Island Cruises, Island Escape Review

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of Island Cruises, Island Escape

★★☆☆☆

“Myself and my Fiance have just returned from a weeks...”

Written on: 06/09/2010

Myself and my Fiance have just returned from a weeks holiday on the Island Escape. I am absolutely amazed that this so called Ship has got any good reviews. Its an absolute joke.

Ill start with the good points because there are only a few: firstly the stops were good as long as your able to use a train as the excursions are an absolute rip off (ill get to that in a bit). Secondly the waiting staff are good and attentive.

Now for the negatives using the tender boats is a complete joke thankfully they only used them once as a few people nearly got injured on them they clearly have no concern for peoples safety. To the point where the tender boats were actually knocking against the side of the boat, and would have crushed someone had they have jumped at the wrong time. To top that day off the boats changed port without informing anyone so everyone went to meet the tender boat at one area and it turned out it had moved a good ten minute walk in the other direction. To rub salt in the would we waited for 45 mins for the tender boat to take us to the ship, the thomson cruise ship next to us had 5 tender boats to our 1 and they even gave their guests chilled water due to the temperature.

The excursions were an absolute joke! All i can say is at least Dick Turpin wore a mask! On average people that went on the excursions paid 4 times the price of those who made their own way to the places, for example a train to Rome cost us both £15 for a return ticket. The excursions cost £130 just for a coach to Rome!!!! My advice do your research before you leave and invest in some guide books its all you need! and dont fall for the scare mogering claiming that if you pay for an excursion with them they wont leave you behind!!!!

The entertainment was poor! They had some singers and comedians that they had as guest performers that were good however the on board entertainers were rude, childish, extremely untalented and resembled what i can only describe as a Butlins experience!

The food was mediocre and nothing to shout about.

The clientele on board were very common people often felt it was acceptable to go to dinner were a vest the was once white but had turned grey! As an example the funniest comment that we heard all week was someone saying "we wont bother getting off at Rome we can just stay on the ship, 'cos the only thing in Rome to see is The Vatican and we wont be able to see that in one day!" How we laughed.

To top of the holiday we had a run in with the monster who claims to be the manager of guest relations Marcy Sarich! We had a problem whereby on the first day we did not get on the ship until midnight, as we paid for a 7 day cruise we expected to get our day in Palma at the end of the holiday! However we were informed that we had to leave our cabin at 8am that morning! We were outraged particulary as we had paid for a service that we had not received! When we aired our complaints with guest relations they were unsympathetic, rude, ignorant and horrid. Sarich kept saying to us that that was policy and it would not be changed! They expected us to pay to extra to use a cabin even though our flight was not till 10 pm. Rightly so we were outraged! With no help from the so called friendly cruise ship we decided that we had had enough with this poor excuse of a cruise ship! So we spent 14 hours at the airport just to get away from the ship!



Surfice to say they will be receiving a letter of complaint! You may think that this is a cheaper option but trust me they will try to squeeze every last penny from you! Would i go on another cruise? Yes But on the Island Escape? No way in hell!



Just remember at least Dick Turpin wore a mask!!!!!!

  • 2 sept 10

    Date of Cruise

  • 7

    Nights on board

  • Island Escape

    Itinerary Name

  • Inside

    Cabin Type

  • Couple

    Group description

  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Littlerocco's Comment

Written on: 27/09/2010

I found this review very helpful because... I like to read the good and the bad.the bit were people turn up for dinner in vests has really put me off i am looking for a casual holiday well 4 of us but we dont want a camp site holiday.also we didnt like how the people were treated about getting out at 8am in a morning thats a bit much manners maketh the crew the lady didnt sound like she followed the norm.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sheila Stockley's Comment

Written on: 29/09/2010

We were on this ship last November for the Colourful coasts cruise
<br/>I totally agree the staff are not helpful even the other passengers were not that friendly, on disembarking the staff would have had us coming off the ship 20 minutes after our plane took off and they were adamant and quite rude about the timings. Was not keen on dining room and preferred to go the the restaurant and paid the supplement every night although this was costly, and other ships do not charge for this If this had been my first cruise it would have put me off but luckily it was out 5th. We have just come off the Destiny and the difference was just No comparison! would recommend this to anyone but Never again on Island Escape.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review