The Sports HQ Reviews - www.thesportshq.com

★★★☆☆
3.0 / 5
413
52% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
The Sports HQ www.thesportshq.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for The Sports HQ www.thesportshq.com

The Sports HQ www.thesportshq.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Not a good start”

Written on: 20/03/2014 by lsRobb75 (1 review written)

This is the first time I have used this site and certainly won't be using it again. I haven't even received my item yet but my opinions on this site is not great! I placed an order for a treadmill on the 18th march and asked for next day delivery (before 4pm) I waited in on the 19th but thought it was strange that I hadn't received a dispatched email so decided to ring them up. Got through to a snobby sounding woman who told me I wouldn't get my item that day as the order didn't get to the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Dissapointed ”

Written on: 03/03/2014 by szGreenwood328 (1 review written)

I haven't even received my order yet and I am already disappointed. I ordered on Saturday morning, I stupidly forgot my PayPal delivery address is my home address, I can't be there upon delivery as I work, so immediately I tried calling, live chatting and emailing to change my address to 2 minutes down the road to my work address. No answer. I tried live chatting again this morning to be told that it is in there warehouse and they're unable to change the address. So it is still in there… Read Full Review

Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 09/03/2014

I'm not sure how fair it is to say we are liars here, but essentially, once the order has been sent to the warehouse, trying to find it is impossible. A typical day could be in excess of 2000 orders, and once the label has been printed, it could be at any stage in dispatch (including actually having left already - we don't get that information updated until the end of the day after the shipping manifest is completed). Looking through 2000 orders to try and find one is just an impossible challenge. It's not an issue of been lazy or unhelpful, it's just one of practicality and common sense. We are working to improve so that we have information that is closer to real time, but at this point in time, we just don't have that. I'm sorry for the inconvenience, I hope you can understand why we couldn't do more to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Honesty is not known at this site”

Written on: 27/02/2014 by Neveah139 (1 review written)

Ordered a Nike iron set covert 4-pw, paid by Paypal, Refunded because they said that irons out of stock, but two days later they return available on the site, and they tell me, that I can buy them at full price!!! Terrible service and honesty… Read Full Review

Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 09/03/2014

We messed up on this - there were some crossed wires. We didn't have the item in stock but they were already on their way from Nike. You should never have been contacted to say they were out of stock. If you still want them, we will of course honour the deal price. Sorry about the inconvenience and hassle.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Brilliant service!!”

Written on: 25/02/2014

Brilliant service. Ordered item Thursday and it arrived Saturday. Item as described. Very happy and would recommend company to friends and family… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't Advertise what you don't have in stock.”

Written on: 18/02/2014

Ordered a Taylormade R1 Driver, paid by Paypal, heard nothing regarding shipment so rang them. Took ages to find order, then claimed that the system was down and that they thought the club had been despatched and should arrive in the next couple of days - not very reassuring. Following day an email to say still out of stock but would I like an alternative I had already checked the site prior to calling them and guess what - club was still being advertised. Asked why this was and was told there… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 20/02/2014

Hi, really sorry about this. This isn't deliberate - there is no benefit in us selling products we don't have, it just means we waste our time and yours. Sometimes, we just get our inventory counts wrong, and other times it takes a little time for products to sync between our different systems, which is potentially why it was showing as available, even though it wasn't.

When were you told the system was down, and by who, if you don't mind me asking. I don't know of any recent downtime, so I'd like to investigate and find out what's gone on - I'll send you a direct email.

Hopefully you can give us another chance, we really don't deliberate get the wrong information on the site, it's either a human or systematic error, but certainly not some ploy to dupe you.

Once again, apologies for the hassle.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor communication”

Written on: 11/02/2014

Telephoned to check item was in stock and that I could collect from shop (as I was concerned about poor reviews for ordering online) When I went to shop to collect I was told they had no stock of item on site - it was at a different warehouse - I offered to go to the other warehouse to collect but was told I couldn't do this. Asked to speak to one of the managers but told no-one was there (despite seeing cars outside parked in spaces for them.0 Left business card with short message to express… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 20/02/2014

Sorry to hear this. We do have two warehouses, and we're only allowed customers on one site, which is why we couldn't allow you to go to the second. We're always prepared to bring items over to you.

I don't know who received the card, but at the moment the three managers with labelled parking spaces are overseas and have been for some time, so it's fair to say it didn't end up with it's intended audience.

Either way though, we can't allow customers onto the second warehouse premises, and that would be unchanged even if you had spoken to one of the managers.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never got my item delivered......”

Written on: 04/02/2014 by kann (1 review written)

Orderd the item on 10th of Jan, Asked & paid extra for a saturday delivery . They never informed the parcel people ablut the saturday delivery.. Yodel informed me they will be delivering it on 21st jan & now accoding to them, they delivered it on 20th. Calling sports hq everyday . Finaly got a mail for them last week saying they will be refunding it . No news after that & no refund came . Send a mail yesterday & i got a mail saying that Yodel has resolved it . No idea what have they resolved… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 06/02/2014

Hi,

I'm really sorry to hear this. As you can imagine, we are reliant on the information we get from our carrier partners, ultimately we want you to have the product you've ordered, we certainly don't want to mess you around like this, so sorry to hear that.

If you'd like, you can share your order number with me and I'll try and get to the cause of the problem and give you a definitive answer as to what's going on.

Once again, sorry for the hassle so far

Reply to this comment

Thesportshq's Response to kann's Review

Written on: 06/02/2014

Hi,

I'm really sorry to hear this. As you can imagine, we are reliant on the information we get from our carrier partners, ultimately we want you to have the product you've ordered, we certainly don't want to mess you around like this, so sorry to hear that.

If you'd like, you can share your order number with me and I'll try and get to the cause of the problem and give you a definitive answer as to what's going on.

Once again, sorry for the hassle so far

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“OMG dont know what to do ”

Written on: 01/02/2014

i want to order Treadmill but after reading all these complaints im now unsure about using this company omg… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 06/02/2014

Perhaps you could wait until you've received your order, and then leave a review?

As always, if you need any help, you can call us.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Waiting for refund”

Written on: 18/01/2014 by Rbk999 (1 review written)

It's been over 3 months and still waiting for refund… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 06/02/2014

I'll send you an email - that shouldn't have happened, refunds are processed within 1-2 working days, so something's gone wrong here.

Sorry for the hassle, we'll get this taken care of

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful.”

Written on: 17/01/2014

I would give them no stars if it was allowed. Worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. After receiving a faulty item I was promised a replacement part that would sort the fault. They said it would be sent there and then via next day delivery. After not receiving the part the next day, I decided to use their awful live chat to find out what had happened. They apologised and promised I would get the part the next day. After being fobbed off like this every working day for… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Bought Treadmill”

Written on: 11/01/2014 by susan1999 (1 review written)

Read bad reports about this company after I had ordered a treadmill but I am pleased to say all went very smoothly. No problems with delivery or the treadmill and the 2 emails I sent with queries were answered. Happy Customer… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrendous service”

Written on: 11/01/2014 by Fiddlededee (1 review written)

Ordered a treadmill and paid for one day delivery. It didn't arrive and hadn't even been dispatched. Waiting for a refund like others. Not worth the hassle if there's a problem… Read Full Review

Thesportshq's Response to Fiddlededee's Review

Written on: 13/01/2014

Hi, I'm sorry to hear about this, could you let me have your order number so I can see what's gone on? We are all up to date with processing refunds so I can only assume we've made a mistake somewhere, I'll get this sorted for you.

Reply to this comment

Fiddlededee's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2014

Invoice ID 20140102/35345

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“awaiting refund nearly 3 months later.”

Written on: 08/01/2014 by MDOLPHINA (1 review written)

Ordered item on 24/10/13 ...paid £10 STRAIGHT AWAY to have it collected by a courier...and here I am to this day still awaiting it to be picked up. 5 occasions now someone has waited in for this parcel to be collected and no courier has arrived - im sick of contacting this company for the date to be rebooked something further needs to be done. My payment therefore of £10 is sitting nicely in there bank whilst im out of pocket? Avoid this company at all costs, amateur staff and not to mention… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 09/01/2014

Hi,

I'm really sorry for what's gone on with this, we'll get this sorted for you.

I emailed you to find your order number - could you please let me have that so I can get this resolved ASAP.

Thank you, and apologies once again

Reply to this comment

By Thesportshq

Written on: 10/01/2014

I haven't heard anything back from from the email I sent, please reply if I can be of assistance

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Run by amateurs”

Written on: 07/01/2014 by Micksumo (1 review written)

I have ordered from this company in the past and they have always been good and efficient with posting products. However I placed an order for some items that they had heavily discounted. They decided that they didn't want to sell the quantity to me so rejected my order. I am still awaiting a refund from them..... Ah a lot of people have said on here avoid these. There are better companies out there selling similar stuff who offer you good customer service. They need to tell people if… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 08/01/2014

Any terms of purchase are always expressed clearly in the item description.

All refunds should be processed overnight, or worst case scenario within 2 working days, so if you have still not had yours, we'll find out what's going on for you.

Could you let me have your order number?

Reply to this comment

Micksumo's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 09/01/2014

I have requested my refund since Monday and still nothing. The fact is that I was looking to buy something else from your website but refuse to do so until I get my refund back. My postcode starts with b73 you should be able to find the order number from that. I requested my money back through PayPal on Monday and have still not had anything.

Reply to this comment

Thesportshq's reply to Micksumo's Comment

Written on: 10/01/2014

Yes got it - your refund has already been issued actually, it was done yesterday evening, have you received it ok?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid - never received item - BAD service - NEVER use...”

Written on: 07/01/2014

I have never felt the urge to write a review on a company until now!!!!!! I DO DO NOT RECOMMEND - NEVER RECEIVED ITEM - BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE - NEVER GOT MONEY BACK - NEVER ANSWER THE TELEPHONE -… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 08/01/2014

Sorry you've had these problems. Could you provide an order number so we can see what's gone on?

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“This company is the PITS”

Written on: 07/01/2014 by Ozziemog52 (2 reviews written)

Do not even think about using them. You will spend hours on the phone if things go wrong and getting a refund seems just about impossible. They do not seem to understand the Distance Selling Regulations and if they do they ignore them. I have spent 6 weeks now trying to get a refund for goods that have been returned. Make sure you keep all receipts as you will certainly need them if you want to attempt to get a refund! My honest opinion AVOID AT ALL COSTS. None of the directors seems to… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 08/01/2014

Can I try and help you get this sorted? Sorry for any problems, but refunds are processed quickly (within 2 working days most of the time) - so if you've been waiting 6 weeks, clearly something has gone wrong.

If you send me your order number, I'll find out what's gone on and get this sorted for you.

Reply to this comment

Ozziemog52's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 09/01/2014

It would appear that writing to you with copies to your company secretary and chairman threatening legal action within seven days finally achieved a result. However, I should not have been forced to do this when you were in breach of the Distance Selling Regulations.

Reply to this comment

Thesportshq's reply to Ozziemog52's Comment

Written on: 10/01/2014

It's hard for me to comment or try and understand what's gone on without knowing more details, such as your order number, but I can say copying those people won't have made any difference in terms of the service we offer. Sending to our company secretary (who is our accountant) for example, will just have meant he forwarded on to the customer service team.

No matter what happened previously, I am sorry that you've not had the service you expected, and I'd really appreciate it if you can help me investigate with your order number so we can prevent it happening again. I'll send you an email to your address registered with ReviewCentre if you are worried about posting it publicly.

Reply to this comment

Ozziemog52's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 10/01/2014

ORDER REFERENCE 20131026/31961

Goods ordered 26 October 2013
Goods thrown over gate while no one at home 1 November 2013
Goods received 4 November 2013
Returns label requested 5 November 2013
Returns label debited to my account 6 November 2013
Several phone calls and emails later
Returns label received 2 weeks later 21 November 2013
Goods Dispatched to SPORTSHQ 22 November 2013
Goods received by SPORTSHQ 26 November 2013
Tracking number V5MGM8P
about 10 unanswered phone calls and 40 emails later
Partial refund received 9 December 2014
Still awaiting £4.99 carriage as stated on the returns section of your website. See below.

"Changed your mind or not your size?
No problem, you can return your item to us within 7 working days of receiving it, providing it is new, unused and complete (including, if applicable, instruction manuals, fixings, screws etc). You’ll need to pay for all postage costs sending the item back to us. We’ll issue you a full refund when the goods get back, including postage."







Reply to this comment

Thesportshq's reply to Ozziemog52's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2014

Yes, as confirmed on the phone, that was a simple human error on our end, that £4.99 will be refunded and has already gone to accounts for processing, should be with you within 48 hours.

Reply to this comment

Ozziemog52's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2014

Thank you, we got there finally just a shame it took so long that I have now lost confidence in your company and will not be using them again.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 6 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“worst company ever”

Written on: 07/01/2014 by elen203 (1 review written)

this company is a joke. do not trust them. it is run by idiots im sure about that. they're just having fun . i believe that they put a camera on my elliptical and ill be on tv in a prank show or smthng. … Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 07/01/2014

Elen,

This is not the first site you've posted this complaint to. As per our responses to your other rants, we're sorry you ran into problems, but we really did try to help you.

You couldn't figure out how to assemble your item, and we emailed you to offer you personal, step by step support, which you ignored.

You then decided you wanted a refund, we left a voicemail to arrange, which you ignored for almost 2 weeks.

We finally arranged a collection, only for you to say you no longer want it with some rant about pizza (?!?) on Facebook, and that you'll keep the item.

If you change your mind and want to get this resolved, we are still happy to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The Foxtons of sports gear - avoid at all costs”

Written on: 04/01/2014 by Reviewer1988 (1 review written)

I paid extra for Saturday delivery (I ordered several days before the cut-off too) and wasted all day waiting for my delivery. It never came. Now I have the prospect of trying to retrieve my cash. A refund after 30 days (provided they don't forget) is not good enough. I resent supporting the cash-flow of such an abysmal business. Processing a card refund takes seconds. M. Fisher… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 07/01/2014

M Fisher, if you can let me have your order number, I'll get this sorted out. I'm not sure from your message exactly what's gone on so hopefully with a little more info we'll get to the bottom of it.

I apologise for the failed delivery on the Saturday and that you wasted a day.

Your refund certainly shouldn't take 30 days. We process refunds within 2 working days.

Send me your order number and I'll get this sorted for you.

Reply to this comment

Lozzarama's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 07/01/2014

agree with you Mr Fisher - still waiting for my tracking info for my kettle bell set ordered weeks ago -

Reply to this comment

By Thesportshq

Written on: 08/01/2014

As per your other comments, please provide us a means to identify your order and we'll get to the bottom of it for you.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“AWFUL. Worst customer service experience.”

Written on: 04/01/2014 by cbailey1988 (1 review written)

If you receive the correct products you'll be fine. If you need a refund they state they'll get back to you and resolve your problem in 5 working days. 3 months on, I'm still waiting. They state you'll get a refund in 30 days, 3 months on I'm still waiting. The worst customer service I've ever experienced. I've sent them approximately 20 emails and had not one response. I do not recommend this company and would strongly suggest using another… Read Full Review

By Thesportshq

Written on: 07/01/2014

If you've sent 20 emails and not had a single reply, it would seem likely that we're not receiving them. We reply to every email, none are ignored.

Perhaps you could call us instead?

Reply to this comment

Lozzarama's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 07/01/2014

I ve phoned on numerous occasions and no one has ever answered . Can you please send me my tracking information for a kettle bell set I ordered weeks ago???

Reply to this comment

By Thesportshq

Written on: 08/01/2014

Yes no problem, but need some way of identifying your order please - order number probably best?

Reply to this comment

Mdolphina's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 08/01/2014

You really don't reply to every email..... i think you should check that statistic, i have a few unanswered. it seems you pick and choose what and what not to reply to... and as for calling you... your staff are complete drips... i work in customer service myself and never would i ever treat a paying customer - whom may i add keep your company in profit - the way you have treat people on here.

Reply to this comment

Swizzie's reply to Thesportshq's Comment

Written on: 16/01/2014

Funny? Judging by the comments on here, you very rarely answer emails. You certainly ignored mine when I had an issue with my goods. Thank God for Paypal is all I can say

Reply to this comment

Reviewer1988's Response to cbailey1988's Review

Written on: 04/01/2014

May I suggest writing a letter before claim?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 6 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★★★★★

“Great value fast delivery ”

Written on: 03/01/2014

I've had no problem with this company so can't understand the bad reviews. I read them before buying so took a chance and glad I did. I bought the confidence elliptical cross trainer 69.99 which was delivered the next day as stated, although this was at 7.30pm. Good value for money and only took me and my partner 45 mins to put together. Works great and the only power needed is the batteries for the display which are also provided as an extra bonus. Would recommend to family and friends… Read Full Review

Swizzie's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2014

I can only say that you have been extremely lucky. The service I personally received from this company was zero. Perhaps the fact that your item was delivered and in good working order meant that you didn't have to deal with their Customer Service department, which is what the majority of the complaints are about.
Personally, I still wouldn't recommend the company to friends and family just in case they aren't one of the lucky few.
Glad you had a successful transaction - my son's birthday was without gifts because of this company, despite me ordering 4 weeks prior to it.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview