Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
2148
95% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Excellent Customer Service”

Written on: 11/09/2016 by LadyFlyer1964 (1 review written)

We have hired many cars and used various different car hire companies over the last ten years at Alicante Airport. But we keep coming back to Drivalia, as they have the best Customer Service. Pickup from Alicante Airport is in a mini bus on the ground floor. They drive you to Drivalia Rental office. It takes approx 5 minutes.The office is air conditioned and they don't leave you waiting outside frying in the heat, like some hire companies I could mention. Staff are very courteous and helpful… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to LadyFlyer1964's Review

Written on: 16/09/2016

Hola!

Thank you for your kind words. It´s great to know that you were satisfied with your car hire and the service received from Drivalia.

We work hard to deliver the easiest, fastest and best possible customer experience and we are pleased that we lived up to our reputation.

Air conditioning is important, it prevents the staff and clients from melting!

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Please do like us on facebook to stay completely up to date with thelatest news and offers!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Always my first choice”

Written on: 10/09/2016 by GianaReid (1 review written)

I am customer since three years. Everything is always at the best. So I guess I will be even book next year. For me, absolutly recommend! 5*… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Thank you for your review. It´s always lovely to hear from our customers, especially happy regulars!

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“El servicio fue impecable.”

Written on: 10/09/2016 by Humphreyrk436 (1 review written)

Llegamos al aeropuerto, ahi estaba el tranfer de Drivalia esperando para acercarnos a las oficinas. Solo 5 minutos del aeropuerto. Todo muy expeditivo. Buen precio calodad. Aclaro q soy muy exigente. Volveria sin duda a Drivalia… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 09/09/2016

Very easy process from start to finish, we did the rental online before going on holiday and paid everything up front. Was a great price. When we got there the shuttle bus was easy to find and got us there in no time, definitely got there and got our car quicker than waiting in the queues at the airport. Staff were friendly and helpful, the car was in excellent condition and we had a child seat which was of a great standard. Returning the car was even easier. Couldn't recommend them enough… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased that everything was to a great standard for you.

We very much hope that we can look forward to being your preferred car hire supplier in Spain for many years to come.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“We have used Drivalia several times and always...”

Written on: 09/09/2016 by Mads1946 (1 review written)

We have used Drivalia several times and always received excellent service from the staff. The quality and choice of cars is also excellent from year to year and there are no hidden extras. Have no hesitation in recommending this company… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Mads1946's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola!

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you are satisfied with the service that we offer and the choice of cars.

We very much look forward to serving you for many years to come.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“One of the better offsite rental companies”

Written on: 07/09/2016 by zjGentry269 (1 review written)

Having tried many rental companies at Alicante, this one had good reviews. We found it excellant, with a very friendly arrival rep, who spoke perfect English. They only put a hold on your credit card for the excess cover. This is how it should be done. Not like Dickmanns who take the E1,000 and then take 5-6weeks to give it you back (apart from not having your money, you also lose out on conversion rates) On of the better offsite rental companies, but then we never had an issue for them to… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed hiring a car from us.

We certainly work hard to make sure that things like deposits are easy and that the customer is treated fairly. We are very proud of our team who are all at least bilingual and some multi-lingual so that our clients are always attended in their own language to make the experience easy and without stress!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Overall great experience ”

Written on: 07/09/2016 by JaidaOwen (1 review written)

We frequently hire cars abroad and Drivalia has to be one of the best experiences. Speedy pick up and return process, transparent payment options and we got exactly the car we wanted - in great condition. Staff were friendly and helpful and website was very easy to use. Would not hesitate to use again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Thank you for your lovely review. Honesty, transparency and top class service are what we strive to achieve and it is lovely when we get such positive feedback.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you many more times in the future.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“great service, convenient, great packages, good pricing”

Written on: 06/09/2016 by hannah2016 (1 review written)

We rent with Drivalia's Alicante location every year when we go to Costa Blanca. Their ultimate package means we have will have no concerns during our rental period. They have competitive pricing. Cars are always clean. Service is always impeccable… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to hannah2016's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola!

Thank you for a lolely review. We are delighted that you have discovered Drivalia Ultimate and enjoy the benefits that it offers.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you for many years to come!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Easy as 123”

Written on: 06/09/2016 by Mraes (1 review written)

What a great rental experience at Alicante, booked ultimate package as it was a special deal, it took less than one minute in the office once we got there to sign for car, collect keys and be on our way. It gave us complete peace of mind during our holiday,. Car was new with latest gadgets, easy to drive, and getting to and from rental office was easy. A great experience from start to finish. The only slight issue was in having to wait once we arrived at airport for collection, a little longer… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Mraes's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Thank you for your lovely review. Another Ultimate customer who believes that it is the best way to hire a car! We couldn´t agree more and the overwhelming majority of our clients feel the same!

Normally our shuttle service is extremely efficient and at peak times we have up to four busses contuinually running between the office and the terminal. If for any reason you were kept waiting we apologise but we assure you that this is not the normal service level!

We very much look forward to seeing you again!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent service in Alicante ”

Written on: 05/09/2016 by jaxxpotter (1 review written)

Drivalia were recommended to me by my brother who uses them regularly. From my first contact with Alicante i received excellent service. He was very kind and helpful and sorted me out with an excellent deal. When i arrived they were very helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend Drivalia Ultimate Package as this gave me no worries at all about insurance cover. Recieved excellent service again when i returned my vehicle. Thank you to all the kind staff at Drivalia in Alicante… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to jaxxpotter's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hello from Spain!

You have written a very lovely review. Thank you!

We launched Drivalia Ultimate almost two years ago to really stand our from the croud. Sadly car hire in Spain is a battlefield of everyone scrambling for the lowest prices which inevitably leads to low grade service and problems. Ultimate has become our most popular package because it offers a truly honest and transparent pricing structure with no hidden extras. Yes, it can be a little more expensive but when you consider that it remains enourmousley cheaper than most worldwide destinations it represents extremely great value for money.

We are proud to have one of the highest staff to client ratios in the area meaning we really can dedicate ourselves to delivering an exceptional service and it´s lovely to hear form clients when we achieve this.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Car rental at its best”

Written on: 05/09/2016 by Irishinkos (1 review written)

We have been using Drivalia since March this year and this is our 3rd time using them and the service just gets better each time. The staff are amazing and will do anything they can do to help you.. As for the cars they are perfect and in pristine condition. The staff are so friendly and obliging and even now helping my partner improve her Spanish. There is many car rental companies at Alicante but not all have the professionalism and friendliness as Drivalia have and not forgetting the good… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Irishinkos's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola from Spain!

Thank you for trusting us to care for your car hire needs in Spain. We are delighted that you enjoy renting cars from us and that we continue to live up to the high standards that we strive to achieve.

It´s particulary lovely to hear the comments about our team who we are so proud of because they really try to go beyond the call of duty to offer a great experience for our clients.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Greatly let down by airport shuttle service”

Written on: 05/09/2016

On arrival in Majorca, we waited approx 10 minutes for our shuttle service which we thought was acceptable, the driver was very pleasant and helpful, on arrival at the office we were dealt with by a courteous and pleasant lady and at this point we were impressed, unfortunately on our return it was a totally different experience, we returned the car and was asked to wait for the shuttle, only one bus was in operation and there was a large amount of people wAiting. I asked how long and was told… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are extremely sorry if there was any delay with our shuttle bus. We would like to assure you that this is extremely rare. Our shuttles are carefully planned to ensure that we have ample services operating when needed and we take great pride in the speed of which we transfer customers from the airport to the office and vica verca.

We have passed this feedback onto the team in Mallorca as part of our continued efforts to improve the service that we offer and as I have said delays of more than a few minutes are very rare.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are extremely sorry if there was any delay with our shuttle bus. We would like to assure you that this is extremely rare. Our shuttles are carefully planned to ensure that we have ample services operating when needed and we take great pride in the speed of which we transfer customers from the airport to the office and vica verca.

We have passed this feedback onto the team in Mallorca as part of our continued efforts to improve the service that we offer and as I have said delays of more than a few minutes are very rare.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service!”

Written on: 05/09/2016 by AlmaFord67 (1 review written)

A complete rip off from the start to finish so many hidden extras like fuel charges extra insurance poor car ie Fiesta petrol Dirty inside,only clear water in the screenwash very unfriendly at the return. Overall a poor experience. not use again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

We are sorry if your experience was not to the standard that we strive to achieve. We use the services of an external valeting contractor who are responsible for preparing all of our cars to a very high standard. In fact we allow significantly more valeting time per car than most other local companies to really ensure they are to a good standard and this is reflected in the overwhelming majority of feedback that we receive from our customers.

Nevertheless if on this occasion something went wrong and the car was not as we expect then we do offer our apologies.

For future reference, as you will know, our cars are parked just metres from the office and we also have staff outside in the compound most of the time. if you ever hire a car from us and are not satisfied with any aspect of it please do tell a member of the team and we will immediately change the car for you.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Generally good but extortionate charging for fuel ”

Written on: 02/09/2016 by promocollect (1 review written)

All good and took the basic package as had my own excess insurance. The down side of this is that you are charged a full to empty policy on fuel. This is where they really sting you as I was charged 101 euros to fill a Citroen C3 which has a 50 litre fuel tank capacity. Essentially they charged me double for the fuel. Having returned the car with 1/2 a tank left this I consider to be daylight robbery… Read Full Review

Chris0241's Response to promocollect's Review

Written on: 03/09/2016

Sounds like a dreadful rip-off! Why did you rate them 4*??

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to promocollect's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is true that the Basic package offers great value for money on the car hire but incurs a fuel tank purchase. You should be aware that our Basic Plus and our most popular (Ultimate) are both FULL to FULL so you don´t pay us for fuel - just receive the car conveniently full and return the same! it´s the way most clients prefer and the way we prefer to rent the cars too!

We do look forward to seeing you again!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Very good service, recommend Drivalia”

Written on: 30/08/2016 by sanyago (1 review written)

Definitely recommend Drivalia!! We rented an economy class car with full insurance, prepaid on the Drivalia website to the holiday in Mallorca. Got a Ford Fiesta. The process from the pickup at the airport, to the last transportation at the end of the period, everything was guick, accurate. Half an hour after the baggage claim we were sitting in our car!!! Unbelievable!!! The staff was kind, and quick. The cars overall condition was good. Had some scratches, but it is usual on a rental… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to sanyago's Review

Written on: 11/09/2016

Hola

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It´s great to know that you had a good experience with us in Palma.

We very much hope that we can look forward to serving you for many years to come.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Super value for price / Estupendo”

Written on: 27/08/2016 by valinas (1 review written)

I had a Kia Ceed diesel in Mallorca. Staff pleasant, helpful, explaining conditions and answering my questions in detail. Kia was almost new, no complaints. Fuel contract was full to empty, therefore it cost around 100 eur for the tank + refueling service. Important to know this everytime you want to rent a car with full to empty contract. To sum up, I would recommend this Company, and will definitely use it again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to valinas's Review

Written on: 27/08/2016

Hola

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that everything was good for you.

Please remember that with Drivalia you can book full to full which means that you don´t pay us for fuel. Please email us when you come to Spain and and we will provide you with an all inclusive quote!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible!!!! Forget the low price!!!! They will charge...”

Written on: 27/08/2016 by Gudie (1 review written)

Last month we booked a car at Drivalia Alicante. We also took two seats for our little children. Of course in advance I made a reservation for the two seats. At the office they did not help us to install the chairs, we had to do it by our self (difficult). After we got the car keys, I received the document with only 3 damages written down. I did not trust it and together with the inspector of the company we found easily 6 (!) extra damages in only one minute... My feeling was getting worse and… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Gudie's Review

Written on: 27/08/2016

Dear Customer,

We are sorry if you are unhappy with the service you recieved.

Our cars are carefully inspected and all "chargeable" damages (damages that exceed the non chargeable threshold) and listed on the damage report that you receive when you collect the car. As you say, you are given the opportunity to inspect the car to be sure that you are satisfied with the condition of the car.

If you find any damages whatsoever we will record them and even if they are below the threshold but it puts your mind at rest we will write them on the contract which I presume happened here.

If the car is returned with a new damage then clearly you do have to pay for this but if we have checked the car and you have also carefully checked the car and you were happy the damage was not there when you took the car (and did not ask our staff to record it) then it must have happened during your rental.

We do hope we can see you again.

Reply to this comment

Gudie's reply to Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 28/08/2016

Oh nice, a standard reaction I saw many times before above.... Now my feeling becomes even worse.

They gave me the car with only 3 damages on the list. After I checked, I found easily 4 other damages, they had to put on the list. Really strainge when you get the car they forget 4 damages, but when you return the car, they will find extra damages. But will they change the list when new clients hired "my car"? I do not think so...

Never ever renting again a car at this company! Terrible!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service !!!”

Written on: 27/08/2016 by Hunterdn476 (1 review written)

This company are a disgrace!! , when we arrived to pick the car up we were more a less bullied into having to pay out a further 200 euros for company insurance for what can only be described as a flintstone car, with 2 children 2 adults , buggy and cases I felt like crying !! . Then because we had to drop car off out of their office hours we had to pay a further 10 euros and put 100 euros on our credit card as deposit for fuel . I will never be using this company again and would strongly advise… Read Full Review

Gudie's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2016

If you do not take the insurance, they will charge extra when you return the car. They will search and will find extra damages, which they did not write down by their selves. You have to pay a lot more money is my experience!

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2016

Dear Customer,

If you are not insured with us then you do have to pay for any new damages that occur on the car. We certainly don´t charge for damages that are not there or that were already there.

When you rent a car from us we provide a comprehensive damage report and you have the opportunity to check the car to be sure that you agree with the condition of the car so you can always be absolutely sure that you agree that the condition of the car is as on the report.

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2016

Thank you for hiring a car from us and taking the time to leave a review.

We certainly don´t ever try to make customers feel pressure regarding additional cover but we naturally have to explain to our clients the terms of their contract and of course we always recommend full protection with us.

We have a wide range of cars ranging from small two door cars through to SUV´s and even mini busses. If you book through a broker you will be given an example of the size of car and on our website we show the actual models we have for each group.

If you book to return out of hours the costs are explained to you. We open at 8am but we do allow customers to return earlier to a local partner company if they wish. We publish the fact that out of hours returns do incur a small additional charge. If you return during the night when our staff are not there we do have to hold a small preauthorised deposit just incase you don´t return full so that we can charge for fuel but if the car is full this is cancelled automatically.

We are sorry if you feel unhappy with the service you received.

Reply to this comment

Chris0241's Comment

Written on: 03/09/2016

100 euros for a full tank of fuel?

In Palma most car are returned 3/4 full anyway, but to overcharge like that.

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Our preferred rental package is FULL to FULL whereby the client pays nothing to Drivalia for fuel, simply takes and returns the car full. However some clients prefer the convenience of full to empty and so we do offer this package. Because of operational and logistical costs it is impossible for us to deliver fuel at market rates and inevitably, like most car hire companies, our fuel is higher in price but for this reason all "Full to Empty" packages benefit from a significantly reduced rental price. Therefore, what you spend on fuel you save on car hire.

Many brokers prefer to promote the full to empty package as this means they can offer the lowest rate rentals. We do publish fuel prices on our website to allow clients to make a choice but in general when hiring a car it is usually best not to search the lowest priced deal but look for one that is full to full.

Our Ultimate package is now by far our most popular as this benefits from our Full to Full fuel policy and there are no extras and no need for things like top up insurance because the price is a fair, honest and transparent price where what you see is what you pay.

Yes, Ultimate can sometimes appear a little more expensive than some of the headline prices you can find online but reflects the true cost to hire and car and still compares favourably to most other worldwide destinations in price.

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Our preferred rental package is FULL to FULL whereby the client pays nothing to Drivalia for fuel, simply takes and returns the car full. However some clients prefer the convenience of full to empty and so we do offer this package. Because of operational and logistical costs it is impossible for us to deliver fuel at market rates and inevitably, like most car hire companies, our fuel is higher in price but for this reason all "Full to Empty" packages benefit from a significantly reduced rental price. Therefore, what you spend on fuel you save on car hire.

Many brokers prefer to promote the full to empty package as this means they can offer the lowest rate rentals. We do publish fuel prices on our website to allow clients to make a choice but in general when hiring a car it is usually best not to search the lowest priced deal but look for one that is full to full.

Our Ultimate package is now by far our most popular as this benefits from our Full to Full fuel policy and there are no extras and no need for things like top up insurance because the price is a fair, honest and transparent price where what you see is what you pay.

Yes, Ultimate can sometimes appear a little more expensive than some of the headline prices you can find online but reflects the true cost to hire and car and still compares favourably to most other worldwide destinations in price.

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/09/2016

Dear Customer,

Our preferred rental package is FULL to FULL whereby the client pays nothing to Drivalia for fuel, simply takes and returns the car full. However some clients prefer the convenience of full to empty and so we do offer this package. Because of operational and logistical costs it is impossible for us to deliver fuel at market rates and inevitably, like most car hire companies, our fuel is higher in price but for this reason all "Full to Empty" packages benefit from a significantly reduced rental price. Therefore, what you spend on fuel you save on car hire.

Many brokers prefer to promote the full to empty package as this means they can offer the lowest rate rentals. We do publish fuel prices on our website to allow clients to make a choice but in general when hiring a car it is usually best not to search the lowest priced deal but look for one that is full to full.

Our Ultimate package is now by far our most popular as this benefits from our Full to Full fuel policy and there are no extras and no need for things like top up insurance because the price is a fair, honest and transparent price where what you see is what you pay.

Yes, Ultimate can sometimes appear a little more expensive than some of the headline prices you can find online but reflects the true cost to hire and car and still compares favourably to most other worldwide destinations in price.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 7 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“Not the best service”

Written on: 18/08/2016 by IrisMarshall3 (1 review written)

Prior to arriving in Alicante, Spain, I had purchased separate insurance to cover any excesses and breakdown recovery as well as other necessary matters. We collected our hire car late in the evening on the day of our arrival. I explained to the member of staff who was behind the desk, when she offered me your company's insurance, that I already had it and would not need to purchase any more form her. She was extremely rude in her response. She just bluntly told me that as I had not bought… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. To clarify, if you purchase your full cover from us there is no deposit whatsoever but if you purchased your insurance elsewhere (for example through a broker) then this cover is not ours which means you remain responsible for any damages to us and then later have to reclaim it from them. This is why we still need the deposit against your credit card.

For future reference, if you book our Ultimate package there is no deposit as the car is insuredfully comprehensively with no excess and directly through us.

We do hope that we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Gudie's Comment

Written on: 27/08/2016

I have got the same experience. If you do not take the insurance, they will charge extra when you return the car. They will search and will find extra damages, which they did not write down by their selves. You have to pay a lot more money is my experience!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“quick, easy, friendly”

Written on: 18/08/2016 by PhoenixMcGinnis (1 review written)

My experience with Drivalia was very smooth: - quick collection (20 min including the shuttle bus time) - very helpful and friendly staff at the desk - car in good condition and very clean - smooth return (in fairness, I had to wait for about 10 minutes to be attended) Recommend! … Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2016

Hola from Spain

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that everything was good for you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview