Wimdu Reviews - www.wimdu.com

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
93.2% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Wimdu - www.wimdu.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Wimdu - www.wimdu.com

Wimdu - www.wimdu.com
Wimdu - www.wimdu.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Don't book with Host Noa Maurice!! ”

Written on: 23/07/2014

We booked An apartment in london. Little north east of the city centre in Romford. We agreed with our host that we could check in at 12. When we arrived and called him he ask if we could come back at three. This was no option for us and agreed to pick up the key elsewere. 25 min drive to the given adres, someone was waiting for us, but instead of given us a key he opened a door of something he called an apartment. The smell wel awfull and moist in kitchen and livingroom were discusting. When we… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I am satisfied with your staff member”

Written on: 22/07/2014 by woodenhouse (1 review written)

He was very committed to find out if everything was ok with the booking and therefore he called me. I was a little bewildered about how to answer Wimdu when I first saw your e-mail. But now I know that I should only answer your e-mail, when I had read your request. Kind regards … Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Incompetent & Intransigent”

Written on: 24/06/2014 by Montemeruresort (1 review written)

I own a vacation rental home in Costa Rica and when I came across WIMDU decided to list it with them. Their approach is very similar to Airbnb or Tripadvisor, the only difference is that while they let you upload all your information, photos, location, etc.. yourself, WIMDU asks you to send it to them so their IT department can do it, which I did. A while later I received an email from WIMDU stating that my listing was only 60% optimized and that for 30 Euros one of their "specialists" would… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Quite arrogant staff, treating landlords like naughty kids”

Written on: 03/06/2014 by ErnestoNorth (1 review written)

I had a displeasure of posting a new listing recently. 10 days since I prepared everything - and had to wait for approval from Wimdu (I have been on their platform since 2010, so I am not some new, anonymous user) - and it was still not online (Airbnb - instant, FlipKey - 1-2 days, Wimdu - you have to manually follow up with the customer service to have your listing activated. 2 more days passed, and somebody called - it was Wimdu agent. Asking me - on the phone - about every single amenity of… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT WORTH USING--RIPÓFF”

Written on: 07/05/2014 by Josiahm423 (1 review written)

I requested a booking, and never heard anything back. Then it was discovered 10 days later that the response had come into my SPAM file. Instead of being understanding and helping me through the process, WIMDU ripped me off, charging my credit card without my authorization and keeping more than 20% of my payment when I asked for a refund, since it was too late to use the accommodation that they claimed I had booked. Use AIR BNB instead++they are honest, WIMDU is not… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“not happy at all”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by catharina001 (1 review written)

they do not know any of the places, and if something is not correct they'll choose the side of the owners rather than yours. I did it once and never again!!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“New York Disaster”

Written on: 10/01/2014 by peteraft (1 review written)

We booked a 4 bedroom luxury apartment for a family holiday in new York with Wimdu, 3 weeks prior to departure we were advised that the current tenant refuses to move out so we have no accommodation. Wimdu offer alternative apartment, Given it is Xmas we have no chance to book another 4 bedroom apartment and have little choice but to take the apartment, it is described as: Recently renovated and cleaned to perfection. Nothing could be further from the truth. Its a walk up 3 flights, its very… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Be careful when booking with Wimdu!”

Written on: 22/12/2013

From many complaints I have seen so far, this is a usual bad experience with Wimdu. Booked a place in Paris, my money was withdrawn IMMEDIATELY from the credit card although it took 24 hours to confirm the booking. The host advertised as a nice French lady, turned out to be a company that sent me a long rental agreement with extra costs and 500 Euros deposit. I found all of these unacceptable. I contacted Wimdu within 24 hrs and they said that the conditions of the rental were advertised and I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Wimdu is very expensive for tenants”

Written on: 28/11/2013 by Antonio32 (1 review written)

I am very disastified with Wimdu. I made the effort to lower my daily price so my prospective tenant would definitely choose my place, but the fee that Wimdu wanted to charge the tenant was sooo high that they went somewhere else. I will not choose Wimdu again in the future for finding tenants for my property… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 28/11/2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

As part of our service we charge a service fee. When determining the price for bookings we always use different measures of analysis in order to offer the most favorable price for both hosts and guests. The range of prices runs around the customary prices of similar websites. Service charge amounts vary, inter alia on the dates of booking, total booking amounts and the location of the accommodations.

I am sorry to read about your decision and hope the provided information clarifies our pricing. If you If you have any further question please contact us.

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“excuse,games,to keep your money”

Written on: 16/11/2013 by saskii123 (1 review written)

SO AVOID AS DANGER ALL TRICKS. THEY JUST KEEP YOUR MONEY. ALL HOSTS AND THEM TEAM UP TO KEEP YOUR MONEY AND GIVE SILLY RULES AND EXCUSES TO JUSTIFY. THEY WATCH ALL COMPLAIN SITES AND QUICK TO REMOVE AND COMMENT BACK. CAUSING PROBLEMS FOR ALL BOOKINGS. ALL ARRANGE THE HOST NEVER TURNS UP TO MET YOU AND GIVES FAKE FALSE PHONE NUMBER... YET STILL ON THE SITE MELONIE IN MALAGA SPAIN. COMPANY KNOWS ALL AND JUST IGNORES WITH SILLY EXCUSES SO AS OTHERES SAY ALL FOR THE BENEFIT OF HOSTS AND… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 27/11/2013

Dear saskii123,

I am sorry to hear about your impression from our service.

In order to better understand your claim I have investigated your booking and correspondence with our customer support agents.

You contacted us on your check-in date and asked to cancel your booking. According to the policy of the chosen accommodation in Malaga a booking should be cancelled at least 2 days prior to check-in in order to be refunded the total price excluding the Wimdu cancellation fees. Furthermore, for cancellations that are made less than 2 days before check-in, guest will be refunded 5% of the total price excluding the Wimdu cancellation fees.

The only option to avoid the cancellation fees was to change the dates of booking, as you requested. Unfortunately the host did not agree with this change. Although the host was eligible for a full payment due to the late cancellation, they agreed to refund you 50% of the price. From that point on it is the host's prerogative to agree to pay you the refund in full, a choice your host decided to decline.

Please understand that we simply follow the Terms and Conditions as stated in our website and in your booking in regards to a late cancellation.

I apologize for any inconvenience and would like to offer you once again to contact your host for her approval of the full refund.

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment

Saskii123's reply to Wimdu's Comment

Written on: 28/11/2013

still talking rubbish,keep telling you to rebook a day later,or few days later,your site not let me rebook.EMAILED YOU LOTS TO CHANGE AS MY BOKING FOR 1 WHOLE WEEK,SILLY TRICKS,WITH YOUR RULES .STILL WAIT FOR MY FULL REFUND HOST GIVES WRONG PHONE NUMBER,AGREES TO MEET ME, NEVER THERE. REPORT YOU TO POLICE..GO OUT OF BUSINESS !

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible customer service”

Written on: 09/11/2013

I had problems with my booking as the host does not respond, and i was just told that they were sorry about me not being able to get in touch with host. LOUSY LOUSY LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE!… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE wimdu! ”

Written on: 21/08/2013

If you want to cancel a strict policy reservation with wimdu, acording to their terms and conditions, someone in your family must have died minimum 24 hours prior check-in! … Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 27/11/2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

In order to answer your comment, please allow me to elaborate on the subject you raised:

As stated in our Terms & Conditions, in the unfortunate event of bereavement notice between seven days and 24 hours before arrival the guest will be issued with a full refund with no cancellation fees. In a message of bereavement less than 24 hours before arrival, the guest will receive 75% of the total price with no cancellation fees. This cancellation policy overrides the strict cancellation policy, as well as all other individual cancellation policies.

I hope that this information answers your query. If you still have any inquiry please do not hesitate to contact us contact@wimdu.com

Kind regards,
Eran
The Wimdu Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Very disappointed and angry”

Written on: 08/08/2013 by Chris33manc (1 review written)

Back in may 2013 my friend booked and paid for an apartment for 5 people thru wimdu Amsterdam.we planned to go there in August 2013.unfortunately one of my friend couldn't make it due to funeral in the family.we asked for a refund for that which was agreed but the host was very rude on the phone.we confirmed that only 4 were coming.on our way there the host called my friend from a blocked number saying that one of the agent will contact us to arrange where to meet in Amsterdam.she told us to go… Read Full Review

By Wimdu

Written on: 14/08/2013

Hi,

thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We from Wimdu thrive to constantly improve our service and your feedback is more than helpful.

Allow me to comment on this case with more details:

Upon learning about your loss, your host suggested to change your reservation into an apartment for 4 and to refund you a certain part of your booking. You and your host expressed mutual satisfaction with the arrangement and agreed on the check-in at 5pm on your day of arrival.

It seems now that the check-in time was changed by you on short notice twice and also that you and your host were not able to reach each other by phone.
We are truly sorry to learn that you and your host ended up 'entangled' in a communication misunderstanding.

As outlined in our Terms & Conditions we process the payout of the booking amount to the host 24 hours after check-in. Should a problem arise upon check-in, guests can call us on our 24/7 Emergency Number and ask for their payment to be put on hold and further investigation.

Unfortunately, you contacted our Customer Service Center only several days later. By then, your booking was obviously paid out to the host.

Please be aware that your rental agreement is directly with your host and not with Wimdu. We kindly suggest that you contact your host and agree on some form of a refund. My colleague Valerie who is supporting from Wimdu's side will be more than happy to mediate.

Kind regards,
Lena for the Wimdu Support Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service!”

Written on: 13/07/2013 by Muck77 (1 review written)

I just traveled Europe using various sites to book apartments with no issues and with great success - however when we arrived in London with our apartment booked and paid through Wimdu, we found the apartment managers had overbooked. Wimdu were totally unhelpful and basically left us in the street with our bags and nowhere to stay! When I booked, they charged my credit card within minutes - however it took six days to get my refund! Terrible, terrible service from an accommodation site. I… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst website for hosts”

Written on: 02/07/2013

Wmdu is not hostfriendly, Airbnb is so much better! Payments are easy and customer service is 10 times better. And airbnb is cheaper for guests because the fee is lower and guests can accually see response times of hosts and things like that. I had a problem with a guest once through airbnb and they really helped me! Wimdu just bothers you with useless phone calls and emails by people who are obviously geman and do not speak english very well… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Conned by person,Wimdu helpline unavailable,left no option”

Written on: 26/04/2013

I arranged a visit with the person letting thier property, thank fully as I was cautious about how she spoke about other let agreements. She forgot I had booked for that week as well!!! Not a great start! When I visited with someone else, she had a glass of wine in her hand and spent the entire visit complaining about builders she had just sacked and compliaing how much it was going to cost to mend the damage they had done to her walls and floor. she had a complaint about every room with a… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Forget Wimdu - use Airbnb”

Written on: 23/04/2013 by loneuser (1 review written)

I rent my apartment through Airbnb and Wimdu. I have the same price set for each, but because greedy Wimdu take more commission - and extraordinary amount more than Airbnb, my price is higher on Wimdu. Guests don't know this. Aside from that, Wimdu is extremely aggressive in their pursuit of money, phoning me every time I have a booking that I haven't replied to yet, where I'm perfectly capable of managing my bookings. Their website and user/guest interface is truly terrible - a hastily cobbled… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Controlling, Incompetent Customer Service for Hosts”

Written on: 27/02/2013 by TravelStay (1 review written)

Started listing on Wimdu after AirBnB was subjected to new tax demands by our lovely government. If ever I've disliked an organization, this would be it. 1. CONTROLLING If AirBnB is that cool older sibling who trusts you to know what you are doing, Wimdu is that nagging one who is consistently looking over your shoulder to make sure you're responding to every single inquiry and punishing you with leeeeengthy politely-written essays - oops, emails - and the deactivation of your listings if… Read Full Review

Loneuser's Response to TravelStay's Review

Written on: 23/04/2013

Couldn't agree more - so aggressive in their pursuit of money!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“User Fee Surprise”

Written on: 26/02/2013

Like another user said...........I too was slugged with a whopping users fee. After spending a considerable time choosing and then conversing with the owner of the property............I was blind sided with an enormous users fee (as a last step in the booking process).........one that I did not see coming.......am embarrased to say......which I paid (I was tired and did not want to start the accommodation review process again.....my fault). I would recommend that users be aware of such… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“beware of using Wimdu”

Written on: 02/02/2013 by paulinegibbons (1 review written)

We paid £2700 for a Miami apartment. Money taken out but no confirmation came (promised to confirm within 24 hours). Then the apartment we booked was advertised again but this time for £5000. Now we are out of pocket and have nowhere to stay. BEWARE of this company. Just hope my credit card company will fight to get our money back… Read Full Review

Report this review
overview