Ikea Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.8 / 5
26% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Summary

Review Centre offer reviews of Ikea and other Home furnishing and Interior Design Shops. If you have bought some flat packed furniture, cushions or pencils from Ikea then we would love to hear what you thought of the products, prices, customer services, stores etc.
You can also read and write reviews of their website www.ikea.com
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ikea - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ikea

Ikea
Ikea
Ikea
Ikea
Ikea

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★☆☆☆

“Poor Quality”

Written on: 24/02/2014

I purchased the Hemnes glass door cabinets (dingle and double) and TV cabinet online based on some reviews that say the quality of the wood furniture is worth it. The products arrived in good packages and appear to be OK although the wood frames are too slim. However, during the assembly process, I've encountered numerous problems. (I consider myself pretty handy since I've put in laminate floor myself.) First, with the single door cabinet, when I tried to put in the fixed shelf (middle) into… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“missing parts”

Written on: 24/02/2014

bought a dishwasher and door paid £50 to have it delivered. first the template to attach the door was wrong, we had to travel 15 miles there and 15 back to get one, next a shelf was missing had todo a second trip finaly got it up and running but two legs were missing. I really dont think this is good service, i rung twice and had to wait ivr 30 minutes to talk to a customer service op the was put on hold for 8 minutes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“useless customer service”

Written on: 23/02/2014

Ikea are useless. Gone to pick up two mattresses for a new bed. According to their website we checked before making the 1 hour 25 minute journey there were 48 mattresses in stock. When we got there none in the bay, all on top shelf. Staff won't get them down because they can't use a forklift when the shop is open. Neither will they let us have a slightly more expensive one for the same price because of their ill management of stock control. Wasted journey from the Lakes and they don't give a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“we have been scammed”

Written on: 22/02/2014

we purchased a faktum kitchen online and it stated if we spent a £1000 or more we would be entitled to a £100 voucher silly us we didn't read the Terms and Conditions wished we had now because it as been pointed out to us since if we had gone and shopped in store we would have received it, we didn't even think about reading the Terms and Conditions why would we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ikea rubbish aftersale service”

Written on: 03/02/2014

Instead of taking a day off work and wait for the delivery, we decided to drive nearly 2 hours to get to the nearest Ikea branch to us - Lakeside, purchased a bookcase, 2 glass doors and a bag of chocolate with butterscotch pieces. For the chocolate, nearly a quarter of the bag were only plain chocolate without the butterscotch pieces inside, very disappointed. For the doors, we were confused whether we needed to take a pack which will include both side of doors, or we needed to take two… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Answer the phone please!”

Written on: 27/01/2014 by Briggsy444 (1 review written)

I spent over £600 at ikea and after finding out that part of the product (wardrobe frame) was cracked when I got home, i called customer services at ikea to sort it out...... I have spent hours on hold trying to get this sorted with them. I am in fact on hold now whilst writing this review. I have emailed them asking them to call me, but I haven't had a response! Customer service waiting times are a total joke.....I was told last time I called there was a 45 min wait and this time I wasn't… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Good Value Kitchens but the after sales service is a...”

Written on: 14/01/2014 by Gibbonio (1 review written)

I bought an Ikea kitchen in the Croydon store in Oct 2012. The tech guy in the store knew his stuff and was very helpful, that I can't complain about. The rest of the journey however was painful. As we were purchasing stuff that was in stock at the store it took 3 hours to get it! First it was picked from the warehouse (1 hour+ waiting) then it ALL had to be scanned through the checkout (all 3 trolly loads - 20mins) Then finally we had to wait more for the items to be scanned Again at the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gibbonio's Response to Gibbonio's Review

Written on: 21/01/2014

UPDATE -

After 2 months, 3 case numbers and 3 attempted deliveries of a door and that door not arriving, someone at IKEA has deduced that the reason my door hasn't arrived is that it was never on my receipt in the first place. So - someone failed to pic it from the warehouse and i went through the tills without it, meaning I never paid for it.

So after asking to place an order for an item I thought I'd originally paid for, they wanted me to pay £50 for a £23 door including delivery. I have explained that surely the worst customer services department in existence might forgo the delivery charges to get me an item they've tried to deliver to me already 3 times and failed?

I AM RE GRADING THE QUALITY OF SERVICE FROM ONE STAR TO ZERO.

As a property developer I can safely say -

I WOULD NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER IKEA KITCHEN AGAIN

Not for the quality of the product, just to avoid the quality of the service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gibbonio's reply to Gibbonio's Comment

Written on: 28/01/2014

UPDATE - YOU ARE HAVING A LAUGH HONESTLY!!!!!!

SUMMERY -

Kitchen purchased - 27th October 2013

Items found missing from order - Customer Services contacted

Customer Services send the wrong items sent to replace items missing, had to go back to store to get the right items

3 more attempts to have a missing door sent - Now January 2014 - still no door sent.

Made final call to Customer Services 21st Jan (45 mins wait) and once again the email confirmation states they have placed an order for THE WRONG ITEM. I call straight back (waiting another 45 minutes on the phone on hold) speak to another CS rep who now states that the original item was never paid for so I ask to be put through to Sales and I'll PAY for another item to be sent 'JUST SEND ME THE DOOR!!!!!!!! (ARGGGGGGGG!!!!)

This time a lovely girl tells me I've been through hell and will arrange to send me out my door, delivery next week, free of charge! AT LAST - SOMEONE WITH INITITIVE!!!!!!

28th Jan - Delivery date comes - No item delivered

Called Customer Service again - 1 hour telephone call to find out where my order has gone - bottom line?

The order was never placed!.............

This is a huge company that shouldn't really have this poor quality service. Finally after 1 hr and 20mins on the phone, I now have a confirmation e-mail and a delivery date of the 12th February for my door, which is being shipped free of charge from Germany as there are no longer any doors left in the UK and Ireland.

I will update again if my door ever arrives but in all honesty the damage is done and done good and proper. I've had customer service issues in the past from other companies that seemed bad at the time but nothing like this.








Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“On line delivery does not function and they don't care”

Written on: 12/01/2014 by cajand (1 review written)

I ordered before Xmas a gift it hasn't arrived 4 times despite even changing item. I have not been informed, had to chase them, held on the phone for over 90 mins and not been answered. Called Head Office and written to the UK CEO. Their on line business and stock control is clearly a mess. You can't trust the promises given by the staff and it seems no one in the business gives a damn as they have your money. Great designs. On line business suicide. Worthy of a TV programme to reveal what is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“replacing desk screws was perfect”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by Stevedo (1 review written)

Top support from Ikea. I was given an Ikea desk in pieces, and assembled it fine, excepting that four screws for the desk top were missing. My daughter had used this at university. Hardware stores did not seem to stock screw to fit the plastic sockets. On the Ikea website I found the installation instructions, and all part numbers were listed for my desk. Ikea responded to my query for advice through their website within 2 days, and arranged for a pack of 4 screws to be sent from Sweden. How… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“use John Lewis”

Written on: 05/01/2014

A product is manufactured by a third party. They offer a long guarantee. BUT, they avoid your emails, have a 45 minute waiting time on calls to the complaints department and will not enter into conversation in the store. If they think that their meatballs are so unique and will maintain their position in the retail industry, remember Woolworths with pick -n- mix. I regret purchasing this item and wish that I had gone with my gut feeling and went to J.L… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Poor returns policy and customer service”

Written on: 31/12/2013

After purchasing two bedside tables in the sale, we initially felt very pleased with the price and look of the furniture. This was the first time we had shopped at Ikea and have seen many more items of furniture we would also have liked to purchase. But, when putting together one drawer we noticed a bit of the varnish was faulty, like something had rubbed across it when drying. So I rang Ikea and asked if one could be put aside for us to exchange. (Waiting time on phone 15 minutes) I explained… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“kitchen guarantee a joke”

Written on: 18/12/2013

If you buy a kitchen from them make sure they fit it ,as they look for every single thing they can to void it if fitted by private fitters ,, my unit drawers and cuboard edges were coming unstuck ,their engineers report, wrongly fitted work top, guarantee void ,,give them a miss or screw your guarantee up, there a JOKE… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ramsta - these are not lights, these are dulls”

Written on: 09/12/2013 by Ramsta (1 review written)

We bought two packs of these 'lights' for our Christmas tree - they barely glow when turned on and made a very sad affair when it came to turning on our Christmas tree............ We recommend you avoid them at all costs. Its over an hour's round trip to get to Lakeside so we've gone elsewhere locally to buy some bright colourful lights for the tree - all is well now… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“after sales service”

Written on: 29/11/2013 by jaynejones54 (1 review written)

Having spent 4000 on a kitchen delivery arrived as promised unable to check delivery as 2 rude men did not have time so signed and commented it was unchecked 1 week later we get to fitting ceramic hob but hey ho no hob tried to telephone on hold every time with no answer trying as I right this now waited 49 mins no answer yet I have also sent an email this is disgusting customer service and I am appalled … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Very bad delivery”

Written on: 18/11/2013 by irinadmt (1 review written)

They only deliver during working days, without letting you know the exact hour. The guy who delivered rang my doorbell about 10 times in 30 seconds and didn't bother to help me lift heavy furniture up the stairs to the first floor. I'm only 1.6 m tall and some boxes were taller than me… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“1 star is generous ”

Written on: 11/11/2013 by Bairdini (1 review written)

Visited the store in Croydon and were told that ordering on-line is quick and easy for the larger items. We ordered a few items on the 22nd October and it is now the 11 Nov and still don't have everything. The home delivery is a joke. We were sent e-mails and texts with delivery dates on, but nothing turned up. Ikea didn't call us to explain, we had to call them. After many arguments on the phone, we twice had full reassurance of full delivery, dates and times. Both times we were let down. Each… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Non-existent Customer relations”

Written on: 04/11/2013 by Harlowite (1 review written)

We ordered a sofa and 2 armchairs from the Lakeside Store on 3rd. September, (Ideal product from our point of view). Excellent assistant and also delivery men who delivered on the expected date of September 25th. However, no armchair covers. A telephone apology promised them for the following week., then a further call to say they would arrive on 24th. October. Nothing arrived then, or the following week. There has been no further contact from Ikea - yet their website says there are 6 sets… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Delivery Nightmares”

Written on: 03/11/2013

As I write this review I am waiting for an Ikea delivery. The delivery was meant to take place between 9am-5pm today (Sunday) - it's now 4.30pm and I'm not feeling very optimistic about the possibility of recieving any of my items today. This is the 5th time Ikea attempted to deliver my goods. The first time around 4 weeks ago the Ikea delivery van broke down on route. 2 hours later then expected the van turned up and contained NONE of my £500 worth of products ordered. Delivery was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid home delivery”

Written on: 02/11/2013 by roberthchapman (1 review written)

After ordering 12 items online and having their delivery cancelled twice, a delivery occurred today outside of the time we were told it would occur and the delivery contained.....one box of a two box item. According to the delivery man, this is normal - he had just come from delivering an order to a woman who had been cancelled on four times and when they delivered the goods it was a fraction of the items, none of which were correct. Trying to call IKEA, the queue to speak to someone is I'm… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“First time visitor”

Written on: 29/10/2013 by BradyM2349 (3 reviews written)

I went on my first trip to Ikea and was quite overwhelmed. Yes, they have every single thing you can possibly imagine, and it's overwhelming! I did find the layout of the store clever and I liked seeing everything they offer right out in front of me. But the whole being able to customize and choose these cabinet feet with this door--or maybe this drawer with this sliding door. It gets to be a little too much! Walking into the warehouse to pull the product was quite a surprise, but it makes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Duke_Nukem's Response to BradyM2349's Review

Written on: 19/11/2013

Yes, the layout is "clever" - ie it is "clever" marketing. They make you walk past everything they sell, in endless zig-zags in the hope that you buy stuff on impulse. "Clever" for me however would be able to walk straight to the department where I intended to buy something,.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview