Monarch Reviews - www.monarch.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
35% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Flight on time?

  • Customer service

  • Comfort on flight

  • Quality of Entertainment

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monarch - www.monarch.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monarch - www.monarch.co.uk

Monarch - www.monarch.co.uk
Monarch - www.monarch.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“Paid for excess baggage & was asked to pay again...”

Written on: 27/07/2014 by hwGrantham74 (1 review written)

Flying out from Birmingham to Rome on 13 June I paid for 1 extra bag and was advised that it would be easier and more practical for me, if I paid the excess for the return journey at the same time. I was assured there would be no problem at the other hand and check-in staff in Rome would be able to see that I made my payment on their screen. It all made sense and I felt safe, thinking check-in flying home would be a breeze. 10 days later we flew back home and I spent 2 hours at check-in in… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 27/07/2014

There is a Monarch Complaints Facebook Page with many similar comments but delays are Monarch's major problem whether it be their flights or replying to emails.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Low cost service at premium prices”

Written on: 03/07/2014 by SailorGal (2 reviews written)

Monarch had the most cramped seats I've ever experienced,so much so that that the air and lights above the seats didn't even correspond to the actual seats. They had obviously been crammed together far more than the manufacturer had intended. It was unbelievable. You get better seatingand service on easyjet, I'll just fly with them in future… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Response to SailorGal's Review

Written on: 05/07/2014

There is a Monarch Complaints Facebook Page with many a similar story regarding the seating. Monarch opted for their own seat design (unlike Ryanair/EasyJet who generally use Recaro seating) and despite a few modifications along the line (increased padding etc) the new seats are sub standard particularly on 2 hour+ flights.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Fantastic service from start to finish”

Written on: 02/07/2014 by Cat1Norfolk (1 review written)

Recently returned from a weeks holiday to Florida, booked with Monarch. I have absolutely no complaints about them at all. The concierge team are brilliant, answering all our questions in a reasonable amount of time, all staff were really friendly and couldn't seem to do enough for you. The plane was an A330 and although I was told by another passenger that it was older than her (and she must have been 60), it was really clean and in my opinion had plenty of leg room. The food was plentiful… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“BEST INFLIGHT EXPERIENCE EVER”

Written on: 23/06/2014 by Mummrah (1 review written)

I traveled with a friend from Venice Marco Polo to Birmingham at 11.15 on 10th June 2014 and can honestly say that the flight was an absolute pleasure, due solely to the professional service,courtesy and friendliness of the team of 2 stewards and 1 stewardess at the rear of the aircraft. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel really welcome on board. We were even given the opportunity to purchase a hot meal and on their recommendation opted for the sausage and mash in cider gravy… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Had a good flight experience”

Written on: 14/06/2014 by lottie38 (4 reviews written)

We travelled to Turkey with Monarch airlines and everything was smooth running. The food on the plane was good and in fact the curry was the best I'd ever had. The staff were professional and worked hard and the plane was just like any other plane. I'm not sure how much more I could add because it was a normal 4 hour flight each way with no problem… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“monarch luton airport”

Written on: 08/06/2014 by pam1960 (1 review written)

We we're not informed by our online booking agent that our flight schedule was changed and we missed our flight by 24 hours. The staff (in particular a lady who's name we never got) went over and above to resolve the situation. Even though we never got on holiday the service we received today was amazing and we would like to say thankyou. Kind regards Pam and Ian … Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Appalling service with food!!!!!!”

Written on: 20/05/2014 by Martinez186 (1 review written)

Flew to and from faro and East Midlands returning 16/05/14. I know not to expect anything much with meals but this was not the problem. We only booked meals as we were staying in a remote villa and flight times meant we might struggle to get any food when we arrived. We party £12.00 each each way for a party of 10 of us. Flying out we were told there was only a few meals on board and that we would have to battle it out amongst ourselves as to who had what, we of course did this and they served… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 20/05/2014

You would be better posting on the Monarch Complaints Facebook Page due to coverage. Obtaining a refund for your meals will be difficult due to the fact that once Monarch have your money they are reluctant to part with it! The fact that you had no delays is unusual as when the last records were produced (2013) they were recorded as being the most unpunctual airline in the UK. Apologies from Monarch - dream on - you may get their standard copy and paste apology if you are lucky.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Service a Disgrace ”

Written on: 11/05/2014 by dkFlanagan93 (1 review written)

On May the 1st I traveled to Manchester Terminal 2 for my flight with Monarch airlines , I was going to Larnaca Cyprus for a operation , I had done everything online except my boarding card , I went into the main section around 45 minutes before the flight , A polite young man came up to me and asked me if I was a single traveler I said yes , he then asked to come out of this lane and put me in another lane Desk 55 which had Vantage members on the top of the desk he said it was no problem , I… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

The Monarch Complaints Facebook Page would be a better place to have a 'go' at Monarch :-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“truly terrible...avoid if u can”

Written on: 03/05/2014 by gwapling (1 review written)

Flight delayed, terrible customer information. Airlines like this are bordering on the criminal. Save your money by avoiding monarch… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Response to gwapling's Review

Written on: 13/05/2014

The Monarch Complaints Facebook Page would be a better place to have a 'go' at Monarch :-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Great in the air, but checking in was ridiculous!”

Written on: 25/04/2014

Flying from Gatwick to Faro: I have no complaint about the service in the air from Monarch - the plane was clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and polite. On both the outward and inward flight, the pilots were very amusing and informative too. BUT, the check in system at Gatwick was so thoughtless and unorganised, we very nearly missed our flight! Instead of having a desk / a few desks for each Monarch flight departing Gatwick, all but one flight were queuing in the same… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 27/04/2014

Cunning plan by Monarch to encourage you to pay more so you check-in on line and just use the bag drop. They have been playing the game for years but it is only more obvious now as their passenger numbers increase. Agree with you that they should have dedicated check ins for each flight .... not check in desks for any and every flight. Many passengers do start their holiday/flight frustrated but mainly as a result of Monarch's abysmal punctuality record.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

The Monarch Complaints Facebook Page would be a better place to have a 'go' at Monarch :-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“ride from hell”

Written on: 14/04/2014 by cvHooper44 (1 review written)

i fly from Birmingham to Paphos and first thing lie about checking the weight at the gate to scare you they only check in check in nothing else the seat are really bad to seat on this was flight from hell and they would only be good for short trip like 2 hours max… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 16/04/2014

Whether the old seats which have served their time or the new seats which are thinner, lighter and less comfortable the seating is coming in for a lot of criticism on the internet in particular. I fail to understand why Monarch thought they could go an independent route and get a better product than say EasyJet and Ryanair. Monarch's new seats are just about bearable for their short routes but no way are they on for Egypt, Turkey, the Canaries etc. Couple this with the fact that you have no inflight entertainment and it just looks like, and probably is, money pinching. The Monarch check-in/pay for seat fiasco gets considerable criticism as well - time for a check-up I think Monarch - read the Monarch Complaints Facebook Page for a couple of hours and you will have a quick analysis of the problems you need to sort.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 13/05/2014

The Monarch Complaints Facebook Page would be a better place to have a 'go' at Monarch :-)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Tobago to Gatwick flight!!!!!!”

Written on: 13/04/2014 by Greysonw178 (1 review written)

Have given 0ne star but that is 10 too many. My report on the flight from hell with the airline from hell. I agree that what happened was very much an emergency and the response from Monarch .... is completely unacceptable. As myself and my wife were on that flight I can confirm that it did indeed make an emergency landing in Barbados. The complete saga is: 2/4/14 first attempt to leave Tobago - got to end of taxiway and after repeated throttling up and down of engines we returned to the stand… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Just great”

Written on: 27/03/2014 by Kaileyi55 (1 review written)

We travelled from LGW to GOA on the 8th March and returned on the 23rd. Both flights were excellent with good food and leg room. The staff worked very hard on the long flights and were most helpful. Good time keeping etc. We are now looking forward to our booked return next Feb. Well done to you all and Many Thanks!… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“3 days less of holiday”

Written on: 11/03/2014 by 1988Connell (1 review written)

today i have recieved a phone call saying monarch have changed their flight times for my holiday in october to egypt .but hold on a minute it wasnt just a flight time change it was by 3 days! due to fly out on the 7th ,changed to the 10th but still want us to return on the 17th as previously booked ,asked wether price would be reduced do to less time planned was told no! disgracefull not happy… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 13/03/2014

Whilst this site is good for reviews you are better looking say at the Monarch COMPLAINTS facebook page if you want to establish what Monarch should be doing for you as their response is not legally correct.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jacqui_O's Comment

Written on: 15/04/2014

You have grounds to cancel get a full refund and book else where, sadly Monarch have the worst customer service int he industry, the FB page is good, but if you post a complaint, they delete it... I took them to court, they deleted everything I posted and blocked me from the site.....

The FB page for monarch is good, and you will nto be blocked, and willg et lots of support and help.....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Very poor customer service!”

Written on: 13/02/2014

Sick of being pushed from pillar to post. If Monarch are going to let their flights be sold through a tour operator who sells ski holidays they should make their ski carriage allowances very clear. 1st issue with Monarch: Only just booked less than one month ago and already our flights have changed from 12:35pm to 16:25pm (so nearly four hour delay already). No notification from our TO - Skifrance.co.uk. I only noticed when I paid the final balance. BUT....the main thing has made me very cross… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Comment

Written on: 15/02/2014

A group of well meaning individuals have established a Monarch Complaints Facebook Page with over 500 hits on a daily basis - I understand the Admin team are from various backgrounds - legal/flying etc and even an ex Monarch office guy. You may be better posting there if you want help.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“exceed expectations - for being a low-cost airline!”

Written on: 13/02/2014 by adrenalina (1 review written)

My experience with Monarch has been preatty good. Certainly better than Ryanair. I had a combined flight Monarch/Ryanair Rome-London so I could easily compare the two companies. Just the day before the outward flight I got sick. This what happened next: - with Ryanair I couldn't even write or talk without outrages fares to someone. So my tickets were completely wasted. - with Monarch I could talk (toll free) and, notwithstanding their clear policy wich -just as Ryanair - stated that my tickets… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“All good!”

Written on: 21/01/2014

Travelled with monarch on a few occasions and most recently from Luton to Tenerife return on a modern, clean and well presented airbus a321-231. Myself 5ft 10 and two friends both over 6ft tall had no noticeable lack of legroom compared to any other uk airline. Infact I found the seats more than suitable for a four hour flight. As with any airline these days everything is an added extra but when compared with the likes of Ryanair, easyjet, Thomas cook and even Thomson monarch stack up… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Good service for the price”

Written on: 20/01/2014

We flew Monarch to Dubrovnik in October 2013 and to be honest I wasn't expecting much after seeing reviews. However apart from a delayed flight on the way out-which can happen on any airline-it was fine. We were informed about the delay early, the flight then left when they said it would. Service wasn't special but okay-it is a budget airline. Didn't prepay food but bought a cuppa which could have been hotter-I think you need to be seated by the galley to get hot drinks. The seating was fine… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“good”

Written on: 16/01/2014

just come back from benidorm and my husband took ill all i can say they where brilliant they gave him oxygen and food they stayed with him untill he was ok ,thank you very much… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Cancelled flight”

Written on: 21/11/2013 by roefamily (1 review written)

Months ago we booked flight Leeds Bradford to Munich for half term. Today I received yet another 'alteration to flight' email BUT thus time our outgoing is from Leeds but will return to Manchester!!! Not much use if our car is in Leeds. Only option was to fly out from Manchester but lose a day holiday. cannot take this option in any case as we have already booked onward travel from Munich and accomodation.Offered a cancellation and £100 to spend on another Monarch flight. Feel it should have… Read Full Review

Visit monarch.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Delayed's Response to roefamily's Review

Written on: 22/11/2013

Given the amount of negative comment on Facebook.com MonarchComplaints
I fail to understand why people keep booking with the most delayed flight operator in the UK. You should have got Monarch to re-book you onto Lufthansa flights and told them to keep their voucher.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

111Ka's Response to roefamily's Review

Written on: 22/11/2013

You would be better posting on the Monarch Complaints Facebook Page.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview
monarch.co.uk