Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
1732
96% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Good value for money, excellent service”

Written on: 26/10/2015

Recommended by a friend and found that a Kia Sportage was the same price as some of the lesser models from other suppliers. And all the extras were included (CDW, unlimited mileage/kilometers, etc). Process of booking was online and very easy. Pickup from airport was fast and efficient, as was the actual collection. Drop off was easy too. Staff spoke several languages. Would have no issue recommending or using them again. Regards, … Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 31/10/2015

Hola from Spain,

Thank you for trusting us with your car hire needs and of course for taking the time to share your experience.

We are really pleased that everything was as we aim to be for you and we very much hope that we can look forward to serving you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fam from Holland ”

Written on: 26/10/2015 by Lake378 (1 review written)

Only the price of the insurrance was very high the rest was perfect… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 31/10/2015

Thank you for your review. Our cover does give what is arguably the best peace of mind out there and overall when combined with the often extremely low rental costs the full packakage works out great value.

It´s worth looking at our Ultimate package which you can find it on our site as with this package there is no additional insurance ot buy and everything is included and protected.

We are really pleased that everything was good for you and we do look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Golf Trip 2015 to Murcia”

Written on: 25/10/2015

Everything worked like clockwork, clear instructions where to collect shuttle. Really friendly drivers who helped with luggage. The driver was clear that all occupants understood instructions where to go to return vehicles. Staff at the car hire depot were friendly and efficient, process was complete in minutes and weren't pushy for added unwanted extra's. Good quality cars and on the road within 15 minutes, Happy days. Return process just as smooth… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 31/10/2015

Thank you for giving us a try! We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and grateful that you chose to share it with the world!

We do work very hard to deliver the best levels of customer service and the fastest and smoothest experience possible and it´s always lovely to hear that we are getting it right.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Spain.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“a very good rent”

Written on: 25/10/2015 by lereiner (1 review written)

fast and good Service, car was clean and in a very good condition, a very good car for a low price… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to lereiner's Review

Written on: 31/10/2015

Hello from Spain!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and of course thanks for trusting us with your car hire needs.

We look forward to seeing you next time.
All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Very economical car hire.”

Written on: 25/10/2015 by stargirl694 (2 reviews written)

Shuttle from the airport excellent. Collection good. Usual hard sell of their excess insurance. They wanted 200 pounds or euros. I have an annual insurance for just under £50. They insisted mine was not any good but it is. This was the bad point of the experience. Very insistent on me buying. I had to tell them, point blank NO. Apart from that, they check the vehicle before you leave and on return very thoroughly. Outside damage. Returning the car. Difficult. Not enough signs to say where to… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to stargirl694's Review

Written on: 31/10/2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your car hire with us and look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Drive”

Written on: 24/10/2015 by Uglysisters (1 review written)

We travel to Spain 5 times a year and will not use any other car hire company, also we always book through an agent (such as hirecarsinspain) as that seems to get an even cheaper deal. There is always a transfer bus waiting at the airport stand and a minimum of 2 if not 3 people at the hire car booking in desk unlike most of the best price deal offices in the airport where we have many times wanted at least an hour! Good, fairly new cars, with every tiny mark recorded on the hire documents plus… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Uglysisters's Review

Written on: 31/10/2015

Hola!

Thank you for hiring a car from Drivalia and taking the time to leave a review.

We are delighted that you enjoy using our company and we look forward to serving you for many years.

If is true that the cost of insurance has increased but this is directly due to two factors: Firstly the number of damages is constantly increasing with millions of euros being spent on repairs and secondly as car hire drops in price on the budget packages what we can afford to include is less so the top up cover is covering much more. As you said, 25 pounds for 11 days car hire is cheap, in fact its only a fraction of the real cost for us to operate the car alone, nevermind the staffing costs, office operating costs and so on.

Obviously when it comes tothe insurance which opens us up to a lot of liability we have to ensure that we cover our costs.

See you soon!
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“One of the Best”

Written on: 24/10/2015 by chrismilson (2 reviews written)

I booked online taking the Ultimate package for a car rental in Alicante. The car offered and guaranteed was a DS3. The bus was waiting at the stop as stated and the short drive to their depot was quickly completed. There were two couples in the bus and when the reservation girl saw this she jumped up and fetched a colleague to serve the second couple rather than have them queue! The receptionist we had spoke perfect English and the whole check-in process was fast and efficient. The car was… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to chrismilson's Review

Written on: 24/10/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that everything was good for you and that you enjoyed renting your car with Drivalia.

We very much hope that we can be of service to you again on your next visit to Spain!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“TOTAL RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 23/10/2015 by Leandro90 (1 review written)

Picked up car,office busy,therefore nobody comes to check car for dents etc. All is listed on rental agreement whether correct or not. Large scratch left rear panel,not on agreement,scratch noted as on right,however no scratch.So obviously whoever checked car was backwards in their view. When returned car,sorry damaged, therefore a repair charge plus admin charge. I pointed out the error which fell on deaf ears. I will also say I was not the only customer to return with unexplained damages,that… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry that you are unhappy if you were charged for a new damage on your car. Our cars are very carefully checked at least three times between every rental to ensure that the list of pre-existing damages is completely up to date. Naturally you are welcome (and encouraged) to check the car before you leave and although extremely rare, if there is an error as you alledge then really you should have advised us immediately as you have signed a contract accepting the condition of the car.

We do not make secrets at all over the damage process. If you book a car on the cheap rental package and choose to leave a deposit rather than take our full coverage then you are responsible for any damages that occur on the car. As the thousands of positive testimonies from satisfied customers clearly demonstrate, we do not charge for non-existant damages but we do have to change for new damages.

Always, no matter who you rent a car with, check the condition against the report you are given and if you notice any discrepency then please tell a member of staff. Our office is a few metres from where the cars are parked and wehave ample personell on hand inside and outside to check cars with you if you request this.

Clearly it is unreasonable to wait until the end of your rental and then try to alledge that a damage is not new, particularly if you say that you were aware of this from the time you collected your car.

With Drivalia it is simple: Our Ultimate package means nothing is your responsibility. If you add on our SCDW cover then the same applies. If you choose to accept the risk and purchase a basic package without cover then you are aware that you are responsible for the car and you should check it (although you should always find it is very accurate) against the clearly printed list on your contract (in yoru language) to ensure you agree with it before accepting the car and driving off.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“One of the best”

Written on: 23/10/2015 by melvinb53 (1 review written)

Been renting cars in spain for 17 years and drivalia are one of the best they took the deposit on your credit card but blocked it and did not take the money which is very important .the car was checked on my return and the whole experience was excellent would highly recommend to others Melvin b … Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to melvinb53's Review

Written on: 24/10/2015

Hello from Spain

We are delighted that you enjoyed renting your car from us and that you were pleased with our service.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“spain car hire”

Written on: 23/10/2015

I have used this company a few times now and will have no hesitation in using them again in the future,the service from all the staff has always been excellent. the product is very easy to use from booking right through to returning the car at the end of the holiday… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2015

Hola

Thank you for your review. We are always delighted to get feedback, particularly from regular customers. We are pleased that you enjoy using our service and hope that we can continue to serve you for many years to come.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Good Provider”

Written on: 23/10/2015 by Agustin429 (1 review written)

Nice new car with all extras you would expect. Like all providers a little pressure to take their add on insurance even though I had bought top up via Economy Car Hire. A note to the company' if you priced your add on insurance at a similar level to third party car hire providers we would buy it off you' No grief when returning vehicle and the staff were polite and helpful… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 24/10/2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that everything was good for you and that you enjoyed your experience.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off”

Written on: 17/10/2015 by mariemillerdixon (1 review written)

Went through jet2 payed £141 then an extra£60 for damage refund to be told by drivalia that I was not covered properly so had to pay €363.48 when picking up the car which put me in the red with my bank not happy at all they said to the other guy picking up his car he had to pay €141 they must rip everyone off… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to mariemillerdixon's Review

Written on: 18/10/2015

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately here we cannot look at individual files but if you email us, we are always happy to look at your contract and provide a personal response.

In general terms when you book through an agency the package is our low cost rate which often means purchasing fuel when you arrive (we also do full to full which is far more popular). If you chose to purchase insurance elsewhere then this would not be valid with us which means you have to leave a deposit and then later pay for any damages that may happen and afterwards deal with your insurers.

We do offer full coverage at the desk which is direct with us and avoids a deposit or the need to pay for any damages but this is optional. If you arrive and have purchased cover elsewhere then the most sensible thing if you are unsure as to the level of cover is to check with your insurance papers or call your insurer to be sure and then decide if you wish to take responsibility with us and leave a deposit or take our full cover.

Agencies do tell customers that they will have to pay fuel on arrival (in the base of our most basic package) and usually they explain the various cover options also in your terms and conditions.

As I said, unfortunately we cannot look at personal files here but please do email our office if you want a personal reply.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Drivalia easy rental”

Written on: 17/10/2015 by MylaSparks480 (1 review written)

I rented a car in Oktober. Staff very helpfull and frendly. I recomend to all. I recomend S.C.D.W as the insurence I took with the broker was only third party with Drivalia. And I had experience before...the broker takes about 7 month to give you the money bag. If you just want to enjoy your holiday. Use Drivalia… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 17/10/2015

Hello!

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate hearing from our clients. We are pleased that you were happy with everything. Actually a lot of people have mentioned recently similar things about some insurers taking a long time to repay claims. It is generally the best idea to get your cover from the car hire company because although this can sometimes cost a little more it does give you complete peace of mind and of course support in the event of any problems.

Don´t forget that our "Ultimate" package which is available on our website includes complete cover at an overall lower price so it makes for what is arguably the most competative overall car hire package (and certainly the most transparent!).

We look forward to seeing you again,
All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Booked car hire with Drivalia in September, absolutely...”

Written on: 14/10/2015 by Edluin (1 review written)

Booked car hire with Drivalia in September, absolutely hassle free, picked up at airport taken to car pick up point and return to airport. staff very helpful and friendly. Took out SCDW insurance for piece of mind as this covers ever eventuality. Would definitely use Drivalia again and would recommend to friends and family… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Edluin's Review

Written on: 17/10/2015

Hola!

Thank you for hiring a car from Drivalia and for taking the time to leave a review.

We are really pleased that everything was good for you and we very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Excessive charges”

Written on: 08/10/2015 by Manninghq84 (1 review written)

I have hired cars from Alicante airport several times a year for many years, but never from Drivalia and despite reading the poor reviews, as they were cheap, thought l would try them. When we returned the hire car they found a scratch on one wheel hub & we were told the charge was 40 euros + 60 euros administration fee. They knew l had my own excess insurance, so they said, you can claim it back. I thought these fees were excessive and after much discussion they agreed to waiver the 60 euros.I… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 10/10/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you are unhappy with being charged for the damaged wheel.

When you book a car with us you have various options including low cost rentals where you accept responsibility for the car or our all inclusive rate where everything is covered. We also offer full cover options for clients who book the low cost rates but from what you have said in your case you chose to take your cover elsewhere.

Any damages to cars incur administration time which we do normally have to charge but from your comments our staff agreed to waive this and charge just for the damage and 49 euros for a damaged wheel is not over the top. For wheel trims we simply charge the cost that is made to us by the dealerships for a new trim.

Nevertheless if you have cover with a third party I am confident that our team will have provided you with an invoice so that you can place a claim with them.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Completely taken in by the excess insurance”

Written on: 04/10/2015 by HopeK (1 review written)

I hired a car from Drivalia in Alicante for 2 weeks in September. I booked through Economy Car hire and paid an additional premium for Excess Reimbursement Insurance. Of course this was not recognised by Drivalia so we had to pay and extortionate amount for extra insurance. We were reassured that any problems with the car would be dealt with. Unfortunately we had a puncture doing our stay and their first reaction was to tell my husband to change the tyre! After stressful negotiation they… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to HopeK's Review

Written on: 07/10/2015

Thank you for hiring a car from Drivalia and of course for leaving your feedback.

Although here we don´t have access to your individual information I can clarify some things in general.

With regards to the insurance, if you book a low cost rate then the car comes with an excess and other exclusions which you can choose to protect with our SCDW cover. If you choose to buy insurance elsewhere you in effect cut us out of the picture because this is a contract between you and the broker or insurer. Obviously as the insurance is yours and not ours we cannot claim from it, you have to which means you have to pay for any damages or other costs to us and then later submit a claim to your company when you return home. Different companies have different levels of cover and obviously that is between you and them to deal with. This is why you have to leave a deposit with us to offer security in the event of damages.

This is why we cannot "recognise" it because this does not remove your liability to us in the event of any damage. If you purchase our own cover this is not the case as this removes all of your responsibilities directly with us. If you book direct and choose our Ultimate rate then all there are no exclusions or issues what so ever and of course no deposits.

When it comes to punctures, the normal procedure for a puncture is to put on the spare tyre. All of our cars come with either a spare or an emergency re-inflation kit and obviously fitting the spare gets you back on the road. Most clients who do get a puncture call us after they have changed the tyre to ask what to do next and in these cases we either instruct you to go to a nearby garage (at our expense if you have our cover) or we replace the car, whatever is the fastest and easiest solution.

Our SCDW cover ensures that you have no financial risk and you are never off the road for long but our aim is always to get you back up and running as fast as possible and simply changing the tyre is something most people can do and is usually much quicker than waiting for a recovery assistance.

We always look at the fastest option for the customer and the option that provides minimal fuss and most clients tell us they would rather fit a spare and then pop into a garage at their convenince.

If a car is undrivable we of course provide assistance but in general terms it is much faster for you to change a tyre than to wait for a mechanic to arrive just to do the same thing for you and this is why this option would have been suggested at first.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“superb service all round”

Written on: 02/10/2015 by KarliGonzales28 (1 review written)

was a little hesitant about booking a car off site but needn't have been as the shuttle buses were regular and it only took about 7 minutes to get to to the site, all the staff were extremely friendly, i will definitely book with you guys again :-)… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2015

Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do pride ourselves in the speed of service and convenience that we offer compared to the long queues that people often find in the terminal!

We are really pleased that everything was good for you and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Worked like a charm!”

Written on: 01/10/2015 by Danika1981 (1 review written)

Very happy with our first rental with Drivalia. We were traveling with two small children and always dread the rental process. To our pleasant surprise - everything went along extremely smooth and there was no problem or long waiting. Based on this one experience, we would definitely recommend Drivalia… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2015

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments. We are delighted that you found the service that we offer good and we very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Another Positive Experience ”

Written on: 01/10/2015 by KimberlyWebster1990 (1 review written)

this is the 3rd time i have used Drivalia Car Rental and each time i have received excellent service, vehicle and value for money - the old adage of "you get what you pay for" doesn't have to be a negative statement, with Drivalia you get far more than what you pay for...... wow, looking at this testament you would think i was on commission :-) … Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Drivalia. We are really pleased that you enjoy using our service.

You are right that you get what you pay for and our Ultimate All Inclusive Package is not the "cheapest" out there but it is arguably the best value in the market with our speedy service, new fleet of cars and of course with no hidden extras!

We look forward to being of service to you again on your next visit to Spain!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Good ”

Written on: 01/10/2015 by Carrollqp398 (1 review written)

The transfer shuttle minibus was waiting for us when we arrived. A few minutes later we were at the office and were given a spotless new car. Trouble free and quick service… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2015

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased that our service and of course our vehicle lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview