Available Car UK, East Midlands Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.6 / 5
40
15% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Available Car UK, East Midlands - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Available Car UK, East Midlands

Available Car UK, East Midlands

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Abraxas warranty ripoff .”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by 1811 (1 review written)

I purchased an Abraxas warranty with the car, it was described to me as being "equal to a new car warranty" with everything being covered. Less than a year and 5000 miles at a service I'm told I required a new Timing belt due to excessive noise suggesting imminent failure. Guess what this isn't covered. I still have 100,000 miles or three years before it is scheduled to be replaced as per the manufactures guidance. If it snaps they will replace it, but the engine will be smashed to bits… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“7 Weeks & Broken!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 20/04/2015 by ClaySnyder201 (1 review written)

I purchased a car from Available car the end of February 2015, after 7 weeks of having the Car, my engine management light came on, my start stop no longer works & I have an awful squeaking sound coming from my car when I turned the steering wheel. My car has now been at Available car for 3 weeks as they cannot get a part from any Fiat dealership (my car is a Fiat 500) so if a company so large are not able to find the part then my question is how am I supposed to find this? They have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Extended Warranty Misleading and Waste of money”

Written on: 17/04/2015 by 397Temple (1 review written)

Bought a car from this place foolishly after reading these reviews, didnt believe they could be this bad, was told that the extended warranty covers everything, turned out to be utter bull when I tried to claim, hadnt even had the car 6 months before getting major problems, lots of the cars seem to be ex motobility cars that have been badly driven and kerbed to death, no wonder the main dealers dont want them back afterwards, go, look at the huge selection of cars, test drive a few and buy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst car buying experience ever”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Chiefexec (1 review written)

Was looking for a specific car and they had one, so I mistakenly didn't heed these reviews and went to buy it. Got passed from pillar to post - one salesman, two managers - and spent a lot of time in the waiting cafe.....was told to collect 2 days later. Went home and arranged insurance switch, got road tax etc. they then phoned back the next day and said collection would be delayed by 4 days, so had to switch it back again (AVIVA were very understanding). They then phoned me that evening to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to Chiefexec's Review

Written on: 24/04/2015

Dear Chiefexec/German220 – Thank you for your two very similar reviews, left in two separate names. We feel it is only fair that we defend your claims about your shopping experience and give our side of events.

When shopping with Available Car, we have a team of customer helpers who are employed to assist our customers when they are interested in buying a car. Our helpers will answer questions, arrange test drives and appraise a part exchange (where applicable) . Our helpers are not employed to “sell” to our customers, but to help them.

Once our customer has chosen their car of interest, one of our Customer Service Managers will then take over and explain the history of the car, number of previous owners, service history and answer any remaining questions, to allow our customer to make an informed buying choice. Once a decision is made, our Customer Service Manager will complete the used car order and necessary paperwork, before arranging a collection date. For this reason, it is not uncommon to deal with more than one member of staff, our intention is to be able to provide excellent customer service, not to pass customers “from pillar to post”.

The car that you refer too is a Mercedes-Benz B B180 1.5 CDI Sport 5dr Automatic, the mileage at the time of sale was approximately 5,400 miles. Unfortunately it was necessary to delay your original collection, due to a leak being noticed whilst preparing the car for you. The car was returned to Mercedes-Benz for the work to be completed under the manufactures warranty.

We apologise for calling you after the collection had been delayed, that was an error on our behalf, unfortunately our team had reallocated a “new” collection for you, but had not cancelled the original. Once again we apologise for this, it is not common practice.

On the day of collection (Monday 13th April) we were challenged with the “Available Car Price Promise”, we like price challenges, we offer a price promise so we can ensure our customers pay the cheapest price possible for the car they are purchasing from us. Our price promise is very clear. Our price promise lasts for 7 days from vehicle order, we were challenged during the handover appointment, on day 7 of the 7 day price promise.

We do feel it is only fair to say that the collection took longer than usual due to carrying out price matches, against three other Mercedes-Benz B180 during the Handover appointment. The collection was not delayed by us, the car was ready, the paperwork was ready and we normally expect a collection to take approximately 20-30 minutes. Had the price challenge been disclosed before the collection appointment, there would not have been any delay.
When collecting a car from Available Car, you would normally deal with one member of staff, due to the price challenges, it was necessary to get more people involved. We did this in an attempt to speed up your collection, rather than leaving it for one person to do. We are sorry you had to deal with different people, for this we apologise.

We agree that the price of our car was not “cheaper” than the cars you had found for sale elsewhere, however the car you have bought from us, has over £3000 of extra equipment fitted, for this reason the cars were not “Identical” as you claim in your review, but similar, with a lower specification. For this reason the price challenge was declined by us. We do ask that cars must be “Equal” to qualify for our “Price Promise”, these cars were not.

We are very sorry to read that the “Price Promise” prevented collecting your car from being a “Joyful experience”, we have not done anything wrong, had the cars you had selected been the same as the one you bought, we would have matched the price. Had that have been the case, we are sure you review would have been very different (if written at all?).

Having checked our records and our security log, the collection appointment was made for 14.30pm. Having investigated all price challenges, we completed the collection and took payment at 15.50pm and you drove away in your new car at 16.00pm.

If you have any further questions regarding your order or collection, please feel free to contact us directly, we are always happy to help. May we take the opportunity to thank you for your business and wish you many miles of happy, trouble free motoring. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 3000 cars and still could not get it...”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by louisevauxhall (1 review written)

After phoning about a car they had for sale i was initially impressed with the usual spiel car salesmen spout to customers. I was told the car would be ready to view on a certain day so as I was on a weeks holiday thought this would time nicely. The day before I was told it would not be ready to drive away on the agreed day due to the car not being ready (to their self proclaimed 'high standards') I enquired as to why, only to be told they would have to order a part in (a BULB!!!) and that they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to louisevauxhall's Review

Written on: 16/04/2015

Dear louisevauxhall – Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience when shopping with Available Car Ltd (Castle Donington).

We sincerely apologise for our mistake that prevented you taking delivery of your car on Thursday. We should have rang you before you set off and explained that the car could not be driven away that day. Unfortunately this did not happen, therefore you arrived to collect a car, as agreed the day before and the car was not ready for you. We fully accept this was an error on our behalf and we make no excuses for it. We put our hands up and apologise.

We can assure you this is a rare, isolated incident that we would not want to replicate. Had we called you and explained the situation before you left home, we would have had the opportunity and time to prepare the car before you came to test drive/collect. This did not happen, therefore we did, as you requested, cancelled the order and refunded the deposit.

Since reading your post, we have contacted you by phone and apologised, but felt we should also respond with an apology.

This is not how we conduct our business, we retail over 20,000 cars per year, each and every car is prepared and inspected prior to collection. Available Car try to make “buying a car” an easy and pleasurable experience. We like to think we don’t ever make mistakes, although in this case, we have.

Again we sincerely apologise for our error in the way you were dealt with.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to do business with you again in the future.

Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Good cars, shame about the insurance”

Written on: 16/02/2015

We have purchased two vehicles from Available Car, Castle Donington, and they have generally been of good quality. My wife had a Golf over ten years ago which has given good service but is obviously now needing replacement, and my Passat which was purchased approximately two and a half years ago. We took out the Mapfre Abraxus extended warranty on the Passat for peace of mind, as it was sold to us as a very comprehensive deal. Recently, I have been told by the garage that the EGR Valve and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 06/03/2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your purchases from Available Car Ltd, Castle Donington. We are sorry to hear that the items you claimed for were not covered by the policy you purchased at the time of sale
.
The policy purchased, as with most insurance policies is for cover against the unexpected, not the inevitable. Therefore as you have surmised, any items that are necessary to be replaced due to being worn, due to use, would not be covered/paid for by the policy. If these items were to mechanically fail (sudden mechanical failure) the claim could then be presented to the insurance provider.

With reference to the Diamondbrite application, if we have applied and charged for the product, we can assure you that it will have been applied. We are more than happy to liaise with Diamondbrite or supply a proof of purchase for you. If you could please email us some details regarding your purchase (name, address, registration number and date of purchase), we will arrange for a member of the team to contact you.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to do business with you again in the future. We would love to supply a third “Available Car” for you.

If we can be of any help or assistance regarding your recent claim, please contact us directly and we will be happy to help or advise wherever possible. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“do not take the extended warranty ”

Written on: 10/02/2015 by traceyje07 (1 review written)

We bought a mini last year and on the whole are very pleased with it. However we were sold the extended warranty on the basis that it covers everything but the tyres. Great we thought as we knew if anything went wrong it would be expensive due to the make. Tokay my timing chain has failed and surprise surprise when we tried to claim it isn't covered. Now I've read the policy booklet I have concluded that NOTHING that is likely to happen is covered. It is an absolute waste of money. Save your… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“safety second.”

Written on: 29/01/2015 by AshtynMalloy (1 review written)

After buying a 4x4 and still under warranty i had a nail in my tyre.The car had 3 newish michelins on it and 1 old bridgestone,since been told tyres should match on same axles.Not having a spare i went to get this fixed only to be told by two tyre and m.o.t centres that the old tyre was showing signs of cracking and they would not be repairing the tyre as it could be a danger.I phoned availible they said bring the car we will have a look.After a long wait i was seen by aftersales to be told… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 12/02/2015

Dear AshtynMalloy – Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Available Car Ltd (Castle Donington). We strongly refute your claim that we prioritise “the cost of a tyre” before our customers “safety”, this statement is untrue, unfair and is misleading.

The car you are commenting on is a 2009/59 registered Audi Q5, the mileage at the time of sale was 74,928 miles. Since collection the mileage had increased by approximately 1,500 miles.

You have stated in your review, that tyres on each axle should match, we agree with this.

To “match” the tyres should be equal, this means the same size, grade and speed rating, not the same brand or tread pattern. If this is what was portrayed to you by the garages that “recommended” you replaced the tyre, there is every possibility they were hoping you would be naive enough to “buy” a tyre and have it fitted by them, there and then.

The car was collected from us on 28th November 2014 and we were contacted on 24th January 2015 regarding (puncture repair) your tyre query. It is unclear from your comments if you have had the tyre repaired or if you are still using the car with the nail in the tyre?

Tyres are not an item covered by our guarantee, however we were happy to inspect, advise and give our opinion on the tyre. This was offered so we could try to assist you. If the tyre was adequate, you would have no need to purchase an unnecessary replacement.

Having inspected the tyre, we can confirm, it was not unsafe, as you claim. We have not fitted or replaced these tyres, the tyres are used, they are not new, therefore signs of wear are to be expected/accepted. All tyres fitted are safe, suitable and perfectly adequate for the car. To clarify, at the time of inspection (Monday 26th January 2015), there was no safety issue with this tyre, our any other tyre fitted to your car.

Treating customers fairly is one of our core values, we have not been unreasonable, unfair or misleading, we have been open and honest throughout. As you have referred to in your review, you are an existing customer and we have done business together a number of times in the past. We would not want to lose your custom.

The tyre does not need to be replaced and will not be replacing it free of charge or under guarantee. Our offer to supply a tyre at “trade cost”, and to fit, free of charge, at a convenient time to you, is an option that we are happy to offer.

If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us directly. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“mapfre abraxas! what a joke!”

Written on: 27/01/2015 by 1946Lancaster (1 review written)

DO NOT TAKE OUT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY! i contacted abraxas earlier this week explaining to them that my car had a engine fault, the EML light was on and the temperature was constantly over heating, they informed my to take it to any VAT registered garage, after i dropped it off at the Peugeot dealership i recieved a phone call from the mechanic saying he had been in contact with abraxas & they do not cover ENGINE FAILURES as it requires a modification to fix it.. i took out the 3 years… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Yesamintheknow's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2015

I work for a warranty company, and know this modification situation is correct - but I think its a joke.. How can the owner be reasonably able to repair this, and know that this situation will occur. Its still got to be an electrical issue - you are plugging into the car an electrical repair mechanism.. Write to Mapfre and the Insurer..and if purchased within 6 months write to the dealer..

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Traceyje07's Comment

Written on: 10/02/2015

We were told exactly the same when we purchased our warranty and the same has happened to us. They are conmen

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“paint started pealing off bumper ”

Written on: 27/12/2014 by Raymondalanwalker (1 review written)

Bought the car in January and rang available car in may because the paint on the bumper was pealing off all of a sudden in strips with other parts blistering. I rang up spoke to a chap who didnt seem to know his job and he told me to email pictures to him.i did this and I thought leave it a while to give them a chance but absolutely nothing. I mentioned it to a friend who told me they do their own small touch ups etc and it was a bit of a bodge job. I took it to pentagon who have since said a 3… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to Raymondalanwalker's Review

Written on: 07/01/2015

Dear Raymondalanwalker – Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your reported problem was not dealt with immediately. We have attempted to find your original email, but so far have been unsuccessful, for this we sincerely apologise.

Since reading your review, we have spoken to you regarding your paint work issue and have arranged an appointment for you to bring the car into us, so we can inspect the work. If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us directly.

Regards The Available Car Team

RESPONCE/CONCLUSION TO FOLLOW…

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Raymondalanwalker's reply to Available Car's Comment

Written on: 07/01/2015

Excellent news car booked in for monday. Really refreshing a company doing something like this without excuses. Will keep you all posted

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's reply to Raymondalanwalker's Comment

Written on: 12/02/2015

Dear Raymondalanwalker – Thank you for returning your car to us so we could assess the paint issue you were concerned about.

Since viewing the car, we have repainted the rear bumper, which has resolved the issue raised with us. We hope you found everything to your satisfaction.

If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 26/11/2014 by Winston21 (1 review written)

went on a Sunday with our daughter to available car! Castle Donnington as she wanted a new car. Everything went extremely well. there were plenty of salesmen around willing to help, but were also prepared to let you wander around by yourself. we narrowed it down to 2 cars and found a salesman who took her out on a test drive in both. My daughter decided to buy one of them and the very helpful salesman handed us over to the sales manager to complete the sale. This is when it went downhill. the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 07/01/2015

Dear Winston21 – Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Available Car Ltd, Castle Donington. We are delighted to read that you found it easy to shop with us, our team of Customer Helpers are asked to give help as and when required but to allow our customers to shop in peace and at their leisure. I am sorry to read that the experience was not as positive with one of our Customer Service Managers.

Our collections are dealt with by our Handover Team, they are independent and do not get involved with “selling” cars. The Handover Team are responsible for ensuring your car is ready for collection and that all paperwork, documentation, identification and payment is completed, prior to conclusion. Our collection appointments are Monday – Friday between 9am and 6pm. It is the Handover Team that will have dealt with your daughter on the day of collection. If circumstances did not allow you to collect the car within these days/times, alternatives can be arranged. It appears this was not offered to you, for this we apologise.

Identification checks are necessary, we are asked to “know our customer” under FCA regulations. For this reason we ask for a current proof of address and a proof of signature/photographic identification. Stringent identification checks are important to us and are usually valued by our customers. It gives confidence that we wouldn’t accept large payments regardless of who was paying us, this helps to prevent fraudulent transactions. If this was poorly explained by our team, we apologise.

We completely appreciate that you would not want to pass on your personal details or identification to any untrustworthy source. All personal information, identification and invoice details are securely archived after collection.

For your piece of mind, our collection envelope (which your daughter will have a copy of) has a comprehensive list of suitable identification, any of which can be used. Therefore if you do choose to shop with us, alternative identification could be used instead of a bank statement.

If you would like to discuss this any further, please do not hesitate to contact us. I hope you will give us the opportunity to do business with you again in the future.

Regards Available Car Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Easy way to buy a car”

Written on: 07/10/2014 by Blossum (1 review written)

Needed a replacement car fast and had started to look around and decided I wanted a ford galaxy looked at one on a dealer forecourt as I was passing and I wasn't impressed so looked on the web some of sites I looked at didn't fill me with confidence and I was feeling that they were denying the cars condition or what repairs had been carried out I then found available car and was immediately impressed with the online report on the car and the list of smart repairs that had been done to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to Blossum's Review

Written on: 24/10/2014

Thank you for your excellent comments about Available Car Ltd. We are really pleased that you are enjoying your recent purchase and we hope to deal with you again in the future. Regards Available Car Ltd

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Go and see for yourself”

Written on: 09/09/2014 by Clarkey72 (1 review written)

I needed a new car and after some searching using the car websites, settled on a VW Golf TDI Match. I found a car at Available Car (AC), the only problem was I was in Hampshire and the car was at the Castle Donnington site. I registered on the AC website and requested a test drive for the following Saturday. This was at 2100hrs, by 2130hrs I had a call back from a chap who wanted to know if there was anything else he could help me with, I asked about the car history and he read me what he… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to Clarkey72's Review

Written on: 11/09/2014

Dear Clarkey72 - Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience whilst shopping with Available Car Ltd (Castle Donington).
We are delighted to hear that you are enjoying your Volkswagen Golf and your kind comments are very much appreciated, these will be shared with our whole team.
Our aim is to offer great value for money, world class service and to treat customers fairly.
May we take this opportunity to thank you for your business and wish you many miles of happy, trouble free motoring. We look forward to welcoming you back to Available Car again in the future! Many Thanks The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“What have we done”

Written on: 26/08/2014 by Gjmaccyd (1 review written)

Ok so we have purchased a car from Castle Donington. The only problem is we don't have the car yet! We should have collected the vehicle last week, due to a technical fault (reverse sensor fault) we had to delay collection until the following Wednesday. Not a problem, insurance sorted, tax sorted and all ready to go. I decided I would give them a call to make sure that everything was good and we could collect the car as planned. Was informed that I would get a call back (still waiting 6 hours… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gjmaccyd's Response to Gjmaccyd's Review

Written on: 27/08/2014

So 24 hours on and still much the same. Still waiting for a call back from them. Called and all I keep getting is we are still waiting for the dealer.

These guys are becoming a royal pain

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to Gjmaccyd's Review

Written on: 12/09/2014

Dear Gjmaccyd – Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Available Car Ltd (Castle Donington). We are very sorry that it was necessary to delay the collection of the Citroen you had originally ordered from us.

Unfortunately the desired part, a parking sensor control module, had gone onto “back order” from the supplier (Citroen).

“Back order” means the supplier do not have the part in stock and do not have a confirmed date of arrival for the part. Without this information, we were unable to confirm your delivery date.

The supply of parts was out of our control, when parts need to be fitted, we rely on the supplier being able to provide parts at a minimum of inconvenience. Due to this, it did mean we had to delay your collection. For this we apologise.

Since this review was written, we have spoken and managed to find a suitable replacement car for you, and we hope you will be very happy with your new purchase from us.

May we take the opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience, thank you for your business and wish you many miles of happy, trouble free motoring. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Didn't carry out work I asked”

Written on: 13/08/2014 by BeauWade (1 review written)

I bought a car from them recently, the car was nice but I wanted problems sorting before signing for it, which they said they would do, though the sales person was very pushy for me to sign before even looking at the car to see if the work had been done, which I wouldn't do, the steering wheel looked like a rat had chewed it, the tracking was out, the valeting needed doing and a new tyre that was fitted to the front was some really nasty cheap Chinese make that made lots of noise over 55mph… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2014

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies to our customer and his partner. It was unacceptable that a customer collected a vehicle that was not prepared to our highest standards. After inspecting the vehicle with the customer it was agreed to replace the steering wheel as the repair that was not suitable. Regrettably there was delay in Available Car receiving the part from the manufacturer which led to this setback. Unfortunately this delay was beyond our control.

We are pleased to say that the part did arrive and the new steering wheel has since been fitted to the car. Whilst the customer was in the showroom a member of our Showroom Management team met with our customer to apologise and discuss his other concerns about the vehicle.

The vehicle has subsequently been returned to our customer and we would like to wish the both many happy miles of motoring.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bronson1's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2014

I must admit that they did do all the work correctly the second time around and I am happy with it, the car has been great so far, I would probaly upgrade them to 3 stars now the work has been done, it would of been 4 if it had been done as I asked in the first place as everything else with the business I was more than happy with, I was just upset that someone there confused me with an idiot when they thought they could bodge the car and I wouldn't notice.
I would shop there again BUT next time would check the car more thoroughy before signing for it to save the trouble of having to travel all the way to have it done and the time off work to do it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Don't waste money on the warranty”

Written on: 06/08/2014 by pillockmcfly (1 review written)

The car sales part is fine. The cars aren't cheap, but both cars my girlfriend and I bought were OK. The finance was better than we could get from the bank. I do like the relaxed atmosphere at Castle Donington, however the salesmen at Sutton were much pushier and had attitude problems. Hence, we bought from Castle Donington. However, the aircon on one of the cars never worked, apparently we should have tested that before passing as aftersales didn't want to know. The other worked fine for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to pillockmcfly's Review

Written on: 01/09/2014

Dear pillockmcfly – Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems with one of the cars you purchased from us. We do appreciate your frustration when a progressive fault wasn’t covered, however the policy is designed to cover for sudden mechanical or electrical failure, as per the policy details. Progressive failure is term used for “wear”, as you will appreciate, wear is not a sudden mechanical failure, therefore not covered by mechanical breakdown insurance.

It is very difficult to be able to give a personal response, your review doesn’t tell us who we are responding to, what car you had an issue with, when or what car it is? If we can help or advise, please contact us directly.

Thank you for your kind comments about Castle Donington, we do aim to be as competitive as possible with the loans that we offer as well as offering our cars for sale at the best prices possible. I must assure you that all of team, regardless which site, will always do their best to help and advice our customers. If this wasn’t the case on your first visit, we sincerely apologise. Our customer service levels are very important to us.

We hope to do business with you again in the future. Regards The Available Car Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Pathetically low part exchange prices”

Written on: 08/07/2014 by andrewas (1 review written)

I have just had them price my car for part exchange at the Sutton in Ashfield site.. After waiting for over 40 minutes for a valuation somebody finally turns up only to give me a ridiculous low insulting price for my car...There cars are all top book price ---nothing off for cash..I will certainly never bother with them again and will not be recommending them to anyone.Avoid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to andrewas's Review

Written on: 07/08/2014

We are very sorry that you feel that the part exchange price was not what you were expecting and that your valuation took 40 minutes. Unfortunately we are unable to leave a personal response nor investigate any further as we have been unable to trace your enquiry with the limited details we have available.

Here at Available Car we are a fixed price car supermarket and as such do not accept offers on our vehicles. Our cars are prepared to a very high standard, they are fully valeted, serviced where necessary and come with two keys. They also come with our own 3 month/3000 mile guarantee with no other fees added.

We do however offer a price promise, if you can find a car of equal quality and value at a car supermarket or main franchise dealer cheaper (including fees) within 7 days of placing an order we will refund you the difference.

We would ask you to contact the Showroom Manager at our Sutton-in-Ashfield site and we will be more than happy to discuss your complaint further.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY POOR VALUATIONS. ROCK BOTTOM PRICES.”

Written on: 06/06/2014 by cottywizzy1 (1 review written)

Went to donnington branch had a valuation of £2400 for our car,this with 1 MONTH mot on. Today 6th June we had a look round sutton branch. had it valued again 2 weeks later than donnington valuation. THIS TIME WITH 13 MONTHS MOT. GUESS WHAT SAME VALUATION £2400 . asked why. they said my car had lost value in 2 weeks . DONT SEE THEIR PRICES DROPPING AFTER 2 WEEKS!!WILL NOT TRADE THERE BEWARE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Response to cottywizzy1's Review

Written on: 19/06/2014

Dear cottywizzy1,

We acknowledge your recent review and are sorry that you were not satisfied with the price offered for your part exchange. We first valued your car at our Castle Donington branch on the 18th May 2014. Upon inspection of your car, a Ford Focus C-Max 1.8 Ghia we offered £2400. We offered this amount taking into consideration the age (7 years old), mileage (60,671 miles) and condition. In our opinion the car was in average/below average contition for the age, the MOT was until June 2014. There was a few marks, dents and scratches visible, but nothing of any concern.

We did attempt to contact you, by telephone after your visit to Castle Donington but were unable to contact you.

The car was then viewed by our Valuation Team at the Sutton in Ashfield branch on the 6th June 2014, there was a slight increase in mileage, the car was in the same condition, the only difference was that the MOT had been renewed. I can confirm that we offered the same valuation for the car, the fact the MOT had been renewed gave us the opportunity to offer the same price, had the MOT not have been done, the value would have decreased. As you will appreciate, the value of a car without an MOT will be less. We appreciate you will have paid £30/£40 for an MOT, unfortunately this won’t increase the value significantly, hence we maintained our original offer. We will offer what we believe a car is worth, a realistic and fair part exchange price.

I hope this response is satisfactory and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Available Car Ltd in the future. Regards The Available Car Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cottywizzy1's reply to Available Car's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2014

POOR POOR RESPONSE...... WHY DONT YOUR CARS ON SITE GO DOWN IN PRICE SOME HAVE BEEN THERE FOR MONTHS.PS RECIEVED 3200 POUNDS FOR THE CAR. YOUR GREED IS LOSING YOU ALOT OF TRADE....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“A very satisfied customer!”

Written on: 06/03/2014

Having read the very negative reviews of a large number of customers I would like to say that the majority of the criticisms bear no relation to my own experience. I live 120 miles away from the Sutton in Ashfield showroom and found the car I wanted on the Available Car website (via Autotrader). All my arrangements were done over the telephone including a very fair exchange price for my then current car and the date/time for me to collect my new car (Citroen C3 Picasso 1.6). Admittedly the car… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 07/04/2014

Our company policy is to not use review sites, we believe that they are far too open to abuse and manipulation by unscrupulous individuals and companies.

However, customer service is very important to us – and we very much appreciate your positive comments, thank you.

Kind regards, the AvailableCar Team.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sawmaster's Comment

Written on: 20/04/2014

While Available Cars might not be the greatest when it comes to selling cars they should be inline for some sort of literature award for short story fiction writing.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

11Sprocket's Comment

Written on: 11/04/2014

Anybody that buys a car on the strength of a photograph and without even a Test Drive is not part of the real world.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't try to part exchange ”

Written on: 04/03/2014 by 171Dominguez (1 review written)

We had a good look around the sales room, the cars seemed to be a good price, though it was noticeable that some of the prices in the catalogue did not match the prices on the cars. However we were interested in two or three cars so we sat down with a sales representative to discuss finance and part exchange of our car. We had to answer a large amount of questions some of which seemed completely irrelevant - eg have you ever had a car written off or stolen - why would they need to know… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Available Car's Comment

Written on: 14/03/2014

Thank you for visiting Available Car, we are glad you found vehicles of interest whilst shopping with us. However, we apologise if any of the screen prices were different from our stocklist. Unfortunately, price boards do get removed, this is something that we actively check and rectify, as often as possible and is a consequence of leaving all of our cars unlocked for customers to browse at their leisure. Our stocklist, detailing vehicle details and price is updated and reprinted every day.

When a potential customer enquires about one of our vehicles, we complete a showroom enquiry form. This allows us to record any relevant details for the customer, car of interest, part exchange, driving habits, and allows us to insure our customers for a test drive. We collect this information on the enquiry form to hopefully help you with your purchase. I’m sorry if you found these questions irrelevant, our customers do not usually have any objections to us trying to help them.

We will assess and value cars on site to offer a part exchange price. We have a team of dedicated valuers, who will inspect cars prior to offering a price. It is not unusual to have more than one opinion when looking at a part exchange car.

It is from here that is becomes difficult to personalise a response for you.

1. We do not know who you are? (Two identical reviews, in two completely different names)
2. What car we valued for you?
3. When you visited Available Car?
4. Which Available Car site you visited?

We are unable to accurately answer your statement regarding the price we offered without knowing all the information. We can only assume, reading your review that “serious issues” may indicate to us that your car will have had major accident damage or insurance losses recorded against it on the HPI or Experian register.

If a car has detrimental information recorded against it, this would have a significant impact on the value and it would be worth much less than a car which had not been previously damaged to the point of being written off by an insurer. We offer a fair and realistic price for any car.

We would welcome you back to Available Car and hope to do business with you in the future.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview