Wickes Reviews - www.wickes.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
247
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Summary

Write a review of Wickes DIY and help other consumers! What is the selection of merchandise like? Is it easy to find what you are looking for in the shop? How is the customer service? Once you've added your thoughts to this page, come to our DIY Forums to talk about all things DIY and Home Improvement related.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk

Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk
Wickes - www.wickes.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Complete rubbish”

Written on: 31/05/2013

Was told it would be delivered on a certain day between 10am and 3pm. Only to be told at 4pm it would not be delivered because the delivery van had broken down. Promised it would be delivered first thing the following morning. It wasn't. I went to the store to complain and found my order sitting on a pallet outside the store. Went into the store to be told it was on a van somewhere but that had also broken down. !! They lie don't inform you of anything are frankly completely incompetent. If you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“delivery”

Written on: 30/05/2013

Paid for next day delivery for five doors came two days later with one door damaged and i sent it back as damaged .Wicks then returned the same door back on two more accasions oviesly still damaged took a full eek to get a replacement SHOCKING SERVICE?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

Must have been a 'Double Exit ' door, thinking that they could have got out of this one, but you caught them trying to get away. Well done and good on you. More customers like you are needed to catch them out.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“delivery”

Written on: 22/05/2013 by masterplaster (1 review written)

Do not order plasterboard for delivery.given time of 7am and 13.00 comes at 16.30 no apology and a lot of damaged boards. Never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to masterplaster's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

Hi Masterplaster - what a disaster !
I've only given 2 ticks, for deliveries from Wickes.
Mine didn't turn up until after four-forty
and that I found to be equally as naughty.
It's when the time reaches twenty past ten
that's when you are expected to say,
Wickes ..........Never Again !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Dreadful service”

Written on: 16/05/2013

Had to go into showroom to order a worktop as couldn't do this online. Showed "designer" sample who said she had to order it. Difficult to get delivery, when it arrived it was the wrong one (unfortunately it arrived at 7.20 am and we didn't check it as carefully as we should have as we had two small granddaughters to look after) - completely different from one we wanted to order. We are now trying to get them to collect this having had to go and buy a different one from B & Q (where the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

No, you are not being cynical
when you count all their stars
Maybe the reviewer with five
was from planet Mars.
As for collections
and the calls you made - 'seven'
Count yourself lucky
The callst I made, amounted to 'eleven'

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“warrington store excelant customer service from Andy”

Written on: 11/05/2013

Very helpful in sorting out our order, arranging delivery and explaining special promotions to help save extra money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

Tell me the old old story

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally. Incompetent ”

Written on: 06/05/2013

Lack of. Knowledge. Of products. They sell. Slow. Arrogant. Teenage. Partime staff. More interested in where to go out in the evening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

I thought you were talking about the NHS and Gloucestershire Royal Hospital for one moment

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“lack of competence”

Written on: 26/04/2013 by boatname (1 review written)

Ordered and paid for 2 Minster doors on 13/03/13 .Complained on 5/04/13 re non delivery. Told forgot to order. Now advised would be after 5/06/13. Tried to telephone today but cut off after waiting over 5 minutes. Your website states "Minster door in stock, delivery up to 14 days.It may have your name on it but such inefficiency is inexcusable!!! Dennis Gilbert… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to boatname's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

Hello 'Boatname', your Minster door 'may have their name on it', but could it be that it was ' Made in China ', in which case it will take little longer than 14 days delivery on a slow boat from China.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Service and Delivery”

Written on: 26/04/2013

Order placed Tuesday for delivery Wednesday; no delivery- Promised for Thursday. Thursday arrived, only hald of good ordered and some in correct; promised for Friday. Friday has arrived and no delivery; promised for Saturday ( I won't hold my breath). Service has deteriorated over last few years and won't be using them again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

......and on the Seventh day 'God' rested on his great heaven and earth.
So if your delivery does not arrive on a Saturday, don't expect it to come on the Sunday.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“It's got our name on it.........but you can IT”

Written on: 24/04/2013

Tried to order some bathroom taps in store and 08:00 in the morning, was told they can only be ordered by a "design consultant" and they don't start work until 10:30am. I was then told neither "design consultant" would be at the store as they were both having the day off. Asked the attendant to phone one of them, was told they couldn't because it was their day off. I asked to see the person in charge, person in charge told me he couldn't order the taps because he didn't have access to the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Non-delivery from Wickes”

Written on: 01/04/2013 by davidstarley (2 reviews written)

The product looked OK on the web-site and the promise to deliver it on the following Saturday, ahead of the Easter break, for an extra £5 sounded good value, unfortunately having waited in all day nothing arrived. Despite providing contact details to help keep us informed of the delivery we've heard nothing. I rang the help line but they couldn't contact the couriers but assured me that when deliveries are delayed they refund the £5 paid for the faster service. Not the sort of business… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to davidstarley's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

Hello davidstarley

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT BOOKING ON THE WEBSITE CAN DO FOR YOU. JUST LIKE A CATALOGUE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS LOOK SO APPEALING, AND AS YOU SAY OKAY. TEMPTATION CAUSED YOU TO ORDER IT AND RECEIVE IT BY A FASTER DELIVERY, FOR £5 EXTRA.

YOUR EXAMPLE AS TO THE QUALITY OF SERVICE CLEARLY THE PROBLEMS YOU RECEIVED, AS FOR THOSE APPEALING PHOTOGRAPHS SHOWING THE PRODUCT AND DETAILS, THEN BEWARE, THE CAMERA CAN SOMETIMES LIE, ESPECIALLY IF IT HAS THEIR NAME ON IT.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Kitchen fitted to excellent standard”

Written on: 29/03/2013

The sales staff at the Hinckley store gave me all the advice we initially needed and very soon we had planned a kitchen and ordered. When we changed our minds over things they couldnt have been more helpfull. When the contracted fitter Mackenzie interiors came to assess a number of alterations to the original plan were suggested. The kitchen was fitted to schedule and to a very high standard. When a snall bit of trim at the end of a worktop came away Tom was out the next day. Some months down… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great Customer Service Team”

Written on: 15/03/2013 by cherryadams (5 reviews written)

I brought a Shower for Wickes. The shower after a few months had a faulty temperature control. I went down to my local Wickes and instead of saying you must contact the manufacturer, they took my name and number and sent an engineer to fix it. I cannot fault the service and the price and quality of the items are good. I would recommend waiting around August time as they normally do a 50% sale and then another 25% on top. I saved £1600 on my shower at the time… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to cherryadams's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

Hi Cherryadams,

Nice to see your review recorded on this review website., and to see that you received good service from Wickes (at whatever branch ?). However , I do not understand that your shower developed a fault ( faulty shower control) and after just a few months. Further into your review, you say the quality of the items are 'good'., and award Wickes 5 stars.

As for your claim of saying you had a saving £1600 through a mark down of 50% followed by a further 25%, clearly shows the profit they had had been hitherto 'ripping off' customers with selling it at the original price. Still if you are happy to fall for this kind of sale, and believe you had received a bargain, that's fine. I hope it continues to work well for you following the fixing of the faulty part(s).

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“after sales service”

Written on: 12/03/2013

I cannot believe how briliant the after sales service is at the Chorley store the lady i spoke to was so helpful and went out of her way to help. I will definately shop there again and will recommend it to friends and family many thanks for your help… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

...AND SO YOU SHOULD SUPPORT AND RECOMMEND THEM, AND SPREAD THE GOOD AROUND, IF YOU ARE A MEMBER OF STAFF AT WICKES.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“excellent elivery service”

Written on: 12/03/2013

I oredered everything i needed to revamp my house including rebuilding my garage i placed the order on the thursday at around 4pm and the nice young man at the morecambe store helped me out with calculations for blocks, sand, cement,kitchen units and worktops and many more not only where the staff very helpfull but they said i could get it all delivered the next day as they had everything i needed in stock. This wouldnt be the first time ive had excellent service fro this store… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

WHAT.....!? THEY DID ALL THIS FOR YOU, AND THEN LEFT YOU TO BUILD YOUR GARAGE WITHOUT OFFERING FURTHER HELP. I DON'T BELIEVE IT.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shoddy Goods”

Written on: 23/02/2013 by M0GG (1 review written)

Ordered a half glazed exterior door from Wickes. We attempted to order in the local branch in Telford and were told they were not stock items and that we would have to order over the internet. The internet informed that we had to order in shop. Eventually the order was placed over the telephone. So far we have received 5 doors. One was the incorrect door. One had damaged packaging and a chunk missing from the wooden frame. Three had damaged glazing yet each time the packaging was intact… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to M0GG's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

WELL DONE MOGG, GO ON, YOU TELL 'EMM. I AGREE WITH YOU 100%. YOU ARE RIGHT TO GIVE THEM 'STICK'. THEY DESERVE IT. LOOK ABOUT ON THIS WEBSITE FOR ADVERSE RWVIEWS. YOU ARE NOT ON YOUR OWN MATE. DON'T YOU BELIEVE IT, YOUR REVIEW DOES WIDELY SPREAD ACROSS TO THOSE USING THE INTERNET.

REMEMBER, THE BEST FORM OF ADVERTISING IS DONE BY WORD OF MOUTH, AND YOURS IS A GOOD ADVERT OF SAYING "DO NOT BUY SUCH GOODS UNLESS THEY HAVE SOMEONE LSES NAME ON IT !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“never shop at wickes”

Written on: 11/02/2013

they offer price match then dont want to do it, i brought 6 doors today and got them delivered when i got them 3 where damaged they wanted me to take them 20 miles down the road to where i ordered them...... THE LAW IS A WICKES IS A WICKES AND THEY SHOULD OF TAKEN THEM BACK !!!!! IF I HAVE A RECIEPT. THAT IS THE LAW. bad service shop somewhere but not wicks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Comment

Written on: 05/06/2013

WELL DONE - WICKES AYLESBURY REVIEWER. I CAN SEE BY YOUR REVIEW THAT THIS COMPANY HAS CERTAINLY GOT ON YOR WICKES..... AND YES, THEY SHOULD COME AND TAKE THE DAMAGED DOORS BACK FROM YOU.

SELLING DAMGED DOORS IS A REGULAR COMPLAINT WITH WICKES.. YOU ARE NOT THE FIRST TO BE AGGRIEVED BY THE SHODDY STANDARDS OF THE GOODS THEY SELL..

AS FOR THE LAW, THEN IN MY OPINION, IF YOU STILL HAVE THE RECEIPT, AND THEY WILL NOT RESOLVE THE MATTER TO YOUR SATISFACTION, THEN WHY NOT CONSIDER TAKING THEM TO THE SMALL CLAIMS COURT TO RECOVER YOUR LOSSES, AND EXPENSES. IF YOU DO DECIDE ON SERVING THEM WITH A WRIT, THEN MAKE SURE THEY HAVE THEIR NAME ON IT !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Dodge Norman Leeson - Wickes Wallsend”

Written on: 28/01/2013 by xooo (1 review written)

Totally lets the store down, cant even organise delivery to store for a single kitchen unit. Then charged 15 pound for the delivery to store! nice. Yet again thanks for nothing Wickes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to xooo's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

HELLO, 'DODGE NORMAN' AT WALLSEND

I FIND YOUR REVIEW WERY MILD AND WEAK. JOIN THE REST OF US UNHAPPY CUSTOMERS, AND DO A MORE DETAILED REVIEW, FOLLWED BY A GOOD SLAMMING SLOGAN. THEY DESERVE IT.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Apalling Customer Service”

Written on: 23/01/2013 by Savvvvyshopper (1 review written)

Due to the recent bad weather conditions and fearful of slipping on our driveway, yesterday 22nd January I phoned the Redditch Store to see if they had supplies of rock salt I could throw on the drive. After leaving the phone ring for a while with no answer I went on-line to check the stock at this branch to see 502 in stock. Great! My husband left straight from work (6 miles journey) to collect some bags. I then got a phone call from him to say that he hadn't been allowed to buy any bags as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to Savvvvyshopper's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

WOW SAVVVYSHOPPER - WHAT A FANTASTIC REVIEW YOU HAVE WRITTEN ON WICKES. YOU HAVE MOST CERTAINLY HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD. THEY ARE A SHAMBLES AND A DISGRACE TO THE DIY MARKET IN THIS COUNTRY. THEY EMPLOY MANAGEMENT AND STAFF, MANY OF WHOM ARE IGNORANT TO SEE THE LEAST. I HAVE COME ACROSS SOME FOOLS IN MY TIME, BUT WICKES SOMEHOW 'TAKE THE BISCUIT'.

THEY OBVIOUSLY KNOW NO MORE ABOUT THE STORAGE OF ROCK SALT, (ICE MELT), THAN WHAT YOU OR I KNOW ABOUT 'RUSSIAN SUBMARINES' , AND THAT IS EQUALLY AS SAYING TWO THIRDS OF THREE QUARTERS OF ONE EIGTH OF TWO FIFTHS, WHICH IN A NUTSHELL IS AS CLOSE AS YOU CAN GET TO NOTHING !

I SAY....SIMPLY LEAVE THEM WHERE THEY ARE AND AS YOU SAY, DON'T SHOP WITH THIS PATHETIC COMPANY AGAIN !

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY ANNOYING”

Written on: 08/11/2012 by compain (1 review written)

I just copied and pasted what the last person said - don't need to waste anymore of my time!.... When a company advertises next day delivery and you phone to confirm is it to much ask that you get it next day? I don't think so! It is with Wickes, take the day off work and wait, decide to call to check again. Surprise, surprise not out for delivery. Wasting my time off work! Thanks Wickes, really poor service, will never use or recommend again, putting your name on anything means rubbish to me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to compain's Review

Written on: 05/06/2013

WELL DONE MATE, BUT IF YOU HAD ONLY CHECKED THIS WEBSITE FOR REVIEWS ON WICKES, THEN IT WOULD HAVE SAVED YOU A LOT OF WASTE TIME.

DON'T THINK THAT WICKES CARE ABOUT YOU AND YOUR COMPLAINTS OF A POOR DELIVERY SERVICE. ALL THEY ARE CONCERNED ABOUT, IS GETTING YOUR MONEY IN THEIR TILL.....AND ONCE IT IS THEIR, REST ASSURED, THAT'S WHERE IT REMAINS. MY ADVICE IS, SIMPLE SPREAD THE WORD ABOUT WICKES ' APPALLING SERVICE, THROUGHOUT YOUR NEIGHBOURHOOD. DISCOURAGE FRIEND AND NEIGHBOURS FROM BUYING FROM THEM .. AIM TO BRING THEM TO THEIR KNEES, AND LET THEM SUFFER AT THE HANDS OF RECEIVERSHIP.

NEXT TIME YOU BUY DIY, SIMPLY MAKE SURE IT DOES NOT HAVE THEIR NAME ON IT.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Next day delivery -not. With attitude”

Written on: 06/11/2012 by bearra69 (1 review written)

When a company advertises next day delivery and you phone to confirm is it to much ask that you get it next day? I don't think so! It is with Wickes, take the day off work and wait, decide to call to check again. Surprise, surprise not out for delivery. Wasting my time off work! Thanks Wickes, really poor service, will never use or recommend again, putting your name on anything means rubbish to me now! Sounds like many others feel the same!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview