Monsoon Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
21% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Monsoon - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Monsoon

Monsoon

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy”

Written on: 03/09/2012

I have ordered a bag and a necklace online for next day delivery, still haven't received a confirmation email and they have taken the funds out of my account! This is terrible service. I spoke to customer services and they just told me that I haddnt placed the order, great! I'm totally peed off! AVOID IF YOU CAN!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service overall.”

Written on: 30/07/2012 by Jenesequa (4 reviews written)

I ordered a dress in the sale on 15/07/12, didn't get an order acknowledgement email (fishy?). 2 days later I received an email to notify me that they have dispatched the dress. I waited until the 26th to email them that I have no received it. The automatic response was that they strive to respond within 7 days. At this rate, I wouldn't be able to hear of anything until next month. What a complete joke. Unfortunately I would not be able to comment on the quality and design of the dress since… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I love Monsoon”

Written on: 24/07/2012 by KatieWebster (5 reviews written)

I'm really surprised by the bad reviews for Monsoon. I have been going thtere for years and only have good things to say about them. Their clothes are quirky, but not weird and you can get just about everything you need. I now have many many Monsoon pieces in my wardrobe and in some respects they are part of my unique "style" - I don't thing you could find Monsoon pieces in other shops (which is what keeps me going back) and for the most part they don't really date - which means you can get a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Website Malfunctioning/ Terrible Customer Service!...”

Written on: 12/07/2012

I always liked shopping at Monsoon but since living away from the country for years and returning it seems to have gone downhill. My local store (Bromley)doesn't hold too much stock and whenever I go in there the staff barely acknowledge you and have loud conversations about their private lives, the service is quite cold as well. Not really what you would expect. I found I needed to order online in the sale as many items were not in the store...what a mistake that was! I was ages on the site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“On-line service - good at delivery terrible at giving...”

Written on: 16/06/2012

I have used Monsoon on-line now on 3 separate occasions. First time I had to chase my refund. Second time I returned goods instore thinking it would get round the refund issue but the stores are not geared up to return on-line clothing Third time spent £995 on wedding dresses, they were returned via call and collect on 28th May and arrived at the depot on 31st May - today is 16th June - still no refund!! I shouldn't bother really… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish (literally) courier + online shopping experience”

Written on: 12/03/2012

After ordering some goods online, Hermes the courier company left parcel in a 'secure place' - on top of a communal rubbish bin! I waited for over the 7 working days period for my parcel to arrive from Monsoon, I sent an email to enquire as to it's whereabouts, waited 3 days for a reply and was given a tracking number which stated it had been delivered and left in a secure place, but Hermes would not deal with me directly. Back to Monsoon on a premium number rather than waiting another 3 days… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Comment

Written on: 01/04/2012

So, really, the problem is the courier, not Monsoon. it is the courier that should have reimbursed you. The problem is, I find it's the drivers of those services that have the wrong attitude. It's a shame you've had a bad experience as I've never had problems ordering from the site, and I love the clothes. I feel gorgeous in them. Don't let one bad experience put you off (You wouldn't stop eating chocolate if you found a solitary nut in a fruit bar :))

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Barristerlondon's Comment

Written on: 01/09/2012

I think you're right not to listen Knowyourrights' which is a laughable name because s/he clearly knows nothing. The courier is not the one to reimburse the recipient because its' contract is not with the purchaser. The courier's contract is with Monsoon. That is why it was also entitled to refuse to deal with Guest direct. Barrister, London.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Comment

Written on: 03/04/2012

:) my family is in the confectionary business. Take care

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foxyd's Comment

Written on: 02/04/2012

Please ignore the comments below which are IMHO probably from an employee of Monsoon. I am not just complaining about the courier, I was treated abominably by Monsoon customer services and had to wait several days for a response from them. I have now received my BT bill which catalogues the charges I incurred ringing their customer services department premium line. I also had to ring back to remind them they had promised to send me a voucher which was not forthcoming. I am sure that they must be inundated with complaints caused by using such an unprofessional courier company and they need to take responsiblilty for this shambolic service. My contract is with them not the courier so get your facts right. I had been buying clothes at Monsoon for the last 20 years but the last few years have noticed a significant drop in standards. I would rather spend more money on clothes which last and with a company who values their customers. Sorry if your comments have backfired 'knowyourrights' Keep indulging in chocolates by all means - and for all those with nut allergies out there it's a good job you're not in the confectionary business.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“shop assistants can't do basic job”

Written on: 04/01/2012

I visited the Monsoon shop at Victoria station on 3 Jan. 2012. It took me 1 hr + to buy 3 pairs of trousers. This was because there is only 1 fitting room for a shop located in one of the busiest stations in the country, so each of the 3 times I wanted to try some clothes I had to queau for a long time. The carpet in the fitting room was threadbare and dirty. I decided to buy 2 pairs of trousers, and as I had my hands full and wanted to try on some more clothes, I asked one of the 6 shop… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“'Inferior quality garments'”

Written on: 27/08/2011 by Rijke (1 review written)

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!' I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on: 01/04/2012

were you meant to hand wash it cold? you need to follow the directions on the label for a reason

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on: 03/04/2012

I won't lie. I have worked in retail since I was 16. (Having done it alongside graduate and post-graduate course) My comment IS biased. I will agree with you again on that. It's never nice to feel you're being fobbed off, or dealt with in a rude/poor manner, but from a service point of view, I know that sometimes what a customer wants, and what an assistant is able to do are at cross purposes. The things I've had said to me by customers in the places I have worked is appalling, and the attitude they have had towards me or my peers at the time have been sob-inducing. I'm by no means saying that you behaved this way. I'm just saying that from a personal point of view, if I'm able to help someone, I will do. I don't go out of my way to not help, and I didn't when I've worked at differing retail establishments (newsagents, home accessories, fashion) but sometimes, I simply couldn't, and the customer vilified me. I never wanted to cause you offence. I was just hoping to offer an alternative point of view.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Foxyd's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on: 02/04/2012

Knowyourrights clearly is employed by Monsoon. She is not a reviewer and her comments are totally biased, she has just criticised my review of Monsoon too without really reading it. She only joined yesterday. Please ignore!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Knowyourrights's Response to Rijke's Review

Written on: 01/04/2012

I hadn't read your review fully before commenting. You really do need to follow instructions on the label. there are types of natural dyes that need hot water to maintain their full coulor when washed. Cold water can cause these dyes to dissolve. I work in fashion design, and trust me, wash care labels are there for a reason. by washing an item incorrectly, you forego your statutory rights and any shop would be correct to refuse a refund. I have sometimes disregarded the care label instruction if i'm in a rush, but if the garment is not as nice after then I know that is my fault. Not the garments.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy Fabric, Shoddy Customer Service”

Written on: 04/08/2011

I have been a loyal customer of Monsoon for years, but have been left speechless by the appalling customer service received today. I had bought a top which showed signs of wear after, I kid you not, 15 minutes, and, accordingly to the jobsworthy store manager, it was my fault for wearing it with a handbag. Utterly disgraceful. Customer well and truly lost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rijke's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2011

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!'

I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after having to force her to give me the correct customer service number, she appeared to relish the fact that her colleague then instructed her, over the phone, not to compensate me in any way whatever.

The dress is now being sent on to their technical team, who according to the hard-edged over assertive customer support worker, will be assessed to determine whether the fabric should have beeb washed in cold water or washed at 40° as indicated. Surely, if the fabric can tolerate being washed at such high temperatures, it can withstand cold water.

So I have lost my dress, my money and my money probably, and have been treated badly by the company and the staff it employs, into the bargain. Is this really the way Monsoon want to promote their company.

Needless to say I won't be gracing the floors in any of their shops - EVER. And I'll be advising EVERYBODY I know to do the same.

Well and truly p***** off. Happy to provide more information.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Comment

Written on: 06/07/2013

Monsoon items do easily wear when another garment/ item is rubbed against it. A lot of their knitwear bobbles if you wear a jacket over it or have a bag strap rubbing on it. Also items that have fine detailed stitching, sequins and embellishment are susceptible to damage with minor friction too. It looks pretty, but it is not really fit for purpose.
No, this is not fair. For their prices, the quality should be better, but at least now you know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Rijke's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2011

'Inferior quality garments that present well on the rack, but can't sustain cold water when washed !!!!'

I totally agree. I bought a dress at a costly price, wore it once, hand washed it in cold water and the colours ran. When I tried to return the dress, the surly store manger at the branch at the King's Cross St Pancras branch first tried to fob me off with refund card that was less than the actual price paid. When I disagreed and pursued her customer services colleague on the phone, after having to force her to give me the correct customer service number, she appeared to relish the fact that her colleague then instructed her, over the phone, not to compensate me in any way whatever.

The dress is now being sent on to their technical team, who according to the hard-edged over assertive customer support worker, will be assessed to determine whether the fabric should have beeb washed in cold water or washed at 40° as indicated. Surely, if the fabric can tolerate being washed at such high temperatures, it can withstand cold water.

So I have lost my dress, my money and my money probably, and have been treated badly by the company and the staff it employs, into the bargain. Is this really the way Monsoon want to promote their company.

Needless to say I won't be gracing the floors in any of their shops - EVER. And I'll be advising EVERYBODY I know to do the same.

Well and truly p***** off. Happy to provide more information.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Absive deputy manager and faulty goods.”

Written on: 17/07/2011 by Paula1421 (1 review written)

I bought a very pretty dress for my daughters birthday in the Monsoon. The next morning she opened it, loved it, and wanted to wear it straight away. Three hours later she knelt down in her bedroom and the seam on the over skirt, at the waistline, pulled apart. I took the dress back to the branch to exchange the item within the hour, I'd had the dress less than 24hrs... it had been worn for approx 3 hrs for normal play, not climbing or rough and tumble. I spoke to the assistant manageress who… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought a bag from the accessorize website and am still...”

Written on: 23/03/2011

Bought a bag from the accessorize website and am still waiting for delivery after 2 weeks. Tried to call their customer services and just get put through to an answering machine or left on hold for 20 mins plus on an expensive phone number. Haven't answered my email complaint either.Will never order online through their website again. Terrible service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2011

I have also the same experience as u. i havent got their answer yet. They has already debited money in my account, but i still havent got my wallet. I will never order online from them anymore. very very bad!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2011

I have also the same experience as u. i havent got their answer yet. They has already debited money in my account, but i still havent got my wallet. I will never order online from them anymore. very very bad!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“A serious flaw in a Monsoon dress caused me a lot of...”

Written on: 24/01/2011

A serious flaw in a Monsoon dress caused me a lot of stress for an important occasion. I bought a dress in Monsoon in Dundrum, and a few days later exchanged it in Grafton St because the beading was falling off. The replacement dress was the same one as the original, and in the same size. The night before my party, I tried on the replacement to find that it was a completely different fit to the original; the top part was falling off me, the sleeves were falling down, and the material gaped at… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“it depends where you visist mansoon- what i learned is...”

Written on: 13/01/2011 by zigran (7 reviews written)

it depends where you visist mansoon- what i learned is that the location matters alot. went to monsoon liverpool one, when it was very new, sales person has told me off(!)for not puting dress back on teh hanger as it was in the fiting room! (It was her job). when I was so shoced she actually said it, and asked "do i have to do it?"
her responce was "Yes!"

I would never IMAGINE that to take place in Ipswich brunch, or Norwich or even London. Well, Im sure they wuldnt imagine it in Ipswich to be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Walsallstu's Response to zigran's Review

Written on: 08/04/2011

i find your attitude absolutley appauling you would try something on that was carefully placed on a hanger for you and then leave it in the fitting and expect a sales assistant to fetch it and hang it up , this isent rodeo drive hun their there to offer advice not be your skivvy if you tryed something on at home you would put it back on the hanger . your a guest in these stores regardless whether they want your money you should use some bloody manners...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Response to zigran's Review

Written on: 06/07/2013

Walsallstu, thank you!!

The sales assistant basically had the guts to say what every other sales assistant thinks in their heads.
No, you shouldn't put the clothes back on the hanger to please the sales assistant. You should do it because it is part of your personal responsibility as a capable and courteous person. If you found them on the floor, by all means, leave them on the floor. If you found the clothes on a hanger, it's only right that you at least attempt to put them back on the hanger. Would you leave the clothes on the floor of the fitting room in an expensive boutique?!
Walsallstu is right, you are a guest in the store. Please treat the products with respect. It is rude, or perhaps at the least just inconsiderate and absent-minded to leave the clothes off the hanger and just walk out.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jenesequa's Response to zigran's Review

Written on: 17/07/2012

I cannot believe Walsallstu's response, it must be a joke or a send up about the rude sales assistant's response.

It is the sale's assistant's job to do all things around the shop and to look after the customer, I cannot believe the attitude. Next thing you know, she'll expect you to fix any loose threading on a garment. You should've reported this woman to the manager and then to the head office. At the very least, if she wanted you to hang the garment up, she should've explained nicely, not order you around. For pete's sake.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“great quality maxi dress, found it on...”

Written on: 10/01/2011

great quality maxi dress, found it on www.monsoondresses.co.uk
and was so happy, wore it to a few functions over Xmas.
nice staff happy to help when I showed them the picture downloaded off the monsoon dresses web site… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ordered a item on 3rd december 2010,its now the 14th...”

Written on: 14/12/2010

Ordered a item on 3rd december 2010,its now the 14th and still no item.Never used online monsoon before and never will again,quick to take payment,but very very slow on sending items out.I emailed them but no reply,absolutley disgusting service.Does not deserve 1 star… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“They do not deserve even one star. I have ordered an...”

Written on: 09/12/2010

They do not deserve even one star. I have ordered an item on 23 Nov 2010
and I wait more than 2 weeks but they did not deliver it. However, I asked them for refund but they told me your money will be back to you after 48 days.... F**K 48 days for what??? and Why...
They do not even apologizes to you. really really bad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I think that this shop is great, You can get...”

Written on: 16/11/2010

I think that this shop is great, You can get everything you need. And the price you pay for them is just right. I have just started earning money and now i can afford their clothes and other things, i just go mad. Their handbags are gawjus i would buy them all now if i could but the price is just to much at the same time. I would recommend this shop to all my friends its great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I'm loyal Monsoon customer (33 years' old) even if...”

Written on: 23/10/2010

I'm loyal Monsoon customer (33 years' old) even if some items seems too pricey for me. But anyway, i bought this lovely Amy coat and love it...just one small suggestion about size - 2 years ago i bought a short coat from Monsoon in my usual size 10/38 which still fits perfectly and actually I wore it on the day of purchase of the new coat; however when I tried Amy coat size 10 looked like for younger sister, size 12 was ok but only if I stick to wear underneath sth "thin" so eventually decided… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dress £180 - Monsoon ”

Written on: 11/10/2010

Dress £180 - Monsoon
I agree with the other reviewer that Monsoon does not put its customers first. Eventhough I have been a regular heavy spender in Monsoon since 2003, I never realise this until I wanted to return a dress that was stained - it was only a very very faint small water stain so it wasn't obvious until I brought it home to admire my new purhase. At that point I was in the midst of moving cities so couldn't return it the next day. When I finally trekked across London to find a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Comment

Written on: 06/07/2013

To be honest, you must check all purchases thoroughly before buying. If you or the staff do not notice the fault/ stain at point of purchase, then once you leave the store, there is no way to prove when it happened. This is unfortunate and extremely frustrating for you, but this is the way it is.

However, if you had had the time to go to another branch, another manager may have given you the refund. Manager's discretion varies wildly in retail.

Having worked in retail, I am aware that items sometimes get slightly damaged in stock rooms, in fitting rooms by other customers, when being moved from place to place, etc and most times the staff will not notice unless it is obvious. So please, all consumers do check your items properly before purchasing. This way, you might even get a little discount on the item if you are willing to accept it and waive your right to a refund.

If the item had cost, say, £20 they might have given you a refund, but to lose £180 to a refund is not something most managers would like to accept, especially if they are not meeting their sales target for that day. Not fair for you at all, but that is the way of the retail world.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Okay, I'm a size 12. I'm generally a size 12. I can...”

Written on: 06/09/2010

Okay, I'm a size 12. I'm generally a size 12. I can normally guess my size in shops, and in most shops, I'm a 12. I bought a 12 dress from Monsoon 3 years ago, and now it's huge on me. I bought a size -14- jumper this year and it's tiny on me, horribly unflattering and very tight. The same for a dress I bought. I haven't put on weight or changed shape, but I really do think that Monsoon needs some quality and size control for their clothing, which is becomming tiny and shoddily made to save… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

123Consumer's Comment

Written on: 06/07/2013

Yes, I agree. Monsoon sizes are usually more generous than other stores. They like women to feel better about themselves that they can fit into a smaller size!! However, it is inconsistent usually because of the material the garment is made out of or the cut. Try before you buy is a must.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview