GO Outdoors Reviews - www.gooutdoors.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.1 / 5
81.9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GO Outdoors www.gooutdoors.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“1st class service”

Written on: 21/06/2013 by jim_bean (1 review written)

We found the product slightly cheaper online but the staff at the Stoke store checked it out and then price matched the item with a further 10% discount. Really pleased. We'd recommend the Stoke store to anyone. Really good customer service there especially when Outwell's own customer service is dreadful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Price Guarantee great deal”

Written on: 21/06/2013 by crawfie34 (6 reviews written)

Have purchased some good deals through Go Outdoors although can be a bit frustrating waiting for confirmation about the price match offer as there has often been a "computer glitch" their end but all has turned out well in the end. Even without the price match i'd recommend anyone to shop hear, always have good offers, great customer service and good choice of products… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great service and good knowledge”

Written on: 21/06/2013

Went into Go Outdoors for the first time to buy a waterproof jacket and various other outdoor bits. Found the knowledge of staff to very good- specially when compared to another supposed specialist shop! Found the jacket that I wanted and noticed that it was cheaper from another site. no problem getting the price matched and then another 10% off so got a bargain! Staff were again happy to help!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great value and on my doorstep exactly on time”

Written on: 21/06/2013 by SalamanderESL (1 review written)

Bought several items that I needed and some that I wanted simply because they were great value. Several items for Duke of Edinburgh award scheme so helped keep the finances down… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great boots!”

Written on: 21/06/2013 by bargainbuyer (1 review written)

Fabulous, they give great support and yet are soft and flexible. bought for D of E expedition which I haven't done yet, but I've worn them in the house in case they needed breaking in but in fact they don't. However I kept them on as they were so comfy. I would recommend these to everyone :)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“How Are They Still In Business”

Written on: 11/06/2013

Bought a Hi-Gear tent in order to go touring and camping on my motorcycle , my biggest mistake was to go to Go Outdoors the staff at the Stockton branch were surly , uninterested and didn't seem to have a clue in general . On to my purchase ,, to be fair the other items bought the same day seem to be o.k. however the tent is a different kettle of fish , un-packed it today to find firstly No Pegs ,2 1x Guy rope missing , upon erecting the tent it looked to have been used prior to my purchase as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gooutdoorsuk's Comment

Written on: 11/06/2013

Hi there,

Have you tried contacting our customer line to see if they can help with the tent? It should not have been sold in a used state. We do recommend trying tents, or checking that all items are included on purchase because sometimes manufacturing errors can occur. You can contact our customer service team via phone.

We're sorry to hear of the negative experience in store, and will certainly pass the feedback on to the Stockton branch, as we expect a higher level of service from all our members of staff.

Hope this helps,

Brandon
GO Outdoors Web Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Awful service, slow delivery. Would not use again. ”

Written on: 01/06/2013

Ordered a wind breaker. Website says 3-5 working days delivery. After 8 working days and no communication or delivery I phoned GoOutdoors. They said that there was a note stating the courier required more information about the address - except noone had asked me this information and the GoOutdoors team were not even aware of this until they went on the system to check. They chased it up and said that UKMail, the courier they use, were going to try to deliver the next day (Saturday) and would… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Woeful customer service”

Written on: 26/05/2013

Drove ten miles with the family to come shopping at Pitsea branch. Mid shop my two young boys saw the climbing wall. As per the sign "simply ask and we'll happily open it" I asked and was refused. Two people in store were able but it was more important for them to continue working than assist a customer. During this experience nobody owned the situation or was interested in talking to me. I simply heard the refusal via Wilkie talkie feedback. Previously I've spent hundreds with yourselves on… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gooutdoors's Comment

Written on: 29/05/2013

Hello there,

We're very sorry to hear this. The climbing walls in store are there to be used, however they can only be used if a trained member of staff is there to supervise. During busier periods like over a Bank Holiday weekend, staff can be stretched with helping advise customers on products and the wall may remain closed.

We're very sorry for the inconvenience, and that this wasn't conveyed to you in store at the time. If you do wish to take things further, please feel free to drop your contact details through to us and we'll get somebody to contact you.

Brandon
GO Outdoors Web Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“discount card rip off”

Written on: 12/04/2013 by fikasaplank (1 review written)

it seems to me that they are ripping people off with the so called discount card. everytime we go in and quote our postcode it always comes up as an expired card. I go at least 3-4 times a year for supplies but not anymore, im sick of paying for a card that is supposed to last 12 months but obviously doesn't. also we looked on there website and decided to buy a new tent. on arriving I asked about the tent we had decided on and was told that if the price ended in a 7 then it was discontinued… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Adj0180's Response to fikasaplank's Review

Written on: 18/04/2013

I am sorry but i Have to disagree wth you, having perviously worked ther and shopped then before that I think the discount card is great value.
With regad to the card expiring, if you feel that it has not been 12 months tell them. They will be more than happy to show you your discount card history and show you when you last renewed and what you bought with it. If tere was a computer mistake then they will be all means rectify it in some way.
Regarding the tent, the website will show it on there as long as at least one store is still showing it on their stockfile. This is because having it displayed on the website helps massivly to sell as we used to have customers travel from very far away to the store so want to know if there is anything that they like first. If you look on the website yo actually have an option to select a store to check if they have it in stock and reserve it.
IF for any reason it is showing on the stock file but is not in stock they will contact you before you travel in to let you know hence why when you reserve and collect it asks you to wait for confirmation. The stock file is not always right due to many reasons such as damaged in store. stolen or booking in errors. Any large store is the same whether it is a stand alone or part of a chain.( ive worked in retail since i was 15 its the same everywhere).
Finally with the price, the rrp without the card is set by the maufactuer, it is not set by go outdoors. The card gives you savings against retail, other stores/chains do not HAVE to sell it at rrp.
However with the discount card if you do see it cheaper elsewhere in the uk online or instore they will beat it by 10%.
To do a price match you have two options, you can click on the "found it cheaper" button on the website and wait for a response email with an authorisation code to give to the store, or you can go to the sore and tey can check it there for you.
PLease be aware that to do a price match you have t have a valid card, the product has to be identical, so same size,colour, year model etc. the reason for this is obvious as they will not price match an older model against a new model (different colour usually indicates a different year model). it has to be in stock with who you are price matching as many websites will leave a sale product up on the website that they no longer have in sock and will not get in stock again, and finally if it is not based in the local area (e.g if in manchester for manchester store) they have to include any delivery charges as you would have to pay that to get the product delivered r spend more in petrol to go and pick it up.
at £5 per year the discount cad used to save me £100's per year and even when i was sttaff I kept my card going as customer price was occasionally lower that staff( which is cost price)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gooutdoors's Response to fikasaplank's Review

Written on: 15/05/2013

Hi there,

We're really sorry to hear about this. The card does in fact last 12 months, and if this wasn't the case then there was an issue with the admin side of things, that can be rectified via our customer service team

Our website shows discontinued items across all of our stores as they are still available via reserve and collect somewhere. While this may not be ideal for somebody who doesn't live near that store, it can be a real find for somebody who does.

Thanks for the feedback, if you'd like to discuss anything further please do email us and i'll make sure somebody gets back to you.

Brandon
GO Outdoors Web Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“£5 so called discount card that really means that...”

Written on: 29/03/2013 by Harry2013 (1 review written)

£5 so called discount card that really means that there's a slight chance that it will not be quite as expensive as somewhere else, no thanks! Once bitten twice shy, Go Outdoors lost £150's worth of sale today for the cost of updating a discount card, in the end I bought the same stuff for a far less price 2 miles from the Go Outdoors store!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Qwerty9120's Response to Harry2013's Review

Written on: 19/04/2013

With the card GO Outdoors price match. If you see the exact same product cheaper elsewhere (even if by 1p) they will beat that price by 10%.
The only stipulations are that it has to be identical. Same size, same colour/year model, in stock with the competior, and it it is based in the same area as you e.g. manchester for the manchester store, they have to include any delivery charges as you would pay that to get the item or spend more in petrol.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gooutdoors's Response to Harry2013's Review

Written on: 15/05/2013

Hi there,

Sorry to hear that. If you are a Discount Card holder it entitles you to take advantage of our Price Guarantee, which means that if you find any of our products cheaper anywhere else, we will beat the cheaper price by 10%.

The Discount card is there to make sure our customers always get the lowest possible price for the goods we sell.

Hope this helps,

Brandon
GO Outdoors Web Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“website a joke, customer service terrible”

Written on: 18/03/2013

ordered three items online form go outdoors, waited 1 week only to contact them to find out one item is out of stock so the whole delivery was put on hold, not that they bothered to tell me. I contacted them the following day to tell them to ship the remaining items only to be told that the supposedly in stock (the day before anyway), still available to buy on the website items were 'a discontinued item'. Cancelled the order and complained to them and the email back was just a conformation that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“They say Go Outdoors Card has expired to sell a new one”

Written on: 16/03/2013 by ladonamobile (1 review written)

Every time I go to the till they look up my postcode and say my Go Outdoors Discount Card has expired and I have to buy a new one. They have an old expired card on the system at the top of the list. Each time I challenge, they say "Oh yes you're right there is a current card lower down in the list". I have asked them to delete the expired card details so staff will only see the new current card, but they say they can't. My girlfriend went without me and ended up with another card to save an… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Kurisu's Response to ladonamobile's Review

Written on: 26/05/2013

If your card has expired, rather than attempting to purchase a brand new card, as all of your details are currently on the system, simply request the "expired" card to be renewed (the current renewal charge is £5). This will ensure that you only have one card matched to your information on the system which will last for 12 months and then need to be renewed (onto the same card)
Again if you lose your current card, rather than buying a new one, simply renew your lost card (as all information is still present and correct on the system) and either continue to simply use your post code for your purchases or request an new "hard copy" card to be dispatched to you (your information will be taken from the system and attached to a new card, however this process is dealt with by Sheffield head office, not your local store and so can take a time period ranging from a couple of weeks to a few month as all replacement card issues from the entire UK are process by head office)

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Parking Ticket at swindon go outdoors???”

Written on: 08/03/2013 by gdeno (1 review written)

Went to the swindon branch which is quite large and spent a couple of hundred quid which took 2 hours after trying items on etc etc. i was in the shop for the complete 2 hours and the car park is directly outside the shop. a week later i get a Parking ticket enforcement notice to say i had overstayed my welcome by 5 minutes. so let me get this right..i am a paying customer in your shop with reciepts to back it up i hasten to add, and because i stay on your car park provided to us to shop in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Smidget00's Response to gdeno's Review

Written on: 19/04/2013

Go Outdoors do not employ an parking firm to run car parks, like monst companies they rent all of their stores, the owner of the store itself (go outdoor's landlord) may hire a company which go outdoors have no control over. They are not responsible for the fine (there will be signs in the car park telling you you have a two hour limit0. It is the same at the manchester store and in my experience if you go back to the store with your reciepts and let one of the managers know they will usually speak with the car park company to see if they will let you off.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Terryanita's Response to gdeno's Review

Written on: 24/08/2013

Hi
I have just had a parking ticket because I was at go outdoors Swindon for 1hr 55mins. We had no camping equipment so needed all. Takes time to choose. Ours was £50 if we pay in 14 days or £80 if we pay in 28 days. This site and comments really helped us as we took letter and our receipt back to go outdoors. They where very helpful and they are getting the fine cancelled. So if you are a genuine customer don't panic, just go back with the proof and they will stop it. I know its a pain but as they say so many people use their car park but not the shop so that's why. Hope this will help others.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gooutdoors's Response to gdeno's Review

Written on: 15/05/2013

Hi there,

Our stores can help you get the parking ticket overturned. If you were genuinely shopping in the store, the staff are happy to help. The Parking ticket comes from a third party company and is purely based on a time limit.

Hope this helps,

Brandon GO Outdoors Web Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worthless Price Match Promise!”

Written on: 05/03/2013 by Penrithian (1 review written)

I wanted to buy a pair of the Salomon Cosmic 4D 2 GTX® Walking Boots. They are advertised on the GoOutdoors website at £153 with a discount card. Beneath the product it clearly says 'FOUND A LOWER PRICE WE'LL BEAT IT BY 10% - CLICK HERE'. I then found the same boot on Fieldandtrek.com for £119.99. So I put Go Outdoors and their Price Match offer to the test. Here is the reply - "Thank you for your email. I have checked the competitor link and unfortunately on this occasion we can not do the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Penrithian's Response to Penrithian's Review

Written on: 06/03/2013

I have now received another email from Gooutdoors customer services and they have now offered to uphold the price match. So I thank them for that and will take up their offer. This company has redeemed itself and I will continue to buy from them.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Check your receipts!!!”

Written on: 14/02/2013 by mynsme2007 (1 review written)

Twice now I've been caught out here by useless staff at till 1st time they didn't put pack a gerber multi tool into my carrier bag the girl obviously left it on counter. 2nd time they charged me for two 70 pound fishing chairs when I only bought one didn't notice till I was looking at receipt having a sort out 18 months later. Also I've never been impressed by staff knowledge here often been given wrong informstion… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Warrington branch”

Written on: 11/02/2013 by Disappointed66 (1 review written)

Staff couldn't be more helpful , honoured price match & even printed web page for me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Click and reserve a joke? The whole management is!! ”

Written on: 06/02/2013 by majusau (2 reviews written)

Click and reserve a joke? The whole management is!! Same item and size available online to reserve at the Oxford store for 5 weeks, but 4 times reserved it is NOT available. Customer services say we are having problems! Quite right p........g off your customers is some problems. A week ago I called in to find out what was happening. Chap who claimed he ran that dept said he would sort it and get the stocks updated. Yeah right! So it appears that Go Outdoors from (mis)management down to store… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Gift Receipt Caution”

Written on: 11/01/2013

Was given a £35 giftcard, when I went to use it I discovered all the money was on the tiny receipt (lost) and not on the plastic storecard itself. On asking instore was told they couldn't trace the gift card and there was nothing they could do, they were really unhelpful and I was really dissapointed. Most gift cards store the information on the card and not solely on the easy to loose receipts. Really unhappy with their customer support, their e-mail contact centre couldn't help either - a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Online order - never arrived”

Written on: 19/12/2012 by headbanging (1 review written)

Just the worst company I've ever ordered from !!! Ordered some goods from this company at the beginning of December. I was sent an e-mail on the 5 December to say that they had been dispatched - the goods NEVER arrived. Been on the phone many times to costumer services and each time I've heard nothing but broken promises. And before anyone says it's Christmas, I don't buy that argument because everything I ordered last week has arrived within a set time frame. The worst thing is, I've been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Nice shop with loads of stock”

Written on: 12/12/2012 by shaninigh (3 reviews written)

I can't complain about this company. We use them all the time for our outdoor gear. I find the discount card thing a bit weird but as long as you pay the £5 per year you can shop there as much as you want and get all the discounts. The shop is very large which gives you plenty of room to move around with a buggy. I like that you can go in there and put the item on that you are thinking of buying before you purchase!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview