Bathpool Inn, Taunton Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
43% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bathpool Inn, Taunton - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Terrible Service”

Written on: 20/09/2014 by H.WHITE (1 review written)

Visited the pub last night for dinner the actual food was ok but the service from start to finish was terrible!!!!! All evening we had to ask for everything when they finally seated us and returned to take an order from us,you would be better off going somewhere else to try… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude Landlord”

Written on: 25/03/2012

Pulled up at the Bathpool today in my car, parked up and was about to get picked up in a minibus to go collect a load of people to bring back to the pub for late morning drinks before going for a trip to Minehead and was gestured at by a man, who I think was the Landlord. Before even giving me a chance to explain what I was about to do he shouted 'that car will get clamped if you leave it there' I replied saying I was about to pick a load of people up to come here first before going out for the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Wheat Free!!”

Written on: 11/03/2012

Today was my first eperience of The Bathpool Inn, a party of 4 and a half (a very bubbly 18 month old!) of us arrived and being a coeliac I was fully epecting to have to dodge gravy, yorkshire pudding and other wheaty food stuffs! We hadnt booked and the pub was very busy; however we were greeted by friendly staff and seated within 2 minutes. On explaining to them that I can't eat wheat, provisions were instantly made and I was able to enjoy gravy on my roast! It was fantastic and I would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again....”

Written on: 16/08/2011

While visiting family in Somerset we thought we would stop for a pub lunch something my husband and I both quite fancied. We arrived to a quiet pub "The Bathpool Inn" and thought it would be great as the staff would have time for us if it wasnt busy how wrong were we, we had to wait for the waitress to finish giggling away with the other staff before we got seated and when we got seated we were only offered the carvery whereas the other tables were given a menu – after basically being guilted… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 13/10/2011

Very similar experience, service is terrible food is either hard, cold or just terrible. very bad attitude from staff when complaint raised. will not go back again, the naval and military used to offer better service

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“There was 9 of us who were turned away from other pubs...”

Written on: 28/02/2011

There was 9 of us who were turned away from other pubs on a saturday night as they were full. we phoned the bathpool who said they could take us, we were surprised as it was a saturday evening. We arrived to find 3 people in the bar and not that in the restaurant. We were seated in the lower part of the restaurant. We could not belive how cold it was in there so complained, only to have a small heater pt beside us which would of suited a small flat. we were freezing... When the food arrived… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I have organised a meeting for 15-20 people once a...”

Written on: 05/11/2010 by Loulena (1 review written)

I have organised a meeting for 15-20 people once a year for the past 3yrs & all my friends from around the country would recommend the Bathpool.
It is also where I take visiting family & friends & my daughter & son in law from Bucks chose it for a Valentines meal.
The staff are friendly & the food excellant. My only problem with the food is that being a pensioner with a small appetite I sometimes find I can't eat it all!
If you think you are waiting a while for your meal, remember that your… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Went here for a family lunch for my niece's 21st...”

Written on: 04/11/2010 by minnie56 (4 reviews written)

Went here for a family lunch for my niece's 21st birthday. The staff were friendly and efficient and the carvery meal was excellent value for money. Lovely homely atmosphere and will definitely be going there again. Car park area needs tidying up and a covered smoking area would be good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I have just had my 40th birthday here. there was over...”

Written on: 26/09/2010 by Meakins (1 review written)

I have just had my 40th birthday here. there was over 20 of us.
i would highly recommend the Bathpool.The service was great , the staff were very friendly and polite. The meals all arrived at the same time, and they were great. We all had a great time.Would definately go back there. Thank you Bathpool for a great day.!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“We visited the Bathpool Inn on Saturday 19th June...”

Written on: 23/06/2010 by chris4koi (1 review written)

We visited the Bathpool Inn on Saturday 19th June 2010...for my Father-in-laws birthday treat (party of four).... we had been turned away from two pubs this evening already one due to just having a coach load party of people (The Monkton) saying they had done their 'covers' for the day and the other (Maypole) having no tables left at 7:30pm... so went in search of another place...The Bathpool what a mistake !
We really wish we hadn't bothered... when we arrived, we asked if they were still… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Loulena's Response to chris4koi's Review

Written on: 05/11/2010

I think this person must have visited some other pub!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

M1Bjr's Response to chris4koi's Review

Written on: 15/11/2010

Actually I suspect they wished that they had visited another pub.
<br/>Glad to see that thier low standards haven't slipped any lower though....
<br/>
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“29th may 2010 - booked table at 7pm - was 7.45 before...”

Written on: 31/05/2010

29th may 2010 - booked table at 7pm - was 7.45 before we got to make our order, our menus were both different ?? my menu was wisked away way before then as it was needed elsewhere? - ordered garlic mushrooms and prawn cockt for starters, jambalaya and pork loin for mains. waitress came back 10 mins later to ask if we had ordered garlic mush or pate ?? and the 5 mins later to say they did not serve pork loin despite it being on the menu ! finished starter then was asked if we wanted the dessert… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Chris4Koi's Comment

Written on: 23/06/2010

Couldn't Agree more... read our experience... a real shame as it could be really nice if they ony sorted the place out...!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Went to this place with friends that were visiting. I...”

Written on: 14/05/2010

Went to this place with friends that were visiting. I was embarrassed at my choice of places to eat, the food was cold, and the staff, particularly the bar staff couldn't have cared whether they served us or not. Never again!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“i think its amazing there ,the food was lovely , its a...”

Written on: 26/04/2010

i think its amazing there ,the food was lovely , its a great place for a family meal !! the service was good , the staff was kind and seemed friendly towards all , i loved every moment of being there i loved the desserts . it was a bit noisey because of the kids but was very nice, the maneger is very kind , the toilets were clean .
i would of liked to know if they make there food them selves but it was a great place to eat in and have a great time i enjoyed it very much , i loved the kids… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The food was cold and not at all fresh and not what we...”

Written on: 10/01/2010

The food was cold and not at all fresh and not what we asked for the staff was rude and untidy i wouldnt feed my dog the muck we had that evening.the owner couldnt care for his guesst as he was so rude and wouldnt even give any money back for the bad food. warning all do not eat there unless u want to be sat on the loo all evening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Visited the Bathpool for a family Xmas meal yesterday...”

Written on: 30/12/2009

Visited the Bathpool for a family Xmas meal yesterday evening. The place was empty, the food was cold the waiting staff didnt have a clue and to tie it all up they didnt have enough desserts for our party. My partner and i had the Pate (only us 2 out of 14) and both saw the Pate in the early hours of the moring again. Would not recomend to anybody. McDonalds next year?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“August 2009. The Bathpool Inn, Taunton looks good from...”

Written on: 21/09/2009 by SwindonGal (1 review written)

August 2009. The Bathpool Inn, Taunton looks good from the outside with carvery menu and price list. However it disappoints when you get inside. Grubby place so we decided not to eat here. Very quiet too - with hardly any locals about. It is advertised in the local press as dog friendly but does not allow dogs inside the premises - so a bit confusing - presumably you have to sit outside next to the busy/noisy A38… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Called in to the Bathpool Inn, Taunton for an evening...”

Written on: 15/04/2009

Called in to the Bathpool Inn, Taunton for an evening meal. We were shown to a table and asked to be moved because the table seemed filthy. We went into a 'conservatory 'area, where once again the chairs were heavily stained and had obviously not been cleaned for many a month and the skylight windows were so filthy we couldn't see out of them.We left… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Bathpool Inn is a pub not to missout on ”

Written on: 27/11/2008 by ozzya (1 review written)

Bathpool Inn is a pub not to missout on
first time in this pub and i be back
you cant beat it around taunton
the best in the west
thankyou to all the staff and the nice cook… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“An excellent place to visit. Felt welcome. Very busy...”

Written on: 19/08/2008 by dogsareus1 (1 review written)

An excellent place to visit. Felt welcome. Very busy pub which is understandable as the food was top notch. Unsure of where the previous person had visited as the Bathpool Inn is a fantastic place to take family, friends of all ages and eras. I will be recommending the pub to everyone I know and I will be revisiting on regular occasions. I have also, booked in for a christmas meal for the company I own and I believe this will not disappoint. Thumbs up all round… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I would highly recommend the Bathpool Inn, I have been...”

Written on: 20/04/2008

I would highly recommend the Bathpool Inn, I have been there on numerous occasions and never had a bad meal nor service. The food is priced well with a large variety. The staff and management are very helpful and make you feel at home. It has been improved dramatically in the last couple of years with new management and it would be nice to see other local pubs being taken over with the determination and dedication that the Bathpool has had injected into it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“this is obviously an old review as the service and...”

Written on: 18/04/2008

this is obviously an old review as the service and value are excellent since the new owners took over. i would recommend anybody to go and try the Bathpool Inn in Taunton, they have an excellent carvery… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview