Abersoch, The Willows - Yr Helyg Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
From 9 reviews
56% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Abersoch, The Willows - Yr Helyg - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Abersoch, The Willows - Yr Helyg

Abersoch, The Willows - Yr Helyg
Abersoch, The Willows - Yr Helyg

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“You feel being watched but the owners ”

Written on: 05/07/2014 by Paula145 (1 review written)

Not long come back from staying at perhaps not my cup of tea caravan site the owners not welsh speakers very stuck up indeed not nice people and the signs everywhere are bit over the top !!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

A James's Response to Paula145's Review

Written on: 09/07/2014


Credwn eich bod wedi ysgrifennu 'adylogiad am y seit anghywir .
Fel perchennogion ac wedi ein magu lleol yn amlwg ein iaith gyntaf yw Cymraeg. Fel bob safle arall , oes, mae arwyddion of gwmpas ein meusydd, ond fel y gwyr yr rhaid sydd wedi aros,yma mae rhaid ni yn doniol.
Does dim modd inni fod yn gwylio cwsmeriaid, does dim amser chwythu trwyn yn ystod y dydd heb son am byd arall. Hefyd wedi cyrraedd ein pumdegau mae ein golwg bellach yn ddifrifol!


We believe this review must be for another site.
We at the willows are welsh and having been born and bred in the area our first language is naturally Welsh, as anyone who has stayed with us would know.

Like most other sites, we do have signs around the site to inform guest where facilities are., again those who have stayed with us know our signs are very humorous and not imposing.


Can hardly see television without glasses let alone watch customers.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“You will not go wrong if you stay at The Willows”

Written on: 27/10/2013

Immaculate place to stay. You get what they advertise, quiet, stunning kept grounds, beatiful views. All pitches perfectly placed and spacious. Facilities are 5*, hot water in abundance. What I liked was that you had a 16amp hook up, aerial if you wanted, free wifi, lockers for charging, if required. Nothing is too far away, pub, restaurant , shop or beach, if you don't feel like walking to them you could always hire a bike for the day! Plenty to do as their Summer House is stacked out with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Another fantastic stay!”

Written on: 27/10/2013 by LGJones (1 review written)

We recently stayed in one of the hobbits as we thought it would be too cold for the tent and we were not disappointed. Very warm and cosy and our daughter loved it. As always the facilities were spotless and the owners were as welcoming as ever. The Willows is a fantastic site for those who prefer to be away from the noise and clubhouse nature of many larger sites and is great for our daughter as you feel very safe and not overcrowded. The price includes showers so no hunting around for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Expensive”

Written on: 26/10/2013

stayed back in August very expensive site nothing much to do not for children or large families however we are retired couple and our friends that live in in Abersoch where not allowed on the site to visit us .....lucky we had the camper van we could drive off the site in the day .... and lucky the weather was lovely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

A James's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2013

Thank you for your feedback

We advertise that we are a small, peaceful quiet Caravan & Camping site , suitable for the more discerning customer and those looking for a relaxing break.

Our aim is to offer our guest, luxury and comprehensive facilities, space, tranquillity and an un-crowded site. Prices and what is included in the price can be viewed before booking and have been the same for 3 years.

We do restrict visitors when we are at capacity, else we would not be a quiet un-crowded site.

You mention ''nothing much to do'' It would be interesting to know what we can offer to do on site for retired persons who are seeking a quiet escape?

You mention 'not for children and large families', we don't advertise as being suitable for large families - what we do advertise is suitable for couples and small families.

We have a large repeat custom of families with children that can entertain themselves in our large allocated play field without the need for amusements, games rooms.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

You may perceive that we are expensive, we could be cheap and cheerful, cram you all in, tents by caravans children kicking balls everywhere, playing in toilets, charge for wifi, showers etc..

What we offer is as it is on our website. It's horses for courses.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lgjones's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2013

I have to completely disagree with this review, we return each year because The Willows is a quite site that does not have amusements and club houses. We are a small family and find it perfect and our daughter cannot wait to return each time. We do not get disturbed by noisy groups late at night and the facilities are spotless. The Willows delivers everything it advertises and more. Definitely worth every penny.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“not for families ...more for couple that just want to...”

Written on: 15/10/2013

its nice caravan site if you are not looking to venture anywhere in the car or camper van as it is a bit of distance, great if you want to just relax in or around caravan or go for walks.. i notice they don't like visitor...someone told us that on the site, i think its bit strange.. pod's look nice though ..also not ideal for families as its a quiet site...also what's with all the signs do's and don'ts..its like being back in school!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

A James's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2013

Thank you for your review. The only time we restrict visitors is in August and bank holidays when we are at capacity. The reason why we do this is because in the past we have experienced people from other sites using our facilities to shower etc. Our signs are as you would find on any site. Please keep your dog on lead, please do not dispose of hot BBQ in the bins etc .. You are quite right we are a quiet site, as described on our website, Nearest beach is 1.4 miles, Abersoch. 2.4 miles.This is again can be read on our website before booking.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“ ”

Written on: 20/09/2013

stayed in July its ok more for and retired couples an if you want to relax bike hire is good .Pods look nice bit expensive though.. the beach is not on the door step,it be nice if it was on the doorstep, you have to go in the car if you want to go out anywhere.. no recycling there cannot understand that all other sites have recycling .. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thewillowsabersoch's Comment

Written on: 26/09/2013

Thank you for your review. We would point out that distance to beaches is on our website. Recycling, we have notices around the site explaining that the council do not as yet do campsite recycling. It is not our decision. We are quiet site, we advertise as this.

Everything is as it is on our website, there are no suprises

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

A James's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2013

Thank you for your review. The nearest beach as can be read on our website prior to booking is 1.5 miles away.Abersoch town is 2.4miles away. There is a shop down the lane approx 400meters, and a pub about one mile from the site. All of these are within walking distance, pending if you enjoy walking, and are explained on our website under FAQ.
Our Hobbit pods are priced as they are, as due to their quality, and originality. They are a limited product and as such the outlay to aquire was triple other basic glamping units .

With regards to recycling this was not a provision for 2013 as the council who are responsible for collecting our waste did not provide this service. However we have now arranged for recycling to be available on our site from 2014 onwards.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Camping bliss!”

Written on: 04/09/2013 by Crooke (1 review written)

Clean - quiet - spacious. if you want to camp and enjoy the experience without constant noise and unwanted intrusions then this is the place to be. The Willows offers quiet pitches fab facilities and superb views. Maximum capacity 50 campers at any one time means no queues for showers and no worries about an unruly site. Well done to owners. We look forward to visiting again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“first time campers and what a great start first class...”

Written on: 08/09/2010

first time campers and what a great start first class toilets and showers better than many hotels we have stayed in brilliant all round… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We stayed at Yr Helyg during August and had an...”

Written on: 12/01/2008 by willerby (1 review written)

We stayed at Yr Helyg during August and had an absolutely wonderful time. On our arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome by Anna & Miles the owners. We were shown out pitch, given a clear guide to the site amenities and then were left to unwind and have a cup of tea before having to settle our bill.

The site was immaculate. The views breath taking. The grass and flower beds are all kept to an impeccable standard. The pitches are level with a 16 amp hook up and TV point, which we have not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview