Amdega Conservatories Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
35% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Amdega Conservatories - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Our AMDEGA greenhouse was installed at the end of...”

Written on: 11/11/2010 by tinkerbell405 (1 review written)

Our AMDEGA greenhouse was installed at the end of September. It has surpassed all our expectations and is both lovely to look at and functional. The design is from the new line of AMDEGA greenhouses and the design team at AMDEGA were brillient, helpful and professional. The finished article looks a million dollars. The attention to detail in the assembly was amazing and the solid cedar wood staging would not look out of place in a modern stylish kitchen. The Assembly team were punctual… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Having read the previous reviews, I am somewhat...”

Written on: 09/11/2010

Having read the previous reviews, I am somewhat surprised at the negative comments. The greenhouse Amdega have installed for us, is beautiful to look at, of solid construction and is much admired.
The designer was nothing but helpful, and the fitters were polite, hardworking and their work could not be faulted.
There was quite a delay in the greenhouse arriving, and the build took longer than originally stated, but that is a small price to pay sometimes.
We certainly had no problems with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tinkerbell405's Comment

Written on: 12/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because it was on greenhouses and was recent.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Go no where near this company and avoid at all costs. ”

Written on: 09/11/2010 by Jonty Camsey (1 review written)

Go no where near this company and avoid at all costs.
quite frankly the most inept company on planet earth..
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ramblerman's Response to Jonty Camsey's Review

Written on: 12/11/2010

Totally agree, absolute rubbish company and product

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“ After a bumpy journey, we are now enjoying our...”

Written on: 08/11/2010

After a bumpy journey, we are now enjoying our lovely new orangery which is an elegant and practical addition to our home. We can now feel we are in the garden all of the year. Our recent visit to the Amdega factory filled us with confidence that with new leadership and management in place, the company is on track for renewed success.

October 2010

Dr Pauline and Tony Weight
Bedfordshire'
Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Tinkerbell405's Comment

Written on: 12/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because it was recent and relavant.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“We have had our Amdega conservatory for 10 years. It...”

Written on: 13/10/2010 by lolamk2 (1 review written)

We have had our Amdega conservatory for 10 years. It has been the best purchase ever. We spend more time in it than any other room.
The quality is superb and the installation went without a hitch.
We are so pleased with it that we have comissioned a garden room from Amdega.
Hopefully to be completed very soon… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kapkina's Response to lolamk2's Review

Written on: 18/12/2010

Is your garden room completed now?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I am very surprised by the other reviews as I have...”

Written on: 13/10/2010 by summerhouse1 (1 review written)

I am very surprised by the other reviews as I have only good things to say about Amdega. They put up a summerhouse for us two months ago and it is delightful - lovely design, very well made, no faults, just as good if not better than the picture in the brochure. The supervisor who put it up, Christoph, was dedicated and very careful, paying attention to the details -I watched him fitting the cedar shingles on the roof which he did with great care and he never stopping working so that it went up… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Amdega providing shockingly bad customer service. We...”

Written on: 08/10/2010

Amdega providing shockingly bad customer service. We bought the sales pitch and then regretted it for the next 6 months. The product is actually good but we would never buy from them again because of the way we were treated. I would not recommend this company to a friend - or anyone else for that matter!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 15/04/2011

Please be advised that Amdega takes your comments extremely seriously. Further to our recent takeover we now have the opportunity to improve outstanding service issues. We would be grateful if you could give us the opportunity to discuss your Amdega and address any outstanding issues by contacting Donna Jackson, Customer Service Manager on 01325 349 565 or by email: customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Our conservatory style kitchen extension was installed...”

Written on: 10/09/2010 by james rees (1 review written)

Our conservatory style kitchen extension was installed in 2005, and it has stood the test of time brilliantly. The design and installation team were efficient and professionall - even setting up a temporary kitchen up for us while the work was carried out. This was a godsend.
The occassional issues that inevitably crop up on this kind of project were sorted out promptly with the aid of their project manager. He was always knowledgeable and helpfull. We have not had to contact Amdega at all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Karinbrawn's Response to james rees's Review

Written on: 12/09/2010

It is so different from what we experienced. Our kitchen extension is a year down the line and still not complete. We were without a kitchen with a huge hole in our wall for six months right through this last really terrible winter. No heating, no light, nothing except an old freestanding cooker in an empty room, no sub-contractors willing to come out to us because they had not been paid and worst of all promises made by their commercial manager - who actually came out to see us as it was so bad -failed to materialise. No completion schedule, weekend visits every now and again and no action until a brand new project manager finally took control. Funnily enough he has now left the company as he could not believe what they were like. I have had my review taken off this website and yet it was all true- am appealing to get it re-instated. We spent a fortune - 90% up front - and still feel cheated even though we are nearly coming to the end of the nightmare.The only way we got Amdega to do anything was to commission reports by an independent structural engineer and a very vigilant building inspector who was shocked at what he found. Unless you need building regs, you have no way you can force the company to ensure that things are properley built - we had no damp proofing, cold bridging, the gutters were not insulated when they were finally installed, the roof had no ridge capping, the building was only painted with a base coat which according to one of their project managers is all that is covered in the contract, the roof leaked, the windows leaked and within two months there was mould on the wood and it had bent and bowed. The building was fixed to the floor with four screws and balanced on little blocks of wood at the back! Our builder tried to help and agreed to do extra work to accomodate incorrect measurements by our first project manager (we have had 3 now) - only to find he didn't get paid either despite written and verbal confirmation that Amdega would pay his costs. Instead they wanted to take it off our final 10%! Full County Court proceeedings were under way before he got a cheque - 8 months late. I can only hope that the new management will finally get on top of these issues and ensure that the promises made at the sales and marketing stage are kept instead of falling so woefully below even basic standards of service and build quality.Only go with this company if you are prepared to fight every step to get things sorted.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“ Our Amdega conservatory went up in 1998 with a...”

Written on: 08/09/2010 by berrho (1 review written)

Our Amdega conservatory went up in 1998 with a minimum of disturbance, and even when the gutters overflowed due to faulty connection with the drains the matter was put right the next day, and Amdega was very easy to deal with. Since then our family and friends have been using the conservatory on an almost daily basis as it is a bright and very welcoming room in which it is a pleasure to sit and work or laze . There have been no problems with leaks or draughts and even the paintwork is almost… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ahhhh Amdega where do I start.....I think a good...”

Written on: 10/08/2010

Ahhhh Amdega where do I start.....I think a good opening statement would be to implore anyone reading this review to AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!!!! Words quite simply fail me in terms of describing how inept they are. There is not a polite adjective that can be used to fully describe the disasterous experience we have had with this lot.

We were completely taken in by the advertising and smooth sales operators and fully expected a smoothly run project with a premium product at the end… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jam13's Comment

Written on: 16/08/2010

Was the name of your one "completent" person [name removed] - I have found him to be genuinely helpful but am amazed he is still with Amdega after 3 months - this makes me think that it must be Steve who has left - surely there can't be 2 competent staff working at Amdega?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 15/04/2011

Amdega's new management team takes your comments extremely seriously and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience and resolve any issues that may be outstanding. Can you please therefore contact Donna Jackson, our Customer Services Manager, on 01325 349 565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Here we go, please see emails below to Amdega. Their...”

Written on: 26/07/2010

Here we go, please see emails below to Amdega. Their arrogance goes beyond comprehension:

Date: Mon, 26 Jul 2010 14:12:37
To: deleted by moderator@amdega.co.uk
Reply-To: deleted by moderator@aol.com
Subject: The Truth Hurts

Dear Mr deleted by moderator,

How you run your business is beyond me and I am sure many other clients.

I expect everything to be done tomorrow including the bends. deleted by moderator is at HQ today and he can find bends for my job your explanation is not acceptable… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Paul Jamieson's Comment

Written on: 30/07/2010

This is identical to the serious problems that I am experiencing with Amdega. I have the media involved already, and they are very interested in your case. I also have an excellent legal team that will be able to assist. Please call me anytime on mobile 07734 844 293 if you want to link up.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jam13's Comment

Written on: 03/08/2010

Ah this sounds more like a "REAL " Amdega customer - you can almost "feel" the dismay, tension, despair - can't feel "the added dimension that the beautiful orangery has provided ( even if it is "an extra room that we use all the time particularly to celebrate special family ocassions - and the way the fairy lights twinkle in the windows at Christmas is beyond wonderful) none of this seems to make up for the heartache & misery that Amdega wreak -- STEER WELL CLEAR

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“I ordered my conservatory a few months ago. Form the...”

Written on: 23/07/2010

I ordered my conservatory a few months ago. Form the outset, I should have known that it was a huge mistake.
* The planning process failed.
* Getting drawings from them was a nightmare as no changes were permitted.
* Project coordinator - She is an absolute nightmare as all she does is apologise but no resolution to issues at hand
* Commercial Director - is unprofessional and rude. So rude that he does not reply to customer emails or phone calls
* Scheduler - They agree a fitting date and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I had an Amdega Conservatory (nearly £40,000) built...”

Written on: 22/07/2010 by MDee (1 review written)

I had an Amdega Conservatory (nearly £40,000) built just over 5 years ago. The construction was a nightmare. It had to be taken down and rebuilt as it would not join with the house. It leaked for 4 years. Now all the glazing is periodically misting up. The glazing is under warrenty but Amdega take 3 months to replace each failed glazing unit each tme they mist up. On three visits by their team to replace glazing they came with the wrong parts or the wrong size or the wrong colour....three… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“If you are thinking of buying an Amdega conservatory -...”

Written on: 21/07/2010

If you are thinking of buying an Amdega conservatory - DON'T!!!
Their communications and customer service are appalling. They sent builders from over 100 miles away, who had no idea how to use, or even source local materials. Then - in breach of contract - they abandoned our project altogether, leaving local workmen to take over. Project management and quality control were non-existent. We spent a year living in a building site. Now the supposedly completed conservatory looks nice, but it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 20/04/2011

Amdega's new board of directors is extremely concerned to read your comments about the service you previously received from our company and we would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss matters with you at the earliest opportunity. Can you please therefore contact our Customer Services Manager on 01325 349565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk. We look forward to being of service to you.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>The Management Team
<br/>Amdega Limited

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I am a building professional: an Amdega conservatory...”

Written on: 19/07/2010

I am a building professional: an Amdega conservatory was the choice of a client. Communication and queries are poorly dealt with by customer services, technical knowledge is wanting. The product is cleverly marketed but overpriced: i could recommend neither product nor process. As with any built item never ever pay for anything in advance… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 20/04/2011

We are of course extremely disappointed to read your comments. Amdega is constantly striving to improve the quality of the product that we provide and the service that all of our clients expect. We would be grateful if you could give us the opportunity to address any issues that you have and ask that you contact Donna Jackson, Customer Service Manager on 01325 349 565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>The management team
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Staffordplans's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2011

I disagree entirely with the not recommending bit of this product the product itself is a superb manufactured unit but id deffinatly agree with there poor customer service, yet you will find that this is the sign of the times as it never used to be be bad in the early 90's

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Design: We really liked the appearance of...”

Written on: 19/07/2010

Design: We really liked the appearance of conservatories in the Amdega brochure and the ' no pressure' sale pitch was what really appealed. The design was very good and in keeping with the surroundings. After paying our deposit we found this review site and initially considered pulling out of the order, as to be honest, I was really worried after reading the reviews! I couldn't afford to lose the deposit money so I kept my fingers crossed and prayed that we hadn't made a huge… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Scottishrichard's Comment

Written on: 23/07/2010

Pretty well agrees with my experience..ie nice conservatory despite everything. But the sales pitch we received was very persuasive. We signed on and paid a deposit and then they increased the number of jobs WE had to do at every stage. The salesman in Scotland then lied through his back teeth about what we had been offered.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jam13's Comment

Written on: 23/08/2010

Please can I suggest you contact [name removed] who is supposedly the customer Services Manager AND PA to the CEO, [name removed] - her e mail address is [details removed] [RC - apologies for the amendments, posting personal details is against our guidelines]

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Claire Cattran's Comment

Written on: 24/07/2010

I found this review not helpful because... we have been passed around Amdega through about 20 people now and I only wish that [names removed] had looked after us... we got [names removed] just to name a few and we still have the same leaks that we've had since it went up 2.5 years ago and the saga continues. No one phones you back.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM AMDEGA!! if i...”

Written on: 17/07/2010

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT BUY FROM AMDEGA!! if i could give no stars i would have done.

We purchased our conservatory October 2007 and spent the best part of £50k. They commenced work May 2008 and it is still not finished (July 2010)!!!!
Once the conservatory was up it looked nothing like what we were shown in the brochure which turns out to be photo taken around 10+ years ago, they now manufacture them differently.
I have had 2 major leaks which have resulted in water pouring down the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 19/04/2011

At Amdega we are striving to improve the quality of the product that we provide and the service that all of our customers receive. Our new team would be grateful for the opportunity to address any issues that you have and ask that you contact Donna Jackson, Customer Service Manager, on 01325 349 565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“We fell for the sales patter & for the gorgeous "water...”

Written on: 05/07/2010

We fell for the sales patter & for the gorgeous "water colour" of how the conservatory would look- what we didn't realise was that in order to fit in the furniture shown it would have to be of a "doll size" scale - my friend described the proposed size as an extremely expensive chicken coup.
After 6 months of heartache & wrangling Amdega agreed to increase the size by 1 metre & instead of charging us an additional £48k ( on top of the £25k) charged us just an extra £7k.
Finally, the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 15/04/2011

Amdega's new management team is extremely disappointed to read your comments, which we take very seriously, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience. Can you please therefore contact Donna Jackson, our Customer Services Manager, on 01325 349 565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“It is now 10 years since we made the mistake of having...”

Written on: 30/06/2010

It is now 10 years since we made the mistake of having an Amdega conservatory. While it looks lovely it has been nothing but trouble, I have lost count of the number of times they have been back to replace failed glazing units. We have had the roof entirely reglazed once, some side units are now on their third lot of glazing. The wood around some of the windows is now split and in a mess having been messed around with so many times. We even had to have part of the main frame replaced due to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Amdega Customer Services's Comment

Written on: 15/04/2011

Amdega's new management team is very disappointed and concerned to read your comments about our previous After Sales service. We would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss matters with you at the earliest opportunity. Can you please therefore contact Donna Jackson, our Customer Services Manager, on 01325 349565 or email customer.services@amdega.co.uk.
<br/>
<br/>Kind regards
<br/>Amdega Limited
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Exactly the same experience. The installation was...”

Written on: 25/06/2010

Exactly the same experience. The installation was chaotic - we deferred a holiday to fit in with amdega's only available dates, and no one turned up. A unit did not fit the plan; the work was unfinished - guttering left unfinished despite constant phone calls, reminders, etc.
2 double glazed units have shattered spontaneously after installation. the first was repaired eventually under warranty. Amdega agreed to repair the second, but have repeatedly failed to turn up despite reminders. It… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview