Harvester Restaurants Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
37% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Harvester Restaurants - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Harvester Restaurants

Harvester Restaurants
Harvester Restaurants
Harvester Restaurants
Harvester Restaurants
Harvester Restaurants

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Our first time in the Harvester and would never go...”

Written on: 06/03/2011

Our first time in the Harvester and would never go back.
We were recommended it as a nice evening meal and was very disappointed in the quality of the food.

We ordered the combo and a portion of garlic dough balls. I had steak and ribs and my partner had gammon and ribs. Everything tasted as if it was heated in the microwave. And the dough balls were like eating rocks. DO NOT GO!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We have rarely had a good meal here and are getting...”

Written on: 25/02/2011

We have rarely had a good meal here and are getting fed up with it and starting to question why we go back. Its local for us and the only harvester around for many miles. We complained hugely a few months back and a manager was put in to cover and things improved. Latest visit last week was appalling. We can only assume the chips were left over from lunch (we ate around 1800hrs) the fish we can only assume was twice cooked. The batter which was a scarey dark brown had to be removed and the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My first experience of a Harvester restaurant and the...”

Written on: 19/02/2011

My first experience of a Harvester restaurant and the one I went to (Bell and Barge, Rugby) was truly awful. The service was extremely rude and the staff very anti children (why have a children's menu if you don't want them there?) and the quality of the food was absolutely appalling. It's close proxity to the (excellent) Premier Inn next door can be the only reason for going here in my opinion… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Oh dear. Something has gone radically wrong here. ”

Written on: 17/02/2011 by johnfranca (3 reviews written)

Oh dear. Something has gone radically wrong here.

For many years our foursome has enjoyed regular lunches at the Dun Cow. Nice atmosphere, good food, great service and exceptional value. But not now. Our last two visits, one in November 2010 and again in January 2001, have witnessed a dramatic detereoration in all aspects. There seem to have been savage cutbacks and it shows. Whereas previously there was little to criticise, there is now nothing to recommend.

Stay away until further notice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely terrible. Rude,disinterested staff. Cold...”

Written on: 14/02/2011

Absolutely terrible. Rude,disinterested staff. Cold food. Miserable salad bar. Two of our party were ill shortly after eating their meal. I really thought the days of eating out in places like this were over. There is clearly a lack of staff training from chef through to waiting staff. No idea how to cook or present and serve food… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A group of us have a meal out once a year and last...”

Written on: 09/02/2011

A group of us have a meal out once a year and last year enjoyed reasonable food and service at this Arnos Grove Harvester and decide to go back last weekend.

The change was dramatic.

The table had been laid for our group but was so sticky and dirty we couldn't touch it. Repeated requests to have it wiped were ignored. The meals came without the corn on the cob, just the meat and chips. The half rack of ribs was tiny, the chicken was small and shrivelled. None of us enjoyed the meal and will… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Totally gone downhill, went this week, 26th Jan 11 The...”

Written on: 28/01/2011

Totally gone downhill, went this week, 26th Jan 11 The food was overcooked, tasteless and cold and the salad bar had mushy salad potatoes and brown lettuce and several empty containers. Empty tables around not cleared/cleaned the whole time we were there. Was a regular here a couple of years ago but now I won't be going back again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Was very disappointed with our visit as we have eaten...”

Written on: 26/01/2011

Was very disappointed with our visit as we have eaten here before and generally had a good meal. the restaraunt seemed severly understaffed which lead to quite a number of problems including long periods between courses, food was not cooked to standard(over cooked and tough meat), plates etc had chips in. I kno this restaraunt is not 'top class' but basic requirements were not met which led us to have a very disappointing meal and a very irratable 3yr old.
On the other hand, the staff were very… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Harvester have gone significantly downhill over the...”

Written on: 26/01/2011 by E Dean Butler (3 reviews written)

Harvester have gone significantly downhill over the past year. Service has always been poor at best -- slow, poor customer relations. The food has always been reasonably good for the price, but there has been a decline over the past year. What is most disturbing is the cleanliness of the restaurant -- dirty floors, menus with food on them, dirty cutlery, kids crayons with no points. And, they seem to intentionally make the salad bar bowls too small to hold a reasonable serving. With good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hygene a real problem, table dirty, cutlery rejected,...”

Written on: 23/01/2011

Hygene a real problem, table dirty, cutlery rejected, don't look on floor under table! Food was less than average, even overcooked a Gammon steak. Will not be back, standards have dramatically fallen… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“This was the first and last time we eat at that...”

Written on: 23/01/2011 by marjcundill (1 review written)

This was the first and last time we eat at that harvester. Waited 45 mins for a table. Fosters & diet pepsi were off, lemonade was flat and the glasses were dirty with lipstick marks all round the rim.
Waited 30 mins to be served once we got a table. Salads were very average. Most sauces had run out.
I had the vegetarian meal, stuffed mushrooms, greasy, no mascopone cheese, rice hard bits in it, & new potatoes were covered in dirt & bad bits, peas were cold. Hubby had grilled salmon, burnt &… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ We had a long wait to be seated the seats were...”

Written on: 13/01/2011

We had a long wait to be seated the seats were stained and the food was not up to the standard of other Harvesters We have visited , one meal was sent back , never stayed for a dessert Would not go back to that Harvester would like money back or a voucher, wego caravaning so use Harvesters all over the country this was the worst… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The Harvester in Port Solent, Portsmouth used to be...”

Written on: 05/01/2011 by louiserm (2 reviews written)

The Harvester in Port Solent, Portsmouth used to be the Mermaid - where we have been regularly and really enjoyed the food. We went there yesterday to find it's changed to a Harvester - but went in and had our meal nonetheless. Unfortunately the food was diabolical. The bread rolls were stale and dry, the starter I had was cold - and my mixed grill was appalling. The steak was so tough the fork literally bent, the peas were a vile mush, the chips were burned. I heard the waitress tell the table… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ My friend and I arrived at 12.30 pm on Tuesday, 7th...”

Written on: 11/12/2010

My friend and I arrived at 12.30 pm on Tuesday, 7th December. We both ordered a meal containing a jacket potatoes. "Sorry" said waitress, "We have no large potatoes, we've run out, so they're off the menu. The Manager's gone shopping". We reluctantly settled for new potatoes. Almost 2 hours later, we ordered 2 capuccinos. "Sorry" said waitress, "We've run out of milk". I asked if The Manager had returned from "shopping". She said she had not. I did sarcastically ask if the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Used to attend this particular Harvester on a regular...”

Written on: 05/12/2010

Used to attend this particular Harvester on a regular basis for celebrations however went there yesterday and the service is definately deteriorated. There were 15 of of us to celebrate a birthday, we were told there was between a 45 min - 1 hour wait. We informed a person on entry that we were willing to be seated at two different tables provided that they were not too far apart. Nearly 2 hours later after consistently being given different stories by memebers of staff, who we do not blame I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“visited this restaurant on 24th november we were shown...”

Written on: 25/11/2010

visited this restaurant on 24th november we were shown to a table which had the light out above other tables were available so we moved we chose fillet steak and were advised none was available .when the meal arrived chips were cold .waitress did ask if everything was ok wetold her about the chips but no offer to replace them was made very dissapointing meal… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“fabulous! very busy but seated within 5 mins.Paul was...”

Written on: 14/11/2010

fabulous! very busy but seated within 5 mins.Paul was very attentive and chatty but not overpowering.Food was fabulous and the ribs are best ever!!!
served quickly.I work at a rival chain and this visit put us to shame! well done Harvester… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“I recently visited the Harvester Restaurant in Potters...”

Written on: 08/11/2010

I recently visited the Harvester Restaurant in Potters Bar. My visit was for a class reunion for my 11yr old, so there was alot of parents and younger siblings. I was a bit dubious about eating here again as my previous experience of the food and service was pretty dreadful esp,(When there's not a tomato or piece of cucumber on the salad cart!!) On arrival for the re-union, on a very wet and stormy day everyone bowled out of their cars and into the restaurant. I did notice the parking meters… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Even after leaving this harvesters i find myself...”

Written on: 08/11/2010 by aliceschmalice (1 review written)

Even after leaving this harvesters i find myself haunted by the sicky burps. This harvesters claimed to sell 'fresh' burgers, with salad and cheese. I was given a piece of sewage that resembled a burger. It was burnt, cold, and so dry it crumbled, with an excuse of a piece of cheese also equally unappetising. It was rubbery and covered with grease. Every bite had to be washed down with a large swig of pepsi, purely because it was so dry it kept getting stuck to the back of my throat. I also ate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“I dont know why everyone seems to be moaning on here...”

Written on: 05/11/2010

I dont know why everyone seems to be moaning on here whenever i go to the harvester its great they have clean facilaties impecable customer service the free salad bar is awesome quick serving and the early bird menu is great with it all being under around £6 and theres no time limit on it. The free refils on the drinks are great too a real money saver 3 of us ate there for £20 thats a right bargin in my mind. The puddings are really good too but i rarley manage to eat one because i've filled up… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview