TravelUp www.travelup.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by edmayer on 3rd September 2014 Report this content
How do I find out about a flight change for my flight? The airline have no details and I can't get in touch with TravelUp. They have sent me an email regarding my flight that leaves Australia on Sunday.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Stead Written on: 04/09/2014
If your airline has no details of a flight change, I would assume that there is no change? However, if you have something that makes you think otherwise you can call or email Travel Up: Mon - Fri 9am - 6pm & Sat 10am - 4pm
Report this content SilverMachine39 Written on: 04/09/2014
Dreadful company. They made errors in the name on our e-tickets, repeated efforts to get them to correct this on the day of purchase when it could be done at no cost were not dealt with by their call centre went un-dealt with. Repeated efforts to resolve the problem over following days just involved being passed from pillar to post by rude, unhelpful staff, I believed trained never to accept responsibility for their errors. Subsequent research has shown that their call centre is in Karachi and their UK headquarters is a run down end terrace office in Reading adjoining a takeaway. They didn't bother replying to postal correspondence. Using this company involved costly ticket cancellations and using a company with a good reputation instead. Avoid Travel Up like the plague.
Asked by Lauram82 on 2nd February 2014 Report this content
Why does this company have two names...i enquired about a holiday to Orlando through a company called magic holidays and when i received an email back the company name is travel up...made me very suspicious about booking a holiday with them can anyone shed any light on this please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content DavidDM Written on: 03/02/2014
We booked flights to Australia and got a great deal on Singapore Airlines. I found out after I had booked that they had a terribe record on reviews and raised this with them. They seemed concerned to put things right and we had no problems whatsoever. On the point of your question, I guess most companies will have a holding company, but this could be a rebranding after the reviews. I havent looked at their reviews since we travelled, but I would be inclined to shop around and then, if you are going to book, give them a call. On a separate point, having travelled to Orlando many times before, we have always put it together ourselves i.e. get the best flight that suits, arrange the car rental independently and then book the accommodation. It keeps your choices wide open. There is no need to go through a tour operator unless you want all of that taken care of for you.
Report this content SilverMachine39 Written on: 03/02/2014
Dreadful company. They made errors in the name on our e-tickets, repeated efforts to get them to correct this on the day of purchase when it could be done at no cost were not dealt with by their call centre went un-dealt with. Repeated efforts to resolve the problem over following days just involved being passed from pillar to post by rude, unhelpful staff, I believed trained never to accept responsibility for their errors. Subsequent research has shown that their call centre is in Karachi and their UK headquarters is a run down end terrace office in Reading adjoining a takeaway. They didn't bother replying to postal correspondence. Using this company involved costly ticket cancellations and using a company with a good reputation instead. Avoid Travel Up like the plague.
Report this content tpepperloy Written on: 03/02/2014
I don't know why this company has 2 names, sometimes it can be to do with tax, however I can assure you of their proffesssionality and help way above the call of duty. I travelled to Australia in November booking with them and everything was fine, in fact, more than fine. They were very helpful and forthcoming with information and always got back to me quickly. I hope this helps you and have a lovely time in Orlando :D
Report this content asher100 Written on: 04/02/2014
Travel-Up are not a proper tour operator, they are a travel agent. They just book your hotel at discount prices and your flight. Its not the same as if you book through a proper tour operator. A proper tour operator will look after you from the start of the booking. When you get to the airport you will have a representative from your company to check you in for your flight and a rep will visit your hotel Monday to Friday and they can always be reached in an emergency. Also, with a proper tour operator which is a member of ABTA, you are fully protected in case your tour operator went bankrupt or your hotel or airline went bankrupt after you booked and when you are on your holiday. If you buy from a company that called them self a tour operator, they should have an up to date membership of ABTA. ABTA membership cost the tour operator many thousands of pounds, small company's like Travel-Up are not a proper tour operator and you don't have any protection or a representative to sort out problems with the flight or hotel. Travel-Up are not members of ABTA. ABTA is the UK travel trade association for tour operators and travel agents. Travel-up show they are members of Atol and IATA the [International Air Transport Association in the UK] [ATOL][Air Travel Organisers' Licensing] will help you get compensation if your airline went bankrupt.
Report this content jonathan12345 Written on: 04/09/2014
Just to dodge their bad reputation. Cancel everything if you can. I'd pay £100 just to not have to deal with Magic Holidays or Travel Up. They give you a cheap flight, then say its 'pending', then they wait for the prices to go up then they pop up their ugly heads to say that they have to charge you more. Get your money back and start again.
See All Answers
questionAnswer