London, Adventure Balloons Reviews - www.adventureballoons.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.1 / 5
55% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 25/04/2014 by Lozza1 (2 reviews written)

Tried 5 times to book a flight. The weather on the original flight day was perfect - there were many other balloons up that day - but AB cancelled our flight. We had taken the day off especially. Tried to book and on the final attempt managed to get a slot, bit they moved the site and brought the flight forward by 30 minutes so we could not make it. The company refused to acknowledge this was there issue and we lost our money. Avoid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“adventure ballons waste of time and monet”

Written on: 22/05/2013

I like others had many flights cancelled due to weather conditions, paid an extra £60 to extend another 12 months only to have the same problem. I have now run out of time again and because I am unwilling to pay a further £60 I have to lose all the money I have paid for nothing. I would advise anyone thinking of using this company to stay well clear, total waste of time and money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“what a fanstastic flight”

Written on: 22/04/2013 by Daisy1776 (1 review written)

My balloon flight taken on Saturday 20 April 2013 from Prospect Park Reading Berkshire was a birthday present from my son in December 2011. It was well worth waiting for, the weather was perfect the company great and the pilot very friendly and helpful. He certainly knew his job inside out, he kept us entertained and informed and safe. I would never have believed that a balloon flight could be so great, it was my first flight, I have never flown before, and I thoroughly enjoyed it and cannot… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Response to Daisy1776's Review

Written on: 30/04/2013

Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed the flight experience. We will pass your comments onto the pilot and crew and hope to fly you again one day.

From the Adventure Balloons Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great adventure and fantastic experience”

Written on: 27/06/2012 by MissLO (1 review written)

Had a fantastic flight yesterday! We had to rebook couple of times due to rains we witness all the time, but the fact that we finally made it and tricked "great" British weather, which is particularly funny this summer, added up even more positive emotions and fun. We enjoyed it so much - great views, fantastic adventure, unforgeable experience overall. This is a memory of a lifetime! I would definitely recommend it as a gift to someone special or just as a special activity. Thanks so much to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A Truly Remarkable Adventure!”

Written on: 21/02/2012 by Tina_patel (1 review written)

Hi! My boyfriend (now fiance) surprised me with a hot air ballon last Saturday for Valentines day! I had no idea what we were doing until we got there, and when we reached the highest point in the air he propsed! It was a magical ride and I would like to thank everyone at Adventure Balloons for making it so special. My fiance had filled them on with the plan beforehand and they did very well to not give away. They were all very friendly and without them I don't think Kunal could have pulled it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Response to Tina_patel's Review

Written on: 21/02/2012

Hi Tina, we were just pleased as your fiancée that the weather was so good on the day and it all worked out so well. It was a great way for us to start the years flying season. Congratulations on your engagement and we wish you both a very happy future.
Christine in the office.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“A good experience but need to be even more up front”

Written on: 08/10/2011

As per the majority of reviews, our experience of the flight was good, but Adventure Balloons as a company might do to take a look in the mirror and ask if they are really being honest with their customers. The terms and conditions are well written and clear, but the conditions themselves seem to fall somewhat harshly on the customer. If Adventure Balloons wish to have a less resentment from customers who are particularly unlucky with the weather, then maybe the following could be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Comment

Written on: 30/05/2012

Thank you for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your flight, even though it sounds like you were unlucky with the weather at times. Unfortunately the weather is beyond the control of the passengers and us, we cannot go flying if the weather is not suitable, and we understand this can be frustrating. The validity of vouchers is mentioned when the voucher is bought and information about the flying season is sent in the information pack. We also have a ‘FAQ’ section on the website for purchasers and passengers to read. We have recently added to this section and also created a special page on the website dedicated to explaining the weather we require for ballooning, which we hope will be useful and can be accessed from our homepage.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Adventure Balloons 2011”

Written on: 03/10/2011

Received an Adventure Balloons flight voucher in summer 2009. Two plus years later I was finally able to use it! That said, when the day came it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience from start to finish and another thing ticked off life's 'to do list'! Having finally succeeded to get airborne I can confidently say that ballooning is certainly not an activity for those who expect to be able to ring up/go online, book, turn up, fly and go home. The whole process is so completely dependent on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Adventure Balloons Hot Air Balloon Experience”

Written on: 06/07/2011

After a few attempts we flew with Adventure Balloons. It was certainly an experience, but was overshadowed by the pilot, Kim Hull, who barked orders at his co-worker showing complete disrespect. There were 16 passengers all of whom were expected to help, with the strenuous task of preparing for the flight and packing up the balloon at the end of the flight. This could have been a fun experience had the pilot been polite and well mannered recognising that none of us had flown before (he did… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Comment

Written on: 05/08/2011


Hi Review Centre,

Thanks for updating us about a recent entry for Adventure Balloons from Huw Morgan.

Our balloon flight voucher range is designed to provide the exciting experience of a balloon flight for a range of budgets and passenger availability. The vouchers purchased by this customer to fly were our least expensive voucher valid for weekdays mornings only and we presume the purchaser is aware of any time or geographic constraints the recipient might have on their own availability to arrange dates for flights before deciding which voucher type to purchase. Their weekday morning voucher cost them £85 per person and was valid for flights on weekday mornings in Surrey, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, York, Berkshire and Lincolnshire and customers can change from one area to another as they wish.

During the 12 month validity of the voucher they made two bookings to fly. The first flight date was in August 2010 for a date about 2 weeks after the purchase of the balloon flight vouchers. There were no further bookings or contact with our office until a second flight date was booked in mid July 2011 just 3 weeks before the voucher expired. There were weekday morning dates available in Surrey and many other areas, but these did not suit them so our staff generously allowed them to book onto a weekend morning flight without any upgrade charge (weekend vouchers are £40 per person more expensive) to enable them to have a further chance to take their balloon flight before their vouchers expired. Our staff do this if there is any shortage of spaces or as in this case where the customer has created a self imposed limitation by failing to contact us for 10 months.

Because of the weather dependency of hot air balloon flights our industry is closely monitored by the Office of Fair Trading who work with Trading Standards to produce industry wide terms and conditions which are designed to provide a fair framework for both the customer and the balloon operator.

The twelve month validity of bookings is provided to enable the customer to make sufficient attempts to take their flight given the weather dependency of ballooning. Whether a customer is successful in taking their flight or not balloon operators incur the costs of administrative staff throughout the year and having pilots and crew, balloons and recovery vehicles on standby. Indeed the additional costs of a flight, being the gas for the balloon and petrol for the recovery vehicle etc are quite small compared with our costs of being on standby to fly 7 days a week for 7 months of the year. Our £30 per person charged to extend vouchers where the passenger has not made a reasonable effort to fly is our aggregated costs for the above.

Given that they had made just two attempts to fly we did not consider that they qualified for a free extension of their vouchers or any further discretionary treatment.

I would also point out that since 2003 our availability of flight dates is always visible on our web site for both existing and intending customers to view unlike some balloon flight operators who conceal this information until the customer has purchased and is then given the necessary access code to view their availability or lack of it!

We make it quite clear in our FAQ's that flights may be cancelled due to weather and that balloon flights are made early morning or evening when wind conditions are appropriate.


I hope this is helpful

Kim Hull
Managing Director
Adventure Balloons

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Balloon flight over Guildford”

Written on: 09/06/2011 by bkgvip (1 review written)

Brilliant! I booked a balloon flight for my wife for her birthday. I chose Adventure Balloons as i was able to check flight dates on the internet and could therefore see there was a flight with availability scheduled for her actual birthday. The booking, the information received and the general process couldn't have been any easier. We had to be at our take off site for 530am which meant getting up at 230am but it was definitely worth the early start and it was a day we will never forget (for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Flew today over London, on our third attempt, but well...”

Written on: 10/05/2011

Flew today over London, on our third attempt, but well worth the wait. We were asked to help with loading and unloading of the balloon, but this only made us feel more involved. The crew were friendly and helpful. Would love to go again!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic experience - the best possible way to see...”

Written on: 10/05/2011

Fantastic experience - the best possible way to see London! Totally weather dependant, and despite taking 8 attempts to get the trip because of poor conditions, it was absolutely worth the wait. Highly recommended… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Flew with Adventure Balloons over London from Hyde...”

Written on: 10/05/2011

Flew with Adventure Balloons over London from Hyde Park (the first date we'd booked) and had an amazing flight with loads to see and a great crew. I would definately recommend them!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We seem to be amongst the very few who actually flew! ...”

Written on: 20/03/2011 by pramsrmike (7 reviews written)

We seem to be amongst the very few who actually flew! The flight itself lasted for fifty five minutes and was reasonably pleasant as it was a calm and sunny day. Otherwise there is very little good to report. We had not realised that we would be required to physically manhandle the balloon and its paraphernalia, both before, and after the flight. There were sixteen passengers and each of us was barked at by the pilot, inevitably, because we were doing it all wrong, not being familiar with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Response to pramsrmike's Review

Written on: 22/11/2011

Our literature sent with the voucher and the information available on our website addresses many of the comments in this review. It is not usual to be asked to help with the set up and packing away, if there is a medical reason that passengers are not able to help, this should have been advised to us and the pilot in advance of the flight. Knees not bending is something we would need to know, as they need to bend their knees for the landing position. Many of our passengers enjoy helping with the set up and packing away and regard it as part of the experience, and the usual time for this would be about an hour before and after the flight. Our brochure clearly states this on page 8, and that passengers need to allow 3-4 hours for the whole experience. This is also in the map pack sent at the time of purchase and on our website on the ‘about’ page.. It is not always possible to land the balloon by a gate, and as the minibus cannot always drive into the field, a short walk to meet the minibus should not be a problem for most passengers.

Our literature sent with the voucher and the information available on our website addresses many of the comments in this review. It is not usual to be asked to help with the set up and packing away, if there is a medical reason that passengers are not able to help, this should have been advised to us and the pilot in advance of the flight. Knees not bending is something we would need to know, as they need to bend their knees for the landing position. Many of our passengers enjoy helping with the set up and packing away and regard it as part of the experience, and the usual time for this would be about an hour before and after the flight. Our brochure clearly states this on page 8, and that passengers need to allow 3-4 hours for the whole experience. This is also in the map pack sent at the time of purchase and on our website on the ‘about’ page.. It is not always possible to land the balloon by a gate, and as the minibus cannot always drive into the field, a short walk to meet the minibus should not be a problem for most passengers.











Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pramsrmike's reply to Adventureballoons's Comment

Written on: 14/06/2013

It may be 'not usual' to expect your customers to set up and pack away, but it happened to us, therefore it could happen to anybody else. Keep this fact in mind before you consider booking!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I was given a balloon flight with Adventure Balloons...”

Written on: 15/02/2011 by Harry55 (1 review written)

I was given a balloon flight with Adventure Balloons as a 50th birthday surprise by my wife. We had several dates cancelled and sometimes the weather was a lovely sunny day. When we did fly in September last year it was brilliant, peaceful, quiet and very well organized. There was no sense of moving, even though at one point the balloon went to 3,500 feet. We skimmed trees on landing. The pilot was clearly well known by the farmer we landed on who came out with a bottle of champagne and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT FOR YOURSELVES OR AS A...”

Written on: 16/09/2010 by KM1 (1 review written)

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT FOR YOURSELVES OR AS A GIFT- after 2 years we still haven't been able to cash in our vouchers. We have tried to book our London balloon trip 6 times this year, each time it was cancelled. (And twice last year, but because we tried to book less than 8 times last year we had to spend £60 to extend the voucher for a year). On one occasion this year the trip was cancelled at 4.30am after we had all arrived in Hyde Park - so we had to get up at 3am to get there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Response to KM1's Review

Written on: 22/11/2011

It is unfortunate that you were not able to take your London flight this year. As stated in the voucher pack and on our website London flights are more likely to be cancelled than a home counties flight as we need good weather, a wind direction to keep us out of restricted air space, sufficient wind to land clear of built up areas and security clearance on the day. With regards to being cancelled when you arrived at the launchsite, we only call passengers to the launchsite when we are confident about the forecast, based on the information given to us. We incur high costs if a flight is cancelled at the site, so we do not ask passengers to attend the flight if we think we are going to cancel. The voucher is refundable within 14 days of purchase, which gives the purchaser time to decide, once they have read the information sent at the time of purchase, if the gift is suitable for the recipient. Information about London flights is also on the website for a customer to read in advance of purchase.


Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I was bought a gift voucher for a hot air balloon ride...”

Written on: 05/03/2010

I was bought a gift voucher for a hot air balloon ride and it is something that I always wanted to do, but never thought it would happen, thanks mum and dad! I have to say that I was not disappointed in any way and the pilot was really friendly and explained everything that was happening. I threw a number of dates at the person at Adventure and I guess I was lucky with the weather because my flight was not postponed. I wish that I had taken note of the length of time the whole experience took… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Although my London balloon flight was postponed 3...”

Written on: 04/12/2009

Although my London balloon flight was postponed 3 times (due to the British weather), I eventually got to experience the sights of London from a balloon basket in July this year, and have to say that it is definitely a great experience and my wife really enjoyed it too. The staff at Adventure Balloons were very helpful and the take off and landings were very smooth.

I took lots of pictures with my digital camera so the rest of my family could see what it was like and we still talk about it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“London, Adventure Balloons charge £30 per person to...”

Written on: 19/08/2009 by KLHM (1 review written)

London, Adventure Balloons charge £30 per person to extend the voucher for one year - not good value! It's a 12 month voucher, but you can only use it for 4.5 months out of the year, like everyone else our flight was cancelled on a beatiful wind free morning. The whole thing is really frustrating, you can plan… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adventureballoons's Response to KLHM's Review

Written on: 22/11/2011

We are sorry you were not able to take your London flight during the validity of the voucher. It is not unusual for a balloon operator to charge to extend the voucher if a passenger has not made a reasonable number of attempts to fly. As explained on our website and in the information pack, London flights can get cancelled more often than a Home Counties flight, the season is shorter, and flights are only on weekday mornings, information we hope that the purchaser considers when deciding which voucher to buy. You mention your flight was cancelled on a ‘beautiful wind free morning’, our information also explains we can only fly over London when there is sufficient wind speed to land clear of the built up area of Central London, so this could explain why your flight was cancelled on what appeared a beautiful morning.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Just called Adventure Balloons to find out the time of...”

Written on: 17/08/2009

Just called Adventure Balloons to find out the time of our flight tomorrow morning, only to discover that due to weather conditions, the flight has been cancelled. Somewhat surprised, as today has been beautiful, hot and sunny, I went online to have a quick look at tomorrow's forecast, to discover that there's absolutely no wind or rain forecast whatsoever!
So why aren't we flying? I will be reporting this to trading-standards etc… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“Have now spent £380 on www.adventureballoons.co.uk...”

Written on: 06/07/2009 by paulj3378 (1 review written)

Have now spent £380 on www.adventureballoons.co.uk and they have cancelled on me 8 times due to "bad weather". However, this weekend gone (Saturday, 4th July) was a beautiful day, so if you can't fly on a day like that, when can you fly. I've had these tickets for over a year and still haven't been able to get on this trip. I've had to extend my vouchers once and even upgraded so that I can use them over the weekend. However, still no luck. This experience is far from enjoyable. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview