Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.6 / 5
71% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Booked meal at the Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye for 16...”

Written on: 02/07/2009 by stephen johnson (1 review written)

Booked meal at the Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye for 16 people mid week and found the food to be of excellant quality. The staff were very polite, and listened to some of our group who had special dietary needs. They dealt with this without any fuss and my guests were very complimentary about the quality of the food served. All fish was fresh (not frozen) all pies hand made with fresh ingredients, vegetables cooked to perfection, chips prepared by hand not out of a packet, in fact the best meal they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Excellent Sunday carvery, good service from new Boat...”

Written on: 29/06/2009 by keithtolley (1 review written)

Excellent Sunday carvery, good service from new Boat Inn proprietor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wy is overall a vey plesant...”

Written on: 06/06/2009 by carlz1605 (1 review written)

The Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wy is overall a vey plesant pub, good food and friendly helpful staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye is Dreadful. Don't go...”

Written on: 26/05/2009 by Disgruntled Diner (1 review written)

The Boat Inn, Whitney-On-Wye is Dreadful. Don't go there. The service was offhand to the point of rudeness and we were treated with supercilious disdain throughout. On arrival - on time - we were told our table was still being laid, then left to kick our heels at the unattended bar whilst that happened.

We declined a starter but were kept waiting 50 minutes for our main course - unacceptable in a busy restaurant but doubly so in one where only two or three other tables were occupied. An… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

464187_Karenbarbara's Response to Disgruntled Diner's Review

Written on: 01/06/2009

I have been to Boat Inn only a few days ago and the service was second to none. Friendly staff went out of their way to make our dining experience enjoyable, food was terriffic and would certainly recommend to others.
<br/>
<br/>We were recommended by friends and were certainly not dissappointed, can't wait to go again.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

470597_Stephen Johnson's Response to Disgruntled Diner's Review

Written on: 02/07/2009

I disagree with this review because...it doesn't sound like the same venue we visited. The staff were very polite,kind and helpful to my guests,who were elderly,we were greeted at the door and shown to our tables. There was iced water available and an order was taken for our drinks,and then our meal order. One guest requested steamed fish, which wasn't on the menu, but that didn't pose a problem. All our guests were served together in what I consider to be a reasonable time for FRESH FOOD made with FRESH INGREDIENTS not the run of the mill mass produced microwaved pub grub. No frozen chips are served here. Well done to you all at The Boat Inn. Even Gordon Ramsey would enjoy a meal at your pub.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Reasonably priced, good quality, well cooked food. ...”

Written on: 15/02/2008

Reasonably priced, good quality, well cooked food. Friendly staff, nice view of the river, very efficient… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The Boat Inn in Whitney-On-Wye has always had a good...”

Written on: 18/08/2007 by Meistersinger (1 review written)

The Boat Inn in Whitney-On-Wye has always had a good reputation, and it is still to be recommended. Those customers who enjoy steak should realise that Continental practice is followed, in that it is cooked more rarely than the average British restaurant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Caroline Millward's Response to Meistersinger's Review

Written on: 13/06/2008

I found this review helpful because... we are canoeing down the Wye on Saturday and want somewhere to land for a glass of wine and a good ale.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Our stag party camped opposite the Boat Inn on a...”

Written on: 21/05/2007 by chudleightim (1 review written)

Our stag party camped opposite the Boat Inn on a canoeing trip, and although we hadn't booked, the staff promised they'd fit us in somewhere. We ate in the bar rather than the restaurant, which suited us fine. The menu was large enough to include something for everyone, yet small enough to help the more indecisive amongst us! Once ordered, the food came quickly, and it was good tasty pub food. The starters included soup, sweet & sour prawns, whitebait and deep fried Camembert. Main courses… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“The service in The Boat Inn pub and restaurant is rude...”

Written on: 04/09/2006 by meves (1 review written)

The service in The Boat Inn pub and restaurant is rude to the point where it's just best to leave rather than suffer the frustration of trying to get anywhere with them. The food is expensive for the Welsh borders (£9 for a veggie bake). One of the bars has the most revolting smell of stale beer. Overall it's not worth going there. I would recommend visiting one of the pubs a couple of miles in either direction, as you will get service, food and drink in a pleasant atmosphere, which is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview