John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
143
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★☆☆☆☆

“On arrival we were greeted by freindly staff, on...”

Written on: 06/08/2010

On arrival we were greeted by freindly staff, on entering the chalet we were greeted by an awful smell of mustiness. The bedrooms were cleary designed by some one who had an interest in prison cells and caravan interiors.
Over the years I have never being able to sit on the toilet and turn the bath taps on while at the same time clean my teeth in the basin, and still at the same time lock the toilet door, oh and close the shower curtain. You can sit and stand in the bathroom, but please do not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“After reading the reviews we were very worried about...”

Written on: 02/08/2010

After reading the reviews we were very worried about our holiday to St Ives John Fowlers.

We expected the worst, but it wasn't that bad.

If you are expecting the standards of a hotel then i suppose you will be disappointed. If you are comparing the stay to a campsite then you will be pleased.

The chalet was rustic and there were a few mould areas on the outside of the front door but that was it. The rooms were clean, painted and the furniture was ample.

It was very warm and musty when we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“i work for the n.h.s learning disability sector ,...”

Written on: 01/08/2010 by aggie 1958 (1 review written)

i work for the n.h.s learning disability sector , myself and my collegue and the s/u we took came back from john fowler holiday village in st ives yesterday we went on the 26th july and was really looking forward to giving our s/u a lovely holiday , we arrived after a very long journey ,and was given our key and to our shock horror was so diappointed the chalet was smelly damp dark and dingey , there was no wardrobe space so we lived out of our suitcases which was a pain , the beds were damp… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We have just returned from St. Ives and had the worst...”

Written on: 19/07/2010

We have just returned from St. Ives and had the worst holiday ever!!! The Chalet was damp, cupboard doors hanging off, mattresses stank, toliet was disgusting, shower was horrible, black mould everywhere. Bedroom windows were covered in black mould and condensation. Waste water pipes broke!! Settee and chairs stank. We will never stay in a John Fowler site again. Please don't take young children there you don't know what they might catch!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aggie 1958's Comment

Written on: 31/07/2010

I found this review very helpful because... myself and a collegue took a s/u on holiday we work for the nhs learning disability sector, we take him on holiday every year ,we picked this holiday because it was supposed to have entertainment i have to say that i've seen better much better , they advertised chalets ,they should have said sheds ,they were damp very smelly dirty ,the bedding was damp there was a hole in the cushions on the sofa a very small tv they were dark and dingey very expensive we only booked it for 4 dats thankfully, i can't understand how they can get away with it why are they not checked to make sure they are habitabal i wouldn't give this john fowler holiday village in st ives any rating at all , i think they should be giving us a refund , or paying people to stay there ,it was disgusting there wasn't even enough space to put your clothing so it had to stay in cases on the floor even they were damp ,it shouldn't be allowed , we wll never recommend it to anyone its not even fit for a dog ,

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“OMG!!! Arrived 3rd July 2010 after a 400 mile drive....”

Written on: 11/07/2010

OMG!!! Arrived 3rd July 2010 after a 400 mile drive. We have been here before early 2000 and really enjoyed it. But....things have changed....
Lets start with the one stop rip off shop. My partner went to the 'shop' for some bacon only to find an empty shelf. There was a box of bacon at the back of the shelf so he used his loaf and opened the box. Lucky for us, it was a BOGOF! He proceeded to the checkout only to be told by the snidey shopkeeper that these packs of bacon were not BOGOF and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I have just returned from 3 nights at john fowler in...”

Written on: 07/07/2010 by nlea (1 review written)

I have just returned from 3 nights at john fowler in st ives and i must say that this has been the worst holiday i have ever been on. the problems started on arrival when our challet was still being repaired when we turned up. we were given another but this was damp and smelly. the paper was hanging off the walls, the windows had writing over them and the mattress was stained , the bedding was yellow, the front door had a hole in it and was rotten, the facilities were always shut and we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Stayed for 3 nights with friends in a 2 bed cabin. ...”

Written on: 28/06/2010

Stayed for 3 nights with friends in a 2 bed cabin. Cabin wasn't spotless, but wasn't dirty either, just looked tired. Slight damp/musty smell, but nothing horiffic (although it could have an adverse effect on individuals with asthma). Seemed very quiet for the time of year (June/July). Bar and shop very expensive, but pleasant. Staff looked obviously bored but tried to make an effort to be friendly. Pool smaller than it looks in the pictures and chilly(!), a bit pointless for adults but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We have been on 3 John fowler holdays all in different...”

Written on: 28/06/2010 by rolcaine (1 review written)

We have been on 3 John fowler holdays all in different areas. We had a wonderful time, Clean, comfortable and very good value for money with the half price. It was just the two of us and our dogs with own transport. We look forward to our 4th holiday with them. Very peaceful and relaxing. My only complaint is that dogs are £40 each so it add alot more on the bill. Wished they were a little cheaper… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Filthy. Greeted by a large t.u.r.d in the bathtub on...”

Written on: 21/06/2010

Filthy. Greeted by a large t.u.r.d in the bathtub on arrival at the chalet. 'Entertainment' was painfully unfunny. Sour-faced, miserable staff. Most utilites either closed/out of order/unstocked. Foul smell all over the park… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Have just returned from a 4 night stay at JF in St...”

Written on: 16/06/2010

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at JF in St Ives. After reading through some of the reviews, my partner and I were really worried, so upgraded to a woodland gold chalet. On arrival the grounds were lovely, the check-in was smooth and the staff very pleasant. The chalet was very spacious, clean and warm. The pool was lovely (although the slide and sauna wernt working)and there was a shallow pool suitable for the children to play in. We didnt eat at the resturant or use the shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“stayed at john fowler st ives holiday village,never...”

Written on: 12/06/2010

stayed at john fowler st ives holiday village,never again.it was damp and smelly.wallpaper was hanging of the walls, the shower looked like it had never bean cleaned.the best part was the meal we had at the restaurant.only problem was they did not open untill 6 o clock pm .no were to get a hot meal at lunch time .after i went and got my bleach and cleaning things i felt better. it was a lot cleaner when we left'… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“how do i start well here goes. just got back from john...”

Written on: 06/06/2010 by plasterpowerman01 (1 review written)

how do i start well here goes. just got back from john fowler st ives holiday village. we got there i could not belive my eyes. we opened the door and the smell we got was horrible. there was holes in the carpet, upholstery was all dirty, everything was sticky with greas,there was black mold all over the walls in bedroom. they sent someone to clean it for us all they did was spray air freshoner, after 3 days the final straw was the bites on our legs with fleas out of the carpet. never would i… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Just got back from a 4 day break at JF's in St Ives...”

Written on: 05/06/2010

Just got back from a 4 day break at JF's in St Ives and i was impressed with the place. I was realy worried about going there after reading some of the reviews on this site. We've stayed at Pontins at Brean Sands and Butlins at Minehead over the past few years as we have 2 small kids. The accomodation at St Ives was better than either Pontins or Butlins. Butlins of course offers much more entertainment but all we wanted was a few days on the beach (Carbis Bay is beautiful but get there early… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Just returned from a week in St Ives Holiday Village...”

Written on: 01/06/2010

Just returned from a week in St Ives Holiday Village 10 of us in total three chalets between us and not one complaint, beds were comfortable everything was clean, ok things are a bit worn but for what we paid I certainly had no complaints showers worked perfectly no mould in bathroom overall not bad at all. Set in woodland lovely and peaceful no noisy neighbours each chalet detached, if you did need anything extra staff were only too willing to help you, they were all lovely from the guy who… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“we have just come back from a weeks stay at this...”

Written on: 30/05/2010

we have just come back from a weeks stay at this park...and we had a lovely time!!
before we went i read alot of the reviews on this page and panicked even said to my hubby should we cancel??he however managed to talk me out of it so we went with open minds and im so glad we did,we booked into our oakleigh bungalow an hour early(with no probs)infact the people that checked us in couldnt have been nicer!we went to our bungalow/chalet and it was very clean and tidy smelt a little bit musty but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“THIS HOLIDAY AT JOHN FOWLER ST.IVES VILLAGE WAS...”

Written on: 26/05/2010

THIS HOLIDAY AT JOHN FOWLER ST.IVES VILLAGE WAS DEFINATLY VALUE FOR MONEY THE ONLY THING I WOULD ADVISE ANYONE STAYING HERE WOULD BE TO HAVE YOUR OWN TRANSPORT TO HELP EXPLORE AREAS AROUND CORNWALL,THE ONLY THING I FELT LET THE SITE DOWN WAS THE NIGHT ENTERTAINMENT WHICH SEEMED TO CONSIST OF THE STAFF TRYING TO DO THERE BEST BUT MAYBE NEEDED SOME MORE EXPERIENCED SINGERS,COMDIENS ETC...THEN MAYBE WE WOULD NOT HAVE TO HAVE TRAVELLED OUT TO PENZANCE SO MUCH FOR THIS PART OF THE HOLIDAY BUT… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ 20th May we were ment to be going on our first family...”

Written on: 25/05/2010

20th May we were ment to be going on our first family holiday we travelled 100 miles to st ives went to the beach etc.... went to the local tescos to stock up on food then checked in we got t the holiday village at 3 so didnt expect to book in early as the week before i phoned saying i had 3 kids could we check in earlier and i got an admant no but we got our keys we had booked a gold chalet then everything went down hill from there our step was not infact a step it was 2 blocks that were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Just returned from this site. How health and safety...”

Written on: 15/05/2010 by t4sker (2 reviews written)

Just returned from this site. How health and safety have not closed this site is beyond me.
The worst accomodation I have ever stayed in, mouldy damp and rotting!
Ventured into the pool and now the whole family has severe sickness and diarrhea.
St Ives is lovely, but unless you have the time to take a week off afterwards to recover from the nasty bug you will catch go elsewhere… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vanessa0908's Response to t4sker's Review

Written on: 18/05/2010

Hi, which chalet did you stay in? we just returned on the 15th may with the exact same sympthoms, we also ventured in the pool on the sunday but then it was shut due to uncontrollable circumstances??? supposedly broken boiler & pump? So its either the pool or the chalet that as cause us all to be violently ill. My 2 young son`s still are very poorly :(

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“if this is your best i would hate to see your worst!! ”

Written on: 06/05/2010

if this is your best i would hate to see your worst!!

you don't need to be used to 5 star accommodation to know this place aint worth the money you spend on it,

i wouldn't send my worst enemy to this place but yet you would recommend to your friends.... ???

the place needs refurbishment and if they cant do that then it needs to be shut down, its a heath hazard and even if you dont stay in the chalet all day only for the night thats the worst time....

i think you need to review the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Well where do you start we had a 8 hour drive from...”

Written on: 06/05/2010

Well where do you start we had a 8 hour drive from suffolk only to end up in a scumy garden shed this place was awfull we booked through hoseasons and did not want a jon fowler park from past experiance. we was asured it wasnt as it was just the st ives holiday village, The chalet was damp smelly with cob webs and bits of mould on the kettel stains on the sofa as well as stains and dirt on the kitchen blind, the door was rotten. when we entered the bathroom there was hair and dirt on the bath… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview