Powakaddy Freeway Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

Summary

The Powakaddy Freeway is a fully foldable, lightweight electric golf trolley. The battery is a lightweight 20AH battery suitable for 18 holes.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Powakaddy Freeway - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Powakaddy Freeway

Powakaddy Freeway
Powakaddy Freeway
Powakaddy Freeway
Powakaddy Freeway

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“bought a FW2 about 3 months ago its already been back...”

Written on: 20/08/2010

bought a FW2 about 3 months ago its already been back 3 times - used the distance button for 30 yards walked back to the medal tee on the 15th at my course and the powakaddy was on its way down the fairway well past 30 yards it eventually tipped over only for the plastic bracket to break leaving the trolley in bits. Got it back and week later noticed the bottom of the screen was cracked and water was getting in this crack must be due to miss handling as it was intact when i handed it back for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I can only echo everything said by the other Freeway...”

Written on: 11/08/2010 by Peter Sharman (1 review written)

I can only echo everything said by the other Freeway II reviewers. Buttons, speeds, controls - you name it. I must admit that as yet I have not suffered a broken axle. The worst thing so far was when I stopped to take a shot and (fortunately I had parked so that it was in my vision) at the top of the back swing it took off. Sorry, but this product is an absolute disgrace; Powakaddy should recall the lot, refund our money and throw them all into the Mariana Trench. It is hard to find words… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“had the freeway 2 for over a year , i was extremley...”

Written on: 29/07/2010

had the freeway 2 for over a year , i was extremley happy with it until recently the screen kept going back to 0 mph and wouldn,t move . i put it into the pro shop where i bought it as it,s still under warranty . it was re programmed and given back to me . great i thought however it lasted 3 holes then developed the same fault , i,m being told it has to go back to powakaddy for repair .. has anyone else had the same problems ?

wouldn,t have another one… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“My Freeway 11 has been back to the repairers 7 times....”

Written on: 13/07/2010

My Freeway 11 has been back to the repairers 7 times. Three new handles because the rubber stop/start button disintegrates,three new mother boards because the power kept cutting out and now it needs a new axle.I have finally taken it back to the shop and have been promised a replacement.However i now wish I had pushed to get my money back. this product is definetly rubbish. It has cheap imported parts and has never been road tested.Save your money don't buy this product and be very careful with… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“There definitely appears to be a design fault with the...”

Written on: 16/06/2010

There definitely appears to be a design fault with the Freeway 11. Bought mine in May 09 and it has had three broken axles within the space of a year! Finally had enough of the repairs and requested and received a full refund from American Golf who were great in dealing with my request promptly!
I was offered a replacement trolley but insisted on a refund after quoting "The Sale of goods Act" which clearly states an item has to be fit for purpose!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“Another victim of what I understand to be Powakaddy's...”

Written on: 16/06/2010

Another victim of what I understand to be Powakaddy's ousourcing of the manufacture of this trolley to China.

I've had a new axle, a new gearbox and the obligatory misted screen, plus of course the joy of a rediculous start / stop mechniasm and difficulty i finding the right speed (between 4 and 5 is perfect, pity there isn't a 4.5 setting).

Steer clear of this POS!

Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“Purchased Freeway 2 in June 2009, had 3 over the space...”

Written on: 11/05/2010

Purchased Freeway 2 in June 2009, had 3 over the space of a weekend, first one speed control wouldn't work after 10 holes and had to come off the course during medal round. Second and 3rd both had gearbox problems, eventually got my fourth which until now has worked reasonably well, however now has developed an annoying rumbling noise when in use, have tried WD40 oil and allsorts to try and stop it. As with other reviewers I am finding that in inclement weather the screen is fogging over… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“Had the FW2 for 2 weeks stopped working while out on...”

Written on: 01/05/2010

Had the FW2 for 2 weeks stopped working while out on very hilly course had to push for last 8 holes! Knackered!! Sent it back and was sent brand new trolley, Excellent!! Out last week for 3 rounds of golf on 3 differant days trolley has now decided to go from speed 4 to 9 of its own accord!! Back into shop where it was bought I dont want it back useless trolley worst investment ever £400 odd quid for scrap!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I bought the FW2 back in january so called special...”

Written on: 13/04/2010

I bought the FW2 back in january so called special deal i took for its first outing beginning of april lasted 16 holes and just stopped tried again week later lasted 2 holes each time it broke down i could not reset the speed control took it back to the shop still waiting for its return this is my first electric trolley and may be my last my mate bought the same trolley he has had no bother mine is probably a friday afternoon job lets hope this is the only trouble i have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“My Powakaddy FW2 went back to Powakaddy only three...”

Written on: 11/04/2010

My Powakaddy FW2 went back to Powakaddy only three weeks after I bought it with fogged up screen and broken power button. They sent me a new one - eventually - but this one is no better. Today I hit the stop button and it stopped, I turned my back on it only for my playing parter to warn me that it was heading off into the trees ! It stopped when it hit a tree stump and the wheels stalled breaking the gearing so I ended up pushing it around the last six holes. The speed settings are a joke 4… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“purchased freeway 2 in July 09, disappointed in speed...”

Written on: 08/04/2010

purchased freeway 2 in July 09, disappointed in speed settings either too fast or too slow. screen mists up in wet weather,also difficult to read if you are tall. Also main axle has snapped on two occasions the second time after 6 rounds… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I bought freeway II 2009 sceen mists up when it rains,...”

Written on: 04/04/2010

I bought freeway II 2009 sceen mists up when it rains, In march 2010 axle broke sent email to powerkaddy but they didnt email back, Took trolley to repair agent back in 2 days, 5 rounds of golf later axle broke again,I have had 2 powerkaddy trolleys before this one with no trouble, I would not buy another powerkaddy II… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I have owned a number of Powakaddy trolleys but the...”

Written on: 21/03/2010 by Lynn Jones (1 review written)

I have owned a number of Powakaddy trolleys but the Freeway 11 is rubbish compared to earlier models. The fixed speed settings means you are either pushing the trolley to travel at a reasonable pace or holding the trolley back at the next speed setting. There is a huge step between setting 5 and 6. What on earth are settings 7 to 9 for, golfers who jog around the course? Although the speed control is my main issue, the display fogs up after some rain and the stop/start buton only works… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Normatsky's Response to Lynn Jones's Review

Written on: 13/04/2010

Can't agree more with you. I made a big mistake replacing my trusty old powkaddy with a freeway. Its impossible to keep a steady speed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I also have experienced the dreaded list of faults...”

Written on: 01/02/2010

I also have experienced the dreaded list of faults associated with this trolley. The axle stripping it's teeth, the connection issue between trolley and battery and fogging up screen. The most annoying thing id the the button to start and stop the trolley. You press it and it doesn't always operate. So the trolley fails to move so you walk into it or you turn it off and it keeps going. This is my first electric trolley and I am very dissappointed with my choice. I believed that powacaddy were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I HAVE FOUND THAT MY WHEELS GET STUCK ON THE...”

Written on: 30/01/2010

I HAVE FOUND THAT MY WHEELS GET STUCK ON THE TROLLEY,WHEN I TOOK THE TROLLY TO GET PREPARED THE ENGINEER SAID IT'S CHEAP PARTS,NOT AS GOOD AS AN OLDER POWERKADDY WHEELS AS THEY HAVE A SPRING PARTS… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“When buying my first electric trolley I made the...”

Written on: 23/01/2010

When buying my first electric trolley I made the mistake of buying from the market leader Powakaddy. I bought a freeway 2 with a thirty six hole lead acid battery and have had a catalogue of problems from virtually day one. There is a persistent problem where without warning and for no apparent reason the trolley cuts out. This necessitates messing around with the battery lead in an effort to get it going again and will occur 10 - 15 times a round. The trolley has been into an authorised… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I got my freeway 2 when it first hit the shops for the...”

Written on: 05/11/2009

I got my freeway 2 when it first hit the shops for the first few months everything was fine then the cart started cutting out during a round this was very anoying as I needed to keep turning it back on to make the thing run ,this was repaired by the service agent and I thought that was it happy days untill the screen started misting up i have since found out that the new freeway 2s have a gasket fitted to stop this so this had to be fitted good to go again I thought untill the main axel snaped… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“I liked the fact it had the remote button to send the...”

Written on: 13/07/2009

I liked the fact it had the remote button to send the caddy forward at the push of a button, unfortunately I cannot use this as the caddy never goes in the direction I send it.

I would strongly recommend that you do not waste you money on a power kaddy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆
Powakaddy Freeway

“Had 4 batteries in first year, no fault found by...”

Written on: 02/09/2007 by Roger Glew (1 review written)

Had 4 batteries in first year, no fault found by either local or power caddy factory service engineers, but as soon as out of guarantee I checked the motor and found it full of white metal shavings, reported this to power caddy service department and they did not bother to reply. Despite the fact that during the first year I lost two months usage whist it was with the service engineers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

2109's Response to 308437_Roger Glew's Review

Written on: 09/08/2010

I found this review very helpful because...was about to buy one but will now look to other manufactuers

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview