Enterprise Car Rental Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.0 / 5
744
25% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Enterprise Car Rental - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Enterprise Car Rental

Enterprise Car Rental
Enterprise Car Rental

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Computer says no”

Written on: 03/10/2012 by stevencairns88 (3 reviews written)

I called to make a reservation for a car in Donegal Airport in Ireland. Spoke to a lovely lady in the UK reservations centre called Tracy. She took a while to find the branch and we had a bit of a laugh as she could not pronounce it. She gave me an excellent rate and I booked it over the phone. She kindly recapped every aspect of the booking at the end of the call and everything was correct. This is was the start of it... I did not get a confirmation email so I emailed Enterprise asking… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Response to stevencairns88's Review

Written on: 04/10/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 121004-001010 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Charged for 'optional insurance' 2 month delay in refund”

Written on: 02/10/2012 by Hamster60 (1 review written)

**PLEASE CHECK YOUR RECEIPT BEFORE LEAVING OR BETTER STILL ASK TO SEE PAPERWORK/ON SCREEN BEFORE LEAVING WITH THE CAR TO CONFIRM CHARGES** Intially rented car through Enterprise through insurance as courtesy car. Service was great so rented independently for a week. Opted out of paying extra for insurance that brings the excess down. Signed the form to say decline. When I returned the car and looked at the receipt when I got home I noticed that they had charged me for this optional insurance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Response to Hamster60's Review

Written on: 02/10/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 121002-001963 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“not very helpful”

Written on: 01/10/2012

I had a booking made under enterprise for coventry, as as per instructions received i.e. ALL DRIVERS MUST PROVIDE A VALID DRIVERS LICENCE AND PHOTO ID (PASSPORT OR DRIVERS LICENCE) IF LICENCE IS THE OLDER PAPER STYLE. MULTIPLE PART LICENCE HOLDERS MUST PRODUCE ALL PARTS. INTERNATIONAL DRIVING PERMIT REQUIRED WITH ALL NON EUROPEAN LICENCES IF THE DRIVING LICENCE IS WRITTEN IN A LANGUAGE AND / OR IN CHARACTERS DIFFERENT TO THOSE OF THE RENTING COUNTRY. ONE UTILITY BILL LESS THAN 3 MONTHS OLD… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 121002-001920 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Alleged puncture”

Written on: 26/09/2012

My insurance company arranged a hire car for me for 4 days through enterprise. I returned the vehicle to the insurance office and enterprise met me there a drove the car back to their office. There was no inspection by them of the vehicle. Approx 6 weeks later I received an invoice for £146 for puncture repairs. There was no puncture in the vehicle when I had it. They claim there was a nail in the tyre. I am appalled by this. I will be fighting this, I am totally in shock and feel bullied… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 27/09/2012

We’ve taken note of your complaint and we would like to have the opportunity to look into this concern for you. Please send us a detailed email to care[at]enterprise.com including the exact rental location information, your contact information, your rental agreement and any further information regarding your experience with us.

When emailing, please list Reference Number 120927-001000 in the subject line. We look forward to hearing from you.

Respectfully,

Carol

Social Media

Enterprise Rent A Car


Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero stars ”

Written on: 23/09/2012

We rented a car from Enterprise Edinburgh (Costorphine Road). After leaving the parking slot we perceived a funny smell coming from the engine. 10 minutes later smoke was coming out of the engine. We called for help and they told us to wait for almost 90 min. The cloud of smoke was so noticeable that people on the street were screaming at us that we should get out of the car as it could explode. We drove back to the rental place and a drunk Scottish mechanic told us that what happened to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 24/09/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your contact information and incident details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120924-001229 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE ALL POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS”

Written on: 16/09/2012

I used the enterprise service from East Midlands. Rented the car for 5 days and returned the car. I asked the guys at the desk and the manager present to come and check the car over at which point they said no worries sir we do not need to check it. After 6 weeks or so I checked my bank account on another matter and they (Enterprise) had taken out over £600! Claiming I had scratched and dented the car. All I can say is avoid avoid avoid. I'm still trying to get my money back months later… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 17/09/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120917-002213 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“BEWARE”

Written on: 12/09/2012

HEATHROW - Car returned with a chip the size of a pin in the window, which was obviously missed in the pre-inspection. The employee went about showing me the chip while pushing his metal ball-point pen into it. He then told me they were going to take £600 excess for the repair. After being held up for over 40 minutes, the manager then agreed to settle for £50. Beware of this company! If you do decide to rent from them be sure to double check every inch of the car on collection… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 12/09/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120913-000010 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“How could this happen - twice? ”

Written on: 11/09/2012 by eileen20545 (1 review written)

Please bear in mind that I have been a car driver for the past 45 years and my last puncture was in 1967 (the year my daughter was born, so I remember it well)......so please read on. We took receipt of an Enterprise, (Morecambe), car the day before Good Friday 2012 having sustained damage to my own car when it was parked in a public carpark. The Enterprise car was driven to the house by a company driver. It stood on my drive until Good Friday when we noticed that one tyre was flat. As it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Response to eileen20545's Review

Written on: 11/09/2012

We’ve taken note of your complaint. As customer service is of the utmost importance, we would like the opportunity to look into this concern for you. Please contact us at care[at]enterprise.com with complete details, including your contact information, rental agreement number and any further information regarding your experience with us.

When emailing, please list Reference Number 120911-000804 in the subject line. We look forward to hearing from you.

Respectfully,
Genelle
Enterprise Rent A Car

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Saved our holiday”

Written on: 10/09/2012 by vivianwolfendale (2 reviews written)

We had booked a car from Avis a week before our holiday, but when we went to pick it up they had no car for us and did not seem botherd and very unhelpfull. We went to Enterprise and they bent over backwards to get us a car ...A big THANK you to all the staff at Enterprise Bolton for all your help and saving our holiday ...The Wolfendale family will never use anyone else when we want to rent a car in future and highly reccomend you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Online Reservation.... Think again”

Written on: 10/09/2012 by SanchoBlaze (1 review written)

I used enterprise.co.uk late on Friday night to reserve a car for pick up the following morning. Throughout the whole process it clearly said that the car was available. Saturday morning I turn up at the rental desk to be told that they only had four cars available and that they had all be taken. The member of staff apologised profusely and explained that the online reservation system doesn't actually check availability. To make things worse, another gentleman was already in the office when I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Response to SanchoBlaze's Review

Written on: 10/09/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120910-002689 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“car”

Written on: 06/09/2012 by weetrisha (1 review written)

i hired a car for 4 days in july and took out the extra waiver fee, returned car it got checked, got my £200 deposit back and 7 weeks down the line i get a later saying there was damage to the car £475 and i had £100 excess taken from my bank account i foned and got it sorted and refunded, i went to the office i hired car the guys were great and so apoligetic and was given a 20% off next hire and a free upgrade but im still not happy as this has caused a lot of stress to me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Hidden Charges When Booking An Enterprise Hire Car On Line”

Written on: 01/09/2012

I booked a hire car to be collected from Bristol Airport and returned to Plymouth using the online form and was quoted £36 or there abouts. The form specifically asks where the vehicle is to be returned and the quote gives you a final figure which includes VAT, car hire and premium location fee. When I came to collect the car at nine o'clock at night I was quoted over £60 pounds! When I queried this I was told there was an additional charge for a one way hire. Why wasn't this in the quote… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Go Rent Elsewhere!”

Written on: 31/08/2012 by AjaxAjax (1 review written)

Hired a van from Ellesmere Port, Cheshire. Well spoken chap with no customer skills dealt with my enquiry. Loaded with hidden charges, ie insurance, mileage charge for going over 100 miles a day which was not explained before the van was returned and I have never been charged before. £200 deposit not refunded in full with no satisfactory explanation. Sat Nav requested but not available because the remote control was not being allowed to leave the office. Van supplied dirty with garden waste in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Zero customer service”

Written on: 29/08/2012 by Stitchf (2 reviews written)

Arranged car rental through rentalcars.com who apparently didn't pass on the request for sat nav and a car seat for our daughter. We were coincidentally given a free upgrade but this included a higher excess payable no matter whose fault any accident was. It took two hours to get our car after a scruffy car seat was wiped down and a sat nav held together with Sellotape was found. On returning the car it was checked over and we were told our £200 deposit would be returned. Most of it wasn't!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Response to Stitchf's Review

Written on: 31/08/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120830-002724 in the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Bolton Branch”

Written on: 21/08/2012 by imccaffery (3 reviews written)

I hired a Class D From Bolton Branch From 6th August - 13th August, The Rep Martin Picked us up at Home, On Arrival he Chose our Car and Gave us an upgrade which i thought Great Stuff, Then after checking the Car over came the Punch Line, i was pressured into upgrading the Insurance Cover from a £600 access charge down to a £100 access charge, which was an extra £9.99 per day + VAT. So the free upgrade really didnt happen as i paid a lot extra, however the car was slightly damaged which was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Faulty Fuel Gauges on their Corsa's?”

Written on: 09/08/2012

I have now rented 2 Corsa's from Enterprise - one a 1.2 and one a 1.4, both brand new. Both times with a full tank of fuel. I only did roughly 35-40 miles in both and re-filled the tank right up to the brim on return - £10 - £11. Yet both times, the fuel gauge didn't move! Excuse last time was, "oh sometimes they take a while to register"? I sat in the car for 10 mins and no movement! Sounds suspicious to me. Anyone else had this experience?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Enterprisecares's Comment

Written on: 13/08/2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this further. Please email Care[at]Enterprise.com with your full name, the exact rental location and any other details.

When emailing, please list reference # 120813-002757
the subject line.

Gillian T.
Social Monitor Coordinator

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Check car with magnifying glass”

Written on: 30/07/2012

Got vehicle with damage already that we had to point out to person checking out car. When returned to a different depot they said extra damage had been done so we lost our deposit excess of £250. Also had to pay £100 extra to drop off in different place. We thought that van would be returned to original depot but oh no. The returning depot keep the van. This was a rip off. It cost us £560 to hire a van for 3 days.In hindsight we should not have taken a vehicle that had damage already but we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“enterprise car hire scam time at manchester airport”

Written on: 18/07/2012 by carlwhile (1 review written)

we prebooked a 5 door corsa or similar.4 weeks in advance! when we arrived at the airport they only had a fiat 500 for us.when i complained they said that they did not have another car ready to swop it with so we had to accept it and basically that was it.! they said it was best to buy a full tank of petrol from them as they had petrol at a very low price (which was actually cheaper at asda.!) and return it empty..dont do that."a con" as they always get the car back with some petrol you have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carlwhile's Response to carlwhile's Review

Written on: 18/07/2012

reccommend that you try any other company than this one for your own comfort and wellbeing. Certainly less stress to start a holiday.!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Carlwhile's Response to carlwhile's Review

Written on: 23/07/2012

what a nice comment from the company saying they would look into it AGAIN, like twice was not enough for them to offer proper redress.!!!.see below.. PLUS MY COMMENTS AT THE END.
Ref 444310122 [534873-1342599074]‏
Thank you for your email.
I have been liaising with Enterprise regarding your case.
Normally we would always look to refund the difference in rates between the vehicle booked and the one received. However, Enterprise have advised that the price difference between the two vehicles was only £3.00.
As a customer service gesture they chose to refund you half of the fuel cost in order to give you a more appropriate compensation.
I have had your case reviewed by a manager and we agree that the refund together with the offer of a future discount is appropriate in this case.
I apologise if this is not the reply you wished to receive, however I must advise that we will now consider this matter as closed.
If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
Angelica Martensson
Customer Services - rentalcars.com
Floors 2-5
St. George's House,
56 Peter Street,
Manchester

AS YOU CAN SEE ONLY 3 POUNDS IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN RENTING A 5 DOOR CORSA AND A FIAT 500 FOR NEARLY 3 WKS.!! WOW AND THEY STUFFED ME WITH A MICRO FIAT FOR THE SAKE OF ONLY 3 POUNDS WHICH MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE TO OUR HOLIDAY.!!
THEN THEY FEEL 20 POUNDS WAS FAIR AND A "PROMISE" OF A BETTER SERVICE, YEAH RIGHT...AND IT WONT RAIN UNTIL NEXT JANUARY TOO.... THEY ONLY POSTED THEIR COMMENT TO TRY TO MAKE IT LOOK GOOD FOR THEM.!!!! DAMAGE LIMITATION EXERCISE. THIS COMPANY REALLY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT IT'S CUSTOMERS.!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to carlwhile's Review

Written on: 20/07/2012

We would be happy to address your concern. Please email care[at]enterprise.com with your contact information, the rental agreement, and all the details from this incident.

When emailing please reference # 120720-001394 in the subject line.

-Amanda
Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Bad Experience”

Written on: 14/07/2012 by IMS28 (1 review written)

I hired a car from Enterprise rental and they delivered the car 5 hours later than the schedule time. The person who delivered the car apologise to me and said they will reduce the price down a bit for the trouble. Quoted price was 127 and they said they will only going to charge me 100 pounds.But when I returned the car...they actually charged me more than the quoted price which was 156 pounds. After speaking to the customer service, manager promised me to pay back the difference. But they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hirer Beware”

Written on: 13/07/2012 by NathanM (1 review written)

I was invited to inspect the car in a garage in poor light and cramped conditions that made it hard to inspect the car thoroughly. The inspection you are invited to take when you accept the car is much more casual and friendly than the one that is undertaken when the car is returned. Some minor scratch damage was observed when the car was returned, which they set about exagerating on return in the accident report. They dismisivley advised me that You checked the car and signed the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview