On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
1532
31% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

“fly in 2 days, no tickets, added luggage still no...”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by KerryHorstead (1 review written)

I am due to fly out to Salou on Saturday, we still have not received our tickets for the flight. I added and extra bag to our luggage allowance and we still haven't had confirmation or the charge for it taken from our account. Getting very worried now. I have booked with ion the beach several times and never had a problem but this is terrible, no replies to the message system on manage your booking, no answer on the phone after 2 day of trying. Wont be using OTB again!… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you were struggling to get hold of us. We don't send out flight tickets, the instructions for how to get your tickets with the airline will have been on your confirmation email. I hope everything got sorted for you and you're enjoying your holiday - Emily

Reply to this comment

Archie084's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 07/06/2015

No you don't send out flight tickets, I only uncovered this week how you in fact run your business. We booked a holiday in June last year for July this year, on a low deposit, however you wanted the price of the flights within 4 weeks of booking. Much to my surprise, I have now logged on Thomas Cook flights manage your booking, seemingly so you purchased the flights in January of this year on a pre-paid mastercard. Ok you might think that's not a problem, however, when I asked to cancel the holiday back in August last year, you wanted to charge £2000. You not only miss sold this holiday, you obtained the monies on false pretences due to there being no booking made with the Airlines as you alleged. I only hope our holiday goes smoothly, because should anything else occur, one shall issue proceedings against you on our return. Furthermore one would not recommend you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“waiting weeks to hear back from them”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by paulas1966 (1 review written)

Been trying to change hotel have sent a few emails waited 2 weeks for a reply then that was no help had to send another still waiting to hear back that's been over a week they won't speak to you on the phone go on holiday in less than 3 weeks now then they will tell us we can't change it because we are due to go soon but we emailed them in plenty off time to change it… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you, we are working through amendment requests as quickly as possible. We are prioritising requests based on departure dates so we will be looking at yours very soon to get this changed over for you. Once again, I'm really sorry for the inconvenience this has caused - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“terrible customer services”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by Alison41 (1 review written)

Been trying too add a passenger to my booking for the last three weeks sent countless emails and messages tried to call to make the change takes 30 mins to get through and then they tell you they cant help, meanwhile the flight has increased £70, will never book through this company again, terrible customer service… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you're having problems making an amendment to your booking, we're extremely busy at the moment and are working our way through change requests as quickly as possible. I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“DO NOT USE!!!”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by Filiz-k (1 review written)

Yesterday evening my family booked flights to Turkey Izmir, we went through the whole process including payment. After hearing no word back my parents rang to see if it had gone through, for them to cut us off three times!! Then to be told that the flights are too cheap and will not process them. Not only this, but the customer service was awful. No apologises or alternatives. I am furious. Worst customer service ever. Complete waste of time. DO NOT USE… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, it's disappointing to read that we were unable to confirm your booking for you, unfortunately, things like this can happen in the travel industry from time to time and are completely out of our control. When you place an order on our website and it states it can take up to 48 hours to confirm. This only happens on less than 5% of bookings and is the way all online travel agents work, however, I'm sorry this happened to you on this occasion. If you would like real-time availability, you can speak to our sales team and they get everything confirmed for you over the phone. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Liavans's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/05/2015

I find it quite unbelievable that you can reply to a complaint on here but not to the messages that are being sent to you through messages or requests.
I have tried to contact onthebeach via 3 messages, 1 request and 3 phone calls (2 of which I had the phone put down on me and no call back)
People are willing to pay to add an extra guest or make an amendment to their stay but this doesn't seem to bother you?!
If you are too "busy" to reply within the stated time frames on your website then they should not be on there!

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, this site is not manned by the customer service team. They are working to get through amendments as quickly as possible, however, we have a backlog which is causing delays. Timescales for amendments are no longer stated on the website as unfortunately we are seeing too high a number of requests to get through within 48 hours. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“Terrible customer support”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by 338Flynn (1 review written)

I WAS TRYING TO MAKE CHANGE ON MY BOOKING BUT IT IS ALMOST IMPOSIBLE.I TRIEND TO CALL AND I WAITED 30 MINUTES But no answer.i sent messages 11 days ago but have not replied yet. … Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you, we're extremely busy at the moment and are working through amendment requests as quickly as possible. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, we will send you a response to your request ASAP - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Appalling service with hidden costs”

Written on: 08/05/2015 by RaeganGoodman309 (1 review written)

I would stay clear of this company where possible. We booked a family holiday and later that night found it cheaper elsewhere so we sent them all the info they required and we're still waiting on feedback - not holding out any hope to be paid the £200+ difference. We also paid the deposit by debit card - as they stated this was free - only to receive a £4.95 handling fee for not paying the full amount and will receive this for every Debit Card payment we make!! Phoned customer service only… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you about a price match, we are extremely busy at the moment, however, I'd advise you to speak to our customer service department about this. I've searched your name and can't find your booking and unfortunately I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons. We don't charge for debit cards, however, there is a £4.95 transaction fee for all payments made via our low deposit scheme. This information is stated on the payment page and in our terms and conditions, however, I'm sorry you missed this. If you require any more information, please don't hesitate in getting in touch - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Would never use again”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by Coco56 (1 review written)

After booking I cancelled my hotel and kept the flights.. Then paid for flights in full.. Only to find they then took another £720 from my account.. Can't understand why this has happened. Now I'm going to have to phone them again and wait for ever to get to speak to someone to have my money refunded. This is outrageous taking all that extra money from my bank account when I had already paid in full. … Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear you've had problems with your order. I can't take your reference number over a public forum so I'm unaware of your booking myself. I hope this has been sorted for you and I'm sorry for any inconvenience - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“A No Star company”

Written on: 03/05/2015 by 195MacLean (1 review written)

OTB are the worst holiday company I have ever dealt with. They have a very inefficient method of contacting them via email on a site named Manage My Booking. You never get a reply from the same person.Just asking a question about an amendment costs you £25. All I wanted to do was add a hold bag as their website has a misleading method for selection and no way to amend your choice and it took them 3 weeks to confirm this change and then make an extra charge.Slow doesn't begin to describe their… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“Terrible service”

Written on: 01/05/2015 by tattytray (1 review written)

Their customer service is terrible I spent an hour and half on two occasions trying to speak to someone, i have sent them 5 emails 4 days ago and have not received one single reply, and my holiday is in a couple weeks to lanzarote, sandos papagayo beach resort… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“money grabbers ”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by kell40 (1 review written)

hello I have just booked also with on the beach I booked around 4pm and paid deposit I checked my bank in the morning as I hadn't got a email confirming holiday but they hadn't taken it I left it until tea time the money had left my account at 9am I got a phone call at 5.30pm saying price had gone up and they wanted another £400 off me I said no I had asked them why they had taken my deposit payment in the morning even though the price had gone up they said this is what they do but I… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry we were unable to confirm your order for you. You are right, we do not take payment unless we can confirm the order so I'm not sure why this has happened on your booking so I'm so very sorry. I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, I can only think that perhaps the flight price changed in the seconds between our system taking payment and it trying to confirm your flight seats. This is obviously a very rare occurrence so all I can do is apologise that this has happened. We will have refunded your payment straight away, however, it can sometimes take the bank a few days to process this and for it to show in your account again. I'm really sorry and if there's anything else we can do, please get in touch - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“LOOK ELSEWHERE ”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by KT1979 (1 review written)

yes its tempting that small deposit. caught me in its trap. Family of 3 and after 5 years we could finally plan for a short holiday that still would cost us at least £800 per person not including spending money. Deposit paid - simple. Need to change anything - NOT SIMPLE. Not even had any contact to discuss changes I needed and what the changes would cost me. Instead ignored and if I wanted to cancel they would charge me £608. No chance to change to another travel company now. In their… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you've been disappointed with our service. We do state 48 hours on messages, however, we have been extremely busy and have been getting through requests as quickly as we can. I understand your frustration regarding cancellation fees, unfortunately, these come mainly from the airlines and are completely out of our control. It's disappointing to read that you felt a member of our customer service department was rude to you on the phone, this is not the service we expect for our customers so if you would like us to listen to the call and take this further then please get in touch. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Bethkd's Response to KT1979's Review

Written on: 01/05/2015

Wish I had seen this before I booked having the same issue, booked and paid deposit without any problems but have been trying to contact them for over a week with no luck, sent message after message with no reply have tried the 10p a minute telephone number, funny message says they are always experiencing a high level of calls, hold for 20mins or more but I never get a reply as line gets cut off. Awful service. My friend booked same hotel with Travel Republic, did have to pay a bigger deposit which I guess covered flights as deposit for hotel was only a £1, she has had no issue getting through to them on the phone and even called them a week after booking when she seen the hotel cheaper somewhere else and they did a price match on the hotel for her. Stay away from onthebeach really not worth the trouble.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Does anyone actually work there?”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by NatalieMurphy-Alt284 (1 review written)

Impossible to get through to anyone, the phones are always experiencing some kind of tecnical problem. Tried for 2 days to get through with no luck and ended up booking with another company. Can't be good for business as I wonder how many other people did the same. Get your act together on the beach… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you had trouble getting through to our sales line, we have been extremely busy. We are predominantly an online company and do have a website you can make a booking on, however, I'm sorry you were unable to confirm over the phone on this occasion. I'm glad you managed to get your holiday booked and hope you'll consider us again in the future. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“customer service”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by ficrook (1 review written)

Possibly one of the worst customer service centres I have experienced and problem still not resolved after 4 30 minute phone calls. Due to fly next week and still not had seats booked despite numerous attempts. The on line messaging service that guarantees reply within 48 hours is a farce… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting your seats booked, I think there was some confusion with one of our agents. I can see that this was passed to a manager to confirm for you last night. Sorry for any inconvenience

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“OMG”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Sb1968 (1 review written)

I' contacted otB for a brief question re adding a passengers. It's was a v brief question, not an amendment or a change. They now have took 25 out of my bank without permission. All I am getting is check the small print. Yes it states if I make a change I am liable for the fee but as I didn't make any changes I do not feel this should be right. I have tried to speak to asupervisor. But not a chance. I have been so happy wi them up to this point. How disappointing. I hope the customer… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, we do not charge for a quote, we only take payment once you have agreed to make the change. The only thing I can think is that the money that has come from your account is for something else. I'm not aware of your booking and cannot take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, if you call our customer service team and ask them to tell you what the charge was for, then hopefully we can get to the bottom of this. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Hotel not available”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Wrenms205 (1 review written)

Last night me and my parter booked a holiday through OnTheBeach.com, good convenient flights and found this love quaint 4* hotel for one week in the best central location in Barcelona for 350.00 pp. We then got a call today saying that hotel was no longer available even though it was still listing on the internet. they also said several time that they would 'call me back in 10 mins' then an hour later I'm still waiting for their call and end up calling them at their premium rate number. Truly… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, it's disappointing to read that we were unable to confirm your booking for you, unfortunately, things like this can happen in the travel industry from time to time and are completely out of our control. When you place an order on our website and it states it can take up to 48 hours to confirm. This only happens on less than 5% of bookings and is the way all online travel agents work, however, I'm sorry this happened to you on this occasion. If you would like real-time availability, you can speak to our sales team and they get everything confirmed for you over the phone. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Great Holiday in Africa”

Written on: 27/04/2015 by joehealy91 (0 reviews written)

We had a very good holiday at a reasonable price and do not regret arranging it through on the Beach. Would definitely love to recommend them to others… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, That's great to hear! Thank you so much for leaving feedback, we look forward to you having many more happy holidays with us :)

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 27/04/2015 by PiperWood (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with on the beach a few months ago. My husband works on/off shore. 2 weeks on 2 off. At the time we booked it worked in with husbands shift pattern. However due to falling oil prices he was paid off. He has since got a new job but his new shift pattern doesn't work in with holidays. We contacted otb to which we were told 10 days to get a reply, tho on the website it advises 48 hours max. So that's 1st complaint. As we fly out in May we need to know before 10 days as my… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM”

Written on: 26/04/2015 by 428Hickey (1 review written)

We booked an all inclusive holiday to crete a few months before the holiday date. A week before we were meant to go on holiday my mother passed away and funeral was at the time we were meant to be away. I rang on the beach straight away to try change the dates only to get the most rude customer service agent who told me they wouldn't do anything outside of the 14 days and it wasn't their problem and it's not me or my partner who died ! This comment was beyond shocking and very insensitive. The… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear this, this is certainly not the service we expect for our customers and I am so sorry for your loss. I cannot take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, we would like to listen to the calls between yourself and the customer service agent so measures can be taken. I'm not sure what email address you have contacted us via, as we don't have an email address for customer queries. If you send us a message on the Manage Your Booking section on our website, or call our customer service number, we can look at getting your hotel cancelled and investigate the service you have received. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“AVOID!! not flexible when making changes and rip you off”

Written on: 24/04/2015 by Arnoldfs321 (1 review written)

Have used on the beach previously never made any changes on booking, This time tried to change dates they took a week to reply back and give me price for change tried to charge for whole new flights when airline said it should be just the difference in price between flights take forever to respond and customer service take over 30mins to answer phone made my holiday cost a fortune will never use again, AVOiD if Possible… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry you were disappointed with our service, we have been extremely busy and are getting through amendments as quickly as possible. We take the cost to make a change directly from the suppliers, so if making a change to your flights, they will charge the difference in flight cost but also amendments fees which can be quite costly. If you would like any more information, please send us a message on 'Manage Your Booking' on our website and we will do our best to help

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Worst Holiday of my Life”

Written on: 23/04/2015 by Smurfette74 (1 review written)

Ruined my holiday only to spend the whole time trying to correct the errors and promises made by On The Beach. Do no Use this company. They promise refunds that never happen they promise compensation that never happens, they promise call backs that never happen and worst of all they promise customer service which definitely does not happen. I spent a week in a great hotel and flew out with Easyjet which was all great but the communication from on the beach caused us to be requested to check… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear you were disappointed with our service. If you have sent your complaint through then we will, of course, investigate this and find out what happened. We can then hopefully get this resolved to a point where you're happy with the outcome. Please allow us time to respond to your complaint and we will contact you ASAP. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview
onthebeach.co.uk