New Experience Holidays Reviews - www.newex.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★★
4.7 / 5
29
93% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Beauty of scenery

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk

New Experience Holidays - www.newex.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Las Marinas”

Written on: 02/04/2016 by Nikolai165 (1 review written)

An excellent continuous walk exploiting interesting paths which we would never have discovered independently. The paths took us to beautiful views and interesting natural and man made features. We enjoyed getting to the tops of two mountains. The accuracy of the walking instructions was also excellent. We were provided with a GPS which was helpful a few times when we wanted to check we were going in the right direction. Food and accommodation was excellent; they exceeded our expectations for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“New Experience Gran Canaria Trek - Excellent!”

Written on: 14/02/2016 by Montgomerybi116 (1 review written)

We travelled with New Experience Holidays last month on their Gran Canaria trek and were highly impressed by their level of efficiency and support of their team. All holiday documentation arrived safely within plenty of time of our departure and offered lots of interesting, personalised documents all of a high standard. All of our local tranfers on the island were punctual and friendly. We were extremely happy with all of the hotels we stayed at, considering we opted for the standard grade… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Not enough to eat; very poor directions: Avoid!”

Written on: 19/12/2015

We travelled with New Experience to Gran Canaria earlier this year and cannot recommend the company. We were doing the self-guided hotel to hotel walking tour. With the exception of one night, when we upgraded, the standard of the accommodation and/or food was very poor. Indeed, on several nights we didn't get enough to eat and were forced to go and buy more food! We had been walking hard all day in high temperatures and if two women didn't get enough food, imagine how hungry we would have been… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment on our Gran Canaria trek earlier this year. We had over 30 bookings to Gran Canaria last year all with satisfied clients so are very sad to hear that you did not have the same experience.

We appreciate that the demanding climate you were faced with during your trip required a good meal at the end of the day and have been in touch with our local partners to enquire about their meal options and ensure this doesn’t affect our future clients.

With regards to our walk notes, they were written by our colleague from Birmingham who has lived in Gran Canaria for many years now and is very familiar with the area and fluent in English. Therefore, it is concerning that you found these notes difficult to read, please be assured we will be revising these and making every effort for them to be as clear as possible. We appreciate the time you took to complete our feedback questionnaire and your walk booklet amendments will be very useful in ensuring this does not happen again; we are glad the map we provided helped your navigation.

We have a standard procedure for all clients who have returned a feedback questionnaire to us, they receive an email from us thanking for the feedback and asking any further questions with regards to their holiday if needs be. I can see that we did not fall short of that for yourselves and referenced your comments above in our response email with our appreciation for your feedback, particularly with the walk notes; we hope that you received this email.

We are pleased to hear the pre-departure information we provided met our usual high standards, as well as our reliable luggage transfer service in Gran Canaria and the lovely Las Tirajanas.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“The New Experience Romania Self-guided Walk”

Written on: 26/09/2015 by Gordonbz111 (1 review written)

The guided walks are clearly very successful. However be more careful if you undertake a self-guided walk. I have just been on one to the Carpathians in Romania. The good points were the attractive countryside; the welcome given us by the Romanians and their kindness; the challenging walks which are in places well waymarked; the pensions we stayed in. The bad side were the failure of New Experience to equip us initially with a suitable large scale map. Later it produced a 25,000 and we also managed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sudanjonesyyc's Comment

Written on: 03/10/2015

Just finished this same walk and echo the comments. As well at every opportunity New Experience booked us into the worst room in the wort hotel. Also agree the walking directions are beyond bad,

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

Again, we are very sorry for the disappointment you experienced on our Romanian holiday. We have detailed the areas in the above comment where we went wrong and what actions we have taken to rectify our mistakes and improve this holiday for future clients.

Regarding the unsatisfactory rooms you were put in, we would like to state that of course we do not request the “worst” rooms for our clients, the hotel arrange this based on their availability unless we have requested a specific room type advised by the client. However, we have contacted our hotels in Romania and passed on your comments as we do with all of our feedback with the hope that they will take more care and consideration when booking rooms for New Experience clients in the future.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Emilynewex's Comment

Written on: 05/01/2016

Apologies for the belated response, we have only recently become aware of this site.

Firstly, we are glad to hear of the enjoyable aspects of your holiday. Romania is a beautiful place and the people are indeed very welcoming. The pensions we use are also very lovely and hospitable; we are pleased you found them so.

Secondly, we are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experiences, before and during your Romanian trip. We apologise for the miscommunication regarding your walking map. It is our standard policy to send walking maps to you with all the other information prior to departure, however we ran out of our stock so requested more from our partners in Romania. In the interim they promised they would have one for each client at the hotel upon arrival. We have ensured we have stocks of these for 2016.

Regarding our walk notes, we last had our walk writers re-checking the route in early 2015. Since then, there have been small changes that we have relied on our local partners for, which is where it may have unfortunately become lost in translation. We are already planning for our walk writers to re-visit Romania and make the necessary updates to improve this trek for future clients.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed previous self-guided holidays with us, but of course we are disappointed that our Romanian holiday didn’t meet our usual standards. We appreciate your comments and take on board any feedback we receive to improve our holidays. We hope the actions we have taken regarding your experience and satisfactory.

Thank you for taking the time to pass your feedback onto us.

Kind regards,
New Experience Holidays

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★★★

“Fabulous West. lycian Way”

Written on: 26/04/2015 by BetsyGite (1 review written)

We are currently returning from a self guided hiking trip of the Western Lycian Way in Turkey. It was a wonderful experience. The hotels were basic but very comfortable and offered a variety from classic hotel to small family run pension and a farm like property with animals and individual cottages. All arrangements were very well organized and the people we met along the way from transfer drivers to hotel proprietors were more than welcoming. The hiking notes were very helpful and it was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A Great Way to See Iceland”

Written on: 07/11/2014 by PeterWembley (1 review written)

My wife and I recently completed a 14 day self drive, self guided tour of Iceland organised by the New Experience team. It was AMAZING. Every element from our first email contact was professional, informative with everything delivered on the holiday exactly as promised. Even a personal note from the Managing Director the week we were leaving as there was a volcano threat for the time we were going to be in Iceland! I cannot recommend this company highly enough and we are already planning our… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Brilliantly arranged holiday in Switzerland”

Written on: 05/07/2014 by SHERBORNES (1 review written)

In summary everything went smoothly, there is almost nothing to report. The travel documents and timings went perfectly. The hotel (Belvedere in Scuol) was superb. The area and transport was superb for all grades of walking and site seeing. I could even give them credit for the weather!! The only slight criticism we would make is that the booklet of walks was not up to date. But we used them as a guide to the routes and we did well. Will almost certainly use them again. Several extra nice… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic holiday, superb organisation, brilliant company.”

Written on: 13/06/2014 by margaretaliceanddickhenry (1 review written)

Just got back from a lovely trek around the Picos de Europa. Everything went very smoothly as the details in our instructions were clear and precise and the partner company S-cape were outstanding. Everywhere taxi and bus transport were punctual, pick ups were flexible and the family run hotels and food were great. The walking was well organised. When the weather was superb we were able to do the more challenging days but there were plenty of lower level/shorter walks for the not so good… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Marieaarose's Response to margaretaliceanddickhenry's Review

Written on: 01/01/2015

Not our experience. The driver was an hour late for our initial pick up and we were unable to contact the agent. One of the hotels had not been booked and we were placed in inferior accommodation . Some of the trip notes were out of date

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Self-guided Amalfi coast trek - with mountains too”

Written on: 09/06/2014 by LandG (1 review written)

This was our first venture into an activity holiday that we had not planned from start to finish ourselves. From initial e-mail contact, New Experience kept us informed on progress. We were able to add an extra few nights at the end of the holiday without any problems. We did not want the usual of trips to Capri or Pompeii which are included by some companies; we wanted fairly strong walking including into the inland hills with no worries over routes, luggage or accommodation. This was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Excellent guided walking in the High Atlas Mountains”

Written on: 30/05/2014 by BNB3 (1 review written)

Very belatedly (a group of 6 friends early May 2014)I wanted to say how much I enjoyed my recent guided walking holiday in Morocco arranged through New Experience Holidays. The office was always helpful and I found the arrangements to be excellent, from our meeting and transfer on arrival at Marrakesh airport to the final transfer at the end; the hotels were all excellent (Clefs Du Sud Riad in the Medina, Village de Toubkal only reachable on foot in Imlil and Chez Momo with a fabulous garden and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fabulous walking holiday in Dominica”

Written on: 21/05/2014 by Pongosey (2 reviews written)

Dominica,(not to be confused with the Dominican Republic)is a small and stunning volcanic island in the Caribbean and it was here we enjoyed our second walking holiday organised by New Experience. Once again, the accommodation was fabulous as was the walking. The organisation of the holdiay was excellent and information received comprehensive, as before. Our first holiday with New Experience was to Santo Antao, Cape Verde (review below). I would thoroughly recommend this holiday company… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Walking in Spain, Las Marinas”

Written on: 24/02/2014 by rogerpayn (1 review written)

We have been on ten self guided holidays but this was our first one with New Experience. We have now booked two more holidays with New Experience and I think that says every thing about the company. We loved the holiday, everything was as we expected. To start with compared to other companies it was great value. The walking was moderate to easy, the hotels were small and very good, food was excellent. We were in an area where we have never been before and the whole area was uncommercialised… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“El Heirro 27/12/2013”

Written on: 14/01/2014 by mitie (1 review written)

What a way to end the new year and start another with walks in El Heirro. Fantastic views and walks with wonderful company and excellent guide. The hotel was spotless and the staff were wonderful could not do enough for you and on New Years Eve gala night the staff worked so hard to accommodate everyone's needs. All the travel arrangements went like clockwork especially as we had two flights, one taxi and a hired car. We were met at the hotel by the guide who talked us through the walks… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Walking in Bad Gastein”

Written on: 27/07/2013 by patrick70 (1 review written)

Our group of 17 people from the Glens of Antrim Rambling Club spent two weeks at the Hotel Alpenblick in Bad Gastein. The hotel is very comfortable with a good range of spa facilities including a sauna, steam room and thermal bath. There is a beautifully kept garden with a small heated outdoor pool and the opportunity to try various therapies. The owners of the hotel, Elizabeth and her daughter Claudia are exceptionally hospitable and helpful and can offer advice on local transport and anything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Maestrazgo Trek”

Written on: 30/05/2013

Before we set out on our first day of our Maestrazgo trek, we wondered if route finding would be difficult as our trek wound its way from village to village in a remote sparsely populated part of Spain. We'd chosen the region for a spring/ early summer holiday as the hills/ mountains were between 1000 -2000 metres so unlikely to be troubled by melting snow. We found on the first day and subsequent days that the waymarks were excellent and route finding was not a problem. This gave us time to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Gozo relaxing paradise”

Written on: 29/05/2013 by RosieandFrank (1 review written)

From start to finish New Experience organised the holiday to perfection. Our special request of 3 days in Malta to sightsee was not an issue; they found us an ideal central location and arranged everything. Gozo was then the perfect antidote, relaxed, great hotel, stunning setting and wonderful walks. Our guides were knowledgeable and added so much to the experience. We opted for a personal guide which made it even more special. We also managed self guided walks which were easy and fun… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Good value well organised”

Written on: 27/05/2013

I have just returned from a one week walking holiday, organized by New Experience Holidays, trekking part of the Lycian Way Turkey (West), stunning scenery,interesting at times rural accommodation but always clean and welcoming. Some of the less seasoned walkers in the party found the walking quite challenging due to the assents and descents and at times tricky paths. We undertook this walk in mid May, starting out in a pleasant temperature of 25 degrees but reaching a scorching 36 degrees by… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Fantastic walking holiday in the High Atlas Mountains”

Written on: 27/05/2013 by Bristolwalker (1 review written)

We have just returned from a multi-centre holiday in the High Atlas Mountains in Morocco. We have been on many New Experience holidays and as usual the staff there provided a friendly and personal service. We were met at the airport and transferred to our first hotel (Dar Anika in Marrakesh - excellent hotel with fabulous breakfasts). Our first walking base was in the Ourika Valley where we met out first guide Hussain. He was excellent and told us much interesting information that we would not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Nepal Annapurna Foothills”

Written on: 20/04/2013 by georgego (1 review written)

Last year four of us trekked up to Annapurna Basecamp, a great experience, but this year we wanted to spend more time in the foothills area. Starting with a night in Kathmandu is great, but Pokhara is a fabulous place to spend a relaxing time surrounded by great views. Walk starts 1 hr drive from there. Trekking is hard but ok, especially in shorts and T shirt. Lots of tea stops. Lodges are basic but food choice is good and sleeping ok. Most now have western toilets which make it easier. Hot… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Hotel to Hotel Trek, Santo Antao, Cape Verde. Fab Holiday”

Written on: 02/04/2013 by Pongosey (2 reviews written)

Originally, my partner was searching for the perfect location for a "blobby" holiday for us in a warm/hot climate but without the jetlag. He said "what about Cape Verde?" so I got into research mode and that's when I happened upon New Experience and discovered the amazing walking opportunities on the beautiful island of Santo Antao. We are walkers anyway and I thought this holiday sounded far more exciting, adventurous and the island more beautiful and unspoilt than lying on a beach for a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview