The Crooked Chimney, Hatfield Area Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
47% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Crooked Chimney, Hatfield Area - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“At Last a place that cares about vegetarians”

Written on: 03/06/2011

nearly every thursday i go here now with various sized groups of friends ever since they started their vegetarian specials every thursday, the pub is lovely and the team are friendly and with this addition of vegie specials it wins for me everytime… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fixed price lunch menu is good value and their new...”

Written on: 15/04/2011

Fixed price lunch menu is good value and their new menu is really nice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“We go here maybe 3 or 4 times a week at the weekend it...”

Written on: 31/03/2011

We go here maybe 3 or 4 times a week at the weekend it can get really busy week day evenings can be a little quieter the food is always lovely and the service sometimes slow when busy but thats understandable but is always of as good standard. The team seem really friendly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“This place is a lovely pub, after reading the other...”

Written on: 19/03/2011 by SimonJackson (1 review written)

This place is a lovely pub, after reading the other reviews on here i didn't know what to expect, I've been going here frequently since just before chritmas, and I can honestly say that i've never had a bad experience. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the food is a good quality and the setting/atmosphere is just what you need when your looking for a nice decent place to eat or just go for a pint. Maybe i've just been lucky everytime i've been or maybe it's just improved a huge amount. I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Went there on a Sunday afternoon with 3 kids aged 1-4....”

Written on: 25/10/2010

Went there on a Sunday afternoon with 3 kids aged 1-4. Not many people there, but had a room almost to ourself next to a nice warm open fireplace.
Inexpensive, good food, quick and friendly service. Just what you need when you go out with kids. I've read very mixed reviews, but we will definately use this eagain… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“I returned to the Crooked Chimney after a previous...”

Written on: 14/10/2010

I returned to the Crooked Chimney after a previous poor experience. I had heard good reports and was happy to give the bar a second chance.

There were three people in our party. The pub had a steak night promotion on offer - Two steaks, plus bottle of Wine for £25, My Colleague and I took up this option, the third member of our party ordered the Beer Battered Fish & Chips.

Service speed was Ok about 15 mins. Unfortunately all the meals were cool or at best luke warm, having clearly been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“we had a great evening meal here, the manager was...”

Written on: 20/09/2010

we had a great evening meal here, the manager was great, food great, drinks great, service great, good location lovely old pub in herts, opposite brocket hall… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We had not been to the Crooked Chimney for some time...”

Written on: 30/07/2010 by WelwynFoody (1 review written)

We had not been to the Crooked Chimney for some time due to hearing a few negative stories but some family members (remembering going 10 years ago)were keen to go so we gave it a try again. The food was acceptable for the price but not great. The really disappointing and almost shocking aspect was the service which was extremely poor at every point of contact. Amongst the highlights in service was when the only member of bar staff ignored the 3 groups waiting to be served at the bar and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My family of 5 and I visited the Crooked Chimney in...”

Written on: 06/06/2010

My family of 5 and I visited the Crooked Chimney in Wheathamsted on a Saturday night in June 2010. In brief: extremely poor service, missing food and a side order of fly.

Firstly, on arrival at the restaurant we received a poor welcome from the bar staff. We had pre-booked a table but when we arrived instead of taking us to the table we were told to walk around the corner and find it. I asked the waitress what number table we were looking for and she said it didnt have one and did not offer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“SHOCKING SERVICE. WAITED 40 MINUTES FOR A STARTER ....”

Written on: 19/05/2010

SHOCKING SERVICE. WAITED 40 MINUTES FOR A STARTER . THEN ANOTHER 20 MINS FOR MAIN - WHEN WE GAVE UP WAITING ANDWAS TOLD FOOD JUST BEING COOKED.
WHEN ASKED TO SPEAK WITH MANAGER ,WAS TOLD HE WAS TO BUSY BEHIND BAR.
ASKED FOR MONIES BACK ( ATE ELSEWHERE )
WAITRESS WAS RUDE TO US .
WILL NEVER GO AGAIN

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS !!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We pre-booked a table here for a week day evening....”

Written on: 12/04/2010

We pre-booked a table here for a week day evening. There were 6 in our party. It took over 20 mins to get a drink from the bar and then a further 10 minutes before we could sit at our 'pre-booked' table despite the bar/waiting staff knowing we were there. On ordering our food we were told that at leat 7 items were not available. We all ordered our food and then proceeded to wait for 1 hour for our food to be delivered (this was with no update from the waiting staff) once the food was delivered… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“really nice place to eat good for chillaxing time...”

Written on: 22/02/2010

really nice place to eat good for chillaxing time service always good and food bang on keep up the good work… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Meal was warm, must had sat on side for at least 10...”

Written on: 23/09/2009

Meal was warm, must had sat on side for at least 10 minutes before coming out, they weren't busy either. Offered to put in MICROWAVE!!! Microwaved chips - lovely.

Husband ate his as was hungry. Refunded money for the one meal. Basically they had £15 for one warm meal & 2 drinks that we wouldn't have bought if we weren't eating there. Would never eat at the Crooked Chimney again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had a very disappointing meal at The Crooked Chimney -...”

Written on: 26/06/2009

Had a very disappointing meal at The Crooked Chimney - I ordered a medium steak but ended up with a very dry, tough, over-cooked bit of meat. Peas undercooked. Even the chips tasted like they'd come out of a warmer. They had run out of mushrooms. You have to try hard to murder a simple meal like that but they did it well!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Thekwaze's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2009

What a coincidence!
<br/>I was saying just that to my wife as I battled through the worst Gammon, Egg and Chips I've ever encountered.
<br/>It was as though someone had gone to a great deal of trouble to ruin each component part in it's own special way.
<br/>As for my Wifes "Pork Stew".......Just don't go there.
<br/>To top it off the beer was bland and indifferent, which to be fair, was a vast improvement on the food.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“I do not know what is going on in this place. It was a...”

Written on: 05/12/2008 by chrissy hgg (1 review written)

I do not know what is going on in this place. It was a terrible meal and it was our xmas do - no crackers etc on table!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Lovely friendly place, old and young were eating and...”

Written on: 13/11/2007 by mentley (1 review written)

Lovely friendly place, old and young were eating and also families. Recommend… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“We went to the Crooked Chimney restaurant in the...”

Written on: 25/04/2006 by lyndyloub (10 reviews written)

We went to the Crooked Chimney restaurant in the Hatfield area on Sunday at about 5pm. It wasn't overly busy, as there were empty tables at this point. On going to order at the bar, we were informed they had run out of roast potatoes, so the roasts were all off. My husband and mother-in-law then chose fish and chips, and I had the fillet steak. We had soup to start, which came very quickly in about 10 minutes, and it was lovely, hot and tasty, with huge chunks of bloomer bread. The plates… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview