Wimdu Reviews - www.wimdu.com

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
93% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wimdu - www.wimdu.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wimdu - www.wimdu.com

Wimdu - www.wimdu.com
Wimdu - www.wimdu.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“kundenunfreundlich, inkompetent, rip off! !”

Written on: 04/09/2014 by Tomasl82 (1 review written)

Umfeld/Haus nicht akzeptable für ein Kleinkind und als Urlaub. Ein schmutziger Sozialbau, in dem es sehr unangenehm riecht  und einige Betrunkene  herum laufen.   Buchung wurde daher am 4 Tag widerrufen, 4 Wochen vor  Reisebeginn.   Beschwerde über Wimdu. Wimdu verpflichtet sich durch Qualitätsüberprüfung an beschriebenen Objekt und Umfeld So hätte auch die Sicherheit und Hygiene überprüft werden müssen.   Da das wohl nicht der Fall war und somit ein Objekt gebucht… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“dirty, to expensive ,not recommended”

Written on: 04/09/2014 by Rice281 (1 review written)

not recommended the only noteworthy is the location of the room. Otherwise, the woman can not speak English Will only the money and immediately the kitchen is dirty and worn in the bathroom is mold and the furniture is completely broken more I did not mention because it just makes me angry and it was just not worth it… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Guests stayed.Wimdu does not give me my money”

Written on: 30/08/2014 by Branden1977 (1 review written)

İ am a home owner at Istanbul.The guests stay my home 8 day.Normally wimdu send your money 2. day.But this is my fisrt time on wimdu rental.They have been delighted however, they have now left and there are no funds in my bank account.On the first booking I did receive an email of confirmation from Wimdu and a confirmation that funds would be in my bank account. I have sent them an email asking for them to call but as yet no response. I find this extremely poor.Please be careful hosts as I am… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I am host and not received payment”

Written on: 27/08/2014 by Carlyk259 (1 review written)

I have just had my second booking stay with me. They have been delighted however, they have now left and there are no funds in my bank account. On the first booking I did receive an email of confirmation from Wimdu and a confirmation that funds would be in my bank account. I have sent them an email asking for them to call but as yet no response. I find this extremely poor. Please be careful hosts as I am now out of pocket. I have another confirmed three night booking and I do not wish to… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“обманщики”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by Schroeder58 (1 review written)

Не связывайтесь с этими обманщиками. Весь сайт заполнен обманом и полуправдой. Детей, даже грудных, они считают за взрослого, комиссия около 50 евро (для сравнения в booking com комиссия в 10 раз меньше). Они сдадут вам аппартаменты, а получите вы маленькую спальню, и придется вам… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Confirmed and then cancelled”

Written on: 10/08/2014 by 400Lindsay (1 review written)

I booked a last minute villa which was confirmed by the owner in a conversation with wimdu - but this was then subsequently cancelled by the owner - with only two days to go - this is very very poor !!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“THE WORST TRAVEL WEBSITE IN THE WORLD!!!! YOU WILL...”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by CoolSteve (1 review written)

WHERE DO I START?? 1) The worst customer service!!!!! first of all, unless you call on weekend afternoons (European time), you will wait and wait and wait and wait on the phone. then, after waiting for about 20 minutes, the recording tells you that nobody can answer your call and to call back later. Then the creeeeeepy recording voice closes the call!!!!!!! i called back 4 times in a row and still had this happen!! 2) When you DO get to talk with someone, with rare exceptions barely, the… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't book with Host Noa Maurice!! ”

Written on: 23/07/2014

We booked An apartment in london. Little north east of the city centre in Romford. We agreed with our host that we could check in at 12. When we arrived and called him he ask if we could come back at three. This was no option for us and agreed to pick up the key elsewere. 25 min drive to the given adres, someone was waiting for us, but instead of given us a key he opened a door of something he called an apartment. The smell wel awfull and moist in kitchen and livingroom were discusting. When we… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I am satisfied with your staff member”

Written on: 22/07/2014 by woodenhouse (1 review written)

He was very committed to find out if everything was ok with the booking and therefore he called me. I was a little bewildered about how to answer Wimdu when I first saw your e-mail. But now I know that I should only answer your e-mail, when I had read your request. Kind regards … Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent & Intransigent”

Written on: 24/06/2014 by Montemeruresort (1 review written)

I own a vacation rental home in Costa Rica and when I came across WIMDU decided to list it with them. Their approach is very similar to Airbnb or Tripadvisor, the only difference is that while they let you upload all your information, photos, location, etc.. yourself, WIMDU asks you to send it to them so their IT department can do it, which I did. A while later I received an email from WIMDU stating that my listing was only 60% optimized and that for 30 Euros one of their "specialists" would… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Quite arrogant staff, treating landlords like naughty kids”

Written on: 03/06/2014 by ErnestoNorth (1 review written)

I had a displeasure of posting a new listing recently. 10 days since I prepared everything - and had to wait for approval from Wimdu (I have been on their platform since 2010, so I am not some new, anonymous user) - and it was still not online (Airbnb - instant, FlipKey - 1-2 days, Wimdu - you have to manually follow up with the customer service to have your listing activated. 2 more days passed, and somebody called - it was Wimdu agent. Asking me - on the phone - about every single amenity of… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT WORTH USING--RIPÓFF”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by Josiahm423 (1 review written)

I requested a booking, and never heard anything back. Then it was discovered 10 days later that the response had come into my SPAM file. Instead of being understanding and helping me through the process, WIMDU ripped me off, charging my credit card without my authorization and keeping more than 20% of my payment when I asked for a refund, since it was too late to use the accommodation that they claimed I had booked. Use AIR BNB instead++they are honest, WIMDU is not… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“not happy at all”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by catharina001 (1 review written)

they do not know any of the places, and if something is not correct they'll choose the side of the owners rather than yours. I did it once and never again!!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“New York Disaster”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by peteraft (1 review written)

We booked a 4 bedroom luxury apartment for a family holiday in new York with Wimdu, 3 weeks prior to departure we were advised that the current tenant refuses to move out so we have no accommodation. Wimdu offer alternative apartment, Given it is Xmas we have no chance to book another 4 bedroom apartment and have little choice but to take the apartment, it is described as: Recently renovated and cleaned to perfection. Nothing could be further from the truth. Its a walk up 3 flights, its very… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Be careful when booking with Wimdu!”

Written on: 22/12/2013

From many complaints I have seen so far, this is a usual bad experience with Wimdu. Booked a place in Paris, my money was withdrawn IMMEDIATELY from the credit card although it took 24 hours to confirm the booking. The host advertised as a nice French lady, turned out to be a company that sent me a long rental agreement with extra costs and 500 Euros deposit. I found all of these unacceptable. I contacted Wimdu within 24 hrs and they said that the conditions of the rental were advertised and I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Wimdu is very expensive for tenants”

Written on: 28/11/2013 by Antonio32 (1 review written)

I am very disastified with Wimdu. I made the effort to lower my daily price so my prospective tenant would definitely choose my place, but the fee that Wimdu wanted to charge the tenant was sooo high that they went somewhere else. I will not choose Wimdu again in the future for finding tenants for my property… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 28/11/2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

As part of our service we charge a service fee. When determining the price for bookings we always use different measures of analysis in order to offer the most favorable price for both hosts and guests. The range of prices runs around the customary prices of similar websites. Service charge amounts vary, inter alia on the dates of booking, total booking amounts and the location of the accommodations.

I am sorry to read about your decision and hope the provided information clarifies our pricing. If you If you have any further question please contact us.

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“excuse,games,to keep your money”

Written on: 16/11/2013 by saskii123 (1 review written)

SO AVOID AS DANGER ALL TRICKS. THEY JUST KEEP YOUR MONEY. ALL HOSTS AND THEM TEAM UP TO KEEP YOUR MONEY AND GIVE SILLY RULES AND EXCUSES TO JUSTIFY. THEY WATCH ALL COMPLAIN SITES AND QUICK TO REMOVE AND COMMENT BACK. CAUSING PROBLEMS FOR ALL BOOKINGS. ALL ARRANGE THE HOST NEVER TURNS UP TO MET YOU AND GIVES FAKE FALSE PHONE NUMBER... YET STILL ON THE SITE MELONIE IN MALAGA SPAIN. COMPANY KNOWS ALL AND JUST IGNORES WITH SILLY EXCUSES SO AS OTHERES SAY ALL FOR THE BENEFIT OF HOSTS AND… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 27/11/2013

Dear saskii123,

I am sorry to hear about your impression from our service.

In order to better understand your claim I have investigated your booking and correspondence with our customer support agents.

You contacted us on your check-in date and asked to cancel your booking. According to the policy of the chosen accommodation in Malaga a booking should be cancelled at least 2 days prior to check-in in order to be refunded the total price excluding the Wimdu cancellation fees. Furthermore, for cancellations that are made less than 2 days before check-in, guest will be refunded 5% of the total price excluding the Wimdu cancellation fees.

The only option to avoid the cancellation fees was to change the dates of booking, as you requested. Unfortunately the host did not agree with this change. Although the host was eligible for a full payment due to the late cancellation, they agreed to refund you 50% of the price. From that point on it is the host's prerogative to agree to pay you the refund in full, a choice your host decided to decline.

Please understand that we simply follow the Terms and Conditions as stated in our website and in your booking in regards to a late cancellation.

I apologize for any inconvenience and would like to offer you once again to contact your host for her approval of the full refund.

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment

Saskii123's reply to Wimdu's Comment

Written on: 28/11/2013

still talking rubbish,keep telling you to rebook a day later,or few days later,your site not let me rebook.EMAILED YOU LOTS TO CHANGE AS MY BOKING FOR 1 WHOLE WEEK,SILLY TRICKS,WITH YOUR RULES .STILL WAIT FOR MY FULL REFUND HOST GIVES WRONG PHONE NUMBER,AGREES TO MEET ME, NEVER THERE. REPORT YOU TO POLICE..GO OUT OF BUSINESS !

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible customer service”

Written on: 09/11/2013

I had problems with my booking as the host does not respond, and i was just told that they were sorry about me not being able to get in touch with host. LOUSY LOUSY LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE wimdu! ”

Written on: 21/08/2013

If you want to cancel a strict policy reservation with wimdu, acording to their terms and conditions, someone in your family must have died minimum 24 hours prior check-in! … Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 27/11/2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

In order to answer your comment, please allow me to elaborate on the subject you raised:

As stated in our Terms & Conditions, in the unfortunate event of bereavement notice between seven days and 24 hours before arrival the guest will be issued with a full refund with no cancellation fees. In a message of bereavement less than 24 hours before arrival, the guest will receive 75% of the total price with no cancellation fees. This cancellation policy overrides the strict cancellation policy, as well as all other individual cancellation policies.

I hope that this information answers your query. If you still have any inquiry please do not hesitate to contact us contact@wimdu.com

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very disappointed and angry”

Written on: 08/08/2013 by Chris33manc (1 review written)

Back in may 2013 my friend booked and paid for an apartment for 5 people thru wimdu Amsterdam.we planned to go there in August 2013.unfortunately one of my friend couldn't make it due to funeral in the family.we asked for a refund for that which was agreed but the host was very rude on the phone.we confirmed that only 4 were coming.on our way there the host called my friend from a blocked number saying that one of the agent will contact us to arrange where to meet in Amsterdam.she told us to go… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 14/08/2013

Hi,

thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We from Wimdu thrive to constantly improve our service and your feedback is more than helpful.

Allow me to comment on this case with more details:

Upon learning about your loss, your host suggested to change your reservation into an apartment for 4 and to refund you a certain part of your booking. You and your host expressed mutual satisfaction with the arrangement and agreed on the check-in at 5pm on your day of arrival.

It seems now that the check-in time was changed by you on short notice twice and also that you and your host were not able to reach each other by phone.
We are truly sorry to learn that you and your host ended up 'entangled' in a communication misunderstanding.

As outlined in our Terms & Conditions we process the payout of the booking amount to the host 24 hours after check-in. Should a problem arise upon check-in, guests can call us on our 24/7 Emergency Number and ask for their payment to be put on hold and further investigation.

Unfortunately, you contacted our Customer Service Center only several days later. By then, your booking was obviously paid out to the host.

Please be aware that your rental agreement is directly with your host and not with Wimdu. We kindly suggest that you contact your host and agree on some form of a refund. My colleague Valerie who is supporting from Wimdu's side will be more than happy to mediate.

Kind regards,
Lena for the Wimdu Support Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview