Marks & Spencer's Coffee Shop Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.5 / 5
52
37% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Marks and Spencer's Coffee Shop - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Great staff, poor management”

Written on: 08/12/2012

as a Brit living in Paris, I went to visit the new M&S in Levallois and had a stop at the café. Lovely staff, smiling. It looked like the manager, a young man, had an issue with a customer over some waiting time, and he was totally disrespectful to the lady and didn't even care. The staff looked pretty embarassed and I would have felt the same in their position. Then the manager left and disappeared and no trace of him until I left the café. I feel sorry for the team as the support they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Really good expericance”

Written on: 10/11/2012

Went to the new cafe shop at fosse park and found it really easy to order queues were fast and the staff were very plesant you can order anything at any till, i actually felt sorry for the staff clearing when customers sat at messy tables when there were clean ones right next to them which the staff clearing were getting to as it was very busy. Another great experiance from marks and spencer!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“cold coffee”

Written on: 29/09/2012 by disappointed99999 (1 review written)

i was in ballymena M/S cafe today 29/9/2012 i ordered a coffee a slice of caake and a pure orange first there where no clean glasses second the coffee was freezing in all it was a total sad effort of a coffee break the whole set up is disappointing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Organised chaos”

Written on: 14/09/2012 by lesleytan1 (1 review written)

I usually go to a cafe for a rest and a relax but the cafe in the new store at Cheshire Oaks left me stressed and with a headache. First you have to queue to get in. Then you don't know where to go to. Lots of different islands and stands.Decided to have a platter of foods and assumed it would be a platter of cold meats/cheeses/ pickles/ salads but no it was a platter of a selection of hot meals.Odd. Left that station to find something else and decided on the pasta. Where was it? Ah, order… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Steviej90's Response to lesleytan1's Review

Written on: 05/10/2012

Sounds awful. Hope you recovered from this dreadful ordeal!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“LATTE/HOT CHOCOLATE CUPS AND SAUCERS”

Written on: 12/07/2012 by daxfish (1 review written)

Having visited a number of M & S cafe's can honestly say they are generally very good. HOWEVER HAS ANYONE ELSE HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE WITH THE CURRENT CUPS AND SAUCERS IN GENERAL USE FOR lATTE COFFEE OR HOT CHOCALATE. I have noticed that the centre of the saucer is domed and if the coup is not sat perfectly in the middle the cup tilts and if full some hot liquid spills. Recently had bad experience with young grand daughter where cup tipped and hot chocolate spilled onto her leg. Luckily not hot… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Microwaved junk food”

Written on: 11/06/2012 by FerringFerret (1 review written)

We arrived in Eastbourne looking for somewhere for a light breakfast. Decided M&S has a good reputation. Staff were great, cafe clean, food appalling. We had a bacon roll and the breakfast roll which come already packaged and handed to staff to microwave. I have never eaten such a horrible bacon roll in all my life. The bacon was dried out and so tough I could hardly eat it. Having struggled through it I was annoyed with myself for not returning it as unfit to eat. It's not the fault of the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stevej90's Response to FerringFerret's Review

Written on: 05/10/2012

Perhaps they overcooked your items in their ovens. They certainly don't use their microwaves for those products, that's for sure.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Best capuchinos in town.”

Written on: 21/05/2012 by Celiai (1 review written)

I visited the new cafe in Manchester on Saturday to see what it was like. It is very large -the full width of the store. There are plenty tables and very comfortable chAirs,also some little booths. I only wanted a coffee but long wait in the queue. I walk with a stick so I found the longish wait quite tiring. However when at last it was my turn the assistant noticed my stick And asked someone to take my coffee to a table for me which was very nice. There are obviously many more people… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good Quality Food ”

Written on: 03/05/2012

I have been to a number of M & S Coffee Shops and the food I have ordered has always been excellent. The service however differs and service can be incredibly slow. However after recently visiting M & S Coffee Shop Meadowhall, Sheffield, the service had improved greatly from what it used to be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“dirty tables and plates”

Written on: 04/04/2012 by maggieann1 (1 review written)

I visited marks and spencer in donegall place belfast today and as usual the place was dirty tables are left uncleared one lady iI noticed at the counter lifted no fewer than 7 side plates before she got a clean one for her scone ,come on M&S pull your socks up in your cafes, belfast is not the only dirty one,, sprucefield cafe is worse please employ enough people to man the cafes without putting the staff under pressure, another complaint is about the toilets in belfast and sprucefield are… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Unpleasant experience”

Written on: 28/11/2011 by christinehill (1 review written)

I have visited a number of M&S cafes and restaurants throughout England and always with the expectation of receiving reasonable service and good quality food and drink. The food and drink is fine, usually pleasant and tasty but the palaver involved in getting it is unbelievable! I don't wish to be unkind but in all the stores I have been in the staff seem to be totally out of their depth in managing simple food and drink service, they all seem to be on top of each other; no order to what they… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to christinehill's Review

Written on: 22/01/2012

Totally disagree. I recently had the good fortune to taste one of M and S coffee shop bacon sandwiches. The bacon was delicious plenty of it, the toasted bread was just short of doorstep size but crusty and also delicious. It was served with home made ? tomato ketchup which I found delectible. I came on computer to see if they have one near me for a repeat!! this is as a "first" for M and S in my eyes departing from the pre packaged stuff.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“GLUTEN FREE FOOD”

Written on: 24/10/2011 by cottage1 (1 review written)

Can you please tell me why you advertise Soup with Gluten free roll but whenever I have tried to order you NEVER have any GLUTEN FREE ROLLS? This is most annoying & it happens all the time I am always having to grumble to the managers but I don't think it makes any difference. Also why can't you do any other Gluten Free Food which is savoury? Most frustrated Mrs Watson… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“My wife and I went to the Cafe at M and S Liverpool...”

Written on: 16/02/2011 by Eddie J (1 review written)

My wife and I went to the Cafe at M and S Liverpool yesterday around 1700 hours. The service from the young lady behind the counter was awful. Such as the milk jug slammed down after we had to ask for the milk for our coffee. She was very surly and I think she has forgotten who pays her wages. The sitting area was disgusting. Plates, cups and all the other crocery piled up on the tables. The floor was as if a bomb had hit it, rubbish everywhere. There were a number of staff out the back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Coffeefanatic's Response to Eddie J's Review

Written on: 18/08/2011

M&S pays her wages; she doesn't work in the public sector. And those who do certainly tire of being 'reminded' that a miniscule amount of what is taxed from UK workers ends up in their paycheck. If you do have an improvement plan for this chain in the North then contact the company and suggest it (assuming you have some experience in the hospitality industry). My girlfriend and I frequently visit these cafes and don't mind a little wait when the staff working are doing their best. We do mind the incessant tutting from people who complain that 'it never gets any better'; M&S Cafe has numerous competitors so maybe you could take your pessimism elsewhere.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I had my elderly Mum with us,we had to queue for a...”

Written on: 08/11/2010

I had my elderly Mum with us,we had to queue for a table,despite plenty being available,very slow service,due to vast range of cofees avaiable,very pleasant staff,but harassed,asked to speak to manager Ayde,he was manning dishwasher ,no staff,very pleasant man,felt sorry for him and his team,will need to change before i go back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Meg Jolliffe's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2010

I found this review very helpful because...I have found the same problems
<br/>

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“As many others have said , the wait to be served ,...”

Written on: 22/09/2010 by meg jolliffe (1 review written)

As many others have said , the wait to be served , much too long .Three people seemed to be involved with my ordered two coffees with a pack of biscuits .
On 'finding' a table - which was very dirty as well as uncleared no room to put down our tray .
I saw two ladies 'dealing' with trays at a tray station , I went to them and asked please could they come and clear our table . The retort was " we are getting around as fast as we can, we are very short staffed " suggesting they would get there… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“This is a small cafe which is extremely busy,...”

Written on: 26/08/2010 by Christine Ann McCann (1 review written)

This is a small cafe which is extremely busy, particularly on weekdays during the lunch hours. The service is very poor, expect to be at least 15 minutes at the counter before you get your order. The tables are very rarely cleared. I met 3 friends in there last Thursday, we had to clear 2 tables ourselves and the dirty crockery was left on the allotted table during the whole of our time there. For a self service cafe M&S is not cheap. I do expect to be able to sit at a clean table. I have… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“ Staff in this store have been so helpful, in...”

Written on: 24/08/2010

Staff in this store have been so helpful, in particular one member of staff.i take seizures and they help me and are so nice to me.Unfortunately it has happened a few times recently but the ladies there couldn't be more helpful… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“ ”

Written on: 13/08/2010 by shirley french (1 review written)


having a loyalty card and bought 9 coffees the manager wouldnt let me have the 10th free, instead said the policy was to stamp a new card and then get the next free WHY!!!!!! I now have two cards one full! the other with one stamp and so far no free coffee… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dire service; I was second in the queue at 08.55 this...”

Written on: 11/05/2010 by wt7881 (2 reviews written)

Dire service; I was second in the queue at 08.55 this morning and has to wait NINE minutes to get my coffee; the queue gradually built up behind me and the amateurs that they have behind the counter seemed oblivious to the needs of customers. On top of that, I asked for a skinny latte and they did it with regular milk. Avoid at all costs. I shall go back to Pret or Starbucks whihc are next door where the service is rapid… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My mother waited in a very small queue of about 6...”

Written on: 07/05/2010

My mother waited in a very small queue of about 6 people for over 15 minutes. The tables were dirty and left dirty and full of crockery for the whole hour that we were in the cafe. I emailed marks and spencer and they say they are "very sorry". Not good enough! You expect better service and hygiene from marks and spencer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2011

unfortunateley at pudsey they are greatly understaffed and the staff who do work in the coffee shop do a brilliant job with the staff they have. I am a regular customer at Pudsey and the staff are really friendly and do not get the praise and thanks they deserve.Please stop your whinging they can not work any harder and it doesnt help when people are constantly moaning, dont like it go somewhere else!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 18/08/2011

If the staff aren't there, they aren't there. It's not poor service if there is a shortage of staffing; it's poor staffing levels: don't confuse people doing their best in a difficult situation with people not pulling their weight. Try working a shift in one of these places before you start whining and emailing.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I've worked at M&S in Sheffield before and came to...”

Written on: 18/02/2010

I've worked at M&S in Sheffield before and came to Cambridge for the day. I encountered brilliant service despite it being a busy weekend, The young man who brought out my toastie was very sweet and he made us welcome. The coffee was also very nice and professionally made. Although i was served politely there was an argument going on between two of the ladies in the back area which provided comedy. Wouldnt like to do the job they do especially with the manager they had that day. overall a lot… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview