Leger Holidays Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
44% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business

Summary

Leger Holidays offer coach, rail, air and cruising holidays, to such places as Disneyland Paris, Battlefield Tours and Xmas market breaks.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Leger Holidays - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“awuful”

Written on: 16/06/2013

we took a holiday with ledger coaches last august to picture book italy the food and hotels rooms was so poor would not have put a dog in them or fed them with the food complained to ledger same old same old they dont want tp know as they have had your money would never go with this coach company again better companys out there be careful if you book with them if you are a vegertarain as they dont pass this on to the hotels unless you call a bowl of fruit for a main meal… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Travelling with Leger can compromise your health &...”

Written on: 31/05/2013

I recently returned from Germany and I was so appalled by the standard of service on our return journey I wrote to Leger outlining my concerns. Leger finally replied and to my disgust they totally failed to address any of the concerns I raised. Their total lack of concern gives the impression they are a second rate travel company. They pride themselves regarding the safety of their passengers stating it is paramount , yet on our return back to the north west the coach had a puncture on the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“FUN, WELL ORGANISED”

Written on: 29/05/2013 by LYNNEMEAD (1 review written)

Just returned from HIGHLIGHTS OF EASTERN EUROPE with Leger (11/5/13 - 24/5/13) the tour was excellent, the drivers were informative, knowlegeable and well organised, we stayed at 7 different hotels during the 14 days and although they were not all well thought out there was only 1 which was really bad and that was the IBIS MALA STRANA PRAGUE, the chaneover of coaches at Folkestone and Calais was smooth and well organised all in all a good experience and one we will be repeating… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Teresa1961's Response to LYNNEMEAD's Review

Written on: 04/06/2013

I recently went on the Tale of Three Cities trip, staying in Lille at the Ibis hotel. The hotel really did let the holiday down, as we were all told (not Leger's fault) that they weren't doing any evening meals for the coach party! If it hadn't have been for a nearby Mall with a restaurant we would have been stuck.

First time with Leger. Not too sure if I would travel with them again. Although the coach crew were faultless and it was well organised. But we had a three hour drive to Paris which was a pain. Holiday needs to be based nearer to Paris.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Xalatan's Response to LYNNEMEAD's Review

Written on: 21/02/2014

Hi Lynne, I was on a similar tour of East European cities with Leger { Sep 2013 } which was brilliant and the only hotel which as you said was 'really bad' was the IBIS PRAGUE,CZECH REPUBLIC.The meals we had were shocking and my pet dog would turn it's nose up at them...I'm sure the meat we chewed on was Army boots! Apart from this hotel the others we stayed in at the cities of Europe were of high standard and comfortable...

John.
p.s. I took loads of canny photos on this trip...

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Hello I did the tour in Dec12 Christmas in Austria,...”

Written on: 16/04/2013 by Poonen (1 review written)

Hello I did the tour in Dec12 Christmas in Austria, New Year in Germany and Prague. The hotels were good , Food at hotel was good. However Food on boat trips were pricy and not up to expectations. The tour guides were informative The two drivers kept the group entertained New Years eve party was good except for the seating arrangement which was uncalled for this left a bitter taste in a few peoples mouth so to speak as the arrangement was clicky. New Years day restuarants were open but we were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Berlin xmas markets trip 2012”

Written on: 21/01/2013

This was more a holiday on a coach rather than a coach holiday!!! Also should never be called a berlin xmas markets trip as we dropped in some obscure place with a very uninspiring xmas market. Took ages to get to berlin and back and unless you were prepared to walk to find best markets, no info given on where they were, or best ones etc. just awful really. Driver and guide a bit bullish and we should have had a different pair but there was a hold up somewhere. No xmas cheer whatsoever. Time… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Italy Battlefield Tour”

Written on: 08/12/2012

We have used Ledger a few times the Northen Europe Battlefield tours were good WE took a Battlefield tour to Italy and Germany The hotels were in genaral awfull and the food was second rate we complained to Ledger and the impresion was thay could not care less we were offered 10 percent of our next holiday I could not recommend Ledger to anyone im sorry to say… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Good hotel , nightmare coach comfort.”

Written on: 24/11/2012

Wife and I went on coach holiday to Rome, Pompei, Capri on 8 september 2012. The Alfieri Hotel in Fiuggi was good, but having paid an extra £30.00 to be picked up locally, we found that other passengers were brought by taxi to the same location as us by taxi at no cost at all. We paid an extra £50.00 for front seats for the view, what no one told us was that there was no legroom due to a modesty board, and no overhead locker for hand luggage.We were told by the coach driver that our hand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Battlefield tour”

Written on: 17/11/2012 by HUDSPETH (1 review written)

We were very pleased with our tour of the battlefields We found Leger tours very efficient and the guide that took us around the sites was very knowledgable The drivers were very friendly and I would recommend the tours to anyone interested in going to World War One sites… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN !!!!!! DONT DO IT SAVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY.”

Written on: 02/10/2012 by sione (1 review written)

Paid nearly £iooo for a week in a rabbit hutch in the loft of DELLE MIMOSE HOTEL ITALY. Pot luck which room you get but you all pay the same.So bad the drivers of our coach refused to stay in a room 2 doors down from mine,they were sent to another hotel (lucky drvers)I was told by the manager of the hotel they could not send to another hotel as it was closed reason end of season.(End of season hotels must open up just for drivers)Dont bother to conplain, Rachel Dixon (CUSTOMER RELATIONS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vivlefey69's Response to sione's Review

Written on: 06/10/2012

I have just returned from the Picture book Italy tour with Leger. The Holiday was fabulous, however your brochure fails to point out numerous things which people should consider before booking.
This particular holiday is not suitable for people with mobility difficulties. There is a lot of walking involved.
90 minutes to explore Sienna from drop off time until collection - Insufficient time.
3 out of 5 hotels extremley poor,and very basic. One vegetable and 2 slices of processed meat is not sufficient after 15 hours travelling. Doors used for supporting mattresses - In several hotels health and safety issues need to be addressed.
Most of the stop offs are at motorway stations en route which are
expensive.
Going to Rome on a Sunday when the Cistine Chapel is closed - Poor planning.
Going to Florence when the Uffizi Gallery is closed - Poor planning.
15 hours travelling - too long.
Not enough time on any of the trips to explore.
Legers one saving grace, the drivers were brilliant, more than just drivers, having to deal with numerous elderly passengers health related issues and injuries.
My one tip if you are travelling alone as I did, check who Leger are sitting you next too. The person I was seated next too was expecting me to babysit him all holiday and to be his carer. He was suitably advised. A lesser person would have of found this person intimidating and frightening. I would even go so far as to say, if you can book and pay for both seats. Leger have a duty of care to the people travelling with them and this was an extremley unpleasant situation. Fortuanately I am built of strong stuff.
Italy is beautiful and surprisingly despite the above I enjoyed my holiday, I laughed from morning to night. I have used this whistlestop holiday to plan where I would like to revisit so it has served a purpose. I would ask that Leger review the description of the holiday they give in the brochure as it does not compare to the reality especially where the hotels, trips and travelling arrangements are concerned.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“LEGER COACH trip - Brussels, Bruge & Valkenburg Xmas...”

Written on: 27/09/2012

We booked a Leger coach trip for December 2011 and paid to upgrade to Silver Service coach. The coach trip was not as described in the brochure. Instead, at 10.15 a.m. we were met and transported from Croydon to Orpington rail station by a people carrier. We then had to wait outside at a bus stop for an hour in the freezing cold for a tatty, cramped coach to arrive to transport us to Dover stopping off at Maidstone for a 20 minute break. At Dover we had another 30 minute wait outside in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The Story of Anne Frank & Oscar Schindler{ 23 July- 3...”

Written on: 24/08/2012

I would like to take this opportunity in thanking Leger Holidays for without doubt the greatest experience of my life.I've been on two Leger Holidays before,notably the 'Battle of the Somme'and 'W.W.1.and 2'which I thought couldn't be bettered because,like many,I found the name of a close relative killed at Passchendaele in the Great War,on the wall memorial to the missing.That was at the largest military cemetery at Tyne Cot,Belgium.However,the aforementioned experience {I prefer not to call… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“our best holiday ever”

Written on: 15/07/2012 by SheilaBird (1 review written)

This was our first coach tour with Leger and we were not sure how it would go, right from the word go we were welcomed and didn't have to lift a finger no cases to carry wonderful tours and commentaries, the food was great gala nights were fun as well, the couriers we had Fay and Steve were brilliant made you feel right at home,and made sure every one was happy and showed so much consideration for people who were unable to walk well and needed assistance, if the other couriers are as good as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Arctic circle & Land of the Midnight Sun”

Written on: 03/07/2012 by Pamelal (1 review written)

Whilst we were prepared for a tiring, whistlestop 16 day tour (all 1 nighters except for Honningsvag which was 2 nights to allow us to recover from our midnight sunseeking excursion) we were NOT prepared to be told on our return to UK that instead of heading directly west on the feeder coach for a Membury Services drop off we would be going via Orpington & a tour of Central London for a Victoria Coach Station drop off! To say we were annoyed was nothing compared to the anger of the poor… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No Sympathy!!!!!!”

Written on: 12/08/2011 by john021967 (1 review written)

I had as a birthday present bought for me and my son, a trip to German Grand Prix. My partner did not purchase insurance, as it may have come to the house in my name, to which I would have opened and spoilt the surprise. I unfortunetely had a serious stroke so therefore coul not go. While this holiday firm gave a refund, a large chunk was kept for admin charges. They were totally unsympathetic towards the situation… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Bethlehem should be included or offered as an optional...”

Written on: 14/07/2011 by SUSANBLAND (1 review written)

The flight set the scene for our '"Highlights of the Holy Land" Tour from 19th.-26th. May 2011. Several Orthodox Jews stood praying in the middle of the plane and there was a very enthusiastic group of primary school children going to camp. From the moment we met our Guide named Ellen she started to impart her tremendous knowledge of both Jewish and Christian religious history to us and was a constant presence for the next 8 days, communicating with us by microphone to our receivers as she
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to SUSANBLAND's Review

Written on: 25/07/2011

thankyou for your review my husband wants to go next year but i am worried as we are both in our sixties and will we be able to keep up? especially if the party is a lot younger.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to SUSANBLAND's Review

Written on: 27/08/2011

In answer to the Guest's question:

I am sure that you will find you will be able to keep up with the group on a similar tour to the one I did. The majority of the members of these groups are in their sixties and seventies. In our group there were at least two people who had had hip and knee replacements.They managed very well - most of the sites have two or three levels and very few of our group went on to the third level. The Guide will always tell you what the walking conditions are like and advise you to stay on the lowest level if necessary. If even that is very rocky and there are lots of steps you can always stay in the main reception area of the site where there is usually a shop, restaurant, somne exhibits and maybe a film. You just have to check with the Guide.

It is a wonderful experience if you do decide to go.

Regards,

Sue Bland

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Your review title goes here”

Written on: 07/07/2011 by reviewkitten (295 reviews written)

Your review goes here. This is a big fat test… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Prague/Budapest/Vienna May 2011”

Written on: 31/05/2011

Coach cramped. No cupholders for hot drinks. Seat back net pouches broken so items could not be placed in them. Airconditioning/ventilation system ineffective leaving coach hot and stuffy for long periods. Toilet smelled and was leaking sewage to exterior which was apparent at rest stops. Clutch wore out at end of trip and coach was just able to limp into Calais interchange. The vehicle was unfit for purpose. Adequate for a school run but not for long distance travel across Europe. Both… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2011

How much did you pay ???????

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“We have travelled with Leger three times in all. The...”

Written on: 24/04/2011

We have travelled with Leger three times in all. The last two on battlefield tours which have been superb.Yes it is a long haul to the interchang at Dover so this time we stayed overnight in Dover - Leger arranged the parking which was very cheap - we were picked up at the travel centre in Dover and dropped back their -car park right behind it. The battlefield guides are excellent and I agree re the coach drivers- nothing is too much trouble- they are very informative and unfailingly cheerful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We booked Christmas in Hannover by coach only to have...”

Written on: 30/03/2011

We booked Christmas in Hannover by coach only to have it changed to Christmas in Bremen a few weeks before departure.

When the itinery arrived lots of things were missing but we were advised other things had been added instead but they hadn't.

The hotel which was a typical "reps" hotel was advertised as having a bar that didn't exist and the food was terrible, all in all Christmas was non existant and a waste of nearly £1000.00.

The £50.00 voucher they sent us in compensation was no more… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I am deaf and First Time on Coach trips with Leger...”

Written on: 29/09/2010

I am deaf and First Time on Coach trips with Leger holiday on 24th Sept
and went to Paris trip to Paris Sightseeing, river seine cruise, paris latin quarter, verswailles & montmartre, paris by night and it superb
the coach driver Mark Emyr is lovely and very kind and help me through all the trips because of my deafness and he explain the times and trip etc.
I would like to thank Mark and he is a brilliant coach driver and would like to go again on coaching trip if Mark do the driving again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview