEEL I HAVE TO MAKE A COMMENT ON SOME OF THE REVIEWS POSTED, BURNT SAUSAGES - THIS PERSON MUST NEVER OF HAD A BUTCHERS SAUSAGE WITH REAL SKINS(THEY GO DARK WHEN COOKED NOT LIKE PROCESSED SAUSAGES. THEY HAVE 1000S OF CUSTOMERS EVERY WEEK AND THE STAFF AND MANGER WORK HARD TO PLEASE MOST AND PROVIDE A LOCATION THAT IS SECOND TO NONE!!!! AT A PRICE!!!!!! EVERY ONE CAN AFFORD.
HOW MUCH DO WE NORMALLY PAY FOR A LOCATION WITH VIEWS LIKE THAT ON THE SIDE OF THE THAMES!!
I WOULD THINK SOME PROBLEMS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 31/05/2011

I'm sorry I didn't realise the owner was god "provide a location that is second to none" get a grip

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I was upset by the owner's attitude when I complained...”

Written on: 02/05/2010

I was upset by the owner's attitude when I complained about the quality
of the food served. Two sausages were burnt and when I complained, he asked "Well what's wrong with it?" I replied, "Would you eat burnt food?" I left my plate at the counter. He later appeared, gave me the plate and said, "I did you another one" and had left the burnt sausages on the plate!! No apologies. His attitude stank. Its a lovely setting, priced higher than other eating places around, but with that bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“What a wounderfull day i have had at the Waterfront...”

Written on: 26/09/2009

What a wounderfull day i have had at the Waterfront Cafe today the atmospher the staff and the food were excelent!!. We are all so lucky to have such a wounderfull place for anyone to enjoy - you can have what yo want when ever you want. The location is second to none and today was one of the best i have ever had, love the inprovements its like being on holiday.I hope it stays the same for a long time we realy enjoy it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent value breakfast, fresh and hot in the best...”

Written on: 21/09/2009

Excellent value breakfast, fresh and hot in the best surroundings you can find.£ around £5-£6 for breakfast with hot drink, I cant find that in any service station. Will recommend Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront to all my friends… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ I think I must have ordered the most expensive...”

Written on: 20/06/2009 by Johns99 (1 review written)

I think I must have ordered the most expensive breakfast in Oxfordshire, you can get a cheaper one at a service station and we all know that they are pricey! This Waterfront Cafe purely succeeds due to the location, certainly not its customer service!
Overpriced and surly staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Boston1's Response to Johns99's Review

Written on: 26/09/2009

I found this review very helpful because I agree. The service isn't great, the staff are really stroppy and act like they are doing you a favour. If I owned this cafe, I would get new staff. Also, the breakfast is good but isn't great for the money they are charging and it certinly isn't cooked fresh. The bacon is reheated for a start. How hard is it to cook fresh bacon to order? It's a great location but the cafe owners could try harder.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“ The Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront is an...”

Written on: 13/06/2009 by 123the123 (1 review written)

The Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront is an excellent place… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I have been to the waterfront cafe many times and just...”

Written on: 12/06/2009

I have been to the waterfront cafe many times and just can not agree with the last comment!! the burgers are the best for miles and are made with real meat!! MD? must just show your poor taste but at least your dog new what was good,
The inside and outside d cor are excellent, had an excellent day with the whole family there last week and the new decking area was so nice, the best views by the river in Oxfordshire in my opinon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They make a reasonable cappuccino at Waterfront Cafe,...”

Written on: 19/05/2009 by TallulahTerrier (1 review written)

They make a reasonable cappuccino at Waterfront Cafe, cake was a bit dry, chips good (but frozen so impossible to mess up really), salad limp and overdressed but the worst thing was the burger - the worst, don't go near! Would have done better at McD's up the road. We wrapped them up and the dog loved them when we got back but I think even she had indigestion later. The place is a bit rough around the edges inside, nasty paint colour, horrible tiled floor which just makes everything noisy and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Have been reading the reviews on the waterfontcafe and...”

Written on: 18/05/2009 by wise one (1 review written)

Have been reading the reviews on the waterfontcafe and to be honest i am so surprised to read a couple of the comments- Firstly this is such a lovely place for all ages and budgets!! the food is far from average and i would hate it to change! my whole group of friends love going to the cafe for breakfast,lunch tea and cakes or wine and evening meal.
Would not like this place to change too much - the best place on the Thames for me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Visited the waterfront bistro last night with a large...”

Written on: 16/05/2009 by wise one (1 review written)

Visited the waterfront bistro last night with a large group and we all found the food excellent and staff very helpful.
Good choice of food including the evening specials… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Brilliant everything is good about it!. Waterfront...”

Written on: 12/05/2009

Brilliant everything is good about it!. Waterfront Cafe staff very helpfull, clean, lovely views and wonderful food very tastey. Brilliant highly recomend!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“had a meal lunch time today at Waterfront Cafe, Benson...”

Written on: 12/05/2009 by wise one (1 review written)

had a meal lunch time today at Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfront and found the food to be outstanding for the price with an location you will not find anywhere !!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The improvments at Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfron,...”

Written on: 11/05/2009

The improvments at Waterfront Cafe, Benson Waterfron, are wounderfull, as always the food is great.
The staff and managment always so helpfull
Will try and visit every week
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Have been coming to the Waterfront Cafe for a couple...”

Written on: 05/05/2009

Have been coming to the Waterfront Cafe for a couple of years due to its great location and had accepted its very average food as bareable due to its lovely location. However today I ordered a meal that arrived at my table very overcooked, when I complained I was surprised at the reaction of the manager who basically said thats your opinion, order something else because I'm not offering a refund - or even an apology because others havent complained.
I was very disappointed in the service. It… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview