On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
1395
33.1% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID. Disgusting Rip off Merchants. ”

Written on: 10/01/2015 by Tricky1971 (1 review written)

Firstly I want to say I was recommended to On the Beach by my uncle. Me and my wife wanted to travel to benidorm for valentines week. Booked the hotel where they film the series through a separate company. Now all I needed was the flights. Booked some through On the Beach. 4 hrs later I recieved a call from them. Was told that Thompson had increased there fairs by £46 pp each way. Told them to cancel. Then booked another set of flights. Waited. Waited. Waited. Waited. And then got a phone… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/01/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you were affected by a price increase, this is not a common occurrence (less than 5% of bookings are affected and we are the most up to date online travel agent). It may be that there was only one seat left at the price showing on our website and therefore when you tried to book two, the second seat was a higher price. I assure you that we did not increase the cost of the flights ourselves. If the flights had been at the correct price when you placed your order, our system would have booked everything for you and sent you your confirmation. The 48 hours is a guide given for online bookings however they are usually confirmed a lot quicker than this. We also have the option to speak with our sales team who confirm everything on the phone for you, without you having to wait for your confirmation. It's difficult for me to comment further without your reference number as I can't look at your individual booking, however if you would like more information about the way online travel agents work, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Tricky1971's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/01/2015

If there was only one seat left as you stated then why could I buy them from another site cheaper. Would like to say jet2 as been brilliant with me and the wife. Because of your miss leading site and arrogant staff. They have gave us free luggage and both seats upgraded to extra leg room free of charge.
You can tell your member of staff that said and I quote "you won't be going to Benidorm then". That we are going. We are going to enjoy ourselves. And you might also want to tell her. She as lost a customer due to her telephone skills and great customer service.
I again want to reiterate that when I recieve the said email from Jet2 I will be taking this matter as far as I can.

Reply to this comment

Tricky1971's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/01/2015

Where is your second reply. Whoooooops it's gone. Take it you found the recording from your agent.
Enough said.

Reply to this comment

Tricky1971's Response to Tricky1971's Review

Written on: 14/01/2015

My first booking ref. MYB3773431B
My second booking ref. MYB3774009B

Please check my account. You will find that I used the online chat service. Was told to ring which I did.
Please do listen to your excelent agents response to my call. Think you will find that she said. And I quote. " look me Trickett. It says on our site it takes 48hrs to confirm bookings. I can't and wont do anything till after that time. " so what you have said is wrong.
I tried to speak to one of your team. But got told to wait. Which I did. Then when your team did contact me. The flights had gone up. Again. But you are saying I could of booked them straight away with your agent.
SO WHY DIDNT SHE JUST TAKE THE PAYMENT AND BOOK MY TICKETS.
I think she just couldn't be bothered. And tried to get another £180 out of me.
Like I say. Jet2 as said the flight is still not full and that they do not increase fairs. Only agents do. If you want to check all this. Feel free. I have all the time in the world. But I'll have the proof here.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 14/01/2015

Hi, we've listened to all the calls from the number on your booking and can't find any which contain what you have detailed below, did you call off another number at all? If so, please do contact our customer service team so that we can trace the call as what you've stated is certainly not the service we expect our customers to receive.

Airlines increase their seat prices usually after around 9 seats on a flight are sold. We take our prices directly from the airlines and unfortunately on this occasion, the flight prices were slightly higher than quoted on our website. If this is the case, we don't take any payment from you and we call you to ask if you wish to continue or not.

I can't comment on why you were able to get the flights cheaper, as I don't work for the airline, however I can assure you that the flights you had selected were a higher price than showing on our website which is why our system was unable to confirm it for you.

If you would like more information on this or would like to speak to someone, please contact us via the live chat function on our website. Once again, I'm sorry for any disappointment this has caused you. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Tricky1971's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/01/2015

Whats the point of saying sorry. You are now calling me a liar. If your site as tickets for lets say £400. And then thw price rises to £580 when it's time to take the money. Surely it's your fault. If I buy petrol at £1.07 per litre. And when I go in to pay and they charge me £1.50 per litre that's false advertising and by law is only have to pay £1.07. So why should I pay you £580. Either accept that it should of been £400 or admit that your site is advertising tickets at a cheaper rate to suck you in and then say sorry it's gone up and blame the airline. I hope the lady who spoke to me as a nice career as a agent. I want nothing to do with this company. But be sure I'll be passing my thoughts on to friends and family and telling them to tell there friends and family. Not even had a ounce of sympathy from this company. Not even a full apology. Basicly it's my fault and I'm a liar.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 15/01/2015

Hi, we have not called you a liar, all I have done is explain to you the way online travel agents work. It states on our website that your order is provisional and nothing is confirmed until you have received confirmation. We were unable to confirm your order at the price on our website, therefore it was set to pending and asked if you wish to continue. Flight prices can change several times a day so this is the way that all online travel agents work, however we are the most up to date. The first order you made was for flights with Thomson and the second flights with Jet2. I have apologised for the inconvenience of this several times however this is explained on our website before you place an order with us. We have listened to all the calls from the number on your booking but cannot find the conversation you're referring to, if you have another number you could have called off then please let us know so that we can check this for you. I am very sorry for all the disappointment the price increase caused but unfortunately there is nothing more I can do as this is all explained prior to placing an order with us - Emily

Reply to this comment

Tricky1971's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 16/01/2015

Do you not think with all the complaints you have recieved you should change your policy of how people book. You replied to my message with "if you would of rang we could of got the flights at the price you advertised". Then in next reply you said you have to wait 48 hrs.
Then the calls I made have vanished. But are all recorded.
Do you not think when you score 2.2 out of 5 in views on this site that you are doing something wrong. You ask me to give you the number I called off. How can you listen to the calls if you don't already know it.
I am not interested in what your agent said as the delete button is a magic thing. I know she said what she did. She knows what she said. But you refuse to accept it.
All the complaints keep coming in. Perhaps you need to address your staff. Your site. And your policies.
And as for the few that love your company. They must be the lucky ones.
Even my uncle who as used your firm for 18 months as said it was the last time.
I hope your agent that spoke to me as a pleasent year.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 8 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“AVOID”

Written on: 09/01/2015 by Cahill207 (1 review written)

Tried to book a holiday with this company online, you pick hotel and flights of your choice and then pay. Now the rub you are then told this is a provisional booking only to be confirmed within 48 hours.At this point you are not sure if you have a holiday or not,24 hours later informed by E mail they had tried to contact us with out success and would i ring them on a premium number.This I did and was 3rd in queue down to 1st and after 10 minutes was disconnected, annoyed a little rang again… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/01/2015

Hi, I'm so sorry that you're disappointed with the service you have received from us. When you place an order online, this is provisional as our systems need to check direct with the suppliers to ensure everything is correct before taking payment. As we are not the only company selling those particular flights and hotel and although our website is updated every 15 minutes, there can sometimes be discrepancies. We would then give you a call to see if you still wish to continue. This only happens on less than 5% of our bookings and we are the most up to date online travel agent, but I'm sorry that on this occasion we were unable to honour your order. If you would like any more information, please don't hesitate to get in touch. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Money grabbers! ”

Written on: 06/01/2015 by fcHumphrey328 (1 review written)

Rude customer service reps, wouldn't refund our money once cancelled the holiday. Was told we could add suitcases on at a later date but was then faced with suitcase charge + £30 per person!!!! Awful company will never use again!!!… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 08/01/2015

Hi, I'm sorry you are disappointed with our service. If you wanted to cancel your holiday, unfortunately we wouldn't be able to give you a full refund as flights (and some hotels) are non-refundable. This is entirely out of our control as this is the policy of the airlines. As I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum, I'd advise you to speak to our customer service team via the live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page. They will be able to advise you of your options. If you would like us to look into any of the conversations between yourself and our customer service advisors, please contact us this way also, as that's not the service we expect for our customers. I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Great holiday in Gran Canaria”

Written on: 05/01/2015 by 269Santiago (1 review written)

Myself and my two adult daughters booked a holiday in Gran Canaria over Christmas through on the Beach. The flights were with Thompson and we stayed in an apartment at Servatur Terrazamar Sun Suite in Puerto Rico. Having seen a lot of negative reviews of on the Beach after having booked I got a bit worried. However, the flights and transfers went smoothly and the hotel was excellent. We had a very good holiday at a reasonable price and do not regret arranging it through on the Beach… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 08/01/2015

Hi! That's great to read, thank you so much for your comment. I'm really glad you had a nice holiday and look forward to you booking with us again in the future. Thanks - Emily. On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Messed up our booking ”

Written on: 04/01/2015 by unhappybridgetobe (1 review written)

Booked hen party' in May the agent recommended hotel said great for hen parties, booked flights and hotel received email in November to say the hotel would no longer accept us as hen party, on the beach told us we need to sort out our own hotel they wouldn't take responsibility for it the hotel stated at the end of May this was the case, on their website on the beach did not tell us this until November. They say we can't have a refund on flight as we can't find anywhere to stay on the beach… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“WEBSITE MISLEADING”

Written on: 03/01/2015 by wkprka (1 review written)

I booked a holiday via the On The Beach website. Not being proficient on a computer and feeling nervous. I entered the holiday destination and UK departure airport and was confronted by a list of flights. I selected the ones not the cheapest but with best flight times, selected hotel and proceeded to check . when I received my confirmation I had booked a flight out from Manchester and a return flight to East Midlands. I never in my wildest dreams thought that if I selected departure airport and… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 06/01/2015

Hi, I'm so sorry that you had difficulty with our website. When you do a search, our system presents you with a list of flights and sometimes, if it's cheaper, it will bring up the option to return to a different airport; if this happens then we highlight this in blue. In your summary, we also state "returning to a different airport" , but I'm sorry that you missed this. Unfortunately, as we pay the airlines for your flights and they are non-refundable, we aren't able to change these free of charge. Instead we will have to pass on the amendment fees from your airline. I'm really sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and hope that you enjoy your holiday. If you'd like any more information then please don't hesitate to ask. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Worst travel company I have ever used! ”

Written on: 28/12/2014 by Kimmieb77 (1 review written)

Awful from start to finish, started with flights being changed the day before I was due to fly, was due to leave at 11 and left at 5 instead which meant we lost half a day and had to rearrange pick up at airport costing me money, we arrived very late at our apartment hungry with nothing open. The transfer was late and then went around the houses so originally stated 50 minutes from the airport and was two hours. The hotel was awful they had dogs saying in the room next to ours( not good when… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 02/01/2015

Hi, it's disappointing to read that you were unhappy with your holiday. Flight changes are something which can occur with the airline and are completely out of our control unfortunately, but I'm sorry that you were affected by this. I'm sorry to see that you were unhappy with your hotel also. In a case like this, we would need to forward your complaint on to your hotel supplier to give them a chance to investigate this with the hotel. As per ABTA guidelines, this can take up to 56 days, however we aim to resolve any issues a lot quicker than this. As I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number on a public forum, I'd advise you to speak to a member of our customer service team via the free live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page. They can then advise you what the next steps to further your complaint are. Once again, I'm really sorry you had a bad experience and hope that we can get this sorted for you. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Kimmieb77's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2015

Your company forwarded complaint to the hotel and they basically called me a liar even though I have photo evidence. Have contacted your customer service 28 times in total and have had no reply to the last 26, so like I say worst company I have ever used, won't even take complaints over the phone. Basically you are unable to complain which is surely not legal. My reference no is MYB2739895B if you are sincerely interested in looking into my worst holiday ever!

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 07/01/2015

Hi, unfortunately we are unable to take complaints over the phone because, as per ABTA guidelines, we need them in writing. I've spoken to a member of our customer feedback team and he is currently looking into your booking again. He has advised me that he will send you an email shortly and hopefully get this resolved for you. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“Price Match, their get out clause, be warned!!!! ”

Written on: 17/12/2014 by west1246 (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with On the Beach, however within less than 24 hours of booking it was brought to my attention by a family member that another company, Expedia, was selling the same holiday, flights, hotel, room type, dates, baggage allowance and ground transfers identical to the one I had just purchased with On The Beach for a price difference of the hotel being £370.00 cheaper with Expedia. I immediately contacted On The Beach and they sent me the appropriate email explaining what… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 18/12/2014

Hi, I'm sorry we were unable to offer you a price match on this occasion. Our price match promise does state clearly that every element of the holiday must be the same and that we have to be able to see all this information. Generally we don't price match Expedia as they don't show all the holiday elements before booking - however this is the only company I'm aware of which does this so I can assure you we do offer price matches for a lot of companies. Unfortunately, as we have already paid for your flights and they are non-refundable with the airline, if you wished to cancel, you would lose this cost. I'm really sorry you were disappointed with our service on this occasion. If you'd like any more information, please let us know. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach.

Reply to this comment

West1246's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 21/12/2014

Thank you for your reply and advice regarding your company On the Beach. Confirming On the Beach cannot and will not price match Expedia.

The Customer Service advisors I spoke to did not know this , however
the advisors I spoke to stressed that On the Beach did price match On line Booking Companies with no exceptions as confirmed in the terms and conditions, they did not mention any companies which were not included in this.

Your reply did not explain the loss of up to £500 which I would lose when
I enquired about cancelling my holiday within 24 hours of booking.
With cancellation and administration charges included.
Which would make it impossible for me to cancel my holiday, as the
difference in the cost was £370, this price difference was for the same
twin room I had booked with On The Beach.

The moral of this outcome is, there is no Price Matching, with this get
out clause.



Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Absolute rip off merchants!”

Written on: 20/11/2014 by sophie.lang (1 review written)

I have used on the beach holidays 3 years running and never had any great issues until something goes wrong on holiday then they are absolutely totally useless ! We booked to stay in the 5 star all inclusive Surmeli Efes hotel in Kusadasi, Turkey, the holiday cost almost £1000 for 7 nights and did not include any transfers as on the beach refused to price match holidaytaxis.com. We had a change in flight times and on the beach didn’t bother to inform us, we only found out by going onto… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 20/11/2014

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear about your holiday experience. As your travel agent, we have to forward all complaints on to your hotel supplier for them to carry out a full investigation with the hotel. All I can do is apologise that this was delayed by an incorrect email address. If you are unhappy with the response you have received from the hotel, we will of course do our best to help you respond to them. We would need you to respond to our complaints email address so that we can forward this on to them. If you'd like some help with this, please get in touch and we can take a look for you. I really hope we can get this sorted. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Sophie.lang's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2014

Hi Emily, I was more than unhappy with the hotels response and all on the beach said was - On behalf of On The Beach, although we understand this may not be the response you were hoping for, we would reiterate our position only as an agent in the arrangement of your accommodation and not a package provider. As the Hotelier has decided not to make any offer of compensation, we can only add our own apologies to those already made - the hotel told lies regarding what food we ate in the hotel and I have the photos to show it yet you will not do a thing. Matthew from your office was dealing with my complaint but I was told theres nothing more you can do and to go to ABTA if I want to take it further. I have written to BBC Watchdog, Daily Record - The Judge, ABTA & the hotels email address on their website.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Ripped off!”

Written on: 10/11/2014 by Lew2014 (1 review written)

Booked flights to Cyprus with this company 2 weeks ago, outbound with Easyjet inbound with Ryanair, only for Ryanair to then cancel the route and therefore our inbound flight. Ryanair emailed confirming they'd refunded the 1400 euros that had been paid to them, which is around £1100. On the beach then offered £823 to me, claiming that was what i'd paid for the flights. Apparently they'd paid the difference, but then couldn't explain how i'd therefore paid £772 for Easyjet flights that were… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/11/2014

Hi, I'm sorry that this hasn't been explained properly to you by our advisors. Due to the way On The Beach calculate costs, we offer you the price of an outbound and inbound flight combined. On occasions these flights can be with different flight providers so you get the exact flights, dates and departure times you have requested. Unfortunately at times these prices can fluctuate, however in the instance of having 2 different flight providers (in your case Easyjet and Ryanair) one flight price may increase but the other flight price may decrease. Our automated booking system will check if overall the amount you are paying will cover the cost of both flights combined and if it does it will book it automatically with the original price you were quoted to each airline. You're therefore not paying any more, the costs are simply distributed across each airline slightly different. I hope this clears things up, however if you'd still like to speak to someone about this, please don't hesitate to get in touch - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Lew2014's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2014

A response filled with vague waffle once again! Brilliant, thanks!

So, not only do you expose me to financial risk, you also expose yourselves to financial risk by not booking flights with the airline at the same time as you are quoting prices to your customers! Again, this just doesn't ring true - consider the following, which sums up what i believe you are telling me:

1) At the time of booking with you i also checked directly on both airlines websites and confirmed the prices they were charging.

2) At this time you claim you were quoting me £270 or so more for the Easyjet flights than their own website was quoting

3) You were also, therefore, quoting me a similar amount less for the Ryanair flights than their website was quoting. Coincidentally, these differences almost exactly offset each other

4) In the period between me clicking to confirm my booking and you booking the flights with the airlines the Easyjet flights reduced by around £270, remarkably to around the amount they were charging directly.

5) Coincidentally, at exactly the same time the price of Ryanair flights increased by the same amount as the Easyjet flights had reduced.

6) Luckily for you, the overall cost you had to pay the airlines was the same as i'd paid you

7) By not booking with the airlines immediately at the time of my booking with you, as you claim happened, you exposed yourselves to the risk that both airlines put their prices up

8) By exposing me to financial risk, as you have done, you have failed to honour "the basic obligation under this contract [to act with reasonable skill and care]"

If you would be so kind as to provide proof that the prices you claim to have charged me, ie. £823 for Ryanair and £772 for Easyjet, are the prices that were charged by the airlines on your system at the time i booked.

I am also still awaiting a response as to how, if you are acting merely as an agent on my behalf, and my contract is with the airline as your terms state, my contract with the airline is not made at the time they are paid for the flights and hence at the price the airline is paid.

I have tried to get proper answers to my questions several times so don't see how contacting you again will make any difference - my last email of complaint is, as yet, unanswered after a week!

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 18/11/2014

Hi, when you place an order on our website, our system will check prices and availability to ensure they are correct (our website updates every 15 minutes but prices can fluctuate sometimes between updates). If everything is available, our system will take payment and book your holiday, if however there is a discrepancy in the prices which the money you paid cannot cover, we wouldn't take any payment and we would call you to ask if you'd like to continue with your booking with the increased price. This is unfortunately the way that all online travel agents work and we are the most up to date. As I do not have your reference number I cannot comment any further than this about your individual booking. We have a live chat function on our website which will allow you to speak to one of our advisors and they will be able to give you more specific information about your particular booking. I'm afraid any information I provide on here will be vague as I have been unable to view your booking. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Lew2014's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2014

I've tried the live chat function and got nowhere. One person i dealt with on there seemed to think both my flights were with Ryanair, before being replaced by someone, presumably a supervisor, who was bordering on rude!

As with all methods of attempting to communicate with you. they have also been completely unable to give a straight answer to my questions so i don't feel it is a viable or worthwhile exercise to use that function again. I also feel it better to raise these questions in a public forum so that other people may be warned about the practices employed by this company!!

I don't know why you would need my booking reference to reply in general terms to my question about who my contract is with, and the role you play [as an agent...acting on my behalf...with reasonable skill and care], and the subsequent financial implications of this.

As you state, if the prices were to increase you would have contacted me to see if i wished to proceed, so if prices reduce do you also contact your customers to refund any excess amounts they may have been quoted originally?

Rather than talk vaguely about fluctuating prices, can you please explain to me how you feel it is morally correct for you to pay a certain amount of money for a service on my behalf, then to keep some of that money for yourselves when the service is later cancelled.

Can you also confirm that if it had been the Easyjet flight that had been cancelled, you would have refunded the £772 you claim i paid for that flight to me and not the £500 or so you would have received from the airline? I wish to have confirmed in writing that it is your standard operating practice to both offer refunds in excess of what you receive from airlines, and offer refunds of less than you receive from airlines, depending on the circumstances.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 21/11/2014

Hi, I have explained our process in general terms as you requested however I understand your confusion. You have been refunded the amount you paid for the flight. You paid less than required for your inbound flight and we covered this extra cost because the amount you were paying for your outbound flight meant we weren't losing any money as a company. This is the way our system books flights. I have spoken to our customer feedback department and asked that they give you a call today to explain how booking systems work in more detail. Please remove your last comment for security reasons as it contains your MYB reference number and this is a public forum. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Lew2014's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2014

Unsurprisingly you have failed to answer any of my questions once again. Please do not waste my time by having someone call me to repeat the nonsense you have already repeatedly "explained". I am not stupid! I understand what you are claiming, but am disputing the validity of what you are saying. I have asked several questions in order to achieve some clarity but these have been ignored over and over again!

I have not received a refund of the amount i paid for the flight - i paid 1400 euros as my contract is with the airline, not on the beach! I have asked you to provide a explanation from a legal perspective of how your terms and conditions allow you to do what you have done, and how the terms i have mentioned, in this review, by email and by live chat, are not valid, from a legal perspective. I request that you provide this in writing.

Furthermore, the 1400 euros Ryanair refunded to you included an amount of 25.50 euros which was a payment i made directly to Ryanair for seat allocation. This couldn't have therefore been included in the £823.50 you say i paid for the flight so i require an immediate refund of this amount.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 6 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“Consumer not Protected - Be Warned”

Written on: 10/11/2014 by geoffrey33 (1 review written)

We booked a holiday with On The Beach.com. The Hotel was totally mis-sold, i.e the descriptions of services were simply not true. Lots of facilities were either not available, mis-described, very dangerous, or the Hotel simply took no -responsibility for them. When we complained, we were left waiting for nearly seven weeks for a response. They simply say "we felt that your supplier (Hotels4U) was in the better position to respond to what you have said. We have therefore forwarded your… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 18/11/2014

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear of your disappointment with On the Beach. Because we act as an agent, we have to forward any complaints on to the hotel supplier for investigation which is why it can sometimes take longer than we would like to receive a response. We do continually chase them for a reply and do everything we can to stay within ABTA guidelines. I completely understand your frustration and I believe you spoke to one of my colleagues yesterday who is now dealing with your complaint. I've just been over to speak to our feedback department to make sure that your case is being prioritised and they have ensured me that they will contact you today with a response. I really hope we can sort this out for you. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Geoffrey33's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2014

Dear Emily. Please stop trying to blame your suppliers and take responsibilty for your companies actions and the products that you sell and receive commission to sell to the public. The completely inaccurate descriptions of services were your own and not those of your supplier or of the Hotel. As such it was On The Beach that mis-sold the holiday to us.

Your claim that OTB act as 'agent' is simply your attempt to avoid the Package Travel Regulations act. You even call yourselves a Travel Agent' on your own website. The Package Travel Regulations act applies to both 'tour operators' and 'travel agents' and failure to comply is a criminal offence.

We have reported OTB to the Advertsing Standards Agency for false advertising, as you have failed to satisfactorily resolve the problem or made any attempt to refund the money that we paid you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Do not use this scamming company”

Written on: 02/11/2014 by CarsenTerry381 (1 review written)

I used this company to book flights to Florida ,they where with monarch which was fine but on the beach charged 52 for meals and 42 pounds for baggage and monarch include meals and baggage in there flights (no need to ay as an extra for this)and on the beach charge full adult price for a 14 year old and if booked direct with monarch she would have gone as a child ,saving two hundred pounds in all it would have been almost 409 pounds cheaper booking these flights direct with the airline rather… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 04/11/2014

Hi, I'm really sorry to see that you are disappointed with our service. Meals and baggage aren't automatically included in Monarch's prices, there is an option to have all these extras included, or you can select flight only and add all your extras individually - this is the option our system chose to do. Please be ensured you were not charged extra for these items, as they weren't included in Monarch's airfare.

When purchasing a flight, you are paying for a seat on the plane, and this doesn't vary depending on age. On Monarch's website, the cost of 2 adults is the same as the cost of one adult and one child, therefore you wouldn't have been charged any extra for this reason.

If you would like to speak to someone about this, we have various ways to get in touch, including a live chat function on our website which you should be able to get straight through on - this is on our 'contact us' page.

I hope this helps and once again, I'm really sorry for any confusion our pricing caused. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“AVOID AT ALL COST”

Written on: 30/10/2014 by Atkinson395 (1 review written)

I booked flights and a hotel with on the beach. The hotel was a 5 star luxury hotel and I booked the best room they had which was a superior suite with its own private pool. I paid nearly £2500 for the pleasure! What I got was not the luxury hotel I was expecting; The room had an extensively damaged bathroom door with huge splinters sticking out. The electric coffee machine leaked water. The patio furniture was broken and unusable, the private pool had a light fitting that was hanging out… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 31/10/2014

Hi, I'm so sorry to read that you were disappointed with your hotel, this isn't what we expect for our customers. On the Beach acts as an agent which means that when you place an order with us, your contract is with your hotel supplier. We do everything that we can to help customers with any issues they may experience whilst away. We would certainly like to look into this for you and pass your comments on to your supplier so that they can investigate this with the hotel. Please get in touch with us so that we can assist you with this. Once again, I'm really sorry for the disappointment you've experienced with your holiday - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Ruined our family holiday ”

Written on: 25/10/2014 by Kelliwarr (1 review written)

We booked with " on the beach " 8 weeks ago. We were supposed to be staying at Palm beach club which was a 2 bedroom apartment on the beach with our two children. Literally 10 days ago my husband just happened to log on to our account at " on the beach " to find our booking had been changed. They had sent the inbox message 2 weeks prior to us finding it and didn't have the decency to send us a proper email to our normal email address. They said out apartment had had been changed due to hygiene… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 28/10/2014

Hi, I'm so sorry to hear that you've had trouble with your hotel booking. We do send out emails as well as sending messages through Manage Your Booking but I'm really sorry that you didn't receive this. Hopefully we can find out what's happened and get this sorted for you, or if you've already returned home, please get in touch so that we look into this for you. Once again, I'm so sorry for the problems you've experienced - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“transfer hell”

Written on: 14/10/2014 by arlenemcgarry (1 review written)

Booked a holiday to Majorca for myself, partner and 7 month old baby. Paid £204.00 for a return transfer by private taxi as i had read the reviews and found out that the shuttle transfer was approx 3 hours. On arriving, found out that no taxi had been booked and was forced to sit on a coach for 3hours with my young child and no safety restraints. Contacted the transfer company while I was there and was informed that I had to take up this issue with on the beach. I have been contacting this… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“Worst Company I've ever dealt with Everyone AVOID OR...”

Written on: 09/10/2014 by SteveSangha (1 review written)

I've had the most torrid time with on the beach over the past 4 months, we booked a "5star" holiday package to Lara beach turkey with on the beach as the price they quoted was marginally better than other high street agents, BIG MISTAKE!! Amongst a host of other issues with booking, The hotel had renovation work all over and was so noisy! The staff were appalling, there was no cot for our 10 month old! And we complained the 1st day we got there to on the beach and was told to make what we can… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

Sophie.lang's Response to SteveSangha's Review

Written on: 21/11/2014

Hi Steve,

I had the same problem with on the beach in a 5 star Turkish hotel in October 2014. I have wrote to BBC watch dog, ABTA, Daily Record the Judge and the hotel directly I urge you to do the same, the more complaints from real customers will real experiences the more likely something is to be done.

Sophie

Reply to this comment

Geoffrey33's reply to Sophie.lang's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2014

We have reported them to the Advertising Standards Authority, Watchdog and Trading Standards. Terrible company who are taking peoples money but don't appear to have to answer to the consequences of continually NOT delivering what people have paid them for.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“APPAULLING APPAULLING APPAULLING COMPANY”

Written on: 21/09/2014 by richardhenrythomas (1 review written)

Where do i start!!! WE booked are holiday to Marmaris Oct 13 for June14. The whole holiday was a disaster that we booked with on the beach. It started at the airport and did not end untill we moved to another hotel.(you can read my review on tripadvisor).My compliant about on the beach is when we moved from the hotel the rep told us we could get a full refund of the hotel cost when we get back to the uk.We contacted ONB as soon as we returned. WE have had two offers of £22.00.The thing is… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

Stevesangha's Response to richardhenrythomas's Review

Written on: 09/10/2014

I can second how bad they are and cannot tell people enough not to book with them!

Reply to this comment

Geoffrey33's Response to richardhenrythomas's Review

Written on: 26/11/2014

We have reported them to the Advertising Standards Authority, Watchdog and Trading Standards. Terrible company who are taking peoples money but don't appear to have to answer to the consequences of continually NOT delivering what people have paid them for. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY if you value your hard earned cash

Reply to this comment

Sue1966's reply to Geoffrey33's Comment

Written on: 10/01/2015

thank you for all your reviews i was going to book with this company
but so glad i didn't , they seem a terrible company
and thank god for sites like this
thank you once again.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/01/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you feel this way. We get excellent reviews on the independent review site, Feefo. Any problems customers have are extremely rare, but as with any company, can occur. If this is the case we do everything we can to resolve it. If you'd like any more information, please do not hesitate to ask. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Shane_007's reply to Geoffrey33's Comment

Written on: 31/01/2015

Ive just read the the response (although she sounds sweet she should stop towing the company line and deal with complaints in a more proactive way) from On The Beach and it says that complaints from customers are quite rare my backside are they ive just read pages and pages of bad reviews on Holiday Truths website . Ive just booked with them to Turkey and now reading these complaints and with the way that they are dealt with im really starting to regret booking with them fingers crossed and 1 of those rare things everything will go perfectly but im not holding my hopes to high .

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“NEVER BOOK, AWFUL COMPANY!!!”

Written on: 17/09/2014

I warn you all now, NEVER EVER book through On the Beach. After messing up our flight home from Egypt and leaving us stranded with their helpline closed, WE had to pay out over £600 for new flights to get home to GATWICK instead of Luton, of which we didn't get home till 6am after landing at 1:30am! They then taking over 6 WEEKS to deal with our complaint and refund, but they refuse to refund our baggage and offer minimum compensation for the hassle they have caused by not telling us that our… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

Geoffrey33's Comment

Written on: 26/11/2014

We have reported them to the Advertising Standards Authority, Watchdog and Trading Standards. Terrible company who are taking peoples money but don't appear to have to answer to the consequences of continually NOT delivering what people have paid them for. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY if you value your hard earned cash

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Do not touch On the Beach - go to a reputable travel...”

Written on: 12/09/2014 by Thorpe117 (1 review written)

We would not use this company again. We booked a holiday in Crete earlier this year and as always I compared the photos of the facilities and especially the hotel bedrooms. For the holiday we chose there was only one photo on the website of a beautiful bedroom - this is what we were expecting to get. What we actually got was like a Butlins holiday camp - no disrespect to the hotel. We tried getting On the Beach to upgrade us without any joy and ended up paying the hotel an additional 270 euros… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“DO NOT USE!!!”

Written on: 10/09/2014 by Hodge627 (1 review written)

I so wish I watched more TV... I'd have seen the Watchdog warnings! I so wish I'd have just gone into the high street shop and dealt with a person... As with every review I have now seen regarding this company they have changed our holiday we booked months ago. Booked and paid in advance for a room that does not exist, in a resort that is no longer available! Can't even stay in the area we had planned for, made reservations in and organised to meet friends and family in!!! Now instead of our… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review
overview
onthebeach.co.uk