SoleTrader.com - www.soletrader.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.6 / 5
176
92% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Summary

Website address was previously www.soletraderwebsites.com.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
SoleTrader.com - www.soletrader.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for SoleTrader.com - www.soletrader.com

SoleTrader.com - www.soletrader.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“I can't get my domain back.”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by DenzilM (1 review written)

I have had a Soltrader website but for 2 years, and while it is ok. I must say it's very basic and looks a little cheap. It is also poorly optimized for search engines such as Google. Making changes to your website is rather slow and frustrating as you have to fill out a request form and wait 24hours to see if the changes have been made correctly. But my main concern is that when I recently chose to leave, I can't get them to return the Domain name I had before I joined them. It's… Read Full Review

Soletrader.com's Response to DenzilM's Review

Written on: 04/09/2017

Thanks for your feedback - We always like to hear reviews, good or bad, as this helps us get better as a business.

Our sites offer great SEO (optimization for search engines) in terms of value for money. We are always working hard to improve our sites and in the last 6 months we have upgraded our platforms to provide even better looking websites. These have a greatly reduced loading time (perfect for mobile browsers) and have improved SEO.

We carry out all changes within 24 hours - so 24 hours is the maximum you would wait for a change to be applied. We do not charge for changes to be made to the website and this is a vast difference to other website providers.

Finally in terms of transferring your domain away from us - we do not charge for this and it is normally a very easy process.

If you are a domain ending in dotuk, we just change the IPS tag to that of your new provider. It takes a matter of minutes this end and is normally transferred in a few hours.

If you are any other domain (.com, .info etc) then the change this end is still fast, we just unlock the domain and send a code through - but it can take up to 10 days for the name registrar Nominet to recognise this change.

Please call us and we'll get that transfer taken care of for you.


Reply to this comment

Denzilm's reply to Soletrader.com's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2017

Well that's not my experience, I noticed a very big drop in page ranking and traffic to my site when I changed to you, I can only put this down to the build, and the kinds meta tags you use ect.. but I can't be sure as as a customer your not allowed Access to that information.

Changes were not always made correctly, with wrongly labeled pictures, and ugly looking page layouts.

and as for returning my domain name I was assured it would not be a problem should I ever wish to leave.
Well it was far from simple, because my domain didn't end in co.uk no one at your end seemed to know what to do, and I was given a myriad of excuses and conflicting information, one of which was basically here's your authorization code and don't reply to this message.

Although up until that point everyone had been polite and genuinely seemed to be trying to help it took a rather negative review on here to actually get the matter resolved.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Website for my business”

Written on: 08/08/2017 by BreannaHolt261 (1 review written)

This company are good at what they do - the website is basic but then it doesn't cost very much. Plus they will do all of the changes for you, instead of keep having to update it on some website. I would like them to do logo design which they don't offer yet, but the website itself is very good… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“New starter business”

Written on: 03/07/2017 by chronosaerial (1 review written)

This company has advertised the thought that they help small businesses and new start ups, well allow me to relay my story so far. I was contacted by a gentlemen last wed paid the full years premium and was promised the "build team would contact me tomorrow ( being Thursday) well Thursday came and went and Friday, Saturday, Sunday and today, I left it till 13:50 and thought id contact them to sort this out. I rang spoke to a very nice young lady who apologised profusely for the mix up and said… Read Full Review

Crochetbyl's Response to chronosaerial's Review

Written on: 24/08/2017

The same happened to me last Thursday 17th August, paid my money then nothing, not a happy bunny. Does anyone have a telephone number to contact these to get my money back,

L.Phillips

Reply to this comment

Soletrader.com's reply to Crochetbyl's Comment

Written on: 04/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Hopefully you can see my comments above, just in case you cannot -
we were in the middle of a huge upgrade to our scheduling system which dropped a handful of appointments during the migration.

Unfortunately you were one of the customers effected. We have since finished our successful scheduling upgrade but it was disappointing that we let you down here.

We are sorry that this is the experience you had with us and we apologise profusely. I hope that you were able to get a site for your company - if not then let us know if we can still support you.

I can see that we refunded you in full, the same day (17/08/17) so I trust you now have this.

Please fell free to telephone us and you can also email us too.

We wish you the very best of luck for your business venture.

Regards

The SoleTrader.com Team

Reply to this comment

Chronosaerial's reply to Soletrader.com's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2017

companies such as mine that are just starting off find this time frustrating and stressful enough without so called professionals letting them down multiple times and it was a changeover that caused your company to design a website that had nothing to do with my company even after I sent you two files with the sort of colours and content I wanted. please don't try to cover up mistakes at least be big enough to admit the truth and deal with whatever caused it, then the next small business that comes along believing your spouting might actually get what they need, which is a company that really does help not a company that just adds to your worries

Reply to this comment

Soletrader.com's Response to chronosaerial's Review

Written on: 04/09/2017

Dear Customer, thanks for the comments here - yes you're quite right - we were in the middle of a huge upgrade to our scheduling system which dropped a handful of appointments during the migration.

Unfortunately you were one of the customers effected. We have since finished our successful scheduling upgrade but it was disappointing that we let you down here.

We are sorry that this is the experience you had with us and we apologise profusely. I hope that you were able to get a site for your company - if not then let us know if we can still support you.

We understand small businesses and this was most certainly not a reflection of your business size or that it is new - thousands of our customers are your exact same profile and we love to help new businesses get online.

We wish you the very best of luck for your business venture.

Regards

The SoleTrader.com Team


Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★★★★☆

“Good service, good looking website”

Written on: 20/05/2017 by Marisa323 (1 review written)

Needed a updated website for my business, last one did with wix was alright but hard keeping it up to date. just got on with soletrader and they've done a good job. they will build it so it looks good on iphones which loads of my customers look at it on. the price is more than wix but i hated always having to always log in and try and update it. and it was hard to get it to look like i wanted. good job … Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst customer service ”

Written on: 19/05/2017 by adygreek (1 review written)

Soletrader is just a very big issue , one of the main problem : they cannot make a page where customers can post their feedback of my services , Second one they promised that they get back to me after 24 hours but they didn't ! As for the design of the website is completely rubbish ! I'm not gonna use them again and I do not recommend to anyone… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Billing issues/ Hard to reach anyone!”

Written on: 09/05/2017 by Deniseandray (1 review written)

We loved company to start with. This year had company bill my credit card 2 times over a month with no refund. Feel get the run around when I call. Hard to reach anyone wasn't like this when started with them… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No no no”

Written on: 04/05/2017 by Patriciam80 (1 review written)

Only phone you when they want money!!! They created an Awful website for my bussiness. No follow up calls, seem to not care if you are happy or not. Keep clear!!!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Dont bother”

Written on: 04/04/2017 by GrayRobbo (1 review written)

total waste of time. website wasn't even close to my spec, with lots of misleading info that wasn't relevant to my business, photos upside down, terrible communication. they said it was teething problems with their new platform and gave SOME money back, but two weeks wasted and I have to now wait 6 weeks to get my domain name back… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 10/04/2017

We are sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with SoleTrader.com, we did indeed moved over to a new platform and there were some initial issues with this, which are as you describe.

We have resolved all the problems you experienced for future users, however, we recognise that we did not in this event give you the level of service you deserve or that we aim for. We apologise sincerely for this.

I can see that we actioned your domain transfer as soon as as it was requested, so with that in mind, it would seem that delay is not from our side - do give us a call straight away if there's some way in which we can help.

We apologise again - this is not our usual or expected levels of service and we have taken steps to ensure this will not re-occur. Do contact us if there is ever anything we can help with.

Regards

The SoleTrader.com Team

Reply to this comment

Chronosaerial's Response to GrayRobbo's Review

Written on: 05/09/2017

Exactly, almost to the letter of what happened to me with this lot !

Reply to this comment

Denzilm's Response to GrayRobbo's Review

Written on: 03/09/2017

I'm having the same problem with getting my domain name back.
I haven't been given a date just continually fobbed off, with excuses as to why it hasn't been done yet.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Quick, cheap and friendly service”

Written on: 20/03/2017

needed a new website as i'm starting a business and i didn't have thousands to spend. i got something that looks really professional and at £200 odd quid a year, they will do all the chopping and changing. couldn't get on with with Wix just never looked right. this one looks top quality. i'm gonna pass them on to my mates as they've got websites that look good but the minute they've done a new job and want to add a few pictures it becomes a massive headache for them. … Read Full Review

Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Second website under new platform.”

Written on: 06/03/2017 by Snow180 (1 review written)

Currently having a new website built under the new web design platform, to say it's been a disappointing experience is putting it lightly . This is my second website being built by sole trader.com and sadly will be my last, and wish I hadn't bothered . The website is cheap that has to be said but the agro it setting it up is way too stressful, the only smooth transaction that took place was them taking my money !!!!!… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 07/03/2017

Dear Customer, thanks for your review. We welcome all honest reviews, good and bad as they help us learn about our business.

We are a small company currently undergoing expansion and this has caused us some problems as we move over to new ways of working.

The kind of delay you experienced is most definitely not our usual service to customers and we recognise that this is not acceptable - We have identified and eliminated the issues that caused your delay.

We at SoleTrader.com offer our sincere apologies and thank you for your candid comments which we have taken onboard and acted upon.

Steven Burt
Operations Manager

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic, really pleased!!!”

Written on: 17/01/2017 by RylieHewitt34 (1 review written)

Excellent service, very professional and a very reliable service! I would highly recommend them to family and friends. I am happy that I have found a web design company that I'm really happy with and have total conveidence in… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 17/01/2017

Thanks very much for your comments, really pleased you're happy with the service. We work hard to make our customers happy and word of mouth recommendations mean a lot to us. Just let us know if you need anything else at all, we'll be happy to help, Steve.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very good web site”

Written on: 11/07/2016 by Harris1963 (1 review written)

Very good web site,the help you get is outstanding,good value for money easy to use,My computer skills isnt very good, yet this web site is so easy to maintain if i can do it any body can do it.The staff at soultrader are so helpfull and easy to talk too,and help you in any way they can.Give them a go you will not be disappointed… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“brill spot on”

Written on: 28/06/2016 by BAZACDC (1 review written)

I'M IN CONSTANT CONTACT WITH SOLE TRADER.COM WHEN EVER I NEED THEM AND I CONTACT THE OFFICE REQUESTING A CALL BACK THEY ALL WAYS SOON TO RESPOND WITH A LOVERLY SPEAKING PERSON ON THE OTHER END OF THE PHONE. I WOULD RECOMMEND SOLE TRADER.COM FOR THE SERVICE THEY OFFER… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“1st class”

Written on: 15/06/2016 by Kelleraw203 (1 review written)

As a new business soletrader explained everything about having a web site the simple way.they didn't try to dazzle me with over the top stuff.very very helpful. Fast response to e mails. Pleasant staff.and the price spks for its self.would I recommend them to others. Most definitely. 10/10… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“THE COMPLETE DEAL”

Written on: 06/06/2016

No, I don't work for the company or know anyone that works there. This is the most efficient company I have ever used, nothing is to much trouble and they explain everything. ( especially to technophobes like me!) I have and will recommend this company as the number 1 website company. Thanks again for all your help over the years! There is not one thing I would change about this company… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 08/06/2016

Thank you very much for your kind words! Although you are showing up as a Guest, it is clear from your review that you have been using our service for a number of years - thanks for sticking with us. We always strive to make sure our service and product is as accessible as possible to anyone who may think they don't know how to build a website for their business or simply don't have the time. We hope to continue to satisfy in the years to come!

Thanks, M.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very helpful company.”

Written on: 10/12/2015 by Archer427 (1 review written)

Great Service. Very helpful when I need to update our website. Quick and efficient replies in response to my requests. 3rd year with them now. Very pleased… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 16/02/2016

Thanks very much for your kind words - and we are pleased you are now into our third year with us! We are always working hard to improve our service year on year, and hopefully you've seen this on your journey with us!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Highly Recommended”

Written on: 09/12/2015

This is the 3rd website I have had built for me over the years, but the first time I have used sole trader. I must say I am very impressed with the smart and speedy way that this was set up, from my instructions changes are made overnight (in India I suspect)and ready for me the next morning. So far cost is very reasonable and I have no complaints at all… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 09/12/2015

Thanks very much for your kind words - we are really pleased you've trusted in us three times to represent your business(es) online. We are always striving to improve our service and hopefully you have seen this in the websites you have taken out with us. We will pass your kind words on to our changes team as they are always happy to hear that the effort they put in to website changes every single day do really make a difference to businesses up and down the country. Many thanks and all the best - Mathew.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Good attentive service”

Written on: 02/12/2015 by CyrusMcGarry (1 review written)

We've had our website for 3 years now. We have regularly asked for it to be updated with changes and sent emails to this effect. Staff reply within a day or so and communicate with us until we are happy with all the updates. Very happy with the service. Would recommend for a low cost website that looks good… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 02/12/2015

Thanks for your kind words - it's always good to see how our older customers are getting along. Of course, half the work to make your website look it's best comes from you, the customer, so it's great to see sites like yours where we have loads of pictures and content to show off your business. This really does make a massive impact and ensures your site is as interesting and current as possible, so keep it coming and let us know anything we can do for you!

Thanks

Simon

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 27/11/2015 by AFElectrical (1 review written)

Really pleased with Sole Trader, we needed a few small changes to our web site and these were dealt with so quickly. Really good communication and very helpful staff. Also helpful providing suggestions to get our site seen more. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Brilliant, thanks!… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 02/12/2015

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback - we really pride ourselves on our unlimited changes service so it's great to hear that you're happy with it. Remember to keep in touch over your whole year with us, the changes are completely unlimited so it's important to use them!

Give us a shout if you need anything else at all, we'll be happy to help!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Showcasing our service in style!”

Written on: 16/11/2015 by CoffeeEthic (1 review written)

I've loved working with Sole Trader on our Coffee Ethic website. We are a charity running a social enterprise and have not had the expertise to set up a website before. When Sole Trader offered us the chance to set up a website at a price that wouldn't compromise us we jumped at it. Sole Trader have been brilliant! They walked us through the set up with a really simple process and helped design the site the way we wanted it. It was that simple! The pictures were easy to upload, the content is… Read Full Review

By Soletrader.com

Written on: 18/11/2015

Thanks for sharing your experience with us - I'm glad to hear you've now got a website to be proud of. It's especially nice to know we've done a great job for a charity like yours, I think the work that coffee ethic does is brilliant, so I'm pleased to hear we've been able to deliver what you need to tell people about yourself!

As ever, the team is always here to help and make changes whenever you need us, don't hesitate to drop us a line!

Thanks

Simon

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview