Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
1570
96.9% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Great hire company!”

Written on: 13/08/2015

We hired a Drivalia car for ten days from Alicante and were very happy with the experience. The car was clean and in great condition. The transfers to and from the airport were good. We took out the extra insurance which I would highly recommend as we did have accident. Having the extra insurance meant that the car was recovered and all our taxi fees were reimbursed. The only thing we weren't covered for was transferring us back to our villa after the accident. Luckily the Spanish police… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2015

Hola!

Thank you for choosing Drivalia and also for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry that you had an accident during your holiday, unfortunately this is something we are used to as you can imagine but we are pleased that we were able to take care of you efficiently and enable you to continue your holiday without a fuss.

When clients choose our full cover (or book our Ultimate rate) our incident management team are on hand to take care of everything in the event of an accident and our goal is to get you back on the road fast. We work closely with our recovery contractors to ensure that if your car cannot be driven another is delivered at a convenient time and to a convenient location ... because after all, you are on holiday!

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Spain.

All the very best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Efficient & Faultless”

Written on: 13/08/2015

Walked out of airport terminal, pick up was immediate, taken to rental office, filled a couple of forms in and drove away. Staff were very helpful, informative and spoke good English. Drop off was just as easy and quick which left us arriving at the airport in plenty of time. Highly recommend this company and I will definitely use them again. All correspondence with them prior to hire, via email, was answered immediately. Only minor downside was they don't offer roof racks, it wasn't a problem… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2015

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the service that you received.

At the moment we don´t offer roof racks simply because of the large range of cars that we offer and to be honest there is almost no demand for them but we will pass this comment onto our management team as something to consider in the future.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Spain!
All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude service. Ridiculously expensive extra insurance. ”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by RobDownham (2 reviews written)

Pick up was great. On time and friendly. Problem was I booked platinum insurance in uk then was told that I needed to pay 1250 euro as I was not insured. Would not accept debit card or wife's credit card or swap drivers so no choice but to buy extra insurance for 250 euro. The staff were rude and had no intention of trying to assist. 1 goal - sell extra insurance… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to RobDownham's Review

Written on: 12/08/2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. If you purchased insurance in the UK from another company (presumably your broker) then you would have been told that the main driver still needs to bring a credit card for the deposit as this typeof cover is nothing to do with us and instead an agreement between you and them. This means that you have to pay for any damages to us and later reclaim. This is why we need a deposit (to ensure we are protected if the car sustains any damages).

To defend our brokers they all do make it very clear that if you opt for their cover the deposit is still payable and that we are unable to accept debit cards for deposits. Deposits need to be against a credit card and it must be in the name of the main driver as it makes part of the contract signed by this person.

I am sorry if you are unhappy with this situation but it is something that would have been explained and if it was not for any reason then you should raise this matter with your broker.

We do hope however that we can serve you again.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“quick efficient car rental at alicante airport”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by strichen (1 review written)

The best car rental service i have experienced in alicante airport. Staff were efficient the person I dealt with organised when picking up car. I had car within 3 minutes at peak holiday time. Dropping off car was as quick. 3 minutes and I was in the bus heading to airport. Highly reccommended and will definately use again. Pity they are not located at airport as times are limited for dropping off car if it's very early… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to strichen's Review

Written on: 15/08/2015

Hola!

Thank you for your review! Speed of service is really important to us and we are pleased we delivered exactly that!

Our office location on the outskirts of the airport grounds coupled with our carefully planne shuttle busses and adequately staffed office means that we are always equipped to take care of our customers quickly and efficiently whether they come late or on a busy summer day! This speedy service is one of the main reasons we attract return customers (and of course our smiles and attentative service!).

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Spain.

All the very best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“All good”

Written on: 12/08/2015 by Gilli5050 (1 review written)

I had been worried after reading so many horror stories about car hire in Spain. We were pleasantly surprised at how smooth everything went! The adviser in the office was quick, helpful and didn't give us the hard sell about needing their own extra insurance when we said we have an annual excess policy (carhireexcess.com). We knew to expect being charged too much for a full tank, but had read on their site that our Corsa was going to be €97. We knew to expect there would be a €1000 hold on… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Gilli5050's Review

Written on: 15/08/2015

Hola

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It´s great to know that you were satisfied with our service. We do work hard to ensure that we get it right and deliver the best levels of customer attention and feedback from satisfied customers is always lovely to read.

We are proud of the care that our staff give and whilst we alwyas of course have to explain and make sure that customers who choose their cover elsewhere are informed of their responsibilities we never aim to pressurise anyone into anything.

Hopefully after trying our service you can relax abotu future car rentals in Spain and we can look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“No Nonsense Car Hire with Drivealia”

Written on: 12/08/2015

After a long day of travelling all I want to do is to pick up a car as quickly as possible and complete my journey. Drivealia allows me to do this. Good pick up by courteous staff at the terminal, documentation processed quickly, into the car and off! No nonsense or delays. Have used this company many times and has always been the same. Well done Drivealia!… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 15/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It´s great when customers are happy and tell the world and always especially good to hear from regular clients.

We are very happy that the service we provide is to your requirements and we very much look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Spain.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by KristianDK (1 review written)

Following the directions in the rentalpapers it was easy to find the shuttle bus. When we came to the office, the wait was short, and we could choose between 3 different cars in the category we had reserved. When we returned the cars, the wait was about 5 minutes. By far the best car-rental experience I have had… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to KristianDK's Review

Written on: 15/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we are pleased that you were happy with the service you received from Drivalia.

When we have availability we certainly like to give customers a choice of models because it all adds to the experience. Speed of service and quality of customer care is really important to us and we are pleased that our efforts showed through.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Spain.

Saludos!
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fantastic Rental Company”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by Almendra22 (1 review written)

A quick, efficient pick up from the airport.Shuttle bus and Rental desk staff were friendly, welcoming and professional.We will definitely be using Drivalia again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Almendra22's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

We really appreciate your review and of course your valued business. We are delighted that you enjoyed your car hire experience with us and we hope very much that we can look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Very good service ”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by azUpton309 (1 review written)

Very good service. Only thing was dropping car back off at end of holiday was busy and didn't know who to see about giving the keys to. Apart from that will use again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for your review and for trusting us with your car hire needs. In general we make it clear to customers who to hand keys to but if this was not clear for you then we will review our returns procedure and take this into account as we look to continually improve.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time!
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Dazmarsh42's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Yes I will use you again. Very nice team there. Look forward to seeing you again

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Very good service and value”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by OttoManchester (1 review written)

Very good value, good car, friendly helpful staff. Well organised pick up - mini bus driver had our names. Fast paperwork and departure. No wait which was good as late in evening. Car full and we returned full which I think is easiest way. No attempt to sell any expensive extras. Drop off a bit confused. We waited in queue which turned out to be for collecting car. Minibus drivers were doing car checking etc so we didn't actually need to go into office. Sign saying this would be good. Very… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to OttoManchester's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted that everything was good for you.

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you once again for yoru custom.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“5 stars for Drivalia.”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by Susan458 (1 review written)

Our experience of car rental from Drivalia was excellent from start to finish. We were met promptly at the airport and the driver of the shuttle bus was helpful and courteous. All the staff were efficient and helpful. The car we were given was very good and we liked the full to full return policy for fuel. The handing over of the car on our return was straightforward and hassle free. We will definitely be using this company again and have recommended them to our family and friends.A five star… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Hola !

Thank you for your lovely words. It´s greta to know that we lived up to the standard we set out to achieve and that you were satisfied with everything.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon!
All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Car hire Mallorca”

Written on: 10/08/2015

Drivalia may not be the cheapest care hire company but in this field you really do get what you pay for. They are a professional , friendly outfit based just off the airport ( transfer really is five minutes ! ) Its much faster to get the shuttle to their office rather than face the queues for the airport based car hire firms. The local manger is great - sorts out problems / queries , quickly & efficiently. I had a burst tyre, so took the car back to the office & she had a mobile fitter there… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for yoru review! We really appreciate your comments. What you say is true that we arenot always the cheapest (although we strive to keep our prices as compatative as possible) but what we set out to deliver is a great service, first class cars, honesty and transparency.

When you are on holiday your time is prescious. You work all year to enjoy a week or two in the sun and so if a problem does occur we believe that it is our duty to deal with it as fast as possible.

Your comments have been passed on to our managemnt in Mallorca who I am sure will be delighted with your feedback.

Thanks again and see you next time!
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent car hire”

Written on: 09/08/2015 by ChristineMH (1 review written)

We have used Drivalia once before and on return to Alicante we used them again as the service had been excellent first time around. We were not disappointed this time and would highly recommend them. We booked the 'ultimate' package as this includes all insurances, a zero excess, no deposit is required and you pick the car up with a full tank of fuel and return it full. This just makes picking up the car and dropping off even easier. Will definitely use again the next time we fly to an… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to ChristineMH's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted that everything was good for you. Our Ultimate package has been incredibly popular thanks to the overall value that it offers and the transparency of the package.

We look forward to seeing you again and thank you once again for yoru custom.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible.”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by Rafferty230 (1 review written)

In my opinion this is not a good car rental company!! On arrival They charged me 89,61 Euros for a full tank of petrol which included a 35 fuelling fee (basically for someone to stand there for 3 mins to fill the tank). There was no detail that I would be charged this sum of money when I arrived. I needed to pay some money also for a deposit which is normal (authorization charge on the credit card). However they could neither use my VISA credit card nor my VISA debit card. Finally I had to pay… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for hiring a car from us and for leaving your feedback. We appreciate customer comments as it enables us to address any confusion that may have occured.

With regards to fuel, we do offer both full to full and full to empty rates and with full to full you do not have to pay fr any fuel here, just take the car full and return it full. Generally the full to empty is associated with lower rental costs as we discount the car price in order to compensate for the increase in fuel cost and to take into account that sometimes customers return with a little fuel still remaining.

We make no secret of our fuel prices and if you visit our website at drivalia.com you can see that we even list the fuel prices per car type as part of our continual efforts to maintain the highest levels of transparency. By listing our prices it enables customers to make an informed choice as to which tarif is the most economical and best value for them.

The reason fuel is higher here is, as you say as it includes a refuelling fee. This fee is not just to cover the time for someone to fill the tank but also to cover the enourmous costs that we have in operating and maintaining fuel pumps. These costs have to be covered and as you can imagine we do not buy anywhere near the volumes of fuel that a mainstream fuel station does which means that our costs per litre to purchase are comparible to what you would pay at the pump.

If you choose not to take our full SCDW cover or book our Ultimate rate then we require a decurity deposit to be left incase of any damages to uninsured parts of the car. For this we require a credit card as we cannot carry out a preauthorisation block against a debit card. We run a direct check on all cards against internationally recognised databses to verify if a card is a debit or credit card and if it is debit we cannot accept it for a despot. This is clearly stated in our conditions and is commonplace in the car rental industry. Clearly the customer must have sufficient funds available on their cars for the deposit amount to be blocked.

Although we do not have details of your specific booking here it sounds like our colleagues made an exception and allowed you to leavea deposit by paying it rather than blocking it. This may incur charges by your bank but would have been done as a last resort and at the discretion of our memmber of staff to allow you to take a car if you did not have the required card type.

We never try to make clients feel any pressure to take our full cover but we do have to explain whta is and is not covered under the standard cover on our low cost bookings. Clearly also if you take our full cover, and depending on driver age etc it usually means that no deposit is required as this covers all risk so solves a problem regarding deposits.

We do thank you for choosing Drivalia and again thank you for your value feedback.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Mrsparty's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

We had virtually the same experience at Alicante airport. I had specifically taken an additional policy at an annual cost of £36 to cover the CDW. The lady in Drivalia office insisted that our policy would not cover us for anything other bodywork, and continued to scaremonger us by pointing out all the excess costs which we would be liable for. A block of € 1200 on a card is very excessive.
Again the main driver (my husband)did not have a Credit card, but I did as the named driver. Yes admittedly my negligence in booking in husbands name so I asked to change main driver to myself. We were told we could not change me to main driver to use my credit card, and a debit card was also not permitted. As it was so late, we just wanted to get a car and set off for our destination so in the end had no option but to pay €180 for full cover. Felt it was totally unnecessary as I have now checked my policy which does provide full cover.

The car was fine and collection /pickup to office was smooth, but sadly this hardsell/scaremongering will mean we would not use again and will not recommend. All in all cost me £420 for 12 days. Ridiculous!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“all points of hiring the car are really good ”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by DavidMa111 (1 review written)

The problem came with out of hours return system. arrived at ecoparking (Drivalia's default return partner) 0530 hrs place was busy and the two lads duty seemed alittle frantic we checked and left the car in good order next day receive email saying that damage to car €270 charge!, so I did not do it,Drivalia did not do it which leaves ecoparking who of cause deny it. Drivalai like most companies are not very good at handling complaints and whose email runs on very slow, but I will keep… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to DavidMa111's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for your comments and positive all round comments. We have worked with Ecoparking for a long time and have never experienced an issue with damages but we are aware of your case and are investigating it.

We strive to ensure complete customer delight and clearly when any damage occurs to a car we have to identify exactly how and when the damage occured. If we have appeared late in replying to matters this is simply because we are liaising with external partners in dealing with this matter.

We of course will continue to communicate on this matter to ensure that a satisfactory outcome is achieved and we would like to thank you again for your patience in this rare situation.

All the very best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Davidma111's reply to Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 20/08/2015

All is well now and refund made drivalia came up trumps, well done

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“best yet!”

Written on: 08/08/2015

I have hired cars before in Spain and I would have to say that Drivalia have been the best so far. The whole process from booking the car on line, the collection at the airport, getting the car and arriving back at the office and airport was so smooth and quick. There were no long delays or trying to get more money by adding extras on. What a great company and will be using them again… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for your lovely words. It´s great to hear form satisfied customers and we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your custom and for trusting us with your car hire needs.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“No refund on fuel”

Written on: 07/08/2015

Booked car via DYS with a fuel policy of Full/Empty refund unused. Never received a refund despite half tank left. DYS says contact them direct. Its hassle I don't need, they didn't honour the agreement. Wont use again. Poor. Price of car was good but without refund not as good as many… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We offer both full to empty and full to full fuel policies and in general with full to empty there is no refund. Sometimes bookings come with the option of arefund (minus an admin fee) and if this is the case and stated in your booking confirmation then of course this is something that we offer.

The information passed on by your agency is indeed correct and you do need to request the refund for it to take place. If you email us we will calculate the amount of fuel in the tank according to our records when you returned and inform you of any refund due if applicable.

We never avoid refinding anything that is due to a client but as your agency said you need to request this for it to take place.

We look forward to hearing from you.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Trevorll's Comment

Written on: 17/08/2015

Again as I stated I shouldn't need to apply for the refund it should be automatically done as with other rental firms I have used. I no longer have booking details as it was back in March.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“the best car hire company at Palma Airport”

Written on: 07/08/2015 by carhirefreak (1 review written)

10 years of car hire on average 5 times a year. We have probably used every company but in the last 2 years since Drivalia has opened at Palma, they are our 1st choice. Unfortunately by writing this review everyone will now use Drivalia, so please use another Company and leave Drivalia exclusively ours!!!!… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to carhirefreak's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for your custom and of course review. It´s lovely to know that you were pleased with the service you received from our Palma office.

We opened the Palma office with the goal of producing a carbon copy of our flagship office in Alicante which has rapidly grown a reputation for delivering the very best in service. It´s lovely to know that we are achieving this goal.

We hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“hassel free car rental”

Written on: 07/08/2015 by AkiraQuinn (1 review written)

Upon arrival we were directed and met straight away and taken to rental place, when we got there I asked if we could upgrade to a slightly bigger car, this was no problem and the car we were offered was automatic which I am not confident so they said they had the same car in a manual but needed to be cleaned which they offered to do there and then!! Which to be fair they didn't have to do - they aimed to please and were extremely friendly nothing was to much bother for them - it was a great… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/08/2015

Hola!

We appreciate your great feedback but it´s us that should be thanking YOU for your custom! It´s always nice to know that we have delivered a great level of service and our team are passionate about what they do. When clients wish to change their booking to a different car type we always do our best to accomodate. Unlike some rental comapnies our offices, main car storage area and valeting facilities are all on the same site which means that we can usually act fast to make available cars to meet customer demans.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Spain and thank you once again for your custom.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Trick you to double the insurance”

Written on: 07/08/2015 by Thomasnxt (1 review written)

With already paid insurance they tricket us to pay for an exstra superduper insurance. They told that the insurance I already paid for isn't cover it all. But Auto Europe says it does (the firm I booked with). Auto Europe also say that this is common. They both have to step up. Regards Lost customer… Read Full Review

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Thomasnxt's Review

Written on: 11/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry if you felt tricked, this is certainly never our intention at all.

We have to make sure that customers understand their responsibilities under the contract especially if they book on a low cost package which often means there are certain things excluded from the cover that comes with the car.

If you have cover with another company then this is not anything to do with us and in these cases we have to point out what you are responsible for with us and of course you are welcome to verify the level of cover you have elsewhere. Our cover is always optional but offers advantages over other types of cover not only in terms of peace of mind but also convenience.

Most clients now book with us on our Ultimate rate as this has been designed to offer everything all in one rate with complete peace of mind and no surprises.

We do hope that there will be an opportunity to serve you again and that you can join our thousands of satisfied customers.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview