Bannatyne Health Clubs Reviews - www.bannatyne.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
260
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk

Bannatyne Health Clubs www.bannatyne.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Disappointed”

Written on: 23/01/2014

Purchased a day pass for Hastings and wish I had just gone to the local leisure centre. Place was packed - hardly a free locker. Pool too crowded for a decent swim; couldn't get into the jacuzzi and one of the outside ones wasn't working, the other was full. No hot water to have a shower which meant nobody was bothering to shower between using facilities - ugh… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Overpriced and inconvienent”

Written on: 15/01/2014 by JohnABC (1 review written)

My stay at Bannatynes gym felt unwelcome and an inconvenience to all staff serving me. I regret purchasing a yearly contract, which seems to be the same price as a non yearly contract, with no advantages. I would not recommend this service to anyone looking for a gym membership at this time, you will waste your money and time. I was also appalled at their lack of customer service, when asking for advice they are vague and will NOT reply to any emails sent. Although I have been extremely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Bannatynes Fairfield Park”

Written on: 27/12/2013 by Rodney7 (1 review written)

I have read the comments on the site and they are nothing like my experience of my local club, I suppose only those who have a complaint come on here so probably thousands of satisfied customers. I have only had one issue that was with the jobsworth parking attendant , I park in the disable bays as I have arthritis and have a blue badge, as soon as I parked on the first two occasions he was straight at my window before I had a chance to display it, questioning me, the third occasion he decided… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Most unprofessional service ”

Written on: 20/12/2013

This gym is dirty, unprofessional and offers the worst service. I was a member at nuffield before moving house and they were amazing. This gym however is far from that. Do not join this gym, the staff are rude and very young. The reception desk is very rarely manned, you can never get through on the phone. If you try cancel your membership they seem to go out of there way to make it difficult and do not return your calls. Itt is also out of date and needs a good clean… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unhelpful staff”

Written on: 05/12/2013 by Doolf (1 review written)

I had a towel stolen after attending a aqua class in the Aberdeen Bannatyne Gym. Annoying but what was really horrendous was the attitude of the staff. I requested a loan of a towel so I could get dry but this was refused and I was told I lost my towel. But I did not lose it it was stolen and the staff member could not care less. It was cold and snowing but she evidently thought I should just put on my clothes. I am a 65 year old grandmother. And I have never had such a lack of concern from… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Manchester branch - filthy and unprofessional”

Written on: 03/12/2013 by LSW2013 (1 review written)

A Red Letter day gift voucher for a present. When we arrived we were handed some very feint forms which had been copied once too many times to complete - not the most professional impression to begin. We were handed to padlocks and keys for the lockers which require a deposit of £1 per person which is not mentioned in the pack pre issued "What you need to know. The changing rooms not pleasant there is mould and mildew present the tile grout is dirty and gives an impression of a filthy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disappointing, dirty understaffed and in decline Norwich”

Written on: 15/11/2013

Many complaints have been ignored, members are getting very upset with the lack of hygiene in what is supposed to be a Flagship Gym. Filthy toilets, showers, studio floor ankle deep in hair, dust etc. This morning the showers had a definite odour of stagnant water, urine and we're almost unusable. Faeces has bee present in showers, on walls in toilet cubicles and not cleaned until pointed out to staff. We won't use the pool, jacuzzi, steam room or sauna as the hygiene is disgusting. Do the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Excellent friendly staff”

Written on: 10/11/2013 by Vallen (1 review written)

We used a voucher from treatme.com which saved us a lot, the reception and restaurant staff quickly made us feel at home with their friendly attitude. Started with a professional yoga class, swimming then very tasted lunch. Our massage was relaxing and just what was needed. Fantastic spar day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bannatynes health club Solihull”

Written on: 31/10/2013 by james452 (1 review written)

My husband and I rang the club a couple of times to confirm the cost of joining, so we knew what they were charging before arriving. However when we sat down with the sales team to sign the papers, she added on so many extra costs that it left a nasty taste in our mouths. Every time she found another addition, we questioned it and she spoke to us like we were idiots. We upped and left without joining. I advise anyone thinking of joining this club to be fully clued up on the charges as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do they really want the business?”

Written on: 31/10/2013

I have been trying to get a confirmation spa day now as a birthday present in Birmingham for a couple of weeks. Ringing from Germany to make the original booking, my wait in a phone queue was cut off twice. I got through on the third attempt and made a booking. At the time, I asked for an email confirmation which I have never received. Phoning from the UK today, I was firstly told the computers were busy and I (the customer) would have to ring back. When I insisted they phone me back, the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bannatynes CHINGFORD FILTHY!”

Written on: 24/10/2013

This gym has had a number of problems since joining it when it first opened. It started off absolutely fine for the first few years. Now, the equipment is often dirty and I have complained on numerous occasions about it, as have lots of other members. Each time they get a new manager, they start with lots of promise and standards quickly drop! The tiles in the steam room below the seats are absolutely filthy with broken tiles full of dirt and grime. It looks as if there is at least 2 months… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“very disappointed”

Written on: 23/10/2013 by MartaCordelero (1 review written)

I certainly do not recommend this gym, very poor customer care, very quick to sign a contract with you, but be aware that if you will have any health issue during the membership they would not return your money, that is how they work. I have lost £600 this way and I would rather spend these money on charity than on so unrespectful people that take care only about their pockets… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST GYM EVER - RUDE STAFF”

Written on: 22/10/2013 by mrck1 (1 review written)

AVOID JOINING THIS GYM ESPECIALLY THE GROVE PARK ONE * STAFF HAVE AN ATTITUDE PROBLEM * IF ANY PROBLEM DOES ARISE YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH HEAD OFFICE. * CANCELLATION LETTER GIVEN, SOME HOW THEY HAVE LOST IT AND EXPECT ME TO PAY FOR THE MONTHS PRIOR TO CANCELLATION. NOT VALUE FOR MONEY AT ALL BETTER OF JOINING A LOCAL COUNCIL GYM! AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID THIS GYM!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“aberdeen - terrible”

Written on: 10/10/2013

I'm writing this review as I'm currently sitting in the waiting area to be shown around the club in the hope to join...been here for over half an hour, obviously don't want my money! Goodbye… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Gradually went downhill”

Written on: 10/09/2013

I was a member of a Bannatyne's Gym for five years. During that time I saw a deterioration in the service to its customers. At first there were plenty of trainers to advise but then personal training came in and that seemed to put an end to the number of trainers in the gym. I made sure that when I handed in my letter of cancellation that I had an acknowledgement at the same time. I was not impressed by receiving a phone call from Bannatynes two days before my membership ceased asking if I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“rude unhelpful staff at revive health spa (russell sq...”

Written on: 08/09/2013 by mcquhae (1 review written)

i bought an hour long massage for my wife online. when it came to book she couldnt get through. there is also no call back or answerphone facility. after several days of trying she contacted the main reception at the club. the lady said the spa was useless at answering the phone and that she would personally get someone to call her. a woman from the spa called my wife. my wife complained that she had tried for days to get through. the woman snapped 'im calling you now arnt i?' she told my wife… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Terrible spa day”

Written on: 02/09/2013 by Rachelleayres (1 review written)

4 of us booked a spa day at Bannatynes in Hastings. When we first got there we filled in the registration form which was badly photo copied writing was all over the place. I would of thought that if Duncan Bannatyne was going to put his name to something that you would expect a certain professionalism. The 1st receptionist was very unhelpful and explained that she was just not with it today. We went to receive our treatments (that had been ore booked) we asked about the robes and slipper that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Lost cancellation letter”

Written on: 24/08/2013

Another case of Bannatyne's saying they never receiving a cancellation letter and saying we owe them money after we cancelled our direct debit several months after the notice period would have expired. Very shabby treatment. Don't sign up with them… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst gym ever!”

Written on: 12/08/2013

Looked at the gym, seemed ok and the person showing me around on the Tour seemed ok, until they got my money I was just another sucker who signed up for being thrown aside and forgotten about. That isn't even the worst part, at first the prices seemed quite flexible but then after I was nearly bankrupt and I had no idea that I had to give three months notice when quitting and still had to pay! The staff are really rude and ignorant and all have dollar signs in their eyes, the food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“If you like instant coffee and bog standard service great!”

Written on: 09/08/2013

Got bought a spa day and went to Millbank as I live in London. Wrong choice. Only had instant coffee or tea on offer. There was no where to get food from and yet I was not told. The facilities are poor. Take a padlock if you want to use a locker and when six women wanted help with how to work the lockers the only girl on reception said she could not show them as she could not leave reception. I really expected luxury but my local gym offers a better service. I had been booked in for three… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview