Tingo Reviews - www.tingo.com

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.3 / 5
40
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Tingo - www.tingo.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Tingo - www.tingo.com

Tingo - www.tingo.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Beware Bogus Cancellation Policy”

Written on: 17/07/2016 by AleahMcDonough246 (1 review written)

I made a reservation and within 32 minutes realized that I made an error on on the location. I opened my confirmation email to find the contact information and read that Tingo does not "charge" a cancellation or change fee, but the "hotel" charges a full night stay! Buyer beware... Make SURE you have all the correct info… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest, misleating, BEWARE!!!!!!”

Written on: 16/07/2016

Made reservations, once I printed out Confirmation/Itinerary and needed to cancel I realized that I the cancellation policy states that I have to cancel before July 10th. I made my reservation on July 13th. Get it! I spent almost 3 hrs on the phone with them. 2.5 hrs on hold. Get it! The bottom line is don't use this company. Thank God Amex is going handle it from here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Pay upfront for hotel!”

Written on: 29/04/2016 by Dpggrove (1 review written)

When I make a hotel reservation weeks or months in advance, I expect the hotel to put a "hold" on a small amount of money on the credit card. Tingo takes FULL PAYMENT EVEN MONTHS IN ADVANCE for the price of the hotel, even on a refundable reservation. So, for instance, when I book a hotel to Europe months in advance for $2,000, Tingo charges me the full payment and earns interest on the money months before I even get the service. UNACCEPTABLE PRACTICE! If I book the hotel directly, no charge… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Misleading”

Written on: 21/04/2016 by GarrettSchwartz (1 review written)

Tingo advertises by saying tingo gets you the lowest price and then makes sure you keep getting the lowest price but it doesn't work like that at all. They will use fine print to come up with a reason for not giving you a cheaper price when it comes up at the same hotel on your dates so there is no "rest easy" you better wait and book late for the bargains. This is a really disappointing. Very unhappy with the arrogant dismissive customer service reps too… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I had problems with my motel room. I was not able to...”

Written on: 13/03/2016

I paid for a Motel room and was not able to enter it until later on that day. I have tried to contact Tingo left a voicemail, and email and no one has ever contacted me and it will be a week tomorrow. WARNING DO NOT USE TINGO...you will regret it!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Can't get ahold of a PERSON to change travel dates!!!”

Written on: 17/02/2016

I am so disappointed with this company! They say their hours are from 10-6, but I have called 8 times and only get a machine that hangs up on me after it tells me their hours! Sent an email, and never received a reply! HORRIBLE!! Would never use again!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“they cancelled my booking”

Written on: 27/10/2015 by chelbys (1 review written)

I made a reservation as a surprise for my sister who is getting married. Last night I recieved an email saying my booking had been cancelled online. I did not cancel & I am the only person that knew the booking had been made. They were rude on the phone & told me my money was gone & to stop over exagerating. I have lost £150 & Tingo hadnt even paid the hotel. I will now have to rebook if we want to go. I am disgusted by this service & have contacted Trading standards… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ avoid like crazy”

Written on: 22/09/2015 by Doncaster29 (1 review written)

We booked a hotel in Dubai as a treat for mums birthday. When it was paid for, we ended up with a completely different hotel. We called immediately after checking it was the website and not our oversight. They wouldn't do anything and said to cancel the penalty was the complete fee. So we now have spent two hours getting nowhere, lost the money and are going to a hotel we absolutely did not want or booked. We asked for their UK address, didn't know it and couldn't provide. Their call centres… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Pthom's Response to Doncaster29's Review

Written on: 08/02/2016

I have had this exact experience in my first transaction with Tingo. It surely can't be good business practice to intentionally deceive your customers. I am now in email contact with both Tingo and Tripadvisor support centers (as that is the actual site I booked through). Tripadvisor have been very helpful whereas Tingo said too bad as I "changed my mind" even though they were completely deceitful and booked me into a property I would never have booked. Disgusting!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Reservations were cancelled but I was unaware”

Written on: 28/08/2015

Upon ariving to the motel to check in, I was informed they did not have reservations in my name. They asked "Could it possible be under a different name." I showed my confirmation number and the lady behind the desk said, "We were afraid of this". She went to another location and showed me where the reservation had been cancelled by expedia. There was nothing she could do for us as all rooms were booked. We had to locate another place to stay at the last minute. We were lucky and did find a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst experience ever! do not use them!”

Written on: 02/07/2015 by 1981Sanchez (1 review written)

I booked a hotel through Tingo for 5 nights in vegas, I tried cancel the booking within 24 hours ( as nothing was mentioned on Tingo regards to cancellation policy)they charged me for one night and after lot of mail exchanges and standing in aur for long long waiting time on phone call my reservation was not cancelled.. total disappointment I checked on hotel website Tingo charged me nearly double what hotel was offering. worst experience! do not use Tingo..book always directly with hotel… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“hotel had no reservation booked for me”

Written on: 18/06/2015 by TravisR (1 review written)

Booked a room through Tingo the evening before my stay. I arrived the evening of my stay and the hotel had absolutely no record of my reservation. I advised i had already been charged. I was advised by the staff that they only have a contract with booking.com and that they had never even heard of Tingo. Fortunately they had ONE room left so i at least got a room. BUT tingo had already charged me 110.00, and i had to pay another 125.00 for the room with no reservation. I attempted to call Tingo… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“hidden charges”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by raschel (1 review written)

I booked a Hotel online,no problem til I received my charge card statement,Tingo had charged me a service fee over what I paid for at the Hotel ,trying to get a refund will never book thru them again!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Booking With TINGO”

Written on: 25/04/2015 by gdPittman156 (1 review written)

I booked a room in Victorville, CA for one night through TINGO online. The payment was $74.33 including taxes. When I arrived the desk clerk told me that TINGO charged me $30.00 over their rate for the room. I have TINGO'S phone number but I highly doubt they will credit me anything back… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Hotel had no record of reservation and I was still billed”

Written on: 24/04/2015

I reserved a room in Memphis and received a confirmation number. When I got to the hotel they had no record of the reservation. They had no rooms available. When I tried to contact tingo's customer service, I found out they close at 6 o'clock. I had to find another hotel at 10 o'clock. They to add insult to injury, when I check my credit card statement, I found that I was charged for the room. When I tried to contact customer service, before 6 o'clock, all advisers were busy. I waited 5 min… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Travisr's Comment

Written on: 18/06/2015

I just had the same exact thing happen to me in Duquoin Illinois, charged 110.00 and the hotel had no reservation.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT TINGO”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by beccaaguilar (1 review written)

Worst customer service ever. I booked a place in Santorini Greece and they completely screwed me on it. They booked me a different hotel and then even though it said I could cancel without penalty they charged me. Do NOT use Tingo at all… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never use site again”

Written on: 07/03/2015 by Celinak (1 review written)

I booked the hotel for 121 with taxes and fees included. I expect to the total and complete price when finishing booking the room to have no surprises on my billing statement. When i received my visa statement i was furious to see that i was charged 160. This having to be because i was charged in USD instead of CAD. If i was notified of this when i received my confirmation i would not have been this enraged. As i did look back on the site and it said in small font on the side that you may be… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Customer service non-existent after hours ”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by Dickson483 (1 review written)

We used Tingo yesterday - when we arrived at the hotel, they were having computer issues and no reservations were coming through. When we called Tingo they closed at 6. It was 930. There was no way to get confirmation. The reservation through Tingo was prepaid non-refundable. The hotel worked with us but I would not use this site unless you plan to keep all of your checkin times between 8-6, otherwise there is no customer service available… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No refunds despite price drop”

Written on: 10/01/2015

I booked a room 2 weeks earlier to test the price drop. Now the 2 weeks is done and I saw 2 price drop a few days ago and today and got a confirmation that I paid the lowest price. I paid 94 dollars earlier and the price drop as low as 81. Tingo doesn't pay out the refunds like they say they do. I'm so disappointed by the fact that some people get a refund but not all parties. I even recommend my friend about this website and now they made me a liar. It's not about money as you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst idea ever.”

Written on: 26/10/2014

I almost cried when I got in la top find out the room I had booked for my cousins wedding had hidden fees that they expected me to pay without notifying me the two times I called to confirm.they dont work with the hotels at all. They told me I would not be able too check inn and that my confirmation number wouldn't even match there record. This website is good awful and I will recommend my clients, family, and friends not too use. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Booked a room that wasn't available Beware of Tingo”

Written on: 15/10/2014 by Robertnumber78 (1 review written)

We booked a room at La Quinta Inn and Suites Rochester, Minn. we got there and there were no rooms available. Tingo did not Book us a room at all the motel did not have us listed. The manager at the motel  was great and contacted Tingo about this to transfer our booking to another motel in Rochester. They were terrible he went through a several people and spent and hour on the phone with Tingo and had no luck at all. Now the credit card company is telling me that Tingo billed us for the room… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview