Microsoft Xbox 360 Review

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
73% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Graphics

  • Range Of Games

  • Value For Money

Gamesmaster's review of Microsoft Xbox 360

★★☆☆☆
Microsoft Xbox 360

“I'm going to be a bit controversial now so bear with...”

Written on: 09/11/2005 by Gamesmaster (4 reviews written)

I'm going to be a bit controversial now so bear with me people - before I start though I'll answer a few of the possible comments that I might receive.



1. I am not a fan boy of any type - I own an XBox, a PS2 and a Gamecube. I also own a PC and a GBA for when I'm out of the house - I am an equal opportunity game player and will always give credit where credit is due.



2. I know I didn't play for long but the idea of a demo is all about first impressions and this review details mine - I'm not writing it off forever and I will keep checking back - I'll even write another review if I think it warrants it.



Ok now onto the Review - Be gentle with me.



While out with the Girlfriend on Saturday I happened to find myself in HMV just after it had opened and what did I see in the corner, that's right a sparkly new playable XBox 360. As no one else was about I settled myself in and began to have a play.



First impressions - Not to sure about the look of the console - may take some getting used to. Controller is comfortable, could be a little small for my hands though (I'm a big guy). I would have to try it over a longer period of time.



I selected the videos first of all - pretty standard fare really, nothing I hadn't seen before online so I exited and loaded up a game - Call of Duty 2.



I don't know what I was expecting and I know that developers get more out of a machine the longer they get to program for it but I wasn't impressed. From what I saw the graphics didn't look to different from my PS2 and were almost identical to the Xbox - the actual gameplay itself was also fine - the problem was that, that was all it was... fine. Considering that this was the dawning of a new era in video games I was just underwhelmed - there was nothing here that I couldn't get on the machines I already have.



OK, exit that one, onto game two: Kameo.

I literally only got 2 minutes on this game as a crowd was starting to build behind me. Looked ok - I think the graphics were better than Call of Duty but I still wasn't overly impressed. The gameplay again was nothing special and didn't set itself apart from the current batch of consoles. Don't get me wrong this could be a great game - the shop assistant said he agreed with me about Kameo and Call of Duty but I haven't had chance to read any other reviews so I don't know if we are alone in our thinking.



The assistant also told me that the games at the moment are coming up on the system at £50. He said that they would probably drop a bit before the 360 is released but it is still a lot of money when coupled with the price of the console. The Xbox 360 has a lot of potential and I was considering pre-ordering from what I had read on the internet - now after playing it, I think its going to be a case of 'wait and see'. Let me know what you think.

  • Value For Money

  • 20 Minute Demo

    Date of Purchase (MM/YY)

  • Graphics

  • Range Of Games

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomleecee's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 16/11/2005

Gamesmaster, I agree with your observations for the most part. I played a demo of King Kong in the Gamestation section of my local Blockbuster and it just didnt impress. The graphics could easily have been supported by a PS2 or Cube, let alone a normal Xbox. To add insult to injury, it crashed to a black screen about 4 times and one of the staff had to keep coming and resetting it! In an industry where first impressions meant everything, I wasn't impressed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Giantelectric's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 16/12/2005

Thanks, it makes me feel a whole lot better. Actually, when I stated design - I meant how durable you thought the casing was & quality of production. Are there any noticable design errors like port spacing, vents or problems with the power adapter/ are discs too hot when removed etc etc.. Of course, you wouldn't know any of these things because you spent 20 minutes in a gameshop on a half covered up unit while your girlfriend shopped at walmart. (unless maybe you could could elaberate about the later game sessions which followed). Second thoughts, please dont.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gamesmaster's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 14/12/2005

I will say it again - what is the point of having the console in the store if you are not going to try it, form an opinion and then decide if you want to buy it or not.
<br>
<br>Apologies for not shelling out the £300 to buy the console - taking it home - setting it up - packing it up again and returning it the store for a 360 that actually works - setting up the new console... and then finding out I wasn't impressed and writing my review on the site.
<br>
<br>And if it makes you feel better - I think the design of the console is very pretty - with the lovely curvy detail and cute green lights - what the heck has the design got to do with the review - I told you my opinion about the only accessory I got to try - the game pad could be too small for my hands.
<br>
<br>If my review was the only review in the world then you could have a point about it not being chock-full of detail - but it isn't, take my review for what it is - a recap of a 20 minute play in HMV - if you want more detail read a review from a user who states he owns the machine.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Giantelectric's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 13/12/2005

I'd have to totally agree with goonerz4eva on this. I read this thinking what the heck? Where's the insight on the consoles design, how it felt, its performance / ease of use etc...? It's almost as though you anticipated this review would generate interest so decided to be one of the first to write up on the thing.- Its not a fair or balanced review and there’s hardly any useful information here. Sorry but I didn’t want to read about yourself and girlfriends day at the mall.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gamesmaster's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 12/12/2005

Gooner, a couple of things - the whole point of having a demo of the console in the shops is so that people can form an opinion. Review Centre is the place for people to share their opinions and views with others so I would say my Review is perfectly acceptable.
<br>
<br>I also clearly stated in the review the length of time the console has been played so I don't think people who read the review could be misled by the score.
<br>
<br>On a side note I would also like to say that I have played with the console a few more times and I stand by what I previously wrote - Xbox 360 = Disappointing!
<br>p.s. I'd also like to add that I played Perfect Dark Zero for half an hour at a friends and thought it was terrible!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Goonerz4Eva's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 10/12/2005

The original reviewer Gamemaster:
<br>
<br>Although I firmly believe everyone is entitled to their opinion I don't think it is fair to review something that you have played with for 20 minutes in a shop, be it a good or bad review.
<br>
<br>I personally have yet to see an Xbox360 in the flesh and can therefore neither confirm nor deny your observations... but as a prospective buyer a quick glance through the review scores on this website now gives a distorted impression of actual owner's opinions.
<br>
<br>All I can say is that perhaps next time you should only review something when you have used it long enough to form a proper unbiased opinion.
<br>
<br>Thanks.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomleecee's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 06/12/2005

First of all, Call of Duty: Big Red 1 ISNT THE SAME AS Call of Duty 2 - THEY ARE TOTALLY DIFFERENT GAMES. Secondly, how many times do I have to say this?! I said that it couldnt be done WITH THE SAME LEVEL OF VISUALS. DOES ANYONE ACTUALLY READ WHAT IS WRITTEN?!?!?!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

176891_Bombom101's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 01/12/2005

Call of Duty 2 is on a PS2. I've got it. I don't know what your on Tommy

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Hardcoreskater15's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 28/11/2005

I agree with Gamesmaster, if you're going to make a new system then at least wow us with some great graphics and gameplay. Oh yeah, I thought this review was helpfull too. P.S. Even with the HD LCD screen I wasn't impressed with the xbox360.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tomleecee's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 25/11/2005

No, what I actually said (if you read my comment properly) was that I had played Peter Jackson's King Kong - not Call of Duty 2. I have no doubts that Call of Duty 2 could not be reproduced on a PS2 without major downgrades on the visual front. KING KONG however, probably could. See? Call of Duty 2 is not the same as King Kong.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dtrdwngs's Response to Gamesmaster's Review

Written on: 25/11/2005

Call of Duty 2 didn't look that good? Could be supported by PS2? How come all of the major magazines and websites do not agree with you? I have it and it is amazing. I do have HDTV with LCD and it is incredible. Maybe the monitor was poor quality. I suggest you give it another look on a better monitor. A standard tv will only show 480 as opposed to 720p which is what I see it at. But your opinion is yours so I won't knock you for what you believe.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review