Ikea Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
24.9% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Summary

Review Centre offer reviews of Ikea and other Home furnishing and Interior Design Shops. If you have bought some flat packed furniture, cushions or pencils from Ikea then we would love to hear what you thought of the products, prices, customer services, stores etc.
You can also read and write reviews of their website www.ikea.com
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ikea - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ikea

Ikea
Ikea
Ikea
Ikea
Ikea

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★☆☆☆

“Worst Service ever”

Written on: 09/04/2013

I order furniture from Ikea at Canton,MI and expedited to be shipped the next day and shipping guys show up say they missed a piece. I call them back to let them know and a case has been registered. Now they say it will take 2 days for the case to get activated and they will schedule for another delivery which could be after a week or so. The reason I bought the furniture was to accommodate my guests comfortably and now all this happening, I really feel bad for my guests. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not impressed by customer service”

Written on: 09/04/2013 by johnmcgeechan (1 review written)

I have bought a kitchen from IKEA but to be honest would not use them again. They have an excellent online planning tool, which I used to plan my kitchen, we went in to do the final details in store. Not easy for us as we had a 2 hour drive to the nearest store. The trouble began when we had to work with customer services. Depending on who you spoke to either they had no trace of the order or no trace of the payment. It took us a week of trying to navigate their appaling customer help line… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Delivery could be better”

Written on: 09/04/2013 by Stephs2012 (2 reviews written)

I ordered some Expedit shelving, which looks great online and I can't wait to receive them. It's disappointing that, although I spent over £100, delivery was still £15, and more surprising - an EIGHT DAY wait! What an earth is going on Ikea? If delivery was free I would expect a long wait but not when it's paid for. Is this a normal delivery time or just my bad luck? Anyway, hope it's worth the wait… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Great selection of modern furnishing”

Written on: 05/04/2013 by christinejturner (4 reviews written)

Great looking modern designs that are very good value. I bought a great looking sideboard that was very easy to make [at least my hubby tells me so!]. Will be back for more and am running through the site seeing what will go well in my kitchen now! Love the vibrant colours available and the good quality and sturdyness of my sideboard is not related in the low price so offers really good value for money. Also the delivery option was most welcome although one negative was that delivery is not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Customer Relations...”

Written on: 26/03/2013

My recent experience of Ikea Customer Relations / Service has been terrible! Their assistant ordered me the wrong product yet I have to pay to have it taken down and they might reimburse me! Everytime I call I hold for at least 45 minutes despite the message saying i should be on hold for 15 mins and it seems no matter what time or day they are "experiencing high volumes of calls"! … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Assembly Angels rip off ”

Written on: 25/03/2013

Bought my furniture at ikea, and was delivered the next day, fantastic. They advised I used Assembly Angels to put it up for me, so I arranged this with them. Waited in all day for the assembly angels, continuously called the office and got no return calls, they finally turned up at 9.30pm at night, they were rushing and chipped a part of the wardrobe, and now the wardrobes are on a slant !!!!!!! Do Not Use Assembly Angels from Ikea at Edmonton , terrible service !!!!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Cheap furniture, tired at the end”

Written on: 21/03/2013

If only I could take the down escalator first! A good place to pick up cheap furniture, or 99p hot dogs. Helpful customer assistance, too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Disastrous Replacement Parts”

Written on: 12/03/2013

Visited the Milton Keynes Branch from Peterborough ( Ironically 3 Miles from Distribution Warehouse, still no shop as promised by Ikea when it was built ). Visited several times and decided on a Wardrobe. Went to order it in-store and was told some would be delivered from Milton Keynes, some from Peterborough...wasn't given an exact price but figured out of was going to cost a fortune to have bits delivered from 'Up The Road'. Walked out of the shop disappointed. In fairness we had been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Lost Child”

Written on: 10/03/2013 by CHARLOTTEMOXON (1 review written)

I just want to make a sincere immense THANK YOU to all the staff who helped look for my 2yr old son who went walkabout in the Croydon store this weekend causing me heart failure on Mothers day.........I alerted an IKEA staff member as soon as i realised he had gone and the response was immediate and highly professional as well as supportive ....REALLY I CANNOT THANK YOU ENOUGH WITH ALL MY HEART THANK YOU YOU WERE BRILLIANT !… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“bathroom cabinet farse”

Written on: 27/02/2013 by GazLlandudno (1 review written)

Bought a Godmorgan 2 door high level bathroom cabinet from Ikea for £90 online as its not availble in shops. When it arrived I assembled it, drilled the wall and hung the cabinet and then fitted the doors which overlapped in the middle. The hinges are standard type hinges but they would not adjust using the screws available. I called Ikea - waited 20 minutes in a cue and then the customer service person said they would send out an engineer. He arrived and had not seen this problem before - had… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Coila123's Response to GazLlandudno's Review

Written on: 16/03/2013

Purchased Ikea Godmorgon 2 drawer unit - 6 months later unit trashed wood veneer mouldy and peeling and Ikea voiding the guarantee. Same with Harlig kitchen doors purchased 6 months ago. Veneer peeling off and 25 year guarantee not honoured.
Avoid Ikea at all cost - cheap and nasty product and no guarantee.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Excessive helpline call charges”

Written on: 27/02/2013

I was charged £45 for 30 minute call in regards a call for a refund they kept me hanging on I only spoke to the person on the other line for less than 2 minutes DON'T use there help line it's a rip off… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“No complaints here”

Written on: 21/02/2013

I ordered my ikea furniture (tv stand and sofa) then I read all the negative reviews on this site and got worried that I had made a major mistake! Well, I got an email straight away with a provisional date for the 13th december, then a text with an actual date for the 18th dec, just a week later than the provisional so not too bad. Then got a text the sunday before with the time they would deliver. Delivery driver phoned an hour before delivery like the text said they would so was so far so… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Ridiculously sloooow delivery”

Written on: 16/02/2013

I ordered a batch of things from Ikea online ten days ago. Order went through, charged my card, paid a tenner for delivery which is pretty steep but I assumed would be expedited courier of some sort. (given Argos do quick delivery for about a fiver). Over a week later, items supposed to have already arrive, turns out haven't even been dispatched yet. 40m wait in a phone cue to find out why the stuff I've already paid for, with expensive delivery, which is now overdue the already lengthy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“IKEA Sale of Goods Act - we don't care!!”

Written on: 22/01/2013 by Dwallingor (1 review written)

I've spent over £1000 with IKEA over the last 3 months buying furniture for my new flat but in my last purchase i have well and truly been let down by this company and I afraid that i cannot risk a purchase again with them in future!  I bought A TV unit for £275 and paid a delivery charge of £35 for the luxuary of having the item home delivered. I paid this company on the 28th November and waited in for my delivery on 15th December 2012 - Everything was going great.... until I opened up… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Need To Say...'s Response to Dwallingor's Review

Written on: 25/01/2013

Always let them know that you will take it further. Plenty online review sites, also Trading Standards, Which, Watchdog it doesn’t take many complaints to get a story on the BBC then it will get sorted out as millions watching and loss of sales. Good luck

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“498.835.42 trofast storage”

Written on: 03/01/2013

bellerose ny here.... got this storage system, but i had to go to brooklyn to get it, i got 2 and both my kids toys fit in them , so far so good... it cost about 69 dollars so it was so bad.. they should have more stock in long island.... but i;m happy with it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Time-wasters”

Written on: 02/01/2013

I checked the availability of a certain bed sheet online and was reassured to discover that they claimed to have over ninety of the item at IKEA Milton Keynes. But at the shop I was told both (i) that they had none in stock and (ii) they had some in stock but they didn't know where they were. I tried to contact them by e-mail but this is apparently impossible due to technical problems. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poang armchairs subject to sudden collapse”

Written on: 02/01/2013

The bolt on the left arm of poang armchairs is subject to sudden shearing causing the collapse of the chair. This fault is well known to IKEA who refuse to acknowledge it. I have been through 3 levels of reporting with IKEA following the collapse of one of our chairs due to a failed bolt. This casued the fram eto fracture and threw the occpant backwards to the floor. IKEA, as a goodwill gesture offeres us a replacement bolt, now why would I put an unrelaibale compnent in to a broken chair?… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Chair not fit for purpose”

Written on: 16/12/2012 by bournerpoodle (1 review written)

We 2 armchairs and a sette from Ikea Leeds. One of the armchairs started to discolour on the arm and instead of being grey became khaki green - yuk - so reported it to Ikea who sent what was supposed to be an independent firm to look at it and take pictures. The man arrived and duly took pics and said would write a report and in about a week I should hear from Ikea. In fact we had a phone call the next day to say the report said it was not a manufacturers fault. Surprise, surprise. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good service”

Written on: 14/12/2012

I had read reviews below and was prepared for a disaster while actual service was good. It took 2 weeks from payment to delivery, 2 days more then was indicated on check out, where it was noted that the actual date can vary. Several texts & email were sent indicating exact day and approximate time, on the day they had rang and gave me rather accurate time - so communication good. All ordered packets are delivered. Though we have not opened them & started assebling the item yet & will review it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Home delivery service is joke”

Written on: 12/12/2012 by JasonHolliday (1 review written)

Ordered 24 items on the 21st October for the kids playroom. Payment was taken straight away. Delivery came on 16th December,just short of 4 weeks later. 4 Weeks to deliver standard off the shelf items is pretty poor in itself, however the deliver was short of some vital components (table legs etc.) Ikea were informed minutes after the delivery was made, in the hope the missing parts were still on the delivery lorry which could turn back and complete the delivery. I was informed this was not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview