Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
42% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park

Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★☆☆☆☆

“ask about things to do for a disabled child and was...”

Written on: 09/07/2010

ask about things to do for a disabled child and was given no help what so ever and the dinosaurs well DONT BLINK or you will miss them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“WOW... FANTASTIC DAY I HAD! ”

Written on: 09/07/2010 by tigerhen (2 reviews written)

WOW... FANTASTIC DAY I HAD!
Yes there are steep slopes, its north Devon what do you expect?? great hands on contact with the animals, great talks about the animals.
Good value for money, and to all you moaners out there that say its expensive please remember that most of the money goes back on the animals!
I had and experience of a lifetime when many thanks to Dolly the lion handler "who calls the lions like house cats & dogs!" choose me to feed a lion, that made my holiday!
All i can say is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harves's Response to tigerhen's Review

Written on: 17/07/2010

Hi, I am an Ex mamber of staff from combe martin, I am a proffessional animal keeper and have been for many years, I left there on my own accord due to the miss management of animals by the owners in the following ways.
<br/>The money you say goes back to the animals do not go back to the animals, The feed is second hand fruit and veg, the meat, well they did not pay for it so the lions are now being fed house hold mince and chicken drumsticks, how many major carnivores do you know of eat intensivley farmed chicken drumsticks???? with no nutritional value to man nor beast.
<br/>The fish for the Sealions are often seconds wich is a huge risk to them due to Scomboide poisoning, The Keeper that gives Talks seems to think that Mammals are born blind and hairless!!!! well Humans, cattle,Horses, Antelope, Primates Dogs, cats, Pigs, elephants etc etc are all Mammals that are not blind and hairless, and many are born with the ability to walk within half an hour ! how is this possible if its blind and naked ?????
<br/>I feel that your comments are so very based on an uneducated assessement.

<br/>
<br/>One more point, The Lemurs that you had hands on sessions with, well they are inbreds and many have been lost in the last 12 months and trhe keeper said that it was due to old age, well 13 is not old age for a red ruffed lemur, when confronted with this she then replied that its only the case if there husbandry is correct, well that falls down to her
<br/>I hope this gives you a better idea of the state of play there, I am sorry that this is neggative but at least you now know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tigerhen's Response to tigerhen's Review

Written on: 04/09/2010

I really dont think im the one who's got a lack of education here! look back at your spellings etc, maybe you didnt leave the park on your own accord?? maybe you were told to go?? ..... bit of a sour puss comes to mind??
<br/>you lost your job ..... get over it!
<br/>I will be quite happy to visit the park again! ...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Very clean, yes there are steep hills up n down and i...”

Written on: 09/07/2010

Very clean, yes there are steep hills up n down and i had a 19mth with a buggy but coped perfectly fine as she was walking around most of the time or if she was in the buggy you just have to use muscles to push......devon itself is VERY hilly so it shuld give u an idea on the attractions nearby!!
All animals were out and feeding away. Went in with the black and white lemurs and fed them also took lots of pictures of the lions up close as they were all out in their enclosure where they do the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“What a brilliant place to visit. So much to do and get...”

Written on: 01/07/2010

What a brilliant place to visit. So much to do and get really involved in. We managed to feed the lemars, sit in the meerkat inclosure, feed the wallabies,such a great hands on experiences. staff very friendly and informative they have real passion for what they do.I took part in the sealion swim and this was worth every penny what an experience of a lifetime!I was sad to be leaving at the end of the day. there was plenty of food choices in their cafe at reasonable prizes. I have recommended to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harves's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2010

Hi, I am an Ex mamber of staff from combe martin, I am a proffessional animal keeper and have been for many years, I left there on my own accord due to the miss management of animals by the owners in the following ways.
<br/>The money you say goes back to the animals do not go back to the animals, The feed is second hand fruit and veg, the meat, well they did not pay for it so the lions are now being fed house hold mince and chicken drumsticks, how many major carnivores do you know of eat intensivley farmed chicken drumsticks???? with no nutritional value to man nor beast.
<br/>The fish for the Sealions are often seconds wich is a huge risk to them due to Scomboide poisoning, The Keeper that gives Talks seems to think that Mammals are born blind and hairless!!!! well Humans, cattle,Horses, Antelope, Primates Dogs, cats, Pigs, elephants etc etc are all Mammals that are not blind and hairless, and many are born with the ability to walk within half an hour ! how is this possible if its blind and naked ?????
<br/>I feel that your comments are so very based on an uneducated assessement.

<br/>
<br/>One more point, The Lemurs that you had hands on sessions with, well they are inbreds and many have been lost in the last 12 months and trhe keeper said that it was due to old age, well 13 is not old age for a red ruffed lemur, when confronted with this she then replied that its only the case if there husbandry is correct, well that falls down to her
<br/>I hope this gives you a better idea of the state of play there, I am sorry that this is neggative but at least you now know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Hideously overpriced, and on top of that train, brass...”

Written on: 14/06/2010

Hideously overpriced, and on top of that train, brass rubbing etc was extra!!!!!
Dinosaur show was pathetic and only one an hour, animals looked uncared for and it was FULL of ridiously steep hills, not good for 3 year old and 7 month pregnant woman! No staff, and those we did encounter were incredibly unenthused, lack of faciliaties and those there were are in a poor state!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Coombe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur park. Absolutely...”

Written on: 07/06/2010 by Goodmans (2 reviews written)

Coombe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur park. Absolutely awful - worse park I have ever been to. Whole place is on the side of a huge hill and there is no mention of this in the leaflet - if you have mobility problems or have kids in pushchairs it is a nightmare. Walk in and you are faced with a tatty looking train that you need to pay for and the first impression of the whole place is that it is very run down. Dinosaur 'show' pathetic - don't wait the hour. Tomb of the Pharoahs is rubbish and the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute waste of money cost us £56.00 for 4 adults,...”

Written on: 25/05/2010

Absolute waste of money cost us £56.00 for 4 adults, my granddaughter was free, bonus.
5 dinosaurs which do something once an hour, we waited 20 minutes to see the "show" shouldn't have bothered.
Couldn't even see the lions, when we asked where they were we were told in the bottom field well out of sight.
The other animals, the few there are, looked in a poor state.
My advice would be don't waste your money or your time, complete waste of both.
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sad place if you are an animal as there seems to be no...”

Written on: 25/03/2010

Sad place if you are an animal as there seems to be no enrichment at all for them. Several enclosures too small for the animals. Lions and wolves seemed stressed as they are constantly pacing their enclosures, very dirty parrot cages without foom for the birds to stretch their wings.....maybe authorities should investigate into the welfare of the animals and birds kept here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We also found Coombe Martin park very disapointing. ...”

Written on: 16/10/2009

We also found Coombe Martin park very disapointing. The penguins were so depressed. they were in a dark and dirty pool and obviously waiting to be fed as were all the animals. There was obviously no 'enrichment' as they call it.
The lions were in a small cage and just pacing constantly. The meerkats were playing with rubbish and the sea lion was performing tricks for food.
Aside from the animals, the park advertises other attractions like a dinosaur museum and an Egytptian tomb - both just… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO...”

Written on: 04/10/2009

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO ALL!!!!! :)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We found combe martin dinosaur park very...”

Written on: 03/10/2009

We found combe martin dinosaur park very upsetting,three beautiful lions spent their days pacing their small enclosure, wolves were fenced in small enclosures and were obviously tame which made it all the more sadder, racoons were in a very small enclosure trying to climb a wall to freedom, and the meercats just huddled together, one meercat was separated from the others and when I asked why we were told he had been handled by humans too much so the other meercats would attack him. These… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“first the good bits of Combe Martin Wildlife &...”

Written on: 07/09/2009

first the good bits of Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park - the sealion show was fantastic and the animals we actually got to see were in decent enclosures. now for the not so good - the entrance is a steep incline which tails back about 5 cars before you find yourself queuing on the main road. our clutch started to smoke (so did about 2 other cars ) and i started to panic, when we got to a parking spot the attendant had heard it all before and confirmed that many people suffer the same fate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I absolutely LOVE Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur...”

Written on: 13/06/2009

I absolutely LOVE Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park! I go there every year when I go on holiday to Devon with my family. I am amazed that other people have said tht it is poor value for money! I thought it was worth every penny. I suppose it all comes down to personal likes and dislkes but Ioved it and would recommend it to anybody, especially families.
There is a fantastic range of animals, plus you can go and feed, hold and stroke some of them, which is a brilliant experience.
Also… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Harves's Comment

Written on: 17/07/2010

Hi, I am an Ex mamber of staff from combe martin, I am a proffessional animal keeper and have been for many years, I left there on my own accord due to the miss management of animals by the owners in the following ways.
<br/>The money you say goes back to the animals do not go back to the animals, The feed is second hand fruit and veg, the meat, well they did not pay for it so the lions are now being fed house hold mince and chicken drumsticks, how many major carnivores do you know of eat intensivley farmed chicken drumsticks???? with no nutritional value to man nor beast.
<br/>The fish for the Sealions are often seconds wich is a huge risk to them due to Scomboide poisoning, The Keeper that gives Talks seems to think that Mammals are born blind and hairless!!!! well Humans, cattle,Horses, Antelope, Primates Dogs, cats, Pigs, elephants etc etc are all Mammals that are not blind and hairless, and many are born with the ability to walk within half an hour ! how is this possible if its blind and naked ?????
<br/>I feel that your comments are so very based on an uneducated assessement.

<br/>
<br/>One more point, The Lemurs that you had hands on sessions with, well they are inbreds and many have been lost in the last 12 months and trhe keeper said that it was due to old age, well 13 is not old age for a red ruffed lemur, when confronted with this she then replied that its only the case if there husbandry is correct, well that falls down to her
<br/>I hope this gives you a better idea of the state of play there, I am sorry that this is neggative but at least you now know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
☆☆☆☆☆

“To start there is the huge hill to drive up and pay...”

Written on: 24/05/2009

To start there is the huge hill to drive up and pay before you enter the park, therefore cars on the main road. Second access is almost none existant to the park. Throughout the park itself there are more steep hills, steps and areas you can easily slip than I have ever seen.
We went with our 8 month old, he had to be taken out of his pushchair and carried due to the incline throughout. I only saw one actual keeper throughout the day.
incline throughout the Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent day out at Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur...”

Written on: 15/05/2009 by bluejuandangoe (1 review written)

Excellent day out at Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park, was really informative and the staff are all clearly passionate about their animals. The wolf talk was especially good, bt then again so was the Sea Lions. All good!!! The ruff necked Lemur encounter was excellent where you get to go into the pen and feed the animals at no extra charge to your entry fee… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tonyfromkent's Response to bluejuandangoe's Review

Written on: 12/09/2011

Its now £5 per Person to do this.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“The falconry guy at Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur...”

Written on: 01/03/2009

The falconry guy at Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park was amazing, great talk interesting, for once. However, I found the dinosaurs disappointing, expected more. Falconry man turned up to do the sealion show and the lion talk, multi-talented and very entertaining 10 out of ten to him… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I love Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park because...”

Written on: 11/02/2009

I love Combe Martin Wildlife & Dinosaur Park because of the dinosaurs they're realy cool. The first time I went into the tomb of the pharaohs i was scared so much I screamed. I can't wait to go there again beacause I want to see the african lions, do a brass drawing and see big t!!! Its bad that the dinosaurs in the cage are breaking down so I would you like to buy some new ones please… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The sealions were absolutely out of this world. Would...”

Written on: 01/09/2008

The sealions were absolutely out of this world. Would have paid the money to see them alone! Wolf talk was amazing too. Went twice to this park in a two week period. Simply the best day out if your are an animal lover!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Over priced, small array of dinosaurs, lack of...”

Written on: 25/08/2008 by mr burnsy (1 review written)

Over priced, small array of dinosaurs, lack of picnicing places lack of toilets,lack of sun!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I loved it, so did St John Ambulance.”

Written on: 18/08/2008

I loved it, so did St John Ambulance.
It's great for the family! I think people should stop being to un-fun and enjoy themselves once in a while!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview