Monsoon Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
75
23% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monsoon - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monsoon

Monsoon

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer service and VERY poor on-line store”

Written on:

Been given a gift card as a present, I tried to purchase few products on-line only to find out that gift cards CANNOT be used for on-line purchases. I then called the customer service and were told there would be no way I could use it on-line/over the telephone at all. I suggested if it would be possible to transfer the balance as points toward a reward card and was told to call the reward card centre, who then told me to call the Monsoon customer service back.... as naturally they are two… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Arrogant staff at store”

Written on:

I bought shoes for my daughter costing only 22 pounds.My daughter did not like it, so I went to return it at Hemel Hempstead store. Unfortunately I did not have the card which I used to pay the bill.Lady at the till refused to take it back and told me to come back with the same card or take something else. I tried to reason with her that she should give me a gift card which I could use later for shopping with them. I certainly did not want to come back for 22 pound refund, spending 1 hour of my… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusted”

Written on: by Farahbx (1 review written)

I found the customer service rubbish, advisor terminated my calls severall times without answer the online customer service line advisor stated there was NO MANAGER available. I don't now how they run the business as they clearly have no customer skills. And I don't believe for a second that they don't have A MANAGER working or supervising. Ridiculous and appalling. The products are cheap too not worth the hassle or price. Advisors having given incorrect information making me go back and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“rude and unhelpful, appalling customer service”

Written on: by sharon9 (1 review written)

I've bought clothes from Monsoon for years, and really love their products. However, this summer I bought a top that literally disintegrated! The fabric around the neck and cuffs completely frayed after just a few wears. You'd think with an item that was so obviously faulty, it would be straightforward to get a refund. Not so. I emailed customer services and sent a photo to back up my complaint. After two weeks I got a reply asking me to post the item back (and was told they would refund… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Farahbx's Response to sharon9's Review

Written on:

Tell me about it there stuff is always shoddy. I'm disgusted at the service. Apparently there's no managers on their online service couldn't resolve my query requested I email I refused as I now this will never get resolved.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible customer service”

Written on:

I have recently tried to buy my wedding dress from Monsoon and I was not impressed by the overall customer service. When in the shop no one helped me, they didn't even offer to give me the special bag that should come with it and I had to ask. When home I realised the dress was faulty, so I took it back and I had to order it online because the shop can't do it for you (why not, considering a lot of respectable chains do it?). I am still waiting for my dress, the website is not working properly… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Monsoon not working”

Written on:

I have tried several times to place an online order with Monsoon. The payment will not process, even when I try with a different payment card. I have tried telephoning, but I am left waiting ages for a customer advisor. I have not had an adequate email response and am left wondering if Monsoon/Accessorize are running into difficulties… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“refusing return of faulty item”

Written on: by disgustedwithmonsoon (1 review written)

I cannot begin to explain how appalled I am with Monsoon. I have shopped with them for years and love their clothes shoes bags the lot. Bought a pair of leather black ballet pumps from them and they stained my feet. Not a little - they stained by feet jet black. I took them back to be told very abruptly that they would not take a "used" item back. I had with me the photographs and they laughed at me and dismissed it. Beyond rude the way I was treated in store. I then lodged a complaint with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Response to disgustedwithmonsoon's Review

Written on:

This happened to me too. I bought navy shoes from Monsoon and they stained the bottom of my feet and cut into my heel on the first wear so badly that my heels were bleeding. They were so badly damaged with one wear I thought it would be impossible to even try and return them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy”

Written on:

I have ordered a bag and a necklace online for next day delivery, still haven't received a confirmation email and they have taken the funds out of my account! This is terrible service. I spoke to customer services and they just told me that I haddnt placed the order, great! I'm totally peed off! AVOID IF YOU CAN!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service overall.”

Written on: by Jenesequa (4 reviews written)

I ordered a dress in the sale on 15/07/12, didn't get an order acknowledgement email (fishy?). 2 days later I received an email to notify me that they have dispatched the dress. I waited until the 26th to email them that I have no received it. The automatic response was that they strive to respond within 7 days. At this rate, I wouldn't be able to hear of anything until next month. What a complete joke. Unfortunately I would not be able to comment on the quality and design of the dress since… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I love Monsoon”

Written on: by KatieWebster (5 reviews written)

I'm really surprised by the bad reviews for Monsoon. I have been going thtere for years and only have good things to say about them. Their clothes are quirky, but not weird and you can get just about everything you need. I now have many many Monsoon pieces in my wardrobe and in some respects they are part of my unique "style" - I don't thing you could find Monsoon pieces in other shops (which is what keeps me going back) and for the most part they don't really date - which means you can get a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Website Malfunctioning/ Terrible Customer Service!...”

Written on:

I always liked shopping at Monsoon but since living away from the country for years and returning it seems to have gone downhill. My local store (Bromley)doesn't hold too much stock and whenever I go in there the staff barely acknowledge you and have loud conversations about their private lives, the service is quite cold as well. Not really what you would expect. I found I needed to order online in the sale as many items were not in the store...what a mistake that was! I was ages on the site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“On-line service - good at delivery terrible at giving...”

Written on:

I have used Monsoon on-line now on 3 separate occasions. First time I had to chase my refund. Second time I returned goods instore thinking it would get round the refund issue but the stores are not geared up to return on-line clothing Third time spent £995 on wedding dresses, they were returned via call and collect on 28th May and arrived at the depot on 31st May - today is 16th June - still no refund!! I shouldn't bother really… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish (literally) courier + online shopping experience”

Written on:

After ordering some goods online, Hermes the courier company left parcel in a 'secure place' - on top of a communal rubbish bin! I waited for over the 7 working days period for my parcel to arrive from Monsoon, I sent an email to enquire as to it's whereabouts, waited 3 days for a reply and was given a tracking number which stated it had been delivered and left in a secure place, but Hermes would not deal with me directly. Back to Monsoon on a premium number rather than waiting another 3 days… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Comment

Written on:

So, really, the problem is the courier, not Monsoon. it is the courier that should have reimbursed you. The problem is, I find it's the drivers of those services that have the wrong attitude. It's a shame you've had a bad experience as I've never had problems ordering from the site, and I love the clothes. I feel gorgeous in them. Don't let one bad experience put you off (You wouldn't stop eating chocolate if you found a solitary nut in a fruit bar :))

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barristerlondon's Comment

Written on:

I think you're right not to listen Knowyourrights' which is a laughable name because s/he clearly knows nothing. The courier is not the one to reimburse the recipient because its' contract is not with the purchaser. The courier's contract is with Monsoon. That is why it was also entitled to refuse to deal with Guest direct. Barrister, London.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Comment

Written on:

:) my family is in the confectionary business. Take care

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foxyd's Comment

Written on:

Please ignore the comments below which are IMHO probably from an employee of Monsoon. I am not just complaining about the courier, I was treated abominably by Monsoon customer services and had to wait several days for a response from them. I have now received my BT bill which catalogues the charges I incurred ringing their customer services department premium line. I also had to ring back to remind them they had promised to send me a voucher which was not forthcoming. I am sure that they must be inundated with complaints caused by using such an unprofessional courier company and they need to take responsiblilty for this shambolic service. My contract is with them not the courier so get your facts right. I had been buying clothes at Monsoon for the last 20 years but the last few years have noticed a significant drop in standards. I would rather spend more money on clothes which last and with a company who values their customers. Sorry if your comments have backfired 'knowyourrights' Keep indulging in chocolates by all means - and for all those with nut allergies out there it's a good job you're not in the confectionary business.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“shop assistants can't do basic job”

Written on:

I visited the Monsoon shop at Victoria station on 3 Jan. 2012. It took me 1 hr + to buy 3 pairs of trousers. This was because there is only 1 fitting room for a shop located in one of the busiest stations in the country, so each of the 3 times I wanted to try some clothes I had to queau for a long time. The carpet in the fitting room was threadbare and dirty. I decided to buy 2 pairs of trousers, and as I had my hands full and wanted to try on some more clothes, I asked one of the 6 shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“'Inferior quality garments'”

Written on: by Rijke (1 review written)

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!' I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on:

were you meant to hand wash it cold? you need to follow the directions on the label for a reason

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on:

I won't lie. I have worked in retail since I was 16. (Having done it alongside graduate and post-graduate course) My comment IS biased. I will agree with you again on that. It's never nice to feel you're being fobbed off, or dealt with in a rude/poor manner, but from a service point of view, I know that sometimes what a customer wants, and what an assistant is able to do are at cross purposes. The things I've had said to me by customers in the places I have worked is appalling, and the attitude they have had towards me or my peers at the time have been sob-inducing. I'm by no means saying that you behaved this way. I'm just saying that from a personal point of view, if I'm able to help someone, I will do. I don't go out of my way to not help, and I didn't when I've worked at differing retail establishments (newsagents, home accessories, fashion) but sometimes, I simply couldn't, and the customer vilified me. I never wanted to cause you offence. I was just hoping to offer an alternative point of view.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foxyd's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on:

Knowyourrights clearly is employed by Monsoon. She is not a reviewer and her comments are totally biased, she has just criticised my review of Monsoon too without really reading it. She only joined yesterday. Please ignore!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on:

I hadn't read your review fully before commenting. You really do need to follow instructions on the label. there are types of natural dyes that need hot water to maintain their full coulor when washed. Cold water can cause these dyes to dissolve. I work in fashion design, and trust me, wash care labels are there for a reason. by washing an item incorrectly, you forego your statutory rights and any shop would be correct to refuse a refund. I have sometimes disregarded the care label instruction if i'm in a rush, but if the garment is not as nice after then I know that is my fault. Not the garments.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy Fabric, Shoddy Customer Service”

Written on:

I have been a loyal customer of Monsoon for years, but have been left speechless by the appalling customer service received today. I had bought a top which showed signs of wear after, I kid you not, 15 minutes, and, accordingly to the jobsworthy store manager, it was my fault for wearing it with a handbag. Utterly disgraceful. Customer well and truly lost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rijke's Comment

Written on:

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!'

I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after having to force her to give me the correct customer service number, she appeared to relish the fact that her colleague then instructed her, over the phone, not to compensate me in any way whatever.

The dress is now being sent on to their technical team, who according to the hard-edged over assertive customer support worker, will be assessed to determine whether the fabric should have beeb washed in cold water or washed at 40° as indicated. Surely, if the fabric can tolerate being washed at such high temperatures, it can withstand cold water.

So I have lost my dress, my money and my money probably, and have been treated badly by the company and the staff it employs, into the bargain. Is this really the way Monsoon want to promote their company.

Needless to say I won't be gracing the floors in any of their shops - EVER. And I'll be advising EVERYBODY I know to do the same.

Well and truly p***** off. Happy to provide more information.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Comment

Written on:

Monsoon items do easily wear when another garment/ item is rubbed against it. A lot of their knitwear bobbles if you wear a jacket over it or have a bag strap rubbing on it. Also items that have fine detailed stitching, sequins and embellishment are susceptible to damage with minor friction too. It looks pretty, but it is not really fit for purpose.
No, this is not fair. For their prices, the quality should be better, but at least now you know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rijke's Comment

Written on:

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!'

I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after having to force her to give me the correct customer service number, she appeared to relish the fact that her colleague then instructed her, over the phone, not to compensate me in any way whatever.

The dress is now being sent on to their technical team, who according to the hard-edged over assertive customer support worker, will be assessed to determine whether the fabric should have beeb washed in cold water or washed at 40° as indicated. Surely, if the fabric can tolerate being washed at such high temperatures, it can withstand cold water.

So I have lost my dress, my money and my money probably, and have been treated badly by the company and the staff it employs, into the bargain. Is this really the way Monsoon want to promote their company.

Needless to say I won't be gracing the floors in any of their shops - EVER. And I'll be advising EVERYBODY I know to do the same.

Well and truly p***** off. Happy to provide more information.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Absive deputy manager and faulty goods.”

Written on: by Paula1421 (1 review written)

I bought a very pretty dress for my daughters birthday in the Monsoon. The next morning she opened it, loved it, and wanted to wear it straight away. Three hours later she knelt down in her bedroom and the seam on the over skirt, at the waistline, pulled apart. I took the dress back to the branch to exchange the item within the hour, I'd had the dress less than 24hrs... it had been worn for approx 3 hrs for normal play, not climbing or rough and tumble. I spoke to the assistant manageress who… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought a bag from the accessorize website and am still...”

Written on:

Bought a bag from the accessorize website and am still waiting for delivery after 2 weeks. Tried to call their customer services and just get put through to an answering machine or left on hold for 20 mins plus on an expensive phone number. Haven't answered my email complaint either.Will never order online through their website again. Terrible service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on:

I have also the same experience as u. i havent got their answer yet. They has already debited money in my account, but i still havent got my wallet. I will never order online from them anymore. very very bad!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on:

I have also the same experience as u. i havent got their answer yet. They has already debited money in my account, but i still havent got my wallet. I will never order online from them anymore. very very bad!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“A serious flaw in a Monsoon dress caused me a lot of...”

Written on:

A serious flaw in a Monsoon dress caused me a lot of stress for an important occasion. I bought a dress in Monsoon in Dundrum, and a few days later exchanged it in Grafton St because the beading was falling off. The replacement dress was the same one as the original, and in the same size. The night before my party, I tried on the replacement to find that it was a completely different fit to the original; the top part was falling off me, the sleeves were falling down, and the material gaped at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“it depends where you visist mansoon- what i learned is...”

Written on: by zigran (7 reviews written)

it depends where you visist mansoon- what i learned is that the location matters alot. went to monsoon liverpool one, when it was very new, sales person has told me off(!)for not puting dress back on teh hanger as it was in the fiting room! (It was her job). when I was so shoced she actually said it, and asked "do i have to do it?"
her responce was "Yes!"

I would never IMAGINE that to take place in Ipswich brunch, or Norwich or even London. Well, Im sure they wuldnt imagine it in Ipswich to be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Walsallstu's Response to zigran's Review

Written on:

i find your attitude absolutley appauling you would try something on that was carefully placed on a hanger for you and then leave it in the fitting and expect a sales assistant to fetch it and hang it up , this isent rodeo drive hun their there to offer advice not be your skivvy if you tryed something on at home you would put it back on the hanger . your a guest in these stores regardless whether they want your money you should use some bloody manners...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Response to zigran's Review

Written on:

Walsallstu, thank you!!

The sales assistant basically had the guts to say what every other sales assistant thinks in their heads.
No, you shouldn't put the clothes back on the hanger to please the sales assistant. You should do it because it is part of your personal responsibility as a capable and courteous person. If you found them on the floor, by all means, leave them on the floor. If you found the clothes on a hanger, it's only right that you at least attempt to put them back on the hanger. Would you leave the clothes on the floor of the fitting room in an expensive boutique?!
Walsallstu is right, you are a guest in the store. Please treat the products with respect. It is rude, or perhaps at the least just inconsiderate and absent-minded to leave the clothes off the hanger and just walk out.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jenesequa's Response to zigran's Review

Written on:

I cannot believe Walsallstu's response, it must be a joke or a send up about the rude sales assistant's response.

It is the sale's assistant's job to do all things around the shop and to look after the customer, I cannot believe the attitude. Next thing you know, she'll expect you to fix any loose threading on a garment. You should've reported this woman to the manager and then to the head office. At the very least, if she wanted you to hang the garment up, she should've explained nicely, not order you around. For pete's sake.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
overview