Ikea Kitchens Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
37% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

Read user reviews of Ikea Kitchens from customers past and present, and share your own experiences with others by submitting your own review here at Review Centre.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ikea Kitchens - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ikea Kitchens

Ikea Kitchens

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“DONT BOTHER WITH IKEA”

Written on: 01/10/2014

Apart from all the hassle of going to the store, when you try to contact them to chase up undelivered doors its virtually impossible to get a straight answer. Their records of previous conversations are inaccurate. Have been waiting since end of August for the doors. At no point was I told when I bought the kitchen that there was a delay on the doors so now I have the kitchen installed, minus doors. Looks a mess - and there is no end in sight. Waited in all day for delivery of doors which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ikea think again”

Written on: 30/08/2014 by Hart138 (1 review written)

Shopping at ikea is a nightmare for most people but try to do something as complex as order kitchen components and it turns into a living hell. First you have to queue to see an advisor ( once you have navigated through the maze that is the store). They then tell you that only 60% of your order is available and add that to get the remaining 40% necessitates going through the whole process again. Six to eight weeks wait for doors and wall units! On-line shoppers are equally thwarted as many… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Faulty wooden worktop - Ecomaster lies”

Written on: 10/08/2014 by Nataliae420 (1 review written)

Background: We purchased a whole new kitchen including 2 large pieces of wooden worktop. The worktop is made of blocks of wood, glued and pressed together. We had previously bought 2 other pieces of the same worktop for another kitchen, so we are quite familiar with the material and required care. Installation and care: We had the countertop installed professionally (by a master joiner). We also did the required periodic clean up and oiling. Problem emerged: After about 5 months, the worktop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't touch”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by chDavies193 (1 review written)

I went to Ikea to buy the kitchen my partner wanted, I logged onto the online CAD planner to design the kitchen & some 2 hours later I saved the design as one we were both happy with. However, when I tried to log on again to add some more pieces, the Ikea system did not allow it stating I needed to call a number to reset my password? The phone number did not work, Ikea's website offers no alternative number so I tried the main switch board. Still no help. It then took Ikea's customer service 8… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Complicated System”

Written on: 24/07/2014 by TrevonFrazier (1 review written)

We chose the IKEA kitchen as an economical way to get what seemed a quality kitchen previous to selling our home. To simplify the matter , and because we had no experience designing a kitchen, we also paid for the personal consultation. We were so certain that the consultation would be worthwhile that we were willing to wait the two month delay for an appointment. The consultation seemed to go well enough. The designer was pleasant and agreeable to work with, as seemed all the individual… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“So far so good.”

Written on: 22/07/2014 by Charlene86 (1 review written)

I am in the process of installing an Ikea kitchen. I have made a few mistakes such as placement of correct screws in drawers and placing the doors the right way around. Ikea staff helped to troubleshoot where I was going wrong. Ikea were also great in refunding items that I thought I did not need for kitchen. Returns can be painful, only because of the wait time. Take a good magazine to read and while you're waiting try one of their tasty hotdogs for $1. I found most staff to be fantastic at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“before choosing IKEA for our kitchen:-”

Written on: 21/07/2014 by Minfudlik (1 review written)

Words out of my mouth and smacks of familiarity two years on. The worst work and service I have EVER experienced in many years. I feel like a rag doll tossed from one department to another by minions who have no personal experience of installing a kitchen. The preferred response to customer dismissal is "AUTOMATED REPLY". It is unbelievable a worldwide organisation like IKEA treats customers in a long drawn out and HUMILIATING AND DISRESPECTFUL MANNER HAVING PAID ALL MONIES UP FRONT AND IN… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible quality worksurfaces”

Written on: 29/06/2014 by roobi (1 review written)

We ordered our whole new kitchen from IKEA, the bespoke worksurfaces (grey laminate) instantly began to mark. We have permanent marks from warm drinks, and a jacket potato that came out of the microwave. When I rang to complain (took hours worth of queued phonecalls), I was told that this was an acceptable level of heat damage, and it was all my fault. Well my old laminate would never have marked like that. Poor quality, disappointed to have spent hard earned money on it. Not fit for purpose in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mis sold ikea kitchen ”

Written on: 17/06/2014 by Wisewd500 (1 review written)

I bought ikea kitchen as price was really competitive. However ikea failed to advise me their kitchens have no voids and aren't designed for Uk market. All my pipework, waste pipes, plugs had to be moved and rerouted to fit ikea kitchen!! Costing me more than if I'd gone b and q how dens whose kitchen have service voids. Kitchen was delivered not in one delivery but 9. most doors damaged or missing and wrong size sent by ikea! After sales service poor after 52+ emails over 15 hours on phone and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Saintdan's Comment

Written on: 18/06/2014

This is exactly the same as my experience.

It's now six months since I purchased the kitchen and it should be finished today !!!

The cabinets will be very tight or unusable against any existing pipework unless the whole supporting rail is packed out. This then leads to uneven worktops, or the width of the worktop may not be wide enough.

Although I paid £1500 for base units, the cost of a plumber was £300+ ( cash in hand ) to reroute some pipes that couldn't be used.

The kick boards are problematic too. I've had to cut some down just to get them to fit. Installing the under sink drip tray also means as part of a run of units, the board will not fit unless wedged in at an angle.

The only way to fit an Ikea kitchen is to buy it, do what you can, and then bodge the rest around it.

Although the staff may be very familiar with the products they sell, they have no real world experience of fitting a kitchen into anything which isn't a flat walled white cube.

Ringing for advice is like a biblical punishment, and if you fancy going instore to customer enquiries, do take a book to read and lunch whilst you wait.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Generally good, but be prepared .....”

Written on: 04/06/2014 by DizzyBron (1 review written)

Overall I think the product is good but there are some problems that you should be aware of. You must be prepared to do a lot of the leg work yourself, the staff at Ikea are helpful but they have never installed a kitchen themselves so their knowledge is limited, so the chances are that you will have items you don't need and some you are missing....several trips to IKEA is required. I found the instructions good and the units went together very easily although it was quite difficult to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ikea Appliances installed in a business”

Written on: 23/05/2014 by Glass38 (1 review written)

We ordered a whole new kitchen with Ikea, from cabinets to dishwasher. Ikea installed everything. They knew that we were a business and they were to come design and install a kitchen in a business. Do you think for one second that when they handed us the prepaid receipt and the 5 year warranty, that they would have informed us that the appliances they would be installing into our business would have no warranty due to the exception that is only implied on the warranty terms and conditions… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ikea and Sis holdings ltd”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by Watkinspm222 (1 review written)

Ikea Kitchens are a good price however you see the real picture when they are fitted.low quality tat,better off going to b and q.things will go great until they have your money then after sales service is bad and Sis holdings Ltd are useless,rubbish,incompetent,crap,I have run out of words to describe them.So think hard before you pay your hard earned money on a Ikea carp Kitchen.hope this helps… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“New design of IKEA kitchen - be warned!”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by Grahamhalls (1 review written)

Having installed 8 previous IKEA kitchens in previous properties, we thought we would invest in the latest design, launched in February this year. BIG mistake. Almost impossible to align the units - the new rail mounting system does not enable any adjustment for uneven walls - and the fixing brackets do not all align correctly. result, impossible to align the cabinets. The legs keep dropping off and are very difficult to put free standing units in place. To make matters worse, we have just… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Saintdan's Response to Grahamhalls's Review

Written on: 23/04/2014

...just to add to this@GrahamHalls it's also the case that some cabinets are incompatible with their sinks.

The domsjo sink and bodbyn cabinet will not work together with a solid oak worktop. Also, the sink cutting instructions for the worktop are INCORRECT.

The solution is to cut a pre cut moulded panel, for which there are no templates.

What's more telling from my experience is that not only is the range hasn't been tested in anything but an ideal flat walled cube, the staff aren't competent enough at this stage to know better than the customer.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service, decent quality products...”

Written on: 22/04/2014 by SaintDan (2 reviews written)

Overall, very disappointed with Ikea and still having issues... After measuring and planning my own kitchen, visited the Nottingham store for advice. The guy assisting was very helpful and suggested a few changes. We decided it best to double check at home before ordering. A week later, we returned to store, confirmed the plan and scheduled a delivery. The delivery turned up 2 items short. Getting through to Ikea on the telephone is impossible whenever you ring. So, another trip to Ikea… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Panicked after reading the reviews”

Written on: 15/04/2014 by mtaylor65 (1 review written)

I ordered my IKEA kitchen in January 2014, after lots of work not involving Ikea we had the kitchen delivered as promised two weeks ago. In the meantime I read many reviews on here about DTW and the bad quality of their workmanship and lack of communication from IKEA. I can only say that apart from the difficulty in speaking to Ikea ie length of time on hold, they were a dream to deal with. The kitchen was delivered on time with no missing pieces etc. DTW Bristol started the fit the day after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ikea= Bad customer service ”

Written on: 03/03/2014 by Dodger79 (1 review written)

The reasons why you shouldn't buy an ikea kitchen * 3 month after ikea took my money and I still haven't received the complete kitchen and hinges * I've received 24 text messages with all different delivery dates * I've booked time off work and organised with a kitchen fitter on the days you failed to deliver * parcel force delivered 1 door 1 day 6 doors a few days later on days I didn't expect deliveries * I've made at least 10 phone calls to ikea each over 40 minutes waiting *… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“white cabinets yellowed!”

Written on: 20/02/2014

We had no problems with the installation, hired an Ikea installer to do the job. After 4 years the doors have yellowed, and now they are not the same colour as the 'outer' boxes and trim. A few of the cupboard doors have had to be replaced as the tops of them have been chipped and the white flaked off. The new doors have yellowed too. At least they match haha. Lots of chipping of paint here and there. I loved the look of this kitchen, but buyer beware. Thanks for this website!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Kitchen, what kitchen?”

Written on: 31/01/2014 by DrewandFiona (1 review written)

I was so excited to get my new kitchen booked, with delivery agreed for a date that suited me. Kitchen and worktop fitters booked around this date.......what could go wrong?! Ikea delivery service that is what. Despite putting in one order for my entire kitchen, Ikea decided to split the order and rather than tell the customer that they will not deliver the goods on the date they agreed with me, have started drip feeding the items to me. Ok so to date I can wash my dishes and store my food in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“IKEA Kitchens really bad quality ”

Written on: 25/01/2014

I did buy my IKEA kitchen in 2006 when we built our home. After 3 years the painting in the drawers and cabinets started to crack. Unfortunately we lost our guaranty papers during hurricane IKE and IKEA didn't replace any of our pieces because they didn't find us in their system. In any case, I would like other people to know about the bad quality of their kitchen because after 8 years I will have to replace my kitchen... Email me if you want to see the picture of my IKEA kitchen with only with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“installation nighrtmare”

Written on: 17/01/2014

in june we went to ikea to buy a kitchen found one we liked had some one out to measure up, went back to the store in july and paid in full for our kitchen we were told we had to have their fitters because we were having stone surfaces.. They came out to fit it in september the man who came called me in and said they had measured up wrong and we needed another 2 cupboards which we had to go and fetch ourselves. He fitted them then we had a call to say we had to pay more money then they came out… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview