Weekender Breaks Reviews - www.weekender-breaks.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
72
29% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Weekender Breaks - www.weekender-breaks.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Weekender Breaks - www.weekender-breaks.co.uk

Weekender Breaks - www.weekender-breaks.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“I WISH I HAD THE WORDS TO SAY HOW DISGUSTING THIS...”

Written on: 27/01/2016 by Danielle1902 (1 review written)

My boyfriend & I have recently bought a groupon for Rome Venice and Florence for 6 nights. Upon buying the groupon we chose the date option we knew we were able to go. This is something you have to do before paying so you assume it's legit. I am a nurse and my partner works shifts so we were limited as to what dates we could go. So we chosen the dates we knew we both had off. The next day an advisor from weekender breaks contacted my boyfriend. Informed him that for the dates we had stayed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dh1968's Response to Danielle1902's Review

Written on: 03/02/2016

Trying to deal with an issue with our group on too. I don't understand why you have to pay for extra nights in Venice and Florence when you have paid for Rome! Surely if they could give you Rome on the dates you requested there shouldn't be extra costs as that was the groupon??
A rip off company!
We're only doing Venice and Florence..our flight to Pisa! Gets in at 2310...last train to Florence is 2230!! ..good booking eh?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I wish I could give 0 stars”

Written on: 09/12/2015 by ellie1995 (1 review written)

I booked a weekend break to Amsterdam with after seeing the add on wowcher. I phoned and booked through them that way, I asked the guy I spoke to on the phone if the hotel was central as I've been to Amsterdam before and it's best to have a hotel in the centre to minimize travelling time and get the most time possible in the destination. Well anyway after it was booked and paid we looked at where the hotel was to make sure it was central like I was told on the phone, and lo and behold it was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company”

Written on: 23/11/2015 by Lucasa326 (1 review written)

I dont have much money, but I wanted to surprise my husband with a trip to Iceland as we have both wanted to go for years. i found what I thought was a great deal on Wowcher, and bought it for the dates i needed. All seemed fine, until they called me to arrange dates. For a 2 night trip the flights would of given us just over 24 hours in iceland! Had to pay to change the flights and then pay extra to add transfers in. I stated that I also wanted to go to the Blue Lagoon and booked the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Whyohwhyohwhy's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2015

I too didn't have much money to spend on a treat and what a treat it turned out to be, NOT!!!
Bought the groupon(why such a high profile company wants any association with these people is beyond me)for Berlin Christmas markets only to be sent to Frankfurt, not so bad until you realise Ryanair only flys into Hahn airport which is 1hr45mins away from Frankfurt city where the markets are! Ok so we get there at a reasonable time, however the return flight is a red eye flight(always cheap) which means we have to get the 3am bus from the delight that is Frankfurt main station. I work in London and travel extensively on the underground network there, this has not prepared me for the filth and squalor that greets you at Frankfurt main station, junkies, drunks and beggars all over the station and at every exit/entrance, I'm not looking forward to waiting for the 3am bus there! Wish me luck!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ellie1995's Comment

Written on: 10/12/2015

uh what a total nightmare!! good luck! :(

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mika1781's Comment

Written on: 11/02/2016

Hi, same here, the group on promises all sorts of delights but weekender breaks does not deliver! Trying to swap my blue lagoon trip for a golden circle as I'm told my excursion doesn't include the entrance to the blue lagoon. Was rushed into 'confirming' my trip by the guy who booked it for me which I think is a tactic to avoid going into details of your booking and the no refunds policy. Since the booking, no end of issues and poor customer service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling customer service! ”

Written on: 06/10/2015 by Rivera220 (1 review written)

I cannot recommend this company in any way. What appears to be a nice little deal won't be. You will get flights that are last thing in the day and first thing in the morning so that you effectively lose almost 2 possible days in your destination. You can change this, of course - for a price. Good job we did because had we accepted the original return flight we simply could not have made it to the airport in time unless we took a taxi......130km. Since we were reliant on public transport and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Holiday breaks not what they appear to be...”

Written on: 04/10/2015 by Sandovalqn258 (1 review written)

My partner and I booked a 3 night break to Lake Garda, Italy via the Wowcher website. Having just returned from our trip it transpired that we purchased a 3 night break in Montichiari, which is a good distance away from Lake Garda. Montichiari is not a tourist destination. My partner and I felt we was staying in a hotel located on what we can only describe as an Industrial Estate. There was only a supermarket and Sushi Bar close by. No other amenities or attractions to mention. The… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs - hard selling bullyish merchants. ”

Written on: 16/09/2015 by Ladylovesmilktray (1 review written)

Bought a 2 day weekend Xmas Market break to Florence. Dates I requested weren't available, only flights available were from Stanstead with Ryanair who don't even fly in to Florence. This is such a bloody joke, look at flights and hotel this company are offering, not even half the price if you book direct. Lesson learned, never, ever going to even look at these deals again and am going to complain to Trading Standards. Bullish sales techniques, steer clear. Let's bring this company down… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Over 6 months waiting for refund of cancelled trip. ”

Written on: 29/08/2015 by 204Shea (1 review written)

I purchased vouchers for Iceland on groupon only to find that we needed to pay more than double for the dates we wanted- despite the indication on the grouping counter that we were the only ones who had purchased for those dates. The hotel wasn't prepared for us, they had been overbooked and people were needing to go to alternative hotels. Iceland itself was lovely, just as we pictured, however the weather was poor meaning our whale watching your was cancelled- no one informed us of this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Comment

Written on: 14/09/2015

Please report this company to trading standards - they should not be trading

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annabags's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2015

The refund has finally come through- but not before they missed the refund time again twice and then tried to tell me that by rights, they shouldn't have given me any refund, as it was a "no refund" policy.

I took great delight in explaining that this policy applies only if I try to cancel- when they cancel, they are obligated to provide another, appropriately matched tour, or refund the money.....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Spursgirl98's Comment

Written on: 18/11/2015

Did you request the refund over the phone or email? Their operators are extremely unhelpful and rude, yet all of my emails have been ignored!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Annabags's Comment

Written on: 19/11/2015

All over email, so I could have a written record. I found they generally responded fairly quickly, but they just were very tardy with their timing to action the next steps. Make sure you check they refund the right excursion- they tried to refund a cheaper tour initially.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 4 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“STAY WELL AWAY”

Written on: 13/08/2015 by knBaker1994 (1 review written)

So my boyfriend and I saw a great deal on wowcher for a 3 night Venice 3 night Rome through this company. After ringing time and time again to only get hung up on we finally got through to an operator, who told us the dates we wanted were available and to buy the code and then gave us a number to ring them back. We bought the code and did so, only took us two days to actually speak to someone! Then turns out the cost of the trip wasn't what we paid for and wanted an extra £118 each from us!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dh1968's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2016

Wish I'd read reviews before I bought groupon!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sandratremlett's Comment

Written on: 03/02/2016

I wish I had read them too but with Wowcher I expect a good service, which I clearly have not had!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't touch this company with a barge pole”

Written on: 07/08/2015 by catwoman52 (2 reviews written)

Booked a short break to Rome through groupon and then coerced into paying an extra £110 by weekender travel for better flight times which turn out to be the only flights from this airport on this day and also the hotel which the agent from weekender breaks told me was by all the main attractions is nearly an hour away from Rome and advertised as basic, no frills and for the budget conscious traveller on their website which I subsequently found out later . I was also coerced into paying another… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Response to catwoman52's Review

Written on: 27/09/2015

This company is very crafty as the incorrect information you are given to coerce you into paying extra costs is all done over the phone - they do not put anything in writing so it's basically your word against theirs. They rush you to reply to their email as confirmation of your booking whilst your still on the phone asking you to add your date of birth etc that they don't need at this time so that you don't pay too much attention to the booking and extra costs that they have coerced you into paying so later you won't have a leg to stand on. Your credit card provider can't give you a refund because groupon take part of the payment and weekender breaks take the other part of the payment under their parent company's name Viva Tours or Hays Travel. Abta don't want to know either and I'm still waiting for groupon to respond to my complaint after 2 months. The only other avenue is trading standards. Please don't waste your time complaining to this company because it will get you no-where. COMPLAIN DIRECTLY TO TRADING STANDARDS and stop this company trading

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“VERY DISAPPOINTING”

Written on: 30/07/2015 by prayersneeded (1 review written)

My friend and I booked what we thought was a great 4 days break in Italy only to find out the hotel was out in the sticks and not appropriate for us. We asked for a transfer but was told we could only accept one hotel on offer and had to pay more money because of its location - we were led to believe the hotel was in a tourist location. When we researched it was not and not only that it is 2 hours drive from the airport and will cost Euros 300 to get there. It will cost lots of money to go… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Response to prayersneeded's Review

Written on: 14/09/2015

Your story is very similar to mine, please report this company to trading standards.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Keep well away”

Written on: 07/07/2015 by petcurry (1 review written)

Paid for wowcher deal for 2 nights in Venice/2 nights in Rome which came through weekender Breaks. Our 1st day was leaving Stansted airport at 19.00 and arriving in Venice at 22.00 and arriving at our hotel at 23.15, so much for our 1st day there. The hotel was miles away from anywhere so you could not go to any town for a drink or something to eat, unless you got a taxi. The hotel provided a shuttle service to Venice at a charge, so we ended up with 1 day in Venice not the 2. As for Rome we… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Response to petcurry's Review

Written on: 29/07/2015

I wish I read this review before booking my voucher through groupon for a weekend break in Rome. The flights I was offered were appalling which also meant I would only have one full day in Rome. I ended up paying £55 per person for better flights which I was originally told would be £35 per person. Now I have been booked into an appalling hotel with a basic/no frills room which is a 30 min bus journey to Rome centre. I have had to pay £60 transfer fees from the airport to the hotel. My cheap weekend break which was advertised as £149 each is now costing me nearly £500 in total - what a rip off!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Listen to this ”

Written on: 25/06/2015

I booked a holiday break via Wowcher with weekender Breaks. Two weeks prior to travel we were notified that there was no availability, and should we choose to, that we could go on a later date but at extra cost. I said this is not on, and that we wanted to go on holiday on the dates the voucher stipulated. We were then told to get in touch with wowcher so as to get our money back. Awful travel agent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Comment

Written on: 14/09/2015

Dead right, this us the worst company I have dealt with, please report them to trading standards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Are these travel companies regulated? ”

Written on: 23/06/2015 by Victorp_t00 (1 review written)

They tried to fleece me and make me part with as much of my hard earned money as they could. How do they get away with this? Are there no Travel regulators checking on these companies practices!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Response to Victorp_t00's Review

Written on: 14/09/2015

I have complained to Abta without any success but their terms and conditions and the crafty way that they get you to agree to your booking makes it basically your word against theirs. Please report them to trading standards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Word of caution ”

Written on: 22/06/2015 by Rams10_19 (2 reviews written)

I purchased a voucher from Wowcher for a Prague Break with weekender breaks. The sales person couldn’t provide adequate flight times. The ones given to us would have left us spending little time in Prague. To make matters worse we were offered better flight times, the only catch was that we would have to pay a supplement charge. A supplement charge? Seriously!!! Because I had already bought the voucher, there was no other choice but to pay the extra amount. Suffice to say, I will never again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Response to Rams10_19's Review

Written on: 14/09/2015

This sounds so much like my experience it's scary, but I have complained to groupon, Abta and my credit card company without any luck. They are untouchable.please report them to trading standards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Great customer service ”

Written on: 21/06/2015 by Mireya1983 (1 review written)

I saw a deal to Venice and Florence on wowcher.i call the company direct and spoke to a member of team, a member of team was really helpful,I choose a date and time for our flight, It was my first holiday trip to Europe with my husband after our married. On this deal a hotel was 75km far from Venice city. Where a team member allocated me a hotel near Venice our hotel was ten minutes a way on the bus.A hotel was 4*. I find this deal really good compare to some other websites. I'll use… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Customer communication ”

Written on: 20/06/2015 by shauna_bp (1 review written)

I found it a bit hard understanding what the employee at Weekender Breaks was saying and he was somewhat rude. I did book a holiday with them, but they could do with improving their customer service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Not that impressed ”

Written on: 18/06/2015

I came across a deal with weekender breaks on the net and so gave them a call. The conversation I had with their agent was a waste of time. He wasn’t able to answer all of my questions, and I mean where does one go from there. Lucky for me I read some reviews before I booked anything… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worse travel agent in the uk!”

Written on: 04/06/2015 by zcMcGee432 (1 review written)

Worse travel agent in the uk ! they will ask you to pay extra cost!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mccampbell's Comment

Written on: 08/06/2015

Read between the lines! you will end up paying way much more extra than advertised!! Whenever something is to good to be true, it probaly is!

I would not recommend booking a holiday with this company. You will end up being disappointed. Charged extra fare to take an earlier train?? charged extra to fly at differrent times?? the hotels are in the middle of nowhere, so you have extra taxi costs!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2015

Spot on - this is definitely the worst travel agent I have dealt with and have fleeced me into paying extra costs too without a leg to stand on. Please report them to trading standards who will have to do something if they receive complaints like ours.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Horrible AVOID”

Written on: 26/05/2015 by TannerSmith (1 review written)

they are horrible company that misinform their customer it's a cheap deal holiday that turns into double the cost of original price claiming to be supplement charges which I believe is made especially when dates you want is advertise as available definately won't be using this company again. Unprofessional and no refund if you don't like what charge they asking of you. AVOID AT ALL COST IT IS BETTER TO SPEND A BIT MORE MONEY FOR PEACE OF MIND… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2015

I will never book a holiday in this way again - my £149 bargain has turned into £498 for 2 of us!, they will tell you anything to get you to part with your money even giving you better flight times which turns out to be the only flights you will get anyway. They will book you into a hotel (they don't tell you that it's a budget/no frills room) furthest away from the airport and then pursuade you to pay transfer costs from the airport. I was told that I was not to worry as I was by all the attractions - more fibs as I'm miles away costing me more money to get to anywhere decent. They get away with it by their craftily worded email they ask you to return as confirmation while they're still holding on the phone. It's then basically your word against theirs

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST SERVICE EVER! ”

Written on: 11/05/2015

Purchased wowcher, one of weekender breaks trips on the basis of the advertised dates available at the time of purchase. called the next day to confirm 4 night trip details, flights, trains accommodation etc. To be told that there was no availability on the agreed dates, flights from one uk airport only to return to a different uk airport. different hotels that were advertised. All these at substantial extra costs. what started out as from £129.00 pp turned out to be £239.00 pp on purchase… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Christiejayne's Comment

Written on: 26/05/2015

Was this for the Prague and Budapest trip?? I'm having the same issue. Not as advertised at all!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Catwoman52's Comment

Written on: 15/09/2015

It's the same story for Rome too - if you manage to get a refund, let me know - I have tried everything - credit card, groupon, Abta without any luck. They are well clued up on how to avoid giving refunds and not giving a damn about customer service and complaints. How they are still trading is a miracle if they give all customers this terrible service. Please report this company to trading standards

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
overview