Pontins, Brean Sands Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
19% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of accommodation

  • Quality of food

  • Staff

  • Children's entertainment

  • Adult entertainment

  • Facilities

  • Proximity to local amenities

  • Proximity to local attractions

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Pontins, Brean Sands - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Pontins, Brean Sands

Pontins, Brean Sands

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“never ever again”

Written on: 27/04/2014 by GreysonFletcher218 (1 review written)

On site pool only open for one hour and forty five mins at a time ,by the time you've got your children changed and in uv got bout half hour .i was spoken to like i was thick by staff as soon as i entered and there are no local or on site takeaways,dnt usually eat takeaway but as the on site grocery store is constantly out of anything you could actually eat as a meal we felt forced to look.childrens entertainment is so loud i couldn't hear my partner shouting to me in the seat next to me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible holiday park”

Written on: 26/04/2014 by de84 (1 review written)

Firstly the park could do with great repairs and updating, the outdoor activities like the go carting look like they have been left to go rack and ruin. Then there's the accommodation, we stayed in chalet 972, the chalet was dirty and the bathroom was covered in grime and hair from previous guests, it needed a good clean. We had a party of 4 but only two cups, 1 bowl and three pillows... There was one room and a bed settee that had seen better days and was very uncomfortable due to the state of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Went here last minuet for Easter Thursday /Friday -...”

Written on: 21/04/2014 by Masseypf421 (1 review written)

Went here last minuet for Easter Thursday /Friday - arrived 9pm Thursday to beat motorway - porter on gate had no record of late booking so just gave us a key to popular apprts no 19 - disgusting mouldy filthy - yes is was cheap so we were expecting basic but no excuse for filth - fridge didn't work fag burns in old grubby chairs and in the light of the morning we noticed cable ties on tables attached to wood so they didn't wobble - the people who think this standard is remotely ok are nothing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“BUY YOUR OWN BEDDING”

Written on: 04/04/2014 by 1948Freeman (1 review written)

I gave just come back from a family weekend away. This site is only up the road drom us and is somewhere we go a few times a year. This year there was no bedding and you could no longer hire it but could BUY cheap nasty bedding that the dyed comes from and onto you clothes. It cost me £40 to but a double and 2 single bed sets from the onsite shop and to say I was furious is an understatment. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“mattresses/entertainment”

Written on: 28/09/2013 by scoops5 (1 review written)

just got back yesterday from brean sands after a 5 day & 4 night stay, me and my mum went, for a well deserved break away, after almost 20 years without a proper holiday! we had been to various pontins before I.E Wall Park, Barton Hall, little Canada, all of which where brilliant times, so we thought give pontins another go! Although the chalet was clean all over, the matresses where lumpy and you could feel the springs poking through, my mother suffers from osteoarthritis and has a slipped… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Pretty grim!”

Written on: 26/09/2013 by stainesbloke (1 review written)

Ok, it's cheap (off-season) so you get what you pay for. However! I felt like I was in an episode of Jeremy Kyle, the hideous, fat, chain-smoking chavs and their million kids totally ruin this place. Couldn't believe the evening 'entertainment' which consisted of hordes of totally unsupervised toddlers running around the dance floor until really late at night...why weren't they in bed?! Why are toddlers allowed in the main area after 8pm?! The site itself is dirty and looks shabby looking but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful Experience!”

Written on: 27/08/2013 by Vooght (1 review written)

Just returned from an awful holiday at Brean Sands!We booked a 3 night break (Friday to Monday) but only stayed two nights and left early Sunday morning as the place was just awful!! It was a real challenge to not leave Saturday morning! We have stayed in lots of holiday parks throughout Cornwall, Devon and Somerset and this is easily the worst by far. The actual site was littered with rubbish, the buildings were old and shabby, accommodation was disgusting and very dirty, reception staff were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing, could be better.”

Written on: 11/08/2013

Just got back after a weeks holiday, with my daughter and grandson who is 11yrs old. The chalet, was ok, but we had to pay £40 for bed linen, 1dble, and 2 singles, which we could of brought with us if it was made clearer what extras were, when we made the booking,( all the dye came out of this bedding so beware if you buy any)total rubbish. Not a lot going on during the day, so spent a fortune going out visiting places like Wookey hole and other places of interest. What we couldn't understand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“wow”

Written on: 04/08/2013 by samanthaoxborough (1 review written)

Returned after 5 day stay with my 8year old son.do not understand all the poor reviews as we had a fantabulously wicked time! Apartment was spotlessly clean.bedding and pillows looked new.we stayed half board and food was relish. Yes, we had to queue but so what! We thoroughly enjoyed it and found the staff very helpful.come and make up your own mind.hope you enjoy as much as we did.happy holidays!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Pontins Review - Whitsun 2013”

Written on: 31/05/2013 by coasterjamie (19 reviews written)

Pontins at Brean Sands was terrible when we visited at Whitsun this year (2013). First off, accommodation is awful. They claim to have refurbished it, but a new floor, chairs and possibly sofa is all we saw that was new. It is tacky, not good and smelt like a public toilet on arrival. Bear in mind that cleaners are supposed to go in and clean it. The most disappointing thing was that they are no longer doing any of the high ropes activities. There had been no warning prior to our visit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“disgusting”

Written on: 10/04/2013 by jennylou (1 review written)

We went to break sands we got there and as we waited 30 mins for check in it was like a cattle market,also the bloke behind counter said id got an outstanding bill £220 which was for half board which hadn't selected ,room had no heating in bedroom single bed needed double ,pool table broken ,golf needed good sweep holes shabby,staff slagging other staff off ,swimming pool ok thou ,queen Vic good ,bins weren't emptied in our apartment,everytime we open the fridge cooker would turn on every time… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“places to avoid”

Written on: 11/02/2013 by howardcavender (2 reviews written)

I have visited this site three times.Its getting worse.Avoid at all cost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting”

Written on: 23/08/2012 by extremelydisappointed (1 review written)

Apartments, Queen Vic, Fun factory all filthy, no adequate baby changing facilities, urine overflowing in toilets. Feet stick to floor in apartment its so greasy and filthy, cant let young ones on floor so had to keep them in playpen which has to be hired and collected. Patio doors to living area immediately faced Queen Vic and had to keep curtains drawn all the time, or watch the tennants drinkers starting at 9am. Cupboards falling apart in apartment, no timetable of activities given - kids… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Brilliant Value for a traditional family holiday camp ”

Written on: 18/08/2012

We have just come back from Brean and i have to say has a family of Pontins lovers and been going to Brean Sands for over 8 years and have always enjoyed our Pontins experience. I would say for a family who want a good value holiday Pontins is the place to be people who are over critical then dont bother I have always found accommodation in good order the staff friendly and ready to help the food outlets ok. Having said this my only 2 points i would make to Pontins is this. 1) Review your… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great Value Fun”

Written on: 12/08/2012

I was so worried about booking this holiday after reading some of the reviews but as we were booking for the 6th August and it was the 5th August we didn'y have much choice. To be honest we had prepared ourslves for the worst and were pleasantly suprised. We had booked a club room which pontins describe as their "top of the range" It was very basic but clean and with a 2pm check in and free bed linen an electric it made our say much easier. The staff were very friendly and the entertainment… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't go!”

Written on: 25/06/2012

Our first and most probably last ever stay at Pontins! Accomodation was filthy, toilet had urine all over the seat and faeces caked in the toilet bowl, floor was filthy, sofa bed was a liabilty, if one of you got up, it 'ejected' the other person! Oh and we had a single duvet for our double bed?? Changing facilities at the pool were poor, no family changing, 2 toilets (filthy) no working locks. Booking in procedure was like a cattle market and pretty much all the staff seem quite disinterested… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Grinch66's Comment

Written on: 21/08/2012

Hi there i know how you feel we went last week chalet not 264 and the same happened to me my husband got up in the night to go toilet and i fell off the bed into the curtain. It was very funny at the time but i made him wake me up the rest of the week so i didnt fall out of bed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jameslyon65's Comment

Written on: 15/05/2013

Went to pontins brean park a month ago for 4 nights chalet 82 and honestly it was the worse accommodation ever!! Curtain rails were broken so couldn't draw curtains, furniture fallen apart, drawers not opening properly. Bathroom had yellow fluid? seeping from walls? no heating in (bunkbed) room our kids were crying during the night it was so cold also water coming in behind beds from windows (not sealed) causing damp bedding, we were nearly ready to pack up and go home. Our kettle was faulty so had to get it fixed. A young couple moved in next door with a young baby they couldn't shut there front door so had to call maintenance to fix it 11.30pm at night.
The indoor swimming pool was horrendous! no heating in changing rooms, pool was cold, I took my son to the pool ONLY once! the attendants were lazy and could'nt be bothered, their was no monitoring on the flumes so kids were piling ontop of each other at the bottom, alot of kids got upset including my son. I did complain but got a "We dont care attitude" and a sarcastic smile! Will definitly not go back!! and would'nt recommend it to my worse enemy.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Dont waste your time or money!!!”

Written on: 19/05/2012 by lisap3 (1 review written)

we drove 5 hours to get to this place an stayed an hour there, an that was far to long!the place is just a joke an should be knocked down and the staff need customer service training !!!! first an last time i would ever go to pontins again. it was something out of shameless!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“holiday from hell gave written in and sent picures for...”

Written on: 23/04/2012

me and my brother went on holiday booked it in for 3nights only stayed two there was no toilet roll towels or bed linen in room and there was dirt all over the floor they used carpet for bed head boards and the was blood all over bed nasty place to go i took pictures and have sent them to Lesley who works there but have not heard nothing back if i dont i will be taking it further please who ever is planning to stay here its nast plus you have to put your own electricity in which is £1 pound… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“not as advertised club not good at all”

Written on: 13/03/2012

no bed linen or towels in chalet when we paid club prices you expect linen and towels.. bed lights hanging off wall… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“i wont bother with this site”

Written on: 07/03/2012 by raver_girl110 (1 review written)

i went to this campsite from the 2nd march till 5 march the chalet was dirty the beds springs though the beds no bed sheets u had to pay for these and i paid 20 in electric so cold was told there was 70 actives were on and there was only the pool was nothing to do also everytime i boiled my kettle it tripped electric which they did nothing bout then it happened with the microwave i wood not recommed this site to my dog it disgusting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview