Island Cruises, Island Escape Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
3.4 / 5
63% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Food - quality & variety

  • Entertainment on board

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Island Cruises, Island Escape - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Island Cruises, Island Escape

Island Cruises, Island Escape
Island Cruises, Island Escape

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★☆

“Booked last minute to get away from the snow! Looked...”

Written on: 17/02/2010

Booked last minute to get away from the snow! Looked at other reviews which were mixed, but went with an open mind. The crew could not be faulted. Without exception, all the crew members we met were polite, helpful and chatty. They made a fuss of the kids especially.
The food was excellent - good variety & lots of fresh fruit & veg.
The ship itself is a bit tired in terms of decor & our cabins were very basic & "tired", but were kept spotlessly clean & after all, you only sleep in them! Our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pembrey's Comment

Written on: 18/02/2010

Some people are easily pleased! We paid cruise ship prices to go on this unstable rust bucket. I agree about the staff, they deserve medals each and every one of them and they should be on a better vessel.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ I would love to know how much the people who have...”

Written on: 16/02/2010 by ritchietitchie (1 review written)

I would love to know how much the people who have intimated that the cruise was cheap, actually paid. My wife and I paid almost £3000 for this cruise, in a small cabin with peeling paint, mouldy green taps and dirty shower.The toilet also didn't work. We queued for meals from a buffet where the food was at best warm and at worst cold. The choice was abysmal, great if you like Motorway cafe food. And even if these people did pay less, there is no excuse for lack of maintenance, cold food and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“When we read the reviews on this cruise we were...”

Written on: 15/02/2010

When we read the reviews on this cruise we were worried about going,What a load of rubbish,we had a brilliant time,the ship is old ,but kept very clean.The food is fantastic 24 hour dining,and there is a great variety,every evening there was a show on and they were excellent.We had an outside cabin with a picture wndow ,and there was 4 of us and we had plenty of room..So if you are thinking about going on this cruise ignore the bad reviews .we cant wait till next year to go on it again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What can i say this was the worst cruise i have ever...”

Written on: 14/02/2010

What can i say this was the worst cruise i have ever been on . Vile Vile Vile. Only book if you want to be sad and seasick for a week. Shame on you Thompsons… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I would never go on this vessel again. Impossible to...”

Written on: 12/02/2010

I would never go on this vessel again. Impossible to sleep due to pitching and rolling, crashing, creaking and feeling you're going to turn over. Posiedon thoughts! My friend in the next cabin wanted to sleep in her life jacket. Cabins very very dated. Reminded us of a 70's tiny caravan. Grubby and shabby to say the least. Bed linen and towels grey and stained. Toilet system unable to cope and only flushed now and again. At one point stopped working at all and 200 of us were taken to an hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I was on the Island Escape doing the Colourful Coasts...”

Written on: 11/02/2010

I was on the Island Escape doing the Colourful Coasts starting in Madeira on the 1st February 2010.

Like everybody else I was intrigued to see what the reviews were like for the Island Escape and like everybody else I was shocked at what I saw and what I had booked.
I was preparing for the worse but you know what I had a great time!
It was my first cruise and wasn't sure what it would be like and I had such a good time on board!
Yes it does need up dating but I couldn't complain about… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Since 2005 we have used Island cruises 6 times. The...”

Written on: 11/02/2010 by SeaPrincess (1 review written)

Since 2005 we have used Island cruises 6 times. The Escape is 'going down'. We did the Colourful Coasts trip and were unhappy with the cleanliness and shabbiness of the ship. The cabin stewardess was great and kept our cabin clean. The toilet in it kept failing to work.The hot water was a brown colour.The swimming pool was not opened.The Buffet-style was not Buffet style at all - we were 'served' child-sized portions unless we begged for more - an outbreak of Norovirus had occurred the previous… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buffed4U's Response to SeaPrincess's Review

Written on: 12/02/2010

Hi Sorry to hear you had a bad time totally agree with all you said we travelled over christmas with our kids it was a disaster. There is a website created by the some of the passengers you can view and If you have any picture video you can upload them to - http://www.cruisefromhell.webs.com/apps/photos/
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“The word needs to be spread: ”

Written on: 09/02/2010

The word needs to be spread:

http://cruisefromhell.webs.com/apps/links/

This ship is a travesty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“We have just returned from our first cruise on the...”

Written on: 06/02/2010

We have just returned from our first cruise on the Island Escape which we booked because of the price/time of year and itenary. We had no problems at all.Had i read some of the reviews before i had gone then i probably would have chosen something esle. I really do wonder sometimes what people expect for their money.Yes the cabins are small , we dont go on holiday to stay in our room!!Cleanliness was very high priority throughout the whole ship. Staff were always very happy and polite and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buffed4U's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2010

Having spent &pound;5200.00 for 2 adults and two children I expect the usual Thompson standards however this was not the case maybe I was a one off but I doubt it. It quite evident that peoples standards do differ gladly I'm in the category where I expect good hygiene standards along with a good level of quality - remember quality is free! As they say a picture paints a 1000 words check out the recent pictures of the Christmas carousel cruise
<br/>http://www.cruisefromhell.webs.com/apps/photos/
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“If you believe some of the negative reviews and/or are...”

Written on: 04/02/2010

If you believe some of the negative reviews and/or are unfortunate enough to sit beside any of the seemingly large number of 'professional moaners' on board, you might become downhearted.
But.....apart from the fact that this ship is elderly and in need of a refit, and you don't have to approach 'Customer Relations' for anything, then, this is a good ship. We were allocated an outside cabin on deck 5 (midships); it was smallish (just what DO you expect for the price?) clean and everything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ship was filthy, food basic and very often cold, cabin...”

Written on: 04/02/2010

Ship was filthy, food basic and very often cold, cabin smelly, broken shower, blocked sink, broken air conditioning. All pasengers had to be put off the ship at Tenerife in order for it to be fumigated.

I have been cruising for 12years and this was the worst experience of my life total waste of money.

I would not go on this ship if you gave me it for free… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“this was our first cruise and will not be the last....”

Written on: 02/02/2010 by frankharr (1 review written)

this was our first cruise and will not be the last. the cabins on board were small but clean,maid service was excellent.the organised trips we took (la palma and morocco) were value for money.could not fault the food which was varied and tasty.the entertainment kept us past our normal bed time!thecruise was good value for money.some moaners but thats the same with any holiday. weather could have been better ,couple of rough crossings but it is the atlantic in jan. not even thomson or island… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“my husband and i and a group of friends booked a 3...”

Written on: 31/01/2010

my husband and i and a group of friends booked a 3 night cruise sailing from tenerife on the 8th jan 2010 we had a long delay at gatwick because of the snow and couldnt wait to get aboard and relax. However on arriving at the ship and finding our cabins dissapointment wasnt the word!!! Our cabin which we had upgraded at a cot of an extra £100 was awful to say the least small dingy with a broken tv set mouldy window sills and a bathroom out of the ark. my bed was a sofa bed with a large lump of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A disgrace. We can't all be wrong. Thomsons/Tui should...”

Written on: 31/01/2010 by pembrey (1 review written)

A disgrace. We can't all be wrong. Thomsons/Tui should be ashamed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Loved it! ”

Written on: 25/01/2010

Loved it!
ship is a bit well loved but the price compared to other cruises was good
food 100% in all 3 resturants
entertainment 100%
GREAT STAFF great people came home and felt like i had laughed for a whole week

fantastic last minute prices

Itinery Fantastic !
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Returned 22/1/2010 from two week holiday. First week...”

Written on: 23/01/2010 by black poodle (1 review written)

Returned 22/1/2010 from two week holiday. First week on the Island Escape, 2nd week in hotel in Tenerife. This was the first time on a Thomson cruise although we have cruised several times before with other companys. The cabins were the worst we have ever had, very small and dingy, much in need of a make over. My partner contacted the D & V bug, which lasted 24 hrs, infact I think 50% of the ship contacted it at some stage. There were several announcements over the week telling us that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“bad costumer care bad phone service, rude guest...”

Written on: 21/01/2010

bad costumer care bad phone service, rude guest relations workers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ ”

Written on: 18/01/2010 by ruth kaye (1 review written)


If you are considering booking this ship, for a cruise at any price
consider the reduction. Then do not go !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dirty, shabby, dangerous, smelly, old, worn out, needs
to be put to the place they take old ships to pieces, and scrap
the bits and pieces.
Food cold and left on buffet for hours, then chopped and mixed into
salads the next day.. As a vegetarian.. nothing to eat bar pizza..
all the dishes had bits of meat mixed in.
You would watch passengers suffering… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful.... If you have not yet booked, DON'T, if you...”

Written on: 17/01/2010

Awful.... If you have not yet booked, DON'T, if you have try and get your money back, if you can only get half your money back do this and stay at home, you will then not have to then endure, filthy cabins and and public areas especially the beachcomber 'restaurant', overflowing toilets, (when the water is actually turned on), leaks from the pipes in the ceiling, sodden carpets, musty smell, tasteless mush they describe as food, yesterday's left overs for the following day, if you have any… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Caroline Bowne's Comment

Written on: 18/01/2010

we to went on the same cruise, did we? yes lots of ill people but the company went out of there way to try and sort things out, free trip on
<br/>friday for every one so thay could sanitize the whole ship, and dont forget everyone getting on any cruise ship has to sign to say they are not or havnt been ill in last 24 hours, hello someone lied, is that thomsoms falt? People not wanting to do as they were told, ie sanitize your hands and stay in the cabin if you got the 24 hour bug,not walk around vomitting! The staff had to stand about on sick duty. We just did as we were told and hay presto had a great holiday in red hot sunshine!!!, YES
<br/>The ship is a past its sell-by ,the cabins ARE somewhat hi de hi, but you
<br/>gets what to pay for, try rci, ncl or costa once and decide if you want one or three cruises a year, i know we'll be on 3 cheapies!!!!!!!
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buffed4U's Comment

Written on: 19/01/2010

Having travelled on the Christmas cruise from hell aboard the Island Escape. I can tell you that there is a problem onboard with Norovirus and is it any wonder the ship is filthy and rotting coupled with the plagued sanitation - I'm not sure if too are aware the ship was designed as car ferry for 1-2 day passages hence the tiny cabins and obviously the vacuum system was adequate for this but totally inadequate for continual cruise usage. In addition the offset of a car ferry as opposed to a cruise ship is the hull a car ferry has a flat bottom hence RO RO in turn making the vessel more susceptible pitching and rolling even in moderate seas. The mere fact that all the passengers were given a free trip should tell you something. They even increased the chlorine levels in the water to stop the bug from spreading. We have heard all the old chestnuts "passengers came on board ill" "Passengers flushed large items down the loo" The ship is a disgrace and Thomson's have seriously damaged their brand name by using this rust bucket - if your un-sure check out the recent pictures oh and by the way price should not comprise quality or safety cruise for family of 4 cost us &pound;5,200.00
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“My wife and I have returned from this cruise tonight...”

Written on: 16/01/2010

My wife and I have returned from this cruise tonight after a 7 night "holiday" leaving from Tenerife to celebrate my wife's 50th. Given we had been on this ship in June 09 and had a fantastic time arount the med, we were well aware that ship was a bit tired and cabins a bit on the wee side. However, our previous experience was entirely different from this trip.

After we had been on board for a day we hear mutterings of the Novo virus. We asked members of the crew and they all denied any… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview