Report Abuse

Report this review to the Review Centre Team

Here at Review Centre we work hard to make sure we are the best place on the internet for honest, unbiased consumer reviews - we are grateful for your help in keeping us that way!

1749990

Why are you reporting this review?

If you represent this business why not claim your page by creating a Free Business Account where you will receive improved review monitoring functionality.


★☆☆☆☆

“Poor design and installation and no customer service”

Written on: 02/11/2012 by Condor653 (1 review written)

We had the misfortune of purchasing a kitchen from Kutchenhaus and using their installation service. We have encountered numerous problems which their customer service team seemed incapable/disinterested in resolving. The attached letter sent 3rd January 2012 details the problems. We have never received a written response to the letter.


3 January 2012
Recorded Delivery

URGENT

The Director
Kutchenhaus Ltd
Unit 704, Kings Park
Severnside Trading Estate
Textilose Road
Trafford Park
Manchester
M17 1WA

Dear Sir
Letter of complaint
Several months ago I had a kitchen supplied and fitted by your organisation and would like to express my dissatisfaction of the service that your organisation has provided.
My involvement with your company commenced in June 2011 when my wife and I visited your showroom in York. Your sales staff convinced us to move away from Magnet Kitchens, who had fitted our last two kitchens, and we commissioned your organisation to design and install a new kitchen for us at the above address. On the 25th June 2011 we duly signed a kitchen sale agreement (project number 201905) and looked forward to the hassle free supply and installation that we had been promised.
Fitting commenced on the 3rd October 2011. Unfortunately the fitter informed us that there were sections of the kitchen missing and that he would be unable to complete until the missing parts had been sourced from Germany. The first fitter,installed as much of the kitchen as he could and then invited James Harley to inspect the work. Both the fitter and Mr Harley left knowing that there were a number of outstanding items and snag work to be completed. The major physical problem at this stage revolved around the base corner unit which had too small an opening to access the unit and meant the handle restricted the opening further and damaged the adjacent unit. A problem which remains outstanding.
Having no choice other than to use the kitchen in its semi-completed state we soon discovered there were a number of design flaws making parts of the kitchen difficult to use without causing damage to the units/equipment.
We highlighted these issues to Mr Harley, which included a top unit door clashing with the extractor hood and a base corner unit which we were unable to open the doors fully because of the handle type and positioning. Mr Harley promised to correct the problems.
Despite sending photographs and questioning Mr Harley’s decisions on the ordering of fresh units/parts and fillers to correct the issues raised this included his proposed solution to the corner until problem by removing the handle and fitting a touch opening system to the doors and provision of new wall units with revised opening to clear the extractor hood, neither solution has proved workable. The second fitter, John, who arrived on 23 November 2011 confirmed that Mr Harley had ordered the wrong wall unit again. John endeavoured to modify such leaving the inevitable exposed drill holes within the unit. Mr Harley’s suggested fix for the corner base unit proved to be unworkable and John stated that there was a design problem which would be required to be rectified.
Both fitters expressed their opinion on the design flaw of the base corner unit stating the obvious fix would be to increase the opening by installing a larger unit. This would of course mean a readjustment of the base units surrounding such.
I was disappointed with the standard of certain elements of the fitting. For example, damaged unit and fitting of filler pieces around pipes, see attached photograph. I was prepared to live with these issues if the main issue (corner unit) was rectified.
Despite repeated requests asking Mr Harley to come up with an acceptable solution to the problem I have had no success and I am currently left with a part finished kitchen and a corner base unit with exposed holes in the face of the door.
Mr Harley’s involvement throughout this process can only be described as poor. Whilst he accepts there is a design problem he seems unable to deal with it and despite ringing, e-mailing and receiving assurances from him that he would deal with the issue, responses have not been forthcoming. At one stage he did admit that our e-mails were going into his ‘junk mail’.
Our communication with Mr Harley is very frustrating where I the customer is left to constantly ring his office only to be fobbed off with promises of fixes and returned calls, examples of which are as follows:
9 Dec 2011 – I spoke with Mr Harley who confirmed he would speak to Mr Nixon in Technical Dept and would ring back on 12 Dec 2011. I received no call.
13 Dec 2011 – I rang Mr Harley’s office and was unable to speak with Mr Harley. I spoke instead to Mr Nixon who e-mailed Mr Harley direct asking him to contact me. Mr Nixon also suggested a fix that he would put to Mr Harley. Yet again no call from Mr Harley.
16 Dec 2011 – My wife rang Mr Harley expressing her dissatisfaction and asked for details of his line manager. Reticently he gave the name of Tony Walsh but refused to give an address, stating instead that he would speak with Mr Walsh and would revert by telephone to my wife on the 21st December 2011. He did not ring.
22 Dec 2011 – My wife again rang Mr Harley who confirmed that he was not able to ring on the 21st due to personal problems involving his partner. He promised to resolve matters accepting that the current corner base unit issue was unsatisfactory and undertook to ring my wife back on 27th December 2011. My wife double checked that this would take place as this was a bank holiday. She was assured that he would be working and would without fail ring back. Of course he did not ring.
28 Dec 2011 – My wife again rang Mr Harley’s office and spoke with one of the team who confirmed that neither Mr Harley nor his line manager was available. She asked and received the above address to write to Kutchenhaus to raise this formal letter of complaint.
I am extremely disappointed with the service I have received which is far from the promise at the point of sale of a high quality, kitchen, design service and hassle free installation. What I’ve actually received is poor design, sub-standard installation which to date has taken six months and is yet to be completed.
Quoting your own promise that “There is nothing more important to us than a satisfied customer” can you please confirm what you intend to do to resolve my complaint. Unfortunately due to the way I have been dealt with by Mr Harley he has lost all credibility and I would therefore appreciate the opportunity to discuss my complaint directly with yourself.
For your ease of reference I have attached recent correspondence and photographs sent to Kutchenhaus.
I look forward to hearing from within the next 14 days.