Gate 1 Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
67% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Gate 1 - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Thailand was fantastic!”

Written on: 12/11/2013 by travelabbieo (1 review written)

My sister and I had travelled solo before and weren't sure if we'd like traveling with a tour group, but we loved it. The price of the tour was extremely competitive which was important to us. There was a perfect blend of free time and guided tours (definitely book your tours ahead of time if you can). We got a great overview of the country and all the hotels we stayed at were great and Udom was a fantastic guide - full of tons of history & facts. gate1travel.com… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Making you think you have reserved seats... ”

Written on: 04/10/2013 by fromHolland (1 review written)

While making the reservation we could reserve seats. We knew that the seats we had chosen where more expesive and so we made reservations... AT least that's what we thought... When I was checking in via the carriers site, I found out that we had to pay extra for these seats. This is not wat they tell you at gate 1. They just give you the impression of having reserved and payed seats (also because it's on your confirmation), but in reality you still have to pay extra. This is misleading the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Peru Tour”

Written on: 01/12/2012 by OntarioTravelers (1 review written)

Edgard was absolutely fabulous on this tour! He was extremely knowledgeable and caring which made the adventures through Peru very exciting and memorable. Macchu Picchu was definitely the highlight on this tour but Gate 1 found terrific places to stay along the way and interesting sights to see. We experienced a wonderful "flavour" of Peru. The Peruvians are friendly and welcoming and add a great deal of "local colour" to our pictures. One part of the tour that we particularly liked was tasting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“BED BUGS”

Written on: 17/09/2012 by asks110 (1 review written)

My mother and I just returned from the 8-day French Riviera trip with Gate 1. We began to feel very uncomfortable and itchy during our plane ride home. Upon arriving home, we went straight to another family member who is a doctor and were diagnosed with bed bug bites all over our bodies. I have since reached out to the hotels we stayed at as well as Gate 1 management, and no party is willing to take any responsibility for this. The hotels claim that their hotels do not have any bed bugs and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Gate 1 Travel”

Written on: 26/08/2012 by betht27 (1 review written)

Just got back from the 11 day Central Europe tour with Gate1. I cannot say enough about how much I enjoyed the whole experience. Our guide Derek was very knowledable, helpful and funny and the local guides were also. Also, I have to say our driver, Richard, was amazing getting the bus in and around some of the tight places he did. The hotels were conveniently located and decent rooms. Overall I cannot wait to be able to take another Gate 1 trip. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY DISSATIFIED with Gate1. Six members of my family...”

Written on: 09/04/2011

VERY DISSATIFIED with Gate1. Six members of my family booked a tour of Israel and Egypt with Gate1 before the violence broke out. The trip is scheduled to depart in only four weeks and the political situation continues to deteriorate, but Gate1 has not cancelled the trip, nor will it allow its customers to apply the deposit to a different Gate1 trip. It appears that Gate1 is hoping my family will forfeit the $2,400 deposit rather than go through with a vacation in a war zone. I'll post an… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2011

It has been several months now - interested to know what happened with your trip.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Did the 7 day Egypt land and cruise only. I was coming...”

Written on: 11/02/2011

Did the 7 day Egypt land and cruise only. I was coming from Israel so did my own flight arrangements. Great experience, tour guide Hossam was excellent and very funny. Hotels were so-so but then I knew from other reviews that they wouldn't be the best. Would take another tour with this company no problem. BTW, a week is not long enough to see Egypt. Book a lengthier tour with Gate1… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“My wife and I recently returned from Gate 1's 12 day...”

Written on: 12/10/2010 by RonatSpringfield (1 review written)

My wife and I recently returned from Gate 1's 12 day Iberian escorted tour. We also used Gate 1's service to book airline flights from St. Louis. We were overall very pleased with the company's service. Our trip was essentially trouble free - even though a 1 day general strike in Spain required some adjustments in itinerary.

We were especially pleased with the knowledge, hard work and sense of humor of our tour guide/manager. As a native of Portugal who spoke 4 languages, he was (almost)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We travelled with Sahara-magic.com. for 5 days over...”

Written on: 15/09/2010 by deete (2 reviews written)

We travelled with Sahara-magic.com. for 5 days over Christmas and New Years 2009/2010, and were more than impressed with the service from beginning to end. Hassan was prompt in his email communication, friendly and honest from the beginning, and certainly delivered what he promised. Hassan told us when we met him in Morocco that a man is only worth his word, and if this is the case, then Hassan is worth a mint. He went out of his way to offer us friendly hospitality, local advice, and extra… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“My singular experience with Gate1 travel could not...”

Written on: 03/09/2010

My singular experience with Gate1 travel could not have been better. Traveling with my Partner and 2 friends at thier recommendation, we booked a seven day tour in Peru. My only complaint would have been about the hotel(the name of which I forget) in cuzco could have been better, but only in terms of accomodations. Service was exemplary throughout entire trip, especially when a miscommunication with hotel in Aguas Calientes meant that our bags did not reach the train station in time for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I made a reservation with Gate 1 the last week of...”

Written on: 14/07/2010 by Ladysunshine62 (1 review written)

I made a reservation with Gate 1 the last week of June, 2010, because their website kept saying that the price of the Turkey tour was going to increase by several hundred dollars. I paid my deposit, and got an email a few days later from an independent website offering a link to a $200 discount on the exact tour that I had booked. Not only had Gate 1 extended the sale dates, this put the price well below what I contracted for. When I wrote to Gate 1, I was told that I would receive a $40… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We went to Turkey from June 24-July 6th, 2010. Our...”

Written on: 13/07/2010 by emadover (1 review written)

We went to Turkey from June 24-July 6th, 2010. Our tour guide Salih Gok was the BEST, he was knowledgeable, funny and extremely helpful. The hotels were very centrally located, and clean, except for one that I believe was in the process of renovation. The rooms at this hotel were a bit shabby and smelled from smoke even thou it was a no smoking room, but the grounds and pool were beautiful. The management was very helpful in offering another room or the sprayed and opened the windows so we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I have been on four Gate 1 tours. Will keep traveling...”

Written on: 05/05/2010

I have been on four Gate 1 tours. Will keep traveling with them. I have been to Morrocco, Israel, Egypt and Turkey with Gate 1. Plan to go to China and comparing on-line with other travel conmpanies...but my search always leads me back to Gate 1. BTW I met my Floridian HUSBAND in Turkey who was also on a Gate 1 Tour...so Ladies go and find your man; in the least expected places! We are so in love 2 years later!
Guids have always been great. Always choose and escorted tour.Great and comfortable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst company ever. I wish I could give them less than...”

Written on: 30/03/2010

Worst company ever. I wish I could give them less than one star (system won't let me). Once they get your money they are completely unwilling to work with you at all. We booked the Rome, Florence and Venice Italy trip. My wife had a medical issue and could not leave on our travel date (would not have mattered anyway as a bit storm on the east coast of the U.S. would have left us stranded in airport hell somewhere along the way anyway). I asked to change dates to later date. Gate 1 only really… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Littlera's Comment

Written on: 31/01/2011

This instance is what trip insurance is for. Tour operators cannot deal with clients going behind them and rebooking hotels,etc. independently. That they tried to work with you at all after you tired to regbook everyting yourself is a credit to them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“We took a fly and drive to Costa Rica. Maybe Gate 1...”

Written on: 04/03/2008

We took a fly and drive to Costa Rica. Maybe Gate 1 escorted tours are better but we felt we missed out on a lot because we were not give any travel directions or made aware of the poor driving conditions from hotel to hotel. A prepaid side tour was canceled and Gate 1 made no effort to connect us with another agent. When we arrived in the area, we were told by a tour agent we could simply have driven to town to pick up the tour and advised us that no tour operator goes to the hotel. Gate 1… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I did a 10 day trip to London, Paris & Rome using Gate...”

Written on: 03/07/2007 by loscandella (1 review written)

I did a 10 day trip to London, Paris & Rome using Gate 1. I chose plan C which is the 3 star hotel plan. I also purchased transfers via this Tour Operator. I did not purchase any of the tours they offered. Dates were 17th June - 1st July 2007.
I was nervous at first. Here I am, booking a big trip for my honeymoon with a travel agency that I've never heard of before, over the internet! Well, everything went perfect. The drivers were on time to pick me up from airport to hotel and vice versa… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We took a 12 day trip to Croatia, also visiting...”

Written on: 15/05/2007 by linenlady (1 review written)

We took a 12 day trip to Croatia, also visiting Slovenia, Bosnia and Montenegro, with Gate 1 in March of 2007. Our accommodation was very nice and the scenery in all countries was wonderful. We took all of the excursions and found them to be great value… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“This was my first time traveling to Europe and with...”

Written on: 25/03/2007 by kodac0495 (1 review written)

This was my first time traveling to Europe and with this company. My group was friendly and a good fit for our core group. I would recommend Gate 1 to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We were a very small tour group of only 5 people,...”

Written on: 27/10/2006 by mvgodich (1 review written)

We were a very small tour group of only 5 people, which may have been part of the problem. Our guide, a Japanese-American, obviously knew very little about any of the sites and we had no local guides to supplement his knowledge.
Most of the time we were rushed around on a bus, rushed through short tours of each site. An example was the Imperial Palace trip: of course, no one is allowed in the palace itself, but I knew that the gardens were open for tours, so expected we would do this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“The price for the tips are affordable even though they...”

Written on: 25/08/2006 by alley fay (1 review written)

The price for the tips are affordable even though they are during the winter months. Some of the agents are not very knowledgeable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview