Jacquie Lawson www.jacquielawson.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
37% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Jacquie Lawson www.jacquielawson.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Jacquie Lawson www.jacquielawson.com

Jacquie Lawson www.jacquielawson.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“poor animations”

Written on: 18/12/2013

These advent calendars are just awful, poorly put together graphics, constructed on the cheap, accompanied by terrible music and very very patronising animal based 'stories' which must have taken the imagination department all of 10 minutes to put together, since that are just so devoid of anything remotely amusing or engaging. What's called 'money for old rope' A complete rip. Must try harder… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of Money”

Written on: 18/12/2013

I really wish I had found this site before purchasing 10 copies of this Advent Calendar. It is way too much trouble for me. If there is any customer support, I've yet to find it other than an auto response and I see no other way to contact.. I am almost certain everyone I sent it to is upset with me. Some Christmas gift!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Ignores my emails”

Written on: 18/12/2013

After being a customer for quite a few years, I wanted to add some email addressess to my address list but kept getting a message saying the address was invalid - despite copying from my address list in Outlook. I have now emailed twice for advice and - nothing. I am going to cancel my subscription… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Edwardian Advent Calendar not up to previous London Advent”

Written on: 16/12/2013 by Marylouise (1 review written)

We loved the previous Advent calendar - the London city scene. When we tried to buy it, we were told it was only for sale at iTunes, which we don't use. Bought the Edwardian Advent this year, and am disappointed. Love Jackquie's ecards, but this calendar pales in comparison to the London scene. We miss decorating our own Christmas tree early, being able to see it all month, and re-decorate it if we like. We miss all the scenes that were part of London. We won't buy this one again next year… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lorgayle's Response to Marylouise's Review

Written on: 21/12/2013

I agree, this years calendar pales in comparison to 2012 and 2011. I just hope next years returns to the usual quality and entertainment we are accustomed to.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“So many disappointed”

Written on: 15/12/2013 by Lacey27 (1 review written)

I ordered several copies of the Edwardian advent calendar this year. Other years it has been very successful, but this year everyone I sent a copy to had difficulty downloading it, and then once downloaded it affected theirs and my internet access and everyone had to delete it. I am mortified with this and with no way of contacting the advisor for an explanation or for a return of my money, I am in future not sending any more cards or giving them my business again. I recommend that everyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Mythical Advent Calender”

Written on: 15/12/2013 by MarionsCousin. (1 review written)

I ordered the calender, I paid for several copies, nothing arrived. I installed all that they suggested, nothing. With all the other complaints on here it would seem that it is a load of rubbish. Would'nt it be good to actually speak to someone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Last year's is hard to beat.”

Written on: 12/12/2013

We have loved the two previous Alpine village calendars, and eagerly awaited this latest one (2013). Sadly it is a disappointment. The main picture of the manor remains static. No tree to decorate, no peacock in the garden, no wreath on the door....it's just boring. Although the other rooms are interesting, I would rather have a total scene build up gradually, watching for the carriage, the skiers, the excitement of Carol singers. Please next year go back to your original ideas… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lorgayle's Comment

Written on: 21/12/2013

I agree, this years calendar pales in comparison to 2012 and 2011. I just hope next years returns to the usual quality and entertainment we are accustomed to.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Advent Calendar 2013”

Written on: 12/12/2013

For all of you having trouble installing the calendar, well you aren't missing a lot! I've absolutely LOVED the Advent Calendars for the last 2 years - they've been really magical and a December highlight. However, this one is a real disappointment. They've introduced various other rooms so instead of watching one picture magically coming to life, often nothing happens to the main page at all and you have to search around in other rooms to see what's going on. I know it's only December… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“I am trying to join and it says my postal code is...”

Written on: 11/12/2013 by jejrc111 (1 review written)

I would like to know how I can pay by mail for membership and need address for this from your company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“CUSTOMER SERVICE NON EXISTENT”

Written on: 07/12/2013

I have been a member of Jacquie Lawson for several years. I've been frustrated with the "customer service" several times, but it's been somewhat trivial. Early November I purchase the Edwardian Advent calendar for myself. Since then I received it twice from different friends. When I received the first gift I emailed and asked if they would send me an activation code for the Alpine Advent calendar. No response to that request, but a "canned" response. When I received the second gift of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Trouble sending eCards”

Written on: 06/12/2013

I renewed my 2-year membership to Jacquie Lawson eCards a couple of weeks ago because I so enjoyed my previous 2-year membership. Today is the first time I have had a problem. I tried to send a Birthday eCard to a friend many times in the past hour. Everything goes well until I click "continue" ... then nothing happens. If I click "play again" or any other command they work; however, when I click "continue" so I can send the card, nothing happens. VERY FRUSTRATING. Prior to this I would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Bev8001K's Comment

Written on: 18/12/2013

I am having the same problem sending my e cards for Christmas
This will be my 4th yr with JL and I have yet to receive a reply to my first email complaining about not being able to send my Christmas cards.
I click on send a nothing happens and when I check pending or history there is nothing there.
Any one recommend a better e-card site ??

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A beautiful gift”

Written on: 04/12/2013

A very dear friend of many years sent me the 2013 Advent Calendar and it is an absolute joy. I am so grateful to her for sending it to me. I will certainly share it with others. I was surprised to hear that some people had a problem with it and could not make it work for them at all. I wonder if they realise that they MUST install Adobe Air (it's free), which I did not find immediately apparent in the initial instructions. Of course, it's all there laid out very clearly in the Jacquie… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cheify's Comment

Written on: 04/12/2013

If only it were that simple. Everything installed, un-installed, re-installed with every form & variety of options (firewall off, security off, you name it, we've done it) and still nothing apart from "Your calendar is being installed, please wait" And nothing , bar some vague generaliities from the so-called Help desk. They've got your money, so tough luck if it doesn't work .

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sherriw's Comment

Written on: 05/12/2013

Same negative experience for me -- install, uninstall, reinstall, firewall off, security off, Adobe Air installed, Adobe Flash Player installed, several e-mails for help which culminated with a response telling me there must be something wrong with my Mac (10.7.5) -- why do companies default to 'There must be something wrong with your computer'? VERY disappointed, Jacquie Lawson - you get ZERO stars from me. Not to mention, I spent money to send 10 calendars to friends -- and so far, haven't heard good reports from them either!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't waste your time or your money!”

Written on: 04/12/2013 by Rosie62 (1 review written)

I loved the calendars from the past two years, so I ordered 23 for friends and family. Only eight have installed and activated the calendar. The rest of us, including me, either can't install or can't activate. So embarassing - such a dud of a gift!! I emailed them and got a response after three days to say that I used check my firewall. Huh??? I have no trouble with all my cards and the last two calendars!! The team just don't seem interested to help. I am cancelling my subscription. They… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cheify's Response to Rosie62's Review

Written on: 04/12/2013

Hear , hear. Same story, and a total lack of interest from JL

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“the yearly calanders”

Written on: 03/12/2013

I ordered calanders for 5 of my friends. I did not get mine it will not activate. I have written 3 times and asked for help. There is no phone number. 1 friend got theres the rest never got. I am going to call myc redit card company and have it taken off my billing. I send their cards but calanders do not work and now I wonder whether I should keep their cards. From looking at all places I can they have never had a phone number and do not anwer alot of their mail… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Irmabonfanti's Comment

Written on: 04/12/2013

I too have the same problem and want to contact them by phone or letter.
I am disappointed and feel the company is dihonest and will rteport them to an Ombudsman

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“2013 Advent Calendars won't launch - Don't waste your...”

Written on: 03/12/2013 by Jasmine529 (1 review written)

I purchased the 2013 Advent calendar only to get the message "Your activation is in process. Please wait..." I left the application overnight to activate - NOTHING. There is absolutely no way to contact the vendor since the "contact us" keeps looping to another page of suggestions with no way to contact this vendor. Will NEVER buy or send another Jacquie Lawson product… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“utter disappointment”

Written on: 03/12/2013 by elliepam (1 review written)

I was so enthralled with the 2012 advent calendar that I ordered it for 20 friends in 2013. It doesn't work. They wont answer. I am embarrassed that I made such a big deal about it. They should be ashamed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kenw1941's Response to elliepam's Review

Written on: 03/12/2013

TRY AGAIN and download Adobe Air which is free for it to work you can use Adobe Air for complexed Videos downloads etc.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible service”

Written on: 02/12/2013

I have used this company for years with no problems.This time, however, the advent calendar will not open as the installer file is damaged so i need to be sent another,nothing else will work.Jacquie Lawson fail to understand this and all i get is a standardised reply or no reply at all.The actual owner seems to be a company called microcourt ltd who trade as Jacquie Lawson .com,the number i found for them does not work.It used to be a family run company but seems to have grown too big and has… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dianalawrence's Comment

Written on: 02/12/2013

I concur. I am have been unable to end advent calendars to people on my address list... cannot get any help except an automated reply referring me to the advent calendar help page which does not address my problem. I have sent FOUR emails restating the problem and requesting a response from a PERSON and/or a phone number where a person can be reached..
I also have been using Jacqui Lawson cards for many years and am dismayed that it is no longer a customer friendly site.... in spite of it's charming animations.... hope this starts a chain of complaints that will catch someone's attention at the company.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kenw1941's Comment

Written on: 03/12/2013

I have been sent this advent calendar and you have to download Adobe Air which is free for it to work, also add the code delivered with the e mail, it works fine, in fact it is so beautifuly done with great music and the effects are wonderful.
TRY AGAIN and follow the instructions.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sofsam's Comment

Written on: 02/12/2013

I may have found a solution and it involves adobe air and adobe muse.I removed both of these programs then reinstaled them and it worked i was able to download the advent calendar.The problem seems to have been a fault with the adobe air installer file.Hope this helps others.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting lack of service”

Written on: 01/12/2013

I have exactly the same problem as bef says it is installing but does nothing. I bought one calendar for myself and one for a friend. I have emailed my friend to see if she has managed to download hers but have yet to hear. Have sent about 10 emails from Friday 29th when I bought it and no response apart from the same old automatic responses. This is disgusting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Cheify's Comment

Written on: 03/12/2013

exactly the same - it's obviously a fairly common problem. So why not give paying customers an answer? they take the payment & don't deliver the goods, or reply to problems

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Utter Rubbish from start to finish”

Written on: 01/12/2013

I have received an Advent Calender as a Gift but have had numerous problems from start to finish. Finally I get to a window telling me that that the programme is activating, then no more, the wiondow just sits there for hours. Customer service likes to suggest that that I should be able to solve the problem myself insulting my intelligence by sending emails repeating the instructions I have already just followed and doesn't answer emails within the 48 hours as promised and the last email wanted… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jochriskar77's Comment

Written on: 01/12/2013

This I exactly the problem I now have. I bought one calendar for myself and one for a friend. I have emailed my friend to see if she has managed to download hers but have yet to hear. Have sent about 10 emails from Friday 29th when I bought it and no response apart from the same old automatic responses. This is disgusting.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“J. Lawson cards /terrible customer service”

Written on: 30/11/2013

I have been trying to commuinicate with someone regarding a refund of the 2 year membership that I just purchased but instantly discovered that I was not able to use it properly on my I-pad.. No person has responded to my emails, I've just recieved computer generated emails that do not address my problem. I'm very disappointed in this company as I have supported it for a number of years when I had a computer. I did not know prior to paying for the membership that it would not work on my Ipad… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview