John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
40% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village
John Fowler, St. Ives Holiday Village

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★☆☆

“Have Just got back from St Ives holiday Village i was...”

Written on: 10/10/2010

Have Just got back from St Ives holiday Village i was expecting alot worse after reading the reviews. I stayed in the Trevacroft Chalet, which was well equipped, clean and tidy. I couldn't see any damp although there was a hint of a smell of damp in the lounge area although i think you can expect that as they are located in the woods. Plenty of hot water from the shower and no smell of damp on the bathroom. The surroundings are quite pleasant and the holiday park location is a good.

The shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“ ”

Written on: 27/09/2010


We've stayed at St Ives Holiday Village twice so far this year (we've booked again for the October half term) and our Trevacroft accomodation was fine, clean, dry and warm.

The bathrooms were a little small but were clean and smelled fresh. The hot water did take a little while to come through but there was plenty of it.

The kitchen in the Trevacroft Chalets we stayed in was well equipped and clean, there was a lovely new flat screen DVD TV combo to watch in the living area although… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“i thought it was amzing and i love steve and sam:)”

Written on: 12/09/2010

i thought it was amzing and i love steve and sam:)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“returned last saturday from a weeks stay at j f st...”

Written on: 09/09/2010

returned last saturday from a weeks stay at j f st ives. after reading other reviews was quite worried but we decided to give it a try myself my partner and three children,while we were collecting our keys a few people were complaining but we were tired after a 300 mile drive we just wanted to unload the car and settle in we found our chalet which was cleanand cosy which was a relief,bathroom small but adequate although as the week went by we did notice the bed getting a bit musty pool was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Having read the reviews of JF St Ives I felt compelled...”

Written on: 28/08/2010

Having read the reviews of JF St Ives I felt compelled to make a phone call prior to our arrival. I had booked a Woodland Gold Chalet for my family of 2 adults and 2 Children(16 & 10).Check in was pleasant but only to be in the midst of other people complaining!Met the cleaner (Liz) who waited until we had inspected the chalet.It was ok but we did spend an hour cleaning to our standards, smelled musty as in woods? Location too remote to walk anywhere.2 good nights entertainment out of 7.In the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We have just returned home from a week at what was...”

Written on: 27/08/2010

We have just returned home from a week at what was supposed to be at St Ives Holiday Park, but we only actually tolerated 24hrs their before we were moved to Tolroy, Hayle. We checked in on Saturday to St Ives Holiday park, into Woodland gold chalet number 191. When we opened the door to the chalet/shed the smell of damp hit us, it was awful. The chalet was very dingy and everything was damp including the beds. We left most of our clothes in the case because the smell in the (very small)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Although a good base for touring Cornwall the chalet...”

Written on: 23/08/2010

Although a good base for touring Cornwall the chalet was mouldy and we left early. I could not get our clothes out of the cases because of the smell. There was only one electric heater for chalet which left everywhere stinking. Dark and dingy, couldnt wait to get away! The shower was nice, only good point. I wish I had taken cancellation as I had read the reviews and was worried, initially it didnt seem too bad but got worse as the week progressed. Wish we had been told there was no proper… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“My initial expectations were low after reading some...”

Written on: 22/08/2010 by Aboutabit (1 review written)

My initial expectations were low after reading some awful reviews a few weeks before going with my partner and 4 children.(aged 8,13,14&15) We arrived at 4.30pm and had the keys to our bronze chalet straight away. On entering the chalet it appeared from the outside that some of the wooden panels were rotting away and the windows were in need of a clean. On entering there was a bit of a musty damp smell but we didn't notice it after a short while. Although throughout the week I noticed the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“First of all we arrived in jf holiday park , it looked...”

Written on: 21/08/2010

First of all we arrived in jf holiday park , it looked nice especially the one that were for sale excpecting the chalets to all look like that.
Then we went further into the holiday park to are silver chalet (shed 81) and are first impressions were it looked old fashioned, like a shed, small,not even double glazed, awfull , the bathroom was small and the bath was TINY!! , there was lots of spiders and you could only get 4 channels (dodgy !!).
It was no were near St ives. But we spent as much… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“firstly let me just say we have been john fowler...”

Written on: 21/08/2010

firstly let me just say we have been john fowler newquay customers for four years. Each year we stay in perran view and never had a bad holiday. St ives this yaer i would not personally board my cats in. Silver accomodation means you get one wall of wood pannelling, gold means you get double glazing! The chalet had pieces of wood missing and was smaller than our garage. It was clean but the bath is 4ft max and most adults i know would never get in or out. Tv 2 channels had to RENT remote… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My family arrived at St Ives Holiday Village, which is...”

Written on: 19/08/2010

My family arrived at St Ives Holiday Village, which is in fact about 3 miles outside of St Ives, after a gruelling 9 hours journey from the Midlands. On arrival we were pleased with our first impressions. The outside entrance was bright and well cared for, neat and tidy. However that was where it ended! We parked up and went to the reception where we and other families, with young children and babies, were asked to return in an hour at the booking in time of 4pm and because our accomodation was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We booked a week stay at St ives, two adults and two...”

Written on: 13/08/2010

We booked a week stay at St ives, two adults and two children. The chalet we were first given was awful, musty dark damp and was no way good enough to live in. So we complained and were given another chalet,this time the smell was worse, less furniture no shower and the drawers full of mould. Next chalet was better, they changed the drawers. After two nights the smell was getting stronger in the main bedroom so we moved the bed to discover a wall full of black mould the stench was so bad! Yet… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I was upset when my children went swimming in the pool...”

Written on: 11/08/2010

I was upset when my children went swimming in the pool the life guard was texting on a photo phone all the time and when approach he said the other life guard was looking so why on gods earth was he there!!! The accommodation was sub substantial to what we had paid and dirty linen was not removed for days well you have had my custom for 4yrs on the trot no more very sad holiday maker… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“On arrival we were greeted by freindly staff, on...”

Written on: 05/08/2010

On arrival we were greeted by freindly staff, on entering the chalet we were greeted by an awful smell of mustiness. The bedrooms were cleary designed by some one who had an interest in prison cells and caravan interiors.
Over the years I have never being able to sit on the toilet and turn the bath taps on while at the same time clean my teeth in the basin, and still at the same time lock the toilet door, oh and close the shower curtain. You can sit and stand in the bathroom, but please do not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“After reading the reviews we were very worried about...”

Written on: 01/08/2010

After reading the reviews we were very worried about our holiday to St Ives John Fowlers.

We expected the worst, but it wasn't that bad.

If you are expecting the standards of a hotel then i suppose you will be disappointed. If you are comparing the stay to a campsite then you will be pleased.

The chalet was rustic and there were a few mould areas on the outside of the front door but that was it. The rooms were clean, painted and the furniture was ample.

It was very warm and musty when we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“i work for the n.h.s learning disability sector ,...”

Written on: 31/07/2010 by aggie 1958 (1 review written)

i work for the n.h.s learning disability sector , myself and my collegue and the s/u we took came back from john fowler holiday village in st ives yesterday we went on the 26th july and was really looking forward to giving our s/u a lovely holiday , we arrived after a very long journey ,and was given our key and to our shock horror was so diappointed the chalet was smelly damp dark and dingey , there was no wardrobe space so we lived out of our suitcases which was a pain , the beds were damp… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We have just returned from St. Ives and had the worst...”

Written on: 19/07/2010

We have just returned from St. Ives and had the worst holiday ever!!! The Chalet was damp, cupboard doors hanging off, mattresses stank, toliet was disgusting, shower was horrible, black mould everywhere. Bedroom windows were covered in black mould and condensation. Waste water pipes broke!! Settee and chairs stank. We will never stay in a John Fowler site again. Please don't take young children there you don't know what they might catch!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Aggie 1958's Comment

Written on: 31/07/2010

I found this review very helpful because... myself and a collegue took a s/u on holiday we work for the nhs learning disability sector, we take him on holiday every year ,we picked this holiday because it was supposed to have entertainment i have to say that i've seen better much better , they advertised chalets ,they should have said sheds ,they were damp very smelly dirty ,the bedding was damp there was a hole in the cushions on the sofa a very small tv they were dark and dingey very expensive we only booked it for 4 dats thankfully, i can't understand how they can get away with it why are they not checked to make sure they are habitabal i wouldn't give this john fowler holiday village in st ives any rating at all , i think they should be giving us a refund , or paying people to stay there ,it was disgusting there wasn't even enough space to put your clothing so it had to stay in cases on the floor even they were damp ,it shouldn't be allowed , we wll never recommend it to anyone its not even fit for a dog ,

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“OMG!!! Arrived 3rd July 2010 after a 400 mile drive....”

Written on: 10/07/2010

OMG!!! Arrived 3rd July 2010 after a 400 mile drive. We have been here before early 2000 and really enjoyed it. But....things have changed....
Lets start with the one stop rip off shop. My partner went to the 'shop' for some bacon only to find an empty shelf. There was a box of bacon at the back of the shelf so he used his loaf and opened the box. Lucky for us, it was a BOGOF! He proceeded to the checkout only to be told by the snidey shopkeeper that these packs of bacon were not BOGOF and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I have just returned from 3 nights at john fowler in...”

Written on: 07/07/2010 by nlea (1 review written)

I have just returned from 3 nights at john fowler in st ives and i must say that this has been the worst holiday i have ever been on. the problems started on arrival when our challet was still being repaired when we turned up. we were given another but this was damp and smelly. the paper was hanging off the walls, the windows had writing over them and the mattress was stained , the bedding was yellow, the front door had a hole in it and was rotten, the facilities were always shut and we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Stayed for 3 nights with friends in a 2 bed cabin. ...”

Written on: 28/06/2010

Stayed for 3 nights with friends in a 2 bed cabin. Cabin wasn't spotless, but wasn't dirty either, just looked tired. Slight damp/musty smell, but nothing horiffic (although it could have an adverse effect on individuals with asthma). Seemed very quiet for the time of year (June/July). Bar and shop very expensive, but pleasant. Staff looked obviously bored but tried to make an effort to be friendly. Pool smaller than it looks in the pictures and chilly(!), a bit pointless for adults but… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview